Buying Gold As Investment V2, 2011 Gold Rush From Oil Hype

TruthHurts
post Jul 28 2011, 09:28 AM

653 posts

QUOTE(altung @ Jul 27 2011, 11:11 PM)
not for trading but only keep for my self..so can any of you give a suggestion, where i can buy investment gold from official mining shop/office (government  mining office) or should I buy from the bank ? If I wanna buy a gold as much as I need like 1ounce, 5, 10 ounce etc
If im not mistaken, shop will sell gold at 180++/gram. If you want to purchase gold in solid form, make sure you keep the gold scratchless and dull or it will devalue and reject by bank where you purchase it from. But from the looks of it, i rather accumilate paper gold just to sell it after a few years.
i might get a few gold coins for the just in case also. tongue.gif

keii-kun
post Jul 28 2011, 10:12 AM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(kuhfayLover @ Jul 28 2011, 08:44 AM)
I don't see the RM10 spread from cimb ?!  hmm.gif

GOLD Deposit
Last Update: 27-07-2011

Selling Buying
Gold Deposit 156.500 151.900
read correctly, i did not said today or yesterday. it was monitored by other forummers.

RM10 difference
Last Update: 04-02-2011

Selling Buying
Gold Deposit 136.150 126.150
RM5.75 difference
GOLD Deposit
Last Update: 08-02-2011

Selling Buying
Gold Deposit 134.250 130.000

Added on July 28, 2011, 10:17 am
QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jul 28 2011, 07:54 AM)
i asked this....many times, no answer.......giving interest rates is islamic?  i am no muslim but i always thought
interest is haram?

Oh and buy Genneva gold at 30% higher than spot and pay yourself the 1.5% interest!
Whatta great sales point!    rolleyes.gif
interest = riba = haram.
islamic is more to perkongsian untung aka profit sharing which currently a lot of organisation is manipulating the terms.

genneva gold related = the chairman of so called gold bullion enterprise dealer bla bla and his friends already being charged by BNM, which from the BNM report, they are the owner of Genneva Sdn Bhd.

ok, enough on scam discussion.

buy what you can afford.

everything have risk, buy physical later can hilang or misplaced. buy physical also can kena con fake bars.
buy paper could be fraud.

buy from reputable.

This post has been edited by keii-kun: Jul 28 2011, 10:17 AM
kuhfayLover
post Jul 28 2011, 10:44 AM

381 posts

QUOTE(keii-kun @ Jul 28 2011, 10:12 AM)
read correctly, i did not said today or yesterday. it was monitored by other forummers.
QUOTE(keii-kun @ Jul 27 2011, 10:16 PM)
better than CIMB which raise the spread to RM10 during gold price rush recently.
cimb:
GOLD Deposit
Last Update: 28-07-2011

Selling Buying
Gold Deposit 156.000 151.300
maybank:
DATE 28 - Jul - 2011

SELLING (RM/g)156.88

BUYING (RM/g) 150.50

I'm just trying to tell, it is no more RM10 spread today for cimb, which is better than maybank.

This post has been edited by kuhfayLover: Jul 28 2011, 10:49 AM
joey85
post Jul 28 2011, 10:46 AM

~Yeah~
924 posts

QUOTE(PatEagle @ Jul 28 2011, 02:53 AM)
Personally, I only buy 999.9 physical gold from Genneva Malaysia Sdn Bhd. Currently their Hibah is at 2% per month for 3 months for 50g and above. More details at http://mygoldgoose.wordpress.com/

In addition, if you have old gold jewellery, you can also convert them to 999.9 gold bullion. Learn more at http://bit.ly/qC9Xe8

Hope this helps. Cheers!  smile.gif
sorry tongue.gif im asking for banks physical gold only tongue.gif dont dare to buy from other sources smile.gif

as i m viewing UOB gold coin / other type of physical gold... coz i dont know how to differentiate what is PAMP gold, gold coin etc...coz my understanding (very little on gold now tongue.gif) that gold price is 1gram = RM156.86 today but UOB selling PAMP gold at RM299 1GM ... (does GM = gram??)

then the price for 10GMS PAMP gold = RM1771... 100GM PAMP gold = RM16640 rclxub.gif kinda blur on these... can any pro can help me out tongue.gif thanks in advance notworthy.gif

so i would like to know bout this tongue.gif and which bank is better to buy these kind of physical gold? smile.gif
lustman
post Jul 28 2011, 10:47 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(keii-kun @ Jul 28 2011, 10:12 AM)

Added on July 28, 2011, 10:17 am

interest = riba = haram.
islamic is more to perkongsian untung aka profit sharing which currently a lot of organisation is manipulating the terms.

