Buying Gold As Investment V2, 2011 Gold Rush From Oil Hype

3think
post Jul 17 2011, 03:09 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(Jutawan @ Jul 16 2011, 02:12 PM)
Would it be better to diversify my buying of various gold weight and buy when low periodically rather than buying in lump sump?

Next question?

Which is the best Gold Bullion Coin to buy from UOB bank? Is there many available unlike Kijang Emas in Maybank that always out of stock?
I would say consider only ozzie nugget or canadian maples.

My suggestion is to get the Ozzie Kangaroos Nugget smile.gif

1. Different design every year - you gets to admire the different kangaroos before you locked it under your bed. Maple has only one standard design.

2. The nugget comes with air-tite casing. maple comes in a flimsy plastic casing.

Just my preference. Both are being weighted the same buy/sell price under UOB.

This post has been edited by 3think: Jul 17 2011, 03:10 PM
Owais Siddiqui
post Jul 17 2011, 07:37 PM

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Mar 1 2011, 05:03 PM)
thanks for all the feedbacks  notworthy.gif

i'm just trying to know more in this investment..
can't say i will go into this investment for sure in the near future...
but just wanna get an understanding on it and have a look at it before hand

thanks!
Gold and silver are currently the best investments. they may seem to change slowly at the moment but they are the safest form because shares, stocks and bonds are linked with paper money and as the inflation increases the value of all these will go down to ZERO. Only gold and silver will have any worth.
Look it up here: http://www.physicalgoldsilver.com/home

Added on July 17, 2011, 7:42 pm
QUOTE(cherroy @ Jul 4 2011, 12:44 PM)
One the most basic fact in gold investment that one must understand is that
gold itself does not yield any interest.

End of story.
This is only true in case of paper gold. In case of physical gold the value increases many folds. This may not be as rapid or unpredictable as in stocks and bonds but real physical gold and silver will never crash
END of the story smile.gif
Try and read this Why Should You Considered Silver As An Investment!

Added on July 17, 2011, 7:49 pm
QUOTE(nik2 @ Mar 2 2011, 10:47 AM)
Perak state launch new dinar and dirham coins.

Good for investment? What you all thinks?
The best form of investment is in PHYSICAL GOLD AND SILVER. but not in this order of priority. Silver is far better form of investment as it has industrial application and price rise is much frequent and stable. This may not be the case with Silver stocks but Physical silver definitely has its demand.
Why Should You Considered Silver As An Investment!

This post has been edited by Owais Siddiqui: Jul 17 2011, 07:49 PM
cherroy
post Jul 18 2011, 01:13 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Owais Siddiqui @ Jul 17 2011, 07:37 PM)
Gold and silver are currently the best investments. they may seem to change slowly at the moment but they are the safest form because shares, stocks and bonds are linked with paper money and as the inflation increases the value of all these will go down to ZERO. Only gold and silver will have any worth.
Look it up here: http://www.physicalgoldsilver.com/home

Added on July 17, 2011, 7:42 pm

This is only true in case of paper gold. In case of physical gold the value increases many folds. This may not be as rapid or unpredictable as in stocks and bonds but real physical gold and silver will never crash
END of the story smile.gif
Try and read this Why Should You Considered Silver As An Investment!

Added on July 17, 2011, 7:49 pm

The best form of investment is in PHYSICAL GOLD AND SILVER. but not in this order of priority. Silver is far better form of investment as it has industrial application and price rise is much frequent and stable. This may not be the case with Silver stocks but Physical silver definitely has its demand.
Why Should You Considered Silver As An Investment!
Inflation will spark up the stock market as well. Company make more profit, eventually higher share price.
A USD150 oil price definitely will make the oil company make tons of profit.
So does properties, if properties price sky-rocketing, properties stocks also booming.
Same with other commodities.
Inflation will make money value become smaller, it won't become zero.
Zero? laugh.gif
Add a few more zero at the back may be. laugh.gif

We are talking about interest or yield, not capital appreciation.
Be it paper gold or physical gold, both are not going to yield you any interest.

