Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V14, Galaxy S, live on a smart life

larapinpin88
post Mar 18 2011, 12:30 PM

13 posts

Dear all Sifus, newbie here biggrin.gif
I got my galaxy S with 2.3.2 inside when i purchased it. Always facing hanging problems since 1st day i got my phone, izit cause by the firmware ? Since it's still beta version. Coorect me if me wrong biggrin.gif

larapinpin88
post Mar 18 2011, 12:51 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Mar 18 2011, 12:36 PM)
Yes. Ext4 lagfix
Hi, welcome to the galaxy s thead!

Jv1 firmware? IMO, it is an alpha quality gingerbread firmware. Better to flash froyo custom rom to get the best battery life, speed and smoothness.
Thx for the welcome XD
JV1 ? izit check inside 'about phone' thr ? Gingerbread XWJV1, YES !!! no wonder la, 1 day i charge 2 times sleep.gif.... Initially i though jz bcoz new phone, normal la if the battery drain so fast....mana tau caused by this firmware. haha. Luckily i asked Sifus opinion at here biggrin.gif

I got refer the posts at 1st page, but still confusing with speemod, voodoo, root, some kinds bla bla bla of that...since i using this 2.3.2, may i jz direct flash into custom rom ? Nid to do any preparation b4 flash? I saw that we should backup our IMEI number b4 flash?

--''backup /efs folder. This is to preserve your IMEI number. Once backed up, copy it to safe place like your computer.''--

I stucked at the step root, tried super1click and z4root, both oso cant work for me ;(

larapinpin88
post Mar 18 2011, 01:18 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(enaleni @ Mar 18 2011, 12:57 PM)
Dats the latest rom bro... i think u cant root it for the moment gonna wait for the the official one of gingerbread came out and have to wait for all sifu from xda show us how to root the gingerbread rom  blush.gif
Thx for the inform. haha
Means i cant root, but i can flash into other custom rom? Which custom rom r Sifus here using now ?
larapinpin88
post Mar 18 2011, 01:21 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(lch78 @ Mar 18 2011, 01:16 PM)
If you want to flash to Froyo 2.2.1, no need to root your phone. Just use ODIN and flash. I haven't heard of anyone got their IMEI no erased/changed so far through flashing.... Maybe for hardcore flasher....  biggrin.gif
Thx for the reply.
Means i can skip that step biggrin.gif
If i wan flash into Darky 9.3 rom, izit i jz nid to follow the guide inside this link ? :
http://darky.ficeto.com/community/index.ph...i9000-only.486/

larapinpin88
post Mar 18 2011, 01:31 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(neo0915 @ Mar 18 2011, 01:21 PM)
Since tis is the 1st custom rom for u, u can try Simply Rom SweetHoney~  smile.gif
Thx for the suggestion, Sifu neo biggrin.gif

QUOTE(lch78 @ Mar 18 2011, 01:26 PM)
I follow this:

Official Darkyy Page

I am not sure whether Gingerbread ROM you are on now is compatible with Darky Configurator (Can download from market). For error free installation, I will suggest you flash to stock froyo, then only flash to Darky.
Stock Froyo --> 2.2.1 categorized as stock froyo too ? Thx for the information.
larapinpin88
post Mar 18 2011, 01:44 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Mar 18 2011, 01:34 PM)
Cannot use those method as they are for eclair and froyo only. only cf-root is available for gingerbread. But I suggest to flash stock rom first.
It is in /data/apps folder. Sort.by date if using rootexplorer
True. Afaik, Imei corruption happened with one old leaked froyo firmware only. never heard it happen again.
True, flashing to stock firmware is the best, followed by a custom rom of your choice.
No wonder la...hahaha..... Nvm, thru this 'mistake root', i learned something....haha drool.gif

QUOTE(cradle0fFilth @ Mar 18 2011, 01:35 PM)
very nice ROM. i prefer this over darky now.
icic.....ok, feel free i will try it too... biggrin.gif

QUOTE(lch78 @ Mar 18 2011, 01:36 PM)
Yes. 2.2.1 is stock froyo too. A guide made by 'hardcore' for your reading.

