Termites treatment - for new houses, - your comments please..

TSjojozep
post Feb 27 2011, 09:25 PM, updated 15y ago

119 posts

Does anyone know how effective and how much it is ?

There are no termites but as a future prevention, will it be good to have it done..

or there is nothing to worry about, as the chances are slim..
myonedeco
post Feb 28 2011, 11:48 AM

they offered a warranty of years, 5 yrs depending on material quality. but its a good prevention. do do it before move in as it will smell if they do it indoor. they will need to drill holes on the perimeter of the house and put in the material.
PJusa
post Feb 28 2011, 04:06 PM

2,027 posts

i have good experience with stopest (even though they struck my waterpipe) - if you want i can pass a contact to you.
zeese
post Feb 28 2011, 04:32 PM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

I think, the treatment is not a one time treatment.. every few years, you need to call them up again (if you want to) to redo the treatment..
PJusa
post Feb 28 2011, 04:41 PM

2,027 posts

yes. they pumped bayer agenda around my house. warranty 5 yrs + annual inspection included. then after 5 yrs pump again. i read this agenda is pretty damn efficient - esp. when compared to regular spray.
eMKs
post Feb 28 2011, 05:58 PM

647 posts

How the cost roughly for 2-stry house?
lucerne
post Feb 28 2011, 06:53 PM

1,946 posts

dun believe in those short term pest controls! it is waste of $. the chemicals will gone when flushed/leached by underground water. oso the chemicals will also discomposed by itself after short period of time. it doesnt help at all if got termite. u r lucky coz yr hse are thermite free.
the best prevention is to make sure all wood are pretreated with chemicals before end uses eg furniture, frame, doors etc. chemicals impregnated/implanted with high pressure, the chemicals will go inside the wood cell not surface only. if oni surface it will discomposed by air, heat etc. today most of the sawn timbers (solid wood) are chemicals treated. but some of them cheating with lesser dosage, low pressure, shorted treatment time. standard is 6kg chemicals per m3 pressured in 2 hrs, the deeper the better eg 5cm so that the nails or holes/cracks do not lead termites into wood. if they treat properly the wood can last more than 100 years even placed at outdoor. pls take note today most of the engineering wood (non solid wood) eg chip board, fibre board, MDF, HDF etc are not treated (to save $ for competition). most of them use in furniture, flooring. maybe they purposely not treated and want u to replace every few years?? if they make it very lasting, they can close shop already..maybe they want to keep changing design/ fashion?? it is unlike solid wood used in non fashionable end use eg roof truss, door/window frame, solid doors, solid wood flooring mostly can last more than 50 years (coz they oso cheat some). p/s: i am in wood chemicals line. pls pm me if u want to know more about wood treatment.
skng03
post Feb 28 2011, 08:01 PM

1,450 posts

QUOTE(zeese @ Feb 28 2011, 04:32 PM)
I think, the treatment is not a one time treatment.. every few years, you need to call them up again  (if you want to)  to redo the treatment..
it's true that they have to drill & pump chemical every few years.. rclxub.gif rclxub.gif thats why i run a set of pipes before i laid my tiles icon_rolleyes.gif
lucerne
post Mar 1 2011, 05:35 PM

1,946 posts

pls take note that termites can migrate from your neibour houses thru roof trusses. so it is best if you can spray chemicals on the roof truss every 3-5 years. (short term protection) The more concentrate the better, the shop sell from 20% to 45% w/w. This is neccessary as most of the timber truss is not well chemicals treated. (cheated by saw mills)
pls dun spray the same chemicals on furniture, cupboard, cabinets and doors as it is very toxic to human.

drill and pump chemicals - dun believe this! it wont last long due to msia hot and wet wheather.
TSjojozep
post Mar 1 2011, 05:39 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(lucerne @ Mar 1 2011, 05:35 PM)
pls take note that termites can migrate from your neibour houses thru roof trusses. so it is best if you can spray chemicals on the roof truss every 3-5 years. (short term protection) The more concentrate the better, the shop sell from 20% to 45% w/w.  This is neccessary as most of the timber truss is not well chemicals treated. (cheated by saw mills)
pls dun spray the same chemicals on furniture, cupboard, cabinets and doors as it is very toxic to human.

drill and pump chemicals - dun believe this! it wont last long due to msia hot and wet wheather.
where can buy this chemical and how to apply?
PJusa
post Mar 1 2011, 05:47 PM

2,027 posts

actually i am pretty confident that drill and pump will work well. but not if your house is attached to untreated houses of course. you need to be able to create a perimeter ring around your property for it to work well. so it's bungalows only i guess.

bayer agenda is not or hardly water soluble so it will remain in the soil for a long long time. it's not immediate poison but will make the termites carry their deathsentence into the colony. this stuff is pretty convincing. i stay in a previous rubber plantation - so far so good. neighbour who just sprays got the roof eaten by a colony before. so have to spray and inspect every 3 months. the bayer agenda is warranted no termites for 5 yrs and all inclusive. more expensive initially but cheaper in the long run.
lucerne
post Mar 1 2011, 06:11 PM

1,946 posts

QUOTE(jojozep @ Mar 1 2011, 05:39 PM)
where can buy this chemical and how to apply?
u can go to any hardware shop to buy the chemicals. I forgotten the name.
pls go to traditional hardware to buy as it is illegal to sell insecticide without licences (storing and selling), most of the traditional hardware shops sell secretly. hope u dun report to police ok? kasi orang cari makan lah coz to apply few licences (annually) need lot of $ and the profit not justified coz not many ppl buy.

buy a good spray with the pressure pump type. (plastic or metal)