A 100g gold won't become 101g of gold.
End of story. yawn.gif

Price is more stable for silver? LOL, see the graph how the price spike to 50 then down to 34, then shoot up again, it is very volatile. Volatile comes from where?
Only highly speculated stuff has high volatility.

And this topic is about gold, we have existing topic on silver if want to talk about silver.
GoldChan
post Jul 18 2011, 11:18 AM

451 posts

what is better gold/silver or stock or property? For me I choose silver and gold. long time back.
OK lah. We need some specific result.

Point 1.
Cherroy.
Can you give us some local stocks where if we have brought in any year
2000 - 2009. it beats our investment in gold. Gold average about 12.5% / per annum since 2001.

2001 :- gold is USD260/- Kijang emas about RM1,100/oz . Now it is RM5000/- approx 5x.
2001 :- Double storey terrace house in KL, 22 x 75 :- RM250K.
Now about RM500K. 2x increase. So gold beat property.
Let said you pay by leverage 5x1, zero down deposit, maybe you be able to beat the gold after deducting the legal fee, stamp duty etc but gold does not need to do lot of work one just buy and store in safe box. Totally passive income from inflation point of view.

The point I want to make is, if you see growth from inflation point of view or from actual growth point of view.

With one exception, if you have brought during 1998 crash then I think U R millionaire lah. this one has to be excluded because it's an argument from extreme (best case scenario).

Point 2. Cherroy.
Who is as smart as you that they managed to brought all the stock you have brought in Point 1.

Point 3.
Ya, oil company make lot of money but the money cannot buy back the oil they sold and burnt.

there is a book . "The end of growth" and "Peak Everything" by richard heinberg.

Point 4. oil price
High oil price will lead to higher property price in some sense
a) Construction is more expensive. Big truck lorry need lot of diesel.
b) material need oil to construct, transport, maintain.
=> Higher property price.

but in long run it may lead to lower property prices as there is no oil to sustain such cities of concrete.
rclxub.gif

only certain properties will be super valuable and the rest will be of value much much less than it's actual construction cost.

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jul 18 2011, 01:13 AM)
Inflation will spark up the stock market as well. Company make more profit, eventually higher share price.
A USD150 oil price definitely will make the oil company make tons of profit.
So does properties, if properties price sky-rocketing, properties stocks also booming.
Same with other commodities.
Inflation will make money value become smaller, it won't become zero.
Zero?  laugh.gif
Add a few more zero at the back may be.  laugh.gif

We are talking about interest or yield, not capital appreciation.
Be it paper gold or physical gold, both are not going to yield you any interest.

A 100g gold won't become 101g of gold. 
End of story.  yawn.gif
Price is more stable for silver? LOL, see the graph how the price spike to 50 then down to 34, then shoot up again, it is very volatile. Volatile comes from where?
Only highly speculated stuff has high volatility.

And this topic is about gold, we have existing topic on silver if want to talk about silver.
This post has been edited by GoldChan: Jul 18 2011, 11:19 AM
cherroy
post Jul 18 2011, 02:15 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(GoldChan @ Jul 18 2011, 11:18 AM)
what is better gold/silver or stock or property? For me I choose silver and gold. long time back.
OK lah. We need some specific result.

Point 1.
Cherroy.
Can you give us some local stocks where if we have brought in any year
2000 - 2009. it beats our investment in gold. Gold average about 12.5% / per annum since 2001.

There is no such thing which investment is better than the other.

Gold price was stagnant for 25 up to 30 years without any much movement, while stock and properties escalated 10x, 15x, 20x. during this period.
So now it is gold turn to shine over the others.

I was responding the statement that everything value become zero, others become worthless, but only gold shine and only gold is worth to invest. smile.gif
Yes, it is good to diversification into some gold position, but to say other asset will become worthless if gold price shoot up to USD2000 or USD3000, is never right.