http://touristinparadise.blogspot.com/2011...tall-froyo.html
Thx for ur link. 1 more question, wht is speedmod, voodoo, kernel? Until now i still confusing with this 3 stuffs. When we nid all of them?

larapinpin88
post Mar 18 2011, 02:02 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(lch78 @ Mar 18 2011, 01:51 PM)
Besides custom ROMs, there are custom Kernels too. Kernels is a layer of commands that handle communication between UI (user) and ROM (Android). Speedmod and Voodoo kernels are two of the popular kernels around for SGS. Some user don't like to change to custom ROM, then you still can change to custom Kernels to get more features to play with from your stock ROM, for eg, tweaks, lagfix, root, overclocking, etc.....

There are 3 layers in Android that is changeable, UI, Kernels and ROM. Basically everything in Android is customizable, from top to bottom.
Seem deep for me to understand now..haha...Nvm, thx for ur information that help me a lot. Which rom should i flash for my phone now based in ur opinion for a newbie? 2.2 or 2.2.1 ?
larapinpin88
post Mar 18 2011, 02:15 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(lch78 @ Mar 18 2011, 02:08 PM)
of course 2.2.1. stock 2.2.1 is already stable... As which custom ROM to flash to, you decide yourself. If you don't like, you can just flash again. First time flashing == 2 hours*, second time == 1 hour*, third time == 15 mins*. Happy flashing.

*Not inclusive of download time, backup time, restore time, etc...
Hahaha.......okok....means once me finished download 2.2.1 files, then i jz follow the guide inside the link u sent me b4 ??
http://touristinparadise.blogspot.com/2011...tall-froyo.html

Start from download mode, until ? And 1 more thing, i saw that inside recovery mode, my phone mode was 3e, in 1st post i saw that should change from 3e to 2e, wht it means ? Izit me oso nid to change from 3e to 2e if i flashing rom with ODIN later ?
larapinpin88
post Mar 18 2011, 02:41 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(lch78 @ Mar 18 2011, 02:25 PM)
After you flash a stock ROM, then you proceed to flash speedmod kernel to get a 2e recovery (& CWM recovery), then you can proceed to flash the custom ROM you want.

I think you check the instructions from the site you download the 2.2.1 ROM, the link I gave you is just for DXJPE ROM. It might has different requirements for the 2.2.1 ROM you downloading now.
QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Mar 18 2011, 02:25 PM)
What is your current firmware? No need to wipe because the wipe version of that rom will automatically wipe for you.

p/s the above sentence sounds really awfully rclxub.gif

Added on March 18, 2011, 2:28 pm
I think he can just follow the instruction from that hardcore's blog. It doesn't matter whether it is 2.2 or 2.2.1 because he is going to flash custom rom anyway.
I download XXJPU from here:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=865701

Ok, now i try to list out wht i know or going to do :
i) i can flash to 2.2.1 from 2.3.2
ii) start with ODINv3_1.52 start from DOWNLOAD mode in this post : http://touristinparadise.blogspot.com/2011...tall-froyo.html
continue the step from 3 until 7, since me planning to flash 2.2.1, i no nid to do speedmod kernel to get 2e? ( correct me if me wrong....)
iii) i confusing in step 8, the post's title = ''How to install Froyo DXJPE'' , but why at step 8, it show BOOT INTO DJXPA?

Thx for all Sifus here, patiently answering my questions. thumbup.gif
larapinpin88
post Mar 18 2011, 09:55 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(lch78 @ Mar 18 2011, 03:46 PM)
You need to flash speedmod kernel to get 2e recovery, from 2e recovery (actually it is CWM recovery) then only you can flash into custom ROM.
Step 8 just ask you to reboot your phone. DXJPA is just the ROM name. The file you are downloading is XXJPU.

