Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V14, Galaxy S, live on a smart life

kmrdeva
post Feb 28 2011, 06:16 PM

4,776 posts

Guys, has anyone got the URL to the local sales thread for the Momax 2700mAh battery for our SGS? I checked on the Momax site and the price for the batt kit is HKD328. Am looking for cheaper options before plonking down money for online purchase (http://shop.momax.net)..

kmrdeva
post Feb 28 2011, 06:55 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(buffallo_soldier @ Feb 28 2011, 06:19 PM)
anyone using Foursquare App.??

Why when i check in with 'picture or choose photo' , never comeout at my Wall facebook .??

anyone can answer...???
I didn't know that Foursquare app can also post photos to Facebook!! Can it???

Normally when I check in with pic or photo, the picture stays in Foursquare and doesn't go into my Twitter or Facebook accounts...!!!
kmrdeva
post Feb 28 2011, 07:01 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Feb 28 2011, 06:57 PM)
yes it can..
when i check in with photo,the google maps image in facebook will change to the photo i posted
Must check this out.. I will try later, thanks, buddy.. smile.gif

kmrdeva
post Mar 1 2011, 06:46 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(lOrDjAbU @ Mar 1 2011, 12:13 AM)
I'm also looking for that battery back at v13, but nothing so far. but u could try asking mikecmy (fellow LYN member) who sell that battery for RM100. but problem is: he make pre-order on Saturday so buyers have to place order and transfer money before or on Friday. I won't be long in Malaysia (have to go back to Egypt in a week or two).. :-(
There's also other recommendation from our own SGS LYN member (KH Cheah) about mobile battery booster (Sanyo Eneloop Mobile Booster KBC-L2B 5000 mAh)
check this link for mobile booster http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...0790&hl=booster
This thread is moving like rocket again now that 2.3.2 rom is out.. I nearly did not see your response above.

I'm probably gonna direct order from momax.net - I have potentially 4 units to buy (4 x SGS users in my office) so will contact momax to ask about discounted pricing..

kmrdeva
post Mar 1 2011, 07:26 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Mar 1 2011, 07:20 PM)
Flash to european firmware biggrin.gif No harm, nothing to lose
Ha ha.. I don't miss the Asian firmwares one bit.. biggrin.gif
kmrdeva
post Mar 2 2011, 06:07 PM

4,776 posts

Simply Galaxy ROM 2.3 SweetHoney is nice! Feels a little snappier than Darky 9.3. I like the blueish theme after weeks of staring at green (Darky) and then black (Sconcau).. smile.gif

Also, my colleague tried the leaked Gingerbread JV1 firmware - too buggy for daily use, especially when it comes to 3rd party apps and games..
kmrdeva
post Mar 2 2011, 06:22 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Mar 2 2011, 06:13 PM)
It not only looks pretty, but really fast and smooth too. I finally got a properly working  gingerbread keyboard with haptic feedback with this rom. I've raised few points about the rom in his thread but the rom maker seems to ignore me sad.gif
I definitely find it very quick, speedier than Darky 9.3 and Doc's Kitchen ROMs too. Not too sure about the ginger keyboard since I'm a paid user of Smart Keyboard pro. Am loving this ROM presently.. biggrin.gif
kmrdeva
post Mar 2 2011, 09:34 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(Star_knight79 @ Mar 2 2011, 08:11 PM)
Simply Galaxy ROM 2.3 Sweethoney?
What is that? Ginger bread?
What is smart keyboard pro? Paid Apps? Nice and User friendly?
Nope. Its based on js5 firmware. Everything very black and blue.

I really like smart keyboard pro. Very easy to use and word prediction is superb. Worth every penny I spent on it. I like it even more than the gingerbread stock keyboard..

This post has been edited by kmrdeva: Mar 2 2011, 09:35 PM
kmrdeva
post Mar 2 2011, 10:53 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(gaarared @ Mar 2 2011, 10:04 PM)
want to ask,  currently i'm on darky 9.3,  with speedmod can i straight flash to simply rom?
I installed the wipe version so there was nothing to be worried about. After that, I just batch restored my 'uninstalled apps and all system data' with titanium backup..
kmrdeva
post Mar 2 2011, 10:55 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(gaarared @ Mar 2 2011, 10:54 PM)
sorry,  where to get root explorer? i search in market dont have..
Paid app. Need to root and marketaccess to emulate US sim to find it and buy it.

Added on March 2, 2011, 10:58 pm
QUOTE(gaarared @ Mar 2 2011, 10:55 PM)
oh,  so from darky just straight flash the wipe version?
On darky boot to cwm to factory reset then apply sweethoney zip. That's what I did.

This post has been edited by kmrdeva: Mar 2 2011, 10:58 PM
kmrdeva
post Mar 2 2011, 11:08 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(gaarared @ Mar 2 2011, 11:05 PM)
ohh so i need to buy that app,  haha so no choice then,  ihave to use the adb method to backup imei,  if i dont do backup what the worse could happen?
Dunno la, probably your imei gets changed and your paid apps tied to imei stop working?
kmrdeva
post Mar 2 2011, 11:28 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(fongzai92 @ Mar 2 2011, 11:18 PM)
omg.. im starting thinking about galaxy S rather than iphone4. p/s : 3gs holder right now. im not a real gamer, my iphone jailbroken with only few games; angry birds , bejeweled , silitaire. my favo is solitaire. i more into useful apps like currencies convertor, dictionaries, GPS.
lastly, should i make a big step change to Android ?  hmm.gif

Added on March 2, 2011, 11:22 pmohya, forgot add on, i browse webs most the time. is that android having better service on web browsing ? hmm.gif
My only complaint about the sgs is poor battery life.. web browsing on the phone, barring the smaller screen, is a better experience for me than on my ipad.
kmrdeva
post Mar 3 2011, 07:01 AM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(fongzai92 @ Mar 2 2011, 11:34 PM)
thanks for telling. how long the battery can last with web browsing ?
I rarely use the phone for web browsing on WIFI because having WIFI around means I am either at the office or at home where I have computers to use, so I'll tell you my experience on 3G/HSDPA. While web browsing, you will literally be able to see the battery meter going down, probably 1% drop every 3-5 minutes if I remember correctly.