We look good on particular investment class, feel optimistic about it, it doesn't mean we brush aside or look down other investment class, they may outperform your investment class with condition upfold, which we never know.

Current gold price trend also can be an extreme trend from USD500-600 to USD1500, if we look back 10 years from now.
It may be just a starting built up trend or it may not, or toppish, we never know.
97th Mobile
post Jul 18 2011, 04:09 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jul 18 2011, 02:15 PM)

Gold price was stagnant for 25 up to 30 years without any much movement, while stock and properties escalated 10x, 15x, 20x. during this period.

I was responding the statement that everything value become zero, others become worthless, but only gold shine and only gold is worth to invest.  smile.gif
Yes, it is good to diversification into some gold position, but to say other asset will become worthless if gold price shoot up to USD2000 or USD3000, is never right. 

We look good on particular investment class, feel optimistic about it, it doesn't mean we brush aside or look down other investment class, they may outperform your investment class with condition upfold, which we never know.

Current gold price trend also can be an extreme trend from USD500-600 to USD1500, if we look back 10 years from now.
It may be just a starting built up trend or it may not, or toppish, we never know.
Agreed with cherroy thumbup.gif

I feel that the gold investment entry is too high and the ROI percentage or real money gain per money invested is too low compare with some of my other investment. This opinion may also be due to my limited funds.

That does not mean i don't invest in gold, but i also invest in stocks and properties, which also gives me good return as i tend to look for low entry investment. "Buy low Sell High" that is what all guru's advice he he.

every investment have it's days of boom and bust, in USA the late 90's it's tech stock, in early 2000 period it's property boom. All the boom will make you rich and all the bust will make you cry.

The gold boom started in early 2000, after 7-9 years boom (depending when you count the gold boom start) i started wondering when the party will stop?

cherroy
post Jul 18 2011, 04:39 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(97th Mobile @ Jul 18 2011, 04:09 PM)

I feel that the gold investment entry is too high and the ROI percentage or real money gain per money invested is too low compare with some of my other investment. This opinion may also be due to my limited funds.

That does not mean i don't invest in gold, but i also invest in stocks and properties, which also gives me good return as i tend to look for low entry investment. "Buy low Sell High" that is what all guru's advice he he.

every investment have it's days of boom and bust, in USA the late 90's it's tech stock, in early 2000 period it's property boom. All the boom will make you rich and all the bust will make you cry.

The gold boom started in early 2000, after 7-9 years boom (depending when you count the gold boom start) i started wondering when the party will stop?
Gold booming was only start around 2004-2005.

A chart represent thousand word.

In the 1970's, gold price was booming for about a decade, before stagnant for 25 years.

Quoted from http://goldprice.org/gold-price-history.ht...year_gold_price

Jutawan
post Jul 18 2011, 04:48 PM

379 posts

QUOTE(97th Mobile @ Jul 18 2011, 04:09 PM)

To have the appropriate investment knowledge is important right + diversification. cool2.gif

At the end of the day, we profit form our investment + calculated risk.

p/s : Gold price is rising like 'hell' this week... waiting for the next drop.

p/s 2: Nobody knows about Dinar Kelantan here???
SUSDavid83
post Jul 18 2011, 06:21 PM

52,874 posts

Gold Rallies to Record in Best Run Since 1980

Gold rose to a record above $1,600 an ounce as debt concerns in Europe and the U.S. boosted demand for the metal as a protection of wealth. Bullion climbed to all- time highs in euros and pounds and silver topped $40 an ounce.

URL: http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2011-07-18/g...since-1980.html
lustman
post Jul 18 2011, 08:52 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(Jutawan @ Jul 18 2011, 04:48 PM)
To have the appropriate investment knowledge is important right + diversification. cool2.gif

At the end of the day, we profit form our investment + calculated risk.

p/s : Gold price is rising like 'hell' this week... waiting for the next drop.

p/s 2: Nobody knows about Dinar Kelantan here???
These may shed some light...

http://www.dinarkel.com/

http://www.nikmaheran.com/v1/attachments/0...INAR-Maidin.doc
prophetjul
post Jul 18 2011, 09:55 PM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jul 18 2011, 04:39 PM)

In the 1970's, gold price was booming for about a decade, before stagnant for 25 years.