For stock ROM, you can refer to this site: http://www.samfirmware.com/
Sry for the late reply.......ya, i success flash 2.2.1 into my S. Jz now i re-check recovery mode, it still showing 3e(means 2.2.1 = stock rom? i though it was custom rom d...hahaha).
i found this link :
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=723596

Have a look at modding there:
© Modding:

Means wht i nid to do now = continue install speedmode kernel. Then only my 3e->2e. Then i only can install a custom rom, example darky rom. ? Likes u said in the previous post?
(Sorry that make u spending a lot of time on me....)
larapinpin88
post Mar 18 2011, 10:14 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(lch78 @ Mar 18 2011, 09:57 PM)
No prob.

Yea. Continue to flash speedmod. The instructions in the link given to you earlier by TS.
Inside here:
http://touristinparadise.blogspot.com/2010...to-install.html

at there part :
Download the SpeedMod kernel.
If you are using the Galaxy S, download the kernel from here.

I downloaded at here:
http://touristinparadise.blogspot.com/2010...d-speedmod.html
Version: K13C (20-Feb-2011)
Odin versions:
SpeedMod K13C with HZ=500 (Recommended)

i download the odin version and put 2gether with Odin in the same file, when i click on PDA bar, why i saw nth to choose (.tar file). Izit i miss some steps?

larapinpin88
post Mar 18 2011, 10:19 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(toktok @ Mar 18 2011, 10:12 PM)
Just update my SGS from 2.1 Eclair to 2.2 froyo via Samsung Kies. Very fast, done within 1hr. Now feel much smoother and nicer interface! My chinese song music in music player doesn.t show properly, anyone know how to solve this?
QUOTE(lch78 @ Mar 18 2011, 10:16 PM)
You need an app to correct this. I forgot what is the name of the app. Anyone else can help? icon_question.gif

Added on March 18, 2011, 10:17 pm

You need to download the ODIN version. Don't download the CWM version coz you don't have CWM recovery yet.
Amend MP3.....but i doesnt try this b4.... saw other forumer recommend this :
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=B2VZN9YO

In here can post other forum link or not, inside got some guide to do this. biggrin.gif

Added on March 18, 2011, 10:22 pm
QUOTE(lch78 @ Mar 18 2011, 10:16 PM)
You need an app to correct this. I forgot what is the name of the app. Anyone else can help? icon_question.gif

Added on March 18, 2011, 10:17 pm

You need to download the ODIN version. Don't download the CWM version coz you don't have CWM recovery yet.
Yes, as u said, i download the Odin version. But when i click on PDA bar, found nth bout ''speedmod-kernel-x-y.tar'' file to choose.....
Izit when i extracted the zip files, i missed some steps?

This post has been edited by larapinpin88: Mar 18 2011, 10:22 PM
larapinpin88
post Mar 18 2011, 10:33 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(lch78 @ Mar 18 2011, 10:25 PM)
Maybe you try put both ODIN and TAR file in the same folder. Btw, you need to have Kies driver in your computer to do this, you do know?

Sorry I need to go out dy. Hope someone else can help you on this.
okok...u helped me a lot d....I found why i cant choose that speedmod file inside ODIN, i ter-extracted that file.....no wonder la i search nth at there......Thx u. U really guide me very well. notworthy.gif

Added on March 18, 2011, 10:37 pm[quote=gmhafiz,Mar 18 2011, 10:29 PM]
1. Download speedmod odin version:
2. At http://touristinparadise.blogspot.com/2010...to-install.html step 4:
Click pda and select that file. (speedmod-kernel-k13c-500hz.tar)
No need to extract anything. If you follow the instruction carefully, you should be ok.

Yes, Sifu. I ter-extracted that file...haha......

I saw this :
''You need to have Kies previously installed on your PC, for the USB drivers.''
Means we nid to installed KIES? But previously when i flashed that 2.2.1, i jz installed that x86 driver only. Izit i got that x86 driver, means i no longer nid that KIES?

If nid the KIES at beginning of the post :
http://touristinparadise.blogspot.com/2010...to-install.html
''Pre-requisites
You need to have Kies previously installed on your PC, for the USB drivers.''

But why at step 3,
''3. Run Odin and connect your phone
First make sure to quit / exit Kies!''

