Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V14, Galaxy S, live on a smart life

la pulga
post Mar 1 2011, 02:37 AM

hi all sifus
i'm super noob here
have 1 question
my sgs is super virgin (so so la 2 weeks old)
just now flashed to speedmod kernel (13a) via odin from eclair stock
odin said pass but my sgs does not reboot (hang at start up screen)
oredi tried few times but same result
i juz bricked my sgs? plz say no
any advise sifus? help me pls. tq
la pulga
post Mar 1 2011, 03:12 AM

QUOTE(gajahwhite @ Mar 1 2011, 02:52 AM)
follow this guide.. easy to understand..
http://touristinparadise.blogspot.com/2010...to-install.html
tq bro
did followed all d steps but same result cry.gif
any idea? pls sifus icon_question.gif

la pulga
post Mar 1 2011, 03:42 AM

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Mar 1 2011, 03:29 AM)
True. He'll lose all of his installed apps, sms, contacts if he did not backup prior to this.

I have the zimage file extracted from of JM8 but not redbend_ua file. I can try build a CWM package for him. la pulga, can you go to recovery mode?
true. no backup b4.
try to on d phone also cannot

but now able to go to recovery mode.
waiting for the next step from sifus
la pulga
post Mar 1 2011, 04:05 AM

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Mar 1 2011, 03:53 AM)
This is going to be difficult.

Download this zip file http://dl.dropbox.com/u/17959/kernel_eclair.zip, transfer it to your phone by adb method (the only method possible to you  sad.gif  ) I have no guarantee that this will work but it won't do anything worse than already is.

- Then, go to recovery mode, locate this zip file using vol up&down, use home button to select.
- Reboot your phone and pray it will work

For adb tutorial, refer here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread...659#post7239659 The tutorial said your phone needs to be rooted. But you can try it anyway.

If all attempts are unsuccessful, you simply have to flash to froyo.

wow.. it is difficult..
thanks gmhafiz. wil try it & update the result later
good luck & all the best to me sweat.gif
la pulga
post Mar 1 2011, 10:21 AM

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Mar 1 2011, 04:04 AM)
Was going to sleep and realized you can copy the zip file to an sdcard. Then put it into your phone. In recovery mode, browse to the "SD" folder to find the zip file. No need for adb this way.
hmm.. this one looks easier than adb method smile.gif

ok, now in recovery mode and has few items;

1. reboot system now
2. apply sdcard:update.zip
3. wipe data/factory reset
4. wipe cache partition
5. install zip from sdcard
6. backup and restore
7. mounts and storage
8. advanced clockworkmod features
9. advanced speedmod ulk features
10. ++go back++

to browse "SD" folder, which 1 should i select?

sori 4 asking this coz still noob
tq all sifus notworthy.gif
la pulga
post Mar 1 2011, 10:40 AM

QUOTE(gaarared @ Mar 1 2011, 03:56 AM)
yes,  it true..  my suggest is the last choice,  if desperate to get the phone to boot up again. haha coz if for me dont mind my data, coz only 2 week use,  as long my phone dont brick..    anyway just follow gmhafiz instruction,  he is the true sifu..
yes i agree with you nod.gif
will try the method 1 1st (zip file)
otherwise, hello froyo smile.gif
la pulga
post Mar 1 2011, 11:27 AM

QUOTE(Bugeca @ Mar 1 2011, 10:23 AM)
No. 5
looks like reboot phone using ZIP file from sd card is not successful sad.gif
the message appear as follows;

installing: sdcard: update.zip
finding update package...
opening update package...
E:can't open /mnt/sdcard/update.zip
(no such file or directory)
installation aborted

means froyo flashing time sweat.gif
la pulga
post Mar 1 2011, 02:41 PM

QUOTE(Bap3 @ Mar 1 2011, 11:31 AM)
did your rename your file to update.zip file?...if not rename it first and do it again...

or your can use method flash to zip file on sd card and locate the .zip file in your sd card..
tq for your advise
but still unsuccessful after rename the file to update.zip

now preparing for froyo flashing
la pulga
post Mar 1 2011, 02:54 PM

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Mar 1 2011, 01:25 PM)

Sorry it didn't work out. I assume you are on Dxjg4. If you still want to recover, someone please send me the zimage file so that I can make cwm package for him.

Otherwise, you can flash froyo using the instructions in that hardcore speedmod blogspot.

you are right. i'm on stock Dxjg4
nevermind, will try to flash froyo later
but still sad coz still can't use my sgs sad.gif

la pulga
post Mar 15 2011, 05:18 PM

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Mar 15 2011, 12:29 AM)
- Go to Settings > Applications > manage Applications > All > Wait till finish loading and click on Market
- Clear data and then click force stop.
- Re-open Market. All your apps will reappear.
Hi game master hafiz,

i'm currently on froyo 2.2 + speedmod k13c.
have few noob questions wanna ask u;

1. if i download any roms, need certain file manager apps to retrieve the file or just can use stock apps (my files) to retrieve it & rename it to update.zip?
2. once retrieved & rename the rom file, how to flash via cwm? need to go recovery mode rite? maybe can give step-by-step guide like above coz supernoob here tongue.gif
3. oredi downloaded market enabler. but can't found the papago apps. need to set 'gsm.sim.operator.numeric'? default is '50216'

that's all for now
maybe more tomorrow smile.gif

tq TS notworthy.gif
la pulga
post Mar 16 2011, 12:49 AM

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Mar 15 2011, 10:37 PM)
1.Any file managers including MyFiles can be used
2. To flash these zip files, need to go to recovery mode.
- If from stock eclair: Has inbuilt samsung's 2e recovery. So need to rename to update.zip first using MyFiles
- If from 3e recovery, need
  i. to download clockworkmod (CWM) recovery in order to be able to flash all those custom roms
ii. or flash speedmod kernel because it'll give CWM as well.
- If from custom rom or custom kernel, they usually already have CWM included.

