Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V14, Galaxy S, live on a smart life

lch78
post Mar 20 2011, 08:52 PM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

QUOTE(sunnyboy @ Mar 20 2011, 07:40 PM)
3d gallery is slow, any good fast alternative gallry to intro?
Use SGS Tools to upgrade the stock gallery. It will be fast.
lch78
post Mar 21 2011, 09:17 AM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

QUOTE(sunnyboy @ Mar 21 2011, 07:51 AM)
my phone suddenly off by itself, and now totally cannot ON back...what should i do?

just now i played dungeon defenders with the charger plugged in....suddenly the phone just black out, and now cannot ON anymore...

what happen? i'm using damian overclock to1200mhz, will the overclock fried the phone?
I think it is the overheat safety switch cuts in and auto shut off your phone. I experience this before last time when I OCed. I needed to wait half hour when it is cooler to restart the phone.

Added on March 21, 2011, 9:21 am
QUOTE(Carlos_XP @ Mar 21 2011, 04:47 AM)
actually i'm quite confused about the which is stock firmware,i had a I9000DXJPA (the one that came preloaded with my 2nd hand phone) and a I9000DXJPE (somesay this is the stock).it's my first android so actually everything here is kinda confusing me tongue.gif
DXJPA and DXJPE are both stock firmware. DXJPE is newer. You'll learn.

QUOTE(raz4 @ Mar 21 2011, 09:16 AM)
hi all..
at last i got my own sgs yesterday n love it! rclxm9.gif
but i found out tat i cant use swype for text msg..... sweat.gif can u guys help me???
Press and hold on the area you want to type text. A pop out box will come out, select input method, select swype.

This post has been edited by lch78: Mar 21 2011, 09:21 AM
lch78
post Mar 21 2011, 09:42 AM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

QUOTE(sunnyboy @ Mar 21 2011, 10:31 AM)
now the phone cooled down edi,but still cant ON it...... cry.gif
Try take out battery? Cooler means the processor cooler, not the temperature you feel on the phone. Pray hard... sweat.gif sweat.gif

That is why I never OC again after that incident....
lch78
post Mar 21 2011, 09:59 AM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

QUOTE(sunnyboy @ Mar 21 2011, 10:54 AM)
it was off since 1am yesterday....

then this morning try to ON it, cannot

but if i plug in the charger, the phone will warm up again...
cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
Worst case. Go claim warranty. Act dumb, say dunno why wake up phone is dead... icon_rolleyes.gif
lch78
post Mar 21 2011, 11:23 AM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

These custom ROM developers are really a committed lot. They make Samsung looks like a lame duck in updating. Or maybe this is Samsung strategy, release a beta ROM and let these developers help kill the bugs, then take their efforts and release the stable version... brows.gif
Just my opinion.... tongue.gif
lch78
post Mar 21 2011, 01:01 PM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

QUOTE(gajahwhite @ Mar 21 2011, 01:39 PM)
for Simply Galaxy.. if i use NON-WIPE.. is it all old content will still there? like apps? contact? sms? smile.gif
Yes. Everything is intact. Remember to delete dalvik cache otherwise you'll face many FC.
lch78
post Mar 21 2011, 01:25 PM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

QUOTE(ali_double_seven @ Mar 21 2011, 02:14 PM)
need to delete dalvik cache before apply the zip file or after flashing (before initial reboot)?
Normally I just delete dalvik cache after flashing, but no harm if you want to delete also before flashing and delete again after flashing. biggrin.gif
lch78
post Mar 21 2011, 01:56 PM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

QUOTE(raz4 @ Mar 21 2011, 02:19 PM)
need help from all sifu here....
just own my sgs..like it...but i cannot use swype for text msg. after i swype...a box will pop out and say

"The swype package you installed is configured for another device and will operate with limited functionality.
Please contact Swype about this issue"

Is it that my phone don't have swype???Pls help me... icon_question.gif
Never experience this before. Just to check whether swype keyboard is installed for your device. Go to settings>Locale and text>text settings. Do you see a Swype? If yes, click on it, and go down to the Help section. Maybe you can find some answers there.
lch78
post Mar 21 2011, 02:23 PM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

QUOTE(raz4 @ Mar 21 2011, 03:15 PM)
my swype is include in my phone...
QUOTE(Fornaxlife @ Mar 21 2011, 03:18 PM)
since you cant fix it, why not reflash? for sure will work O.O
Ok. I think flash to a new ROM will be the most trouble free for what you are in now.

The other option is, uninstall the current swype and install a beta one from swype website. But you need to root your phone to uninstall swype.
lch78
post Mar 21 2011, 08:22 PM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

QUOTE(yuktsi14 @ Mar 21 2011, 07:21 PM)
just wan to double confirm, is this the correct way to root my galaxy s?
Flash to a custom ROM and you'll got the root. Or you can flash to speedmod kernel and root from there.
lch78
post Mar 22 2011, 08:13 AM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Mar 22 2011, 02:15 AM)
stock rom is way too ugly. so I'm experimenting with adw launcher + desktop visualizer. I only use two screens. I now have a more minimalist home screen than before smile.gif

screen 1:simi clock (with clock and calendar app when the clock widget is clicked) + desktop visualizer

screen 2: simi folder + desktop visualizer
Nice design. Black and white theme.
lch78
post Mar 22 2011, 08:45 AM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

Anyone try this Kernel Flasher before for restoring your backup kernel?

Might be a good idea if you want to revert to stock kernel. Saves the hassle to re-flash the entire ROM.
lch78
post Mar 22 2011, 08:54 AM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Mar 22 2011, 09:50 AM)
I've tried. Nothing special. Just works. Lol

You don't have to reflash entire ROM to restore kernel. Just extract the kernel image and flash via Odin. No data will be lost.
Good to know that... thumbup.gif
lch78
post Mar 22 2011, 01:37 PM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

Can't wait for 2.3.3... brows.gif

6 Pages « < 4 5 6Top

0.0500sec    0.17    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 10:15 AM