Blur2.... rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by larapinpin88: Mar 18 2011, 10:44 PM
larapinpin88
post Mar 18 2011, 11:00 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Mar 18 2011, 10:48 PM)
I think installing kies is only required to get the usb drivers working. Otherwise when you plug-in the usb cable, your phone will not be detected by your computer. So, if you have installed that usb driver x86, no need to install kies.

kies has to be closed because it'll interfere with phone detection and maybe odin flashing process.
addon: htc incredible s has been launched. For a high-end phone. rm1999 that looks like a good deal compared to nexus s  sweat.gif
Ok , i succesful installed speedmod kernel ary....which is mean i can proceed to install custom rom coz fixed that 3e-2e problem....
If i wan try Darky 9.3, wht i nid to do izit jz follow the steps inside :
http://darky.ficeto.com/community/index.ph...000m-only.1041/

But i saw that previously got other forumers said that darky 9.3 getting the phone drain battery quickly......how bout ur opinion ? smile.gif
larapinpin88
post Mar 18 2011, 11:06 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(Fornaxlife @ Mar 18 2011, 11:04 PM)
huge battery drain with data on.. if idle, still ok
Thx for ur reply....ok, i think i wanna to try it. biggrin.gif
Coz saw so many forumers using it. XD
larapinpin88
post Mar 18 2011, 11:21 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Mar 18 2011, 11:07 PM)
If flashing sweethoney, just put the CWM zip file in your sdcard, go to recovery, find the zip file and flash.

I have more inclination towards sweethoney rom smile.gif.
Ok...seem like i should try sweethoney rom as Sifus recommend me..haha
From here :
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=886000
Why i saw nth bout sweethoney rom ? May Sifus here show me the links tongue.gif
larapinpin88
post Mar 18 2011, 11:37 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Mar 18 2011, 11:27 PM)
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=950354

from the thread:
download the wipe version.
INSTALLING WIPE VERSION OF ROM (All Versions):

1) Download 2.X WIPE ROM (Multi CSC)
2) Copy the zip file into your root of internal sdcard (not external!)
3) Go into Recovery mode (3 button combo), you'll see CWM Recovery
4) Select "install zip file from sdcard"
5) Select the ROM file
6) Select "YES"
7) Wait until it has finished
8) Then select "back" and the "reboot the phone"
9) Do the first boot!
10) Now you have Simply ROM Installed successfully!
Thx for the information biggrin.gif
Now downloading that files. Sit in front of computer for whole day d for update my phone. rclxub.gif
Luckily found all nice Sifus at here. Thumbs up to u all. Thx to who help me, guide me, and to who gave me suggestions. Salute u all. notworthy.gif
Now i look wht i posted b4, i found that i keep asking same questions although Sifus had answered me b4....hahahaha....Sry for that...coz under confusing condition icon_idea.gif
larapinpin88
post Mar 18 2011, 11:48 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(enaleni @ Mar 18 2011, 11:42 PM)
Hehehe its ok all of us who new to the new thing feel.nervous and scare if what we did that we did d wrong way..  blush.gif hehe
Yayaya..... Lowyat's Sifus at here nice ...... guide me whole day.... rclxms.gif
larapinpin88
post Mar 18 2011, 11:56 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(neo0915 @ Mar 18 2011, 11:53 PM)
Hav to admit, all the sifus in this SGS thread is freaking friendly~  biggrin.gif
Yaya.A lot of things learned from they,doesn't selfish at all. Thumb up again for them. thumbup.gif
larapinpin88
post Mar 19 2011, 12:04 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(enaleni @ Mar 18 2011, 11:56 PM)
One thing i love most about android is this android forum to all forumer and all sifus that they "betul2 rajin" to give guide to all newbie that have their android but of coz i really love dis thread sifus very2 helpful datz why i also got mine sgs thumbup.gif
Yeah, that oso 1 of the reason why i get my SGS too....I saw the posts from end of V13 until V14, found that Android was quite hard for a beginner(bcoz that time jz searching for new phone). But finally i choose SGS coz i believe that Sifus at here will help newbies like me...... laugh.gif

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Mar 18 2011, 11:56 PM)
Maybe because we love our phone and would like to see others enjoying it as well. I know I do.
+1 notworthy.gif

0.0410sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 01:31 AM