Fundamentals of Overclocking, NEWBIES PLS READ THIS BEFORE POSTING

DarkNite
post Jan 2 2015, 06:07 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,027 posts

Sifu, I blur blur at OC
but I wanna know if this i7 4790k is OC and at what speed?

In the cpu-z it shows : -

Clocks (Core#0)
Core speed 4497.34 Mhz
Multiplier x 45.0 ( 8- 45)
Bus Speed 99.94 Mhz
legenderycity
post Jan 5 2017, 04:42 PM

1,016 posts

Newbie to overclock here. Now considering whether to buy i7 or i5 for gaming. Am curious will i5 overclock better than i7? Since it has lower temps thus it should able to reach higher clock speeds than the i7 right?
goldfries
post Jan 6 2017, 12:05 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,399 posts

Not necessarily, for example Kaby Lake i7 7700K out of the box already has faster base and boost clock compared to Core i5 7600K.
leekaisuen69
post Jan 16 2017, 10:50 PM

123 posts

any sifu's mind sharing how to overclock my laptop. i7 6820hk, 980m graphics. 4x8gb ddr4 ram. Do i need more ram? currently on 1tb+256m.2 ssd. ssd need upgrading? turbo boost cpu n gpu fans running on 3500-3800rpm at ard 40degrees after few hours of gaming.
audiocool
post Jul 6 2017, 01:51 PM

583 posts

Own a i7 7700k with Asus Maximus IX Hero, Corsair Vengeance LPX LED DDR4 RAM 3200Mhz.

My desktop is connector to Panasonic TV.

I encounter once in the while, the PC won't boot up after press power button. All light is up and I saw blank screen in my TV.

So far I had run Memtest64 for 40 minutes, and it did not throw any errors.

Is this related bios setting. Kindly guide me through as I'm not really familiar on DDR4 RAM voltage things.

andrewtong1998
post Aug 3 2017, 11:40 PM

Nice!

emmajoy
post Aug 7 2018, 03:12 AM

Great learning guys I'm planning to do an OC for my upcoming build.
Verblassen
post Dec 9 2018, 12:30 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(legenderycity @ Jan 5 2017, 04:42 PM)
Newbie to overclock here. Now considering whether to buy i7 or i5 for gaming. Am curious will i5 overclock better than i7? Since it has lower temps thus it should able to reach higher clock speeds than the i7 right?
Don't quote me on this, but I've seen somewhere on the net that the i5s are better binned to handle overclocks. One comment by someone pointed this out. But to be honest you're only getting 6 cores and threads at that speed where as you're getting the same cores and 2x the threads for the sake speed. The sample size to conclude that an i5 OCs better than an i7 is probably too small to be significant. I know your post was a year ago but if you're still wondering between the two, get the i7. Better longevity after overclocking.

QUOTE(emmajoy @ Aug 7 2018, 03:12 AM)
Great learning guys I'm planning to do an OC for my upcoming build.
All the best! What specs are you looking at. brows.gif
mcknn
post Dec 9 2018, 05:46 PM

Not a fan of OC and don't know where to be used, but it's still worth reading a thread like this I understand / learning a 1 or 2, and it can be reference for my future build, kudos to all!
cstkl1
post Dec 9 2018, 09:18 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(mcknn @ Dec 9 2018, 05:46 PM)
Not a fan of OC and don't know where to be used, but it's still worth reading a thread like this I understand / learning a 1 or 2, and it can be reference for my future build, kudos to all!
nothing here dude...

jeaneallenn P
post Jul 24 2019, 02:06 PM

Probation

Don't mind me here folks. I have been into this area for quite some time and I am loving it. Go on.
QuerolousDancer P
post Mar 6 2023, 06:43 PM

Probation
14 posts

Well done

23 Pages « < 21 22 23Top

0.0170sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd March 2023 - 06:18 AM