genneva gold related = the chairman of so called gold bullion enterprise dealer bla bla and his friends already being charged by BNM, which from the BNM report, they are the owner of Genneva Sdn Bhd.

ok, enough on scam discussion.

buy what you can afford.

everything have risk, buy physical later can hilang or misplaced. buy physical also can kena con fake bars.
buy paper could be fraud.

buy from reputable.
you're the man flex.gif

D3vilsim
post Jul 28 2011, 10:50 AM

1,260 posts

Sorry out of the topic a bit. Anyone know where can we buy silver ??
lustman
post Jul 28 2011, 10:53 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(joey85 @ Jul 28 2011, 10:46 AM)
sorry tongue.gif im asking for banks physical gold only tongue.gif dont dare to buy from other sources  smile.gif

as i m viewing UOB gold coin / other type of physical gold... coz i dont know how to differentiate what is PAMP gold, gold coin etc...coz my understanding (very little on gold now tongue.gif) that gold price is 1gram = RM156.86 today but UOB selling PAMP gold at RM299 1GM ... (does GM = gram??)

then the price for 10GMS PAMP gold  = RM1771... 100GM PAMP gold = RM16640  rclxub.gif kinda blur on these... can any pro can help me out tongue.gif thanks in advance  notworthy.gif

so i would like to know bout this tongue.gif and which bank is better to buy these kind of physical gold?  smile.gif
i suggest read again back-dated posts, i believed the answers are there, common man, take an extra mile, simple as ABC.

another thing you can do to confirm, just call UOB, their answer 100% correct. thumbup.gif

Added on July 28, 2011, 10:54 am
QUOTE(D3vilsim @ Jul 28 2011, 10:50 AM)
Sorry out of the topic a bit. Anyone know where can we buy silver ??
everything you need to know silver is here

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1256221/+840

This post has been edited by lustman: Jul 28 2011, 10:54 AM
prophetjul
post Jul 28 2011, 10:57 AM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(joey85 @ Jul 28 2011, 10:46 AM)

then the price for 10GMS PAMP gold  = RM1771... 100GM PAMP gold = RM16640  rclxub.gif kinda blur on these... can any pro can help me out tongue.gif thanks in advance  notworthy.gif

wOW ! 1 GM at Rm299??? Maybe typo error?
That would be ridiculous since the 10gm is Rm1771 rclxub.gif
D3vilsim
post Jul 28 2011, 11:00 AM

1,260 posts

QUOTE(lustman @ Jul 28 2011, 10:53 AM)
i suggest read again back-dated posts, i believed the answers are there, common man, take an extra mile, simple as ABC.

another thing you can do to confirm, just call UOB, their answer 100% correct.  thumbup.gif

Added on July 28, 2011, 10:54 am

everything you need to know silver is here

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1256221/+840
nice. THANK !! rclxms.gif
joey85
post Jul 28 2011, 11:39 AM

~Yeah~
924 posts

QUOTE(lustman @ Jul 28 2011, 10:53 AM)

another thing you can do to confirm, just call UOB, their answer 100% correct.  thumbup.gif
>.< quite hard to search over tongue.gif i think i better can UOB and ask "again" (in fact i asked before tongue.gif)

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jul 28 2011, 10:57 AM)
wOW !  1 GM at Rm299???  Maybe typo error? 
That would be ridiculous since the 10gm is Rm1771    rclxub.gif
not sure... u can refer to their website:

http://www1.uob.com.my/personal/useful/price_rates.html

under gold bullion price happy.gif

xcarfieldx
post Jul 28 2011, 11:53 AM

110 posts

last time i was told that usd is inversely proportional to gold price. Since USD keep dropping now, is that mean Gold will increase?
altung
post Jul 28 2011, 12:05 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(TruthHurts @ Jul 28 2011, 10:28 AM)
If im not mistaken, shop will sell gold at 180++/gram. If you want to purchase gold in solid form, make sure you keep the gold scratchless and dull or it will devalue and reject by bank where you purchase it from. But from the looks of it, i rather accumilate paper gold just to sell it after a few years.
i might get a few gold coins for the just in case also. tongue.gif
OIC, will think to invest as Paper Gold smile.gif..Nevertheless, prefer to buy "psychical gold"

This post has been edited by altung: Jul 28 2011, 12:08 PM
Debuantu
post Jul 28 2011, 01:17 PM

79 posts

On Monday gold price was US$1600/oz AU$1502/oz
Current gold price is US$1623 AU$1470

Do you spot the difference? While gold/oz is increasing in USD, the price per oz in AUD is getting cheaper. Do you know why?