Gold actually bottomed in 2001 signaling the end of the bear mkt ....
so it would be technically 10 year old bull now
firee818
post Jul 19 2011, 08:11 AM

1,205 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jul 18 2011, 04:39 PM)

The gold chart history let me think about BDI index (Baltic Exchange Dry Index).

"If" the trend is follow (all upward trend will be followed by correction), then gold price might undergo severe correction.

Please refer to the link:-

http://www.investmenttools.com/futures/bdi...c_dry_index.htm

In year 2006, BDI shoot from around 2500 points to 11,305 points (March 2008), then followed by severe correction from 11305 points to around 1500 points ( around Nov 2008) and now it remain stagnant at 1800 points (July 2011).

This post has been edited by firee818: Jul 19 2011, 08:21 AM
GoldChan
post Jul 19 2011, 08:43 AM

451 posts

my bet is on gold and silver.
If you look at the amount of money printed, gold is no where a bubble.
How it become a bubble when it is just 0.8% of total world assets.

http://www.bearishnews.com/post/3515

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jul 18 2011, 02:15 PM)

I was responding the statement that everything value become zero, others become worthless, but only gold shine and only gold is worth to invest.  smile.gif

DM3
post Jul 19 2011, 11:10 AM

INSPIRATOR
6,618 posts

so far it didnt drop much and for years its moving upwards.
last week drop alittle and picks up well this week .

prophetjul
post Jul 19 2011, 11:44 AM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(GoldChan @ Jul 19 2011, 08:43 AM)

Paper gold could become a bubble.............not physical
akira de aimbuster
post Jul 19 2011, 11:49 AM

しごと~
3,500 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jul 19 2011, 11:44 AM)
Read that before too, if paper gold more than actual existing gold, terrible things will happen sweat.gif
But arent paper gold's rate follow the physical gold's rate? Then how did the bubble happen?
xcarfieldx
post Jul 19 2011, 11:54 AM

110 posts

Just read The Stars, some company estimate that gold price will increase more this coming months.
Actually what makes the price of gold spike up around the year 2005-2005?
cherroy
post Jul 19 2011, 11:56 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(GoldChan @ Jul 19 2011, 08:43 AM)

Gold and silver is relative small market if compared to bond and stocks.
Gold is another asset market or asset class.

Bubble or not bubble, I don't know, I have no clue.
Gold is an asset that you cannot value on it.
Nobody know what is the worth of gold, we have no benchmark or valuation method that can decide what gold price should be.
It can be USD1600, it can be USD16000. Both level are same.

It all depended on buyer and seller willingness to pay for it.
Unlike properties, stocks, bonds, you can have valuation method based on return you can get from them, aka yield comparison, wealth generation.

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jul 19 2011, 11:44 AM)
The current gold market price aka USD1600 is also a from paper gold price, there is no real gold transacted directly but futures trading contract.
Physical gold price is based on paper gold transaction. smile.gif

khun_khun
post Jul 19 2011, 12:24 PM

Past is history, Today is gift, Future is mystery.
1,698 posts

guys...... what is procedure buy gold bullion coin from UOB?

and which branch in KL has selling gold?
kelvyn
post Jul 19 2011, 12:41 PM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(khun_khun @ Jul 19 2011, 01:24 PM)
guys...... what is procedure buy gold bullion coin from UOB?

and which branch in KL has selling gold?
should be at one of these UOB branches.

- Jalan Raja Laut
- Jalan Tengah Branch
- Bishop Branch.
- Butterworth Branch

121 Pages « < 53 54 55 56 57 > » Top

0.1441sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:55 AM