Am thinking to buy a third-party battery pack now, a 2700mAh batt to replace the original 1500mAh batt. smile.gif
kmrdeva
post Mar 3 2011, 12:57 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(Fornaxlife @ Mar 3 2011, 12:53 PM)
lol at last went back to darky's rom. simply rom is f*kin smooth but i prefer darky's graphics smile.gif
Beauty is in the eye of the beholder, so people say. I am sticking with Simply Galaxy aka SweetHoney for now, even flashed the Gingerbread modem package (JVE) onto it (SweetHoney comes with JPE modem, I believe). Happy for now, until I order my 2700mAh batt, then I should be happier.. smile.gif
kmrdeva
post Mar 3 2011, 01:01 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(lOrDjAbU @ Mar 3 2011, 12:44 PM)
[OFF-TOPIC]
anyone else is on fire, now that Ipad 2 is announced? or am I the only one? so nice lah that one! moto xoom is nice too, but there's something IDK that makes me want to avoid it. hmm
I already have my iPad so will likely not consider the iPad2. BTW, guys and gals, as of today, the iPad prices have dropped RM300-400 on the Malaysian Apple Store. Anyone interested? My RM2599 iPad 64GB+3g+wifi is now RM2199 ha ha - that's the price we techies pay for chasing technology.. tongue.gif

Also a bit scared of the Xoom - Motorola is known for f*cking up their devices' bootloaders. Will wait and see what Samsung have up their sleeves for Honeycomb tablets.. biggrin.gif

Added on March 3, 2011, 1:03 pm
QUOTE(lOrDjAbU @ Mar 3 2011, 12:59 PM)
wanna combine order (to reduce shipping cost)? how many days will it reach Malaysia?
Shipping is FOC (shop.momax.net) for orders above HK$200. I already have 3 confirmed buyers (myself, my colleague and a friend). If you're in Penang, I can topup my order.. smile.gif Delivery ETA is claimed to be 7-14 days.

Update : Have also contacted mikecmy via SMS - waiting for his next response on his pricing for bulk order. If nothing firmed up with him by tonight, I will directly buy from momax.net.

This post has been edited by kmrdeva: Mar 3 2011, 01:08 PM
kmrdeva
post Mar 3 2011, 01:10 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Mar 3 2011, 01:04 PM)
Motorola has the xoom's bootloader unlocked because they want devs to make cool apps with it.
That's nice to know. However I think Samsung's devices are better Android devices out of the box for me. Things like native AVI/MKV playback and easy-to-tinker software components (e.g. rooting, changing kernels, changing modem packs etc) are very nice to have..
kmrdeva
post Mar 3 2011, 01:51 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(four_add @ Mar 3 2011, 01:47 PM)
link to the item please?
http://shop.momax.net/?p=6&id=3378&new=&ca...cat0=46&lang=en

kmrdeva
post Mar 3 2011, 02:28 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(deanomoi @ Mar 3 2011, 02:06 PM)
u bought galaxy S from there>?
No la. Planning to buy extended battery from there..

kmrdeva
post Mar 3 2011, 03:56 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(nasrulbond @ Mar 3 2011, 03:53 PM)
yo boss, where did u get the JVE modem? is it good for gps and battery? hehe smile.gif
One of the JV1 downloads had 3 files (PDA, Modem, CSC) so I flashed the JVE modem using Odin. Seems to be pretty good, GPS and 3G/HSDPA connection-wise, but I think it is a bit more battery draining than JPY. My batt went down to 26% at 3pm today (from 100% at 7am).

Will probably go back to JPE, the one recommended by the SweetHoney builder.

kmrdeva
post Mar 3 2011, 05:56 PM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(ahhon83 @ Mar 3 2011, 05:18 PM)
I installed Simply ROM, but if i couldn't do the below, izzit important?

HOW TO CHANGE CSC WITH YOUR COUNTRY CODE:

1) Into Recovery go to "Backup and restore"
2) Select "Backup DATA + DBDATA + CACHE"
3) After is has finished reboot the phone
4) Into the DIALER write *#272*XXXXXXXXXXXX# where X series is your IMEI (show the IMEI with *#06#)
5) Select your country CODE
6) Click on INSTALL
7) Wait until it reboots and it do a wipe (automatically)
8) The phone will reboot and starts to vibrate (as corrupted file system)
9) Go into Recovery
10) Select "backup and restore", and then "restore"
11) Select your previous backup
12) Select "restore data"
13) Wait until it has finished, then select "reboot the phone"
14) Do the first boot!
15) Enjoy your new country code!
I never bothered to do these steps. Phone still working fine.

Added on March 3, 2011, 5:57 pm
QUOTE(Cyclone1 @ Mar 3 2011, 05:34 PM)
Anyone can advise this ar??? I wish to flash tonight after work...
Probably ok to jump from Doc to Darky without going back to stock. Just remember that everything will be wiped.

This post has been edited by kmrdeva: Mar 3 2011, 05:57 PM

0.0209sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 06:08 AM