How's it like in ringgit?

kelvinyam
post Jul 28 2011, 01:25 PM

May beauty be everywhere around me
1,766 posts

QUOTE(Debuantu @ Jul 28 2011, 01:17 PM)
On Monday gold price was  US$1600/oz  AU$1502/oz
          Current gold price is  US$1623      AU$1470

Do you spot the difference? While gold/oz is increasing in USD, the price per oz in AUD is getting cheaper. Do you know why?

Spot gold is traded in New York Globex, New York Comex, London, Hong Kong and Sydney. There would be variation among these exchange.
keii-kun
post Jul 28 2011, 02:18 PM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(kuhfayLover @ Jul 28 2011, 10:44 AM)
I'm just trying to tell, it is no more RM10 spread today for cimb, which is better than maybank.
that is what i am trying to share.. don't be fooled by the current spread.
bank always have the rights to revise the price. those big spread only happens the day where gold skyrocket and cimb revise
the price for that day.
now - slow market - of course better. you are not selling now yet. wait till price sky rocket and everyone going to sell,
you can see the spread changes.

btw, early this month, CIMB spread is 4.25, not 4.75 as of now.

and also, if you are a very long term saver, 3-5 years, spread does not matters laugh.gif

Added on July 28, 2011, 2:22 pm
QUOTE(Debuantu @ Jul 28 2011, 01:17 PM)
On Monday gold price was   US$1600/oz   AU$1502/oz
          Current gold price is   US$1623       AU$1470

usd dollar value is dropping = thus you need more USD to buy 1oz of gold.
Australia is one of the gold producer and its currency is moving based on gold = thus less AUD required to buy gold.

what happen here in malaysia, gold valued in USD.
gold price up, usd down, so when convert into ringgit, gold did not goes up as much as the world price smile.gif

This post has been edited by keii-kun: Jul 28 2011, 02:23 PM
kelvinyam
post Jul 28 2011, 02:29 PM

1,766 posts

QUOTE(keii-kun @ Jul 28 2011, 02:18 PM)
and also, if you are a very long term saver, 3-5 years, spread does not matters laugh.gif
It does matter. If you are with Maybank Gold Saving, you will be making 4% less when you cash out. 4% of RM100k is RM4k leh!
Debuantu
post Jul 28 2011, 02:59 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(keii-kun @ Jul 28 2011, 02:18 PM)
usd dollar value is dropping = thus you need more USD to buy 1oz of gold.
Australia is one of the gold producer and its currency is moving based on gold = thus less AUD required to buy gold.

what happen here in malaysia, gold valued in USD.
gold price up, usd down, so when convert into ringgit, gold did not goes up as much as the world price  smile.gif
Gold in Aus is quoted in USD too same as Malaysia. The gold price in AUD is cheaper due to the appreciation of AUD not so much on the decreasing value of USD (otherwise gold price in ringgit would have been cheaper too after conversion). smile.gif

This post has been edited by Debuantu: Jul 28 2011, 03:08 PM
keii-kun
post Jul 28 2011, 03:37 PM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(kelvinyam @ Jul 28 2011, 02:29 PM)
It does matter. If you are with Maybank Gold Saving, you will be making 4% less when you cash out. 4% of RM100k is RM4k leh!
ya lor, basically you lose the day you deposit already. after 3-5 years, if the price goes up and up...boleh pejam mata la, sebab sendiri silap beli maybank lor. at least you already deposit some, got untung still

Added on July 28, 2011, 3:40 pm
QUOTE(Debuantu @ Jul 28 2011, 02:59 PM)
Gold in Aus is quoted in USD too same as Malaysia. The gold price in AUD is cheaper due to the appreciation of AUD not so much on the decreasing value of USD (otherwise gold price in ringgit would have been cheaper too after conversion).  smile.gif
yes , you are correct. was trying to mention that AUD moves similar to gold movement as they are gold producer.

thus when USD value dives, gold which valued in USD is cheaper to buy if you have AUD since exchange rate AUD to USD is higher.
same thing did not happen here sad.gif

This post has been edited by keii-kun: Jul 28 2011, 03:41 PM
lustman
post Jul 28 2011, 05:22 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(kelvinyam @ Jul 28 2011, 02:29 PM)
it really doesn't matter or else you'll never buy bcos too busy with spread this spread that, this is your main decision spoiler, by the time you've decided the price has shot up. off course the spread cannot be too ridiculous.

anyways, that the game of gold malaysia and everywhere else, either you game on or game out. brows.gif
kelvinyam
post Jul 28 2011, 08:43 PM

1,766 posts

Will definitely check out UOB which claimed to be having minimum buy-sell spread. And yes, it does matter.

121 Pages « < 60 61 62 63 64 > » Top

0.0300sec    1.02    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 01:05 AM