To Flash:
A. If from stock eclair.
- Go to recovery mode - refer first page
- You'll have a blue interface
- Use volume rocker for up and down, home button to select
- apply sdcard:update.zip

B. If from CWM.
- Go to recovery mode - refer first page
- You'll have a green interface.
- Use volume rocker for up and down, back button to select
- Select "install zip from sdcard"
- Select "choose zip from sdcard"
- Browse to your zip file and press back button to select
- Confirm the flash.
- Reboot

- It is recommended to get CWM because you do not need to rename downloaded custom rom to update.zip. To get CWM, download it.
- Copy it to your sdcard
- Go to recovery mode
- Select "apply sdcard:update.zip"
- You'll need to do this twice before you get into CWM.

3. Don't know about market enabler. But I can see papago Ad, x5(hongkong,indon,china,thai)
omg! very fast reply & very detail answer
tq so much bro thumbup.gif
will do it

i agree with u guys
this forum very friendly & helpful
keep up d good work
rclxms.gif notworthy.gif thumbup.gif
la pulga
post Mar 20 2011, 01:29 AM

hi TS n all sifus...

wanna ask something
my speaker didn't work ie no ringtone when incoming call (in not silent mode)
oledi checked d setting, but stil no sound all
i noticed it happened after my kids poked tom the talking cat :-)

any suggestion sifus? tq notworthy.gif
btw, i'm on stock froyo 2.2 + speedmod kernel k13c
la pulga
post Mar 20 2011, 01:38 AM

QUOTE(kmrdeva @ Mar 20 2011, 01:32 AM)

Added on March 20, 2011, 1:33 am

I'd nominate you if you are still willing to be the TS.. smile.gif
same here
gmhafiz to continue
let d legend continues rclxms.gif
la pulga
post Mar 20 2011, 01:45 AM

QUOTE(kmrdeva @ Mar 20 2011, 01:34 AM)
Same problem after rebooting the phone?
yeah, still same problem after few times rebooting
how ar?
missed my ringtone oledi icon_question.gif
la pulga
post Mar 20 2011, 02:25 AM

QUOTE(kmrdeva @ Mar 20 2011, 01:55 AM)
Can you test if your ringtones really work? I mean test using the ringtone selection screen.

Also, do check under Sound settings if your ring, notification volumes are set correctly. Worse comes to worst, you can try wiping caches or do a factory reset.
already tested all ringtones but still no sound
all volume set at the highest, no sound also

wiping caches? how to do that? sorry for asking bro. noob here tongue.gif
to do factory reset, go to Piracy > Factory Data Reset? is that true?
must do both wipe caches & factory reset?
la pulga
post Mar 20 2011, 12:52 PM

QUOTE(kmrdeva @ Mar 20 2011, 08:40 AM)
Can you tell me which firmware you are running now?

The wipe procedure is detailed on the first post of this discussion thread - lots of info there for noobs - http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=40364828, under 'How can I reset my phone?'
i'm on froyo 2.2 + k13c speedmod kernel

already did the 'wipe cache/factory reset' via recovery mode
set the incoming call ringtone volume to the max
but stil no sound/ringtone

how ar? pls icon_question.gif
tq sifus notworthy.gif

la pulga
post Mar 20 2011, 01:11 PM

QUOTE(enaleni @ Mar 20 2011, 12:58 PM)
juz curios emmmm when u play with music player or other apps that output voice urs sgs got sound output or not? hmm.gif
tried to select ringtone, no sound output
then tried to play tom the talking cat also no sound output

i suspect the speaker hmm.gif
but maybe sifus have better idea?
la pulga
post Mar 21 2011, 07:39 AM

QUOTE(Fornaxlife @ Mar 20 2011, 01:26 PM)
when you reboot.. got the samsung sound?

*#*#0673#*#* press this in the dialer.. and pick 'speaker on', then 'receiver on', then 'speaker on' again
tq bro for ur guide
but after repeating d above procedure few times
i think it's official oredi; my speaker is busted

maybe next is to go to samsung service centre
but i bought this phone from digi
any advise sifus? go to samsung or digi?

since my phone is rooted + changed d kernel (speedmod k13c),
should i change it (unroot & change to stock kernel) b4 go to service ctr?

tq sifus notworthy.gif
la pulga
post Mar 21 2011, 01:55 PM

QUOTE(la pulga @ Mar 21 2011, 07:39 AM)
tq bro for ur guide
but after repeating d above procedure few times
i think it's official oredi; my speaker is busted

maybe next is to go to samsung service centre
but i bought this phone from digi
any advise sifus? go to samsung or digi?

since my phone is rooted + changed d kernel (speedmod k13c),
should i change it (unroot & change to stock kernel) b4 go to service ctr?

tq sifus  notworthy.gif
sori for double posting...
but pls icon_question.gif biggrin.gif
tq again notworthy.gif
la pulga
post Mar 21 2011, 02:06 PM

QUOTE(Fornaxlife @ Mar 21 2011, 01:57 PM)
go to the samsung service centre.. maxis/digi will not entertain you o.o

hmm, flash back to stock firmware will do.. this will remove the superuser and custom kernel smile.gif
tq Fornaxlife for ur reply rclxms.gif thumbup.gif
will do so
tq notworthy.gif

0.0233sec    0.91    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:14 AM