Fundamentals of Overclocking, NEWBIES PLS READ THIS BEFORE POSTING
tkh_1001
Jul 29 2008, 02:41 PM
the ram speed will be too high on CAS 4 if u put it to multi 2.4....dont think the 4gb kit will be able do so high on CL4... try with CAS 5  btw, always tune from low speed to high speed slowly ba....like that u ma can know how far ur max speeds is with certain voltage lo...ur gigabyte got OC software to use in window ma  system memory multiplier is the divider of ur proc:ram speed 2.0 is 1:1 ratio....
tkh_1001
Jul 29 2008, 09:35 PM
yeap.. i am trying to say use 5-5-5-15 settings actually  just use the oc software to find max speed slowly
tkh_1001
Jul 29 2008, 09:42 PM
did u add vcore?
n to find max mem speed...u can do so by reducing ur proc multiplier so ur clock wont be so high on high fsb...
tkh_1001
Jul 29 2008, 11:16 PM
erm..sory for being not clear.... by using lower proc multiplier, ur proc clock is lower on the same proc fsb speed.... read here for more understanding... http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...0#entry15451675http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/626450http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/627600
tkh_1001
Jul 30 2008, 06:45 PM
QUOTE(FoxNope @ Jul 30 2008, 10:00 AM) The first thread answer everythings that i need to know Awesome.. Haven got time to go through the 2nd and 3rd one... Thank tkh_1001. no probs bro... hopefully those thread can be moved n pinned here
tkh_1001
Aug 2 2008, 12:34 PM
ah bro ar..... ur divider n proc clock for both bench is not the same wor... like that compare where got fair
tkh_1001
Aug 2 2008, 06:05 PM
QUOTE(FoxNope @ Jul 31 2008, 01:41 PM) is.... what is actually means by unstable ? is that means the pc wont boot up or what? and i got very very little knowledge on OC RAM... just wonder, is 5-5-5-12 compare to 4-4-4-12 is a big diff? actually from the 2nd n 3rd link i gave u got explain the effect of CL4 and CL5... go read up bro... the explaination there very detailed
tkh_1001
Aug 5 2008, 07:25 PM
QUOTE(lytros @ Aug 5 2008, 08:43 AM) Not sure if this question has been asked before... If I were to increase my fsb frequency from 333MHz to 350MHz, it will increase my processor clock, but will it affect my other hardware such as PCIE, PCI cards and ram? Is there a risk of damaging other hardware other than the CPU? yes ur proc clock will increase if u increase ur proc fsb... ur ram speed will increase together as well as u increase ur fsb... pls read the links i posted above to get more understand QUOTE(Federer @ Aug 5 2008, 10:47 AM) One more noob question i want to ask  . To calculate vdrop it's [(bios set vcore) - (CPUz vcore at idle]). Where to check the bios set vcore? I use Biostar TPower i45. erm..bios set vcore u ma check in ur bios lo
tkh_1001
Aug 16 2008, 04:51 PM
u will need a cpu cooler if u wana OC high....good ones shud be sunbeam conre contact freezer or ocz vendetta II or xigmatek s1283...those will give u big improvement over u temp compared to intel stock heatsink...
where do u live btw?
tkh_1001
Sep 14 2008, 05:18 PM
go to ur bios n set ur multiplier to 8..
then disable C1E and EIST or something like Intel Speed Step...
i am using 64bit too n there is no problem with the cpuz
tkh_1001
Sep 15 2008, 10:31 PM
iirc for gigabyte mobo it is known as Vfsb ...its the same as Vtt... jsut that u might not have GTL ref option....
tkh_1001
Nov 6 2008, 07:12 PM
its differs for every the proc models...
like e8 series is said to have better OCing ability with E0 stepping compared to C0...
while q6600 is said to be better OC n running cooler on G0 compared to B3....
for those comparison, it doesnt mean that C0 cannot clock better than E0.... most of the time its down to the ability of the proc itself imho.... just that getting the better stepping increases ur chance of getting a more OCable proc...
my 2cents...
tkh_1001
Nov 6 2008, 08:50 PM
not sure bout old models bro.... what i know is only from current models....
u are right new steppings normally comes with improvement.....try google for q6600 G0 vs q6600 B3 and u shud be able to get a picture of what difference it brings already....
tkh_1001
Nov 7 2008, 06:33 PM
well...try increaase the vcore then... shud do the job for u... donot put the vcore on auto
tkh_1001
Nov 26 2008, 08:12 PM
yes.... ur q9400 has max multi of 8.... the clock is detected as 2ghz most possibly due to C1E or EIST functions... disable those n it shall be 2.66ghz again.... if not, check ur multiplier settings in ur bios to see if its set to 8..... to start OCing, read all these basic first http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...0#entry15451675http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/626450http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/627600
tkh_1001
Nov 27 2008, 08:29 PM
hmm...normally a 2x2gb 800mhz ram wud suffice since quad core fsb normally will be walled at 450-470 like that.... value ram can OC oso if u want...just that u will have to run at loose timing  if u want performance ram for 4gb kit, iirc it shud be at a price tag of around rm300-400 in garage sales.... generally performance 4gb will OC to 9xx at CL4 and 1xxx at CL5
tkh_1001
Dec 9 2008, 12:05 PM
QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Dec 4 2008, 11:02 AM) no one answer my question?  QUOTE(sinki87 @ Dec 9 2008, 11:57 AM) hello.. i'm newbie here.. i wan to know wat i need to oc cpu,ram n gc. read these first http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=633097&hl=http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/623648http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/626450http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/627600
tkh_1001
Jan 25 2009, 10:26 PM
QUOTE(B u B u @ Jan 25 2009, 09:39 PM) Intel C2Q Extreme QX6800 Asus P5QL-PRO 2gbx2 kingston Sapphire HD4850 Cooler Master Extreme 550watt read this bro http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...0#entry15451675