Added on March 1, 2011, 6:20 pm
QUOTE(PJusa @ Mar 1 2011, 05:47 PM)
actually i am pretty confident that drill and pump will work well. but not if your house is attached to untreated houses of course. you need to be able to create a perimeter ring around your property for it to work well. so it's bungalows only i guess.

bayer agenda is not or hardly water soluble so it will remain in the soil for a long long time. it's not immediate poison but will make the termites carry their deathsentence into the colony. this stuff is pretty convincing. i stay in a previous rubber plantation - so far so good. neighbour who just sprays got the roof eaten by a colony before. so have to spray and inspect every 3 months. the bayer agenda is warranted no termites for 5 yrs and all inclusive. more expensive initially but cheaper in the long run.
most insecticides/pesticides are water soluble.. if u ask the pest control co ofcoz they said no la. u can ask them to test immediately.. even it is solvent type, u need a very strong solvent and the smell is terrible. (some ppl mistaken the smell is coz by the chemicals)

This post has been edited by lucerne: Mar 1 2011, 06:20 PM
jav
post Mar 3 2011, 09:24 PM

Do you think tat staying at a condo also have termite risk?
lucerne
post Mar 3 2011, 11:09 PM

1,946 posts

QUOTE(jav @ Mar 3 2011, 09:24 PM)
yes. if the surrounding hv termite risks eg forest with die trees. usually engineering wood (eg HDF, MDF, chip/ fibre board, plywood etc) will infested first eg cabinets, non solid wood flooring eg laminated floors etc

all the above are not pre- treated (to save cost or they purposely want u to change more often)

termite will then move to solid wood furnitures especially those not well or partially treated (cheating to save cost)

rubber wood usually is quite well treated becos the treatment is cheap (boric acid and borax is very low cost), they dun mind to treat fully.

but if u buy rubber wood furniture from IKEA then it is not treated at all. IKEA want it to be green or chemicals free. so if u like rubber wood, pls buy from normal furniture shops.

low cost boric and borax can not penetrate into harder wood eg kempas, nyatoh etc so the treatment are more expensive. But most of Msia wood processors are cheating. (our regulatory bodies eg MTB, MTIB etc do not enforced, all are sleeping).

US, Europe, Aus/NZ, Singapore etc are fully enforced, their regulatory dept certified full treatment even for engineering woods.
PJusa
post Mar 3 2011, 11:12 PM

2,027 posts

lucerne,

i did my homework - you might want to read about agenda:

http://escience.bayercropscience.my/bcsweb...MY_Agenda_25_EC

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fipronil

lucerne
post Mar 4 2011, 04:16 PM

1,946 posts

i dun believe in drill in pump method as the chemicals will wash away by water eventually and affect the ecology. even u pour oil under the ground u wont see again after few months.

Fipronil - not sure if it is easy available and cost but i recommend the common available chlorpyrifos. u can get it from any hardware shops. it is very cheap. buy the more concentrate one eg 40% w/w to have more value. can add more water. if too dilute eg 20% w/w can not add too much water.
i still prefer to spray chemicals on wood/furniture and then coat /paint on top (eg wood laquer) to avoid possible toxication (by touching). This is more effective. ofcoz this need more work (spray job) than just drill and pump. but i think drill is waste of $. pls remember to wear mask (good one) during spraying.
PJusa
post Mar 4 2011, 05:46 PM

2,027 posts

hmm fipronil can also be used to paint the wood not a problem (extremely efficient). and since its not easily washed away at all lacing the soil is extremely efficiend (unlike the normal drill jobs i take it). its non toxic to humans and pets so added plus - i found this stuff very convincing. we also painted the beams and doorframes with it and pumped underneath a visible termite colony at my neighbours place. two weeks later - no trace (note: pumped underneath not on them, so they must get in touch with it first). its more expensive but will last easily 5-10 years so that saves a lot of hassle afterwards smile.gif
TSjojozep
post Mar 4 2011, 07:08 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(PJusa @ Mar 4 2011, 05:46 PM)
hmm fipronil can also be used to paint the wood not a problem (extremely efficient). and since its not easily washed away at all lacing the soil is extremely efficiend (unlike the normal drill jobs i take it). its non toxic to humans and pets so added plus - i found this stuff very convincing. we also painted the beams and doorframes with it and pumped underneath a visible termite colony at my neighbours place. two weeks later - no trace (note: pumped underneath not on them, so they must get in touch with it first). its more expensive but will last easily 5-10 years so that saves a lot of hassle afterwards smile.gif
is this fipronil available form the traditional hardware shops?

can we paint it on or spray it on?

when you say pump,you meant spray with a spray pump?

After spraying or painting, is it safe to touch? say i spray on roof wooden truss, then we climb into attic to do work,will we poison ourselves? notworthy.gif
PJusa
post Mar 5 2011, 09:56 AM

2,027 posts

i dont think you can spray fipronil. either paint it on wood or pump underground. i think only certified pest control guys can do it for you. dont think hardwarestore got (at least the chinese one around my corner doesnt carry).

check for a dealer and get a quote. since it can last 5-8 years easily it's much cheaper than normal jobs in the long run. for normal contract like my neighbour pay initial pumping 1500 then every 3 months come and inspect (200 bucks or so) and respray the roof every 6 months (i think he told me its around 500). my treatment was around 3300 - including of annual inspection and retreatment should any termite surface during 5 years.

so my costs over 5 years: 3300

my neighbour: 1500 + 5*2 annual inspections *200 + 5 * 2 (twice a year) 500 for treating the roof (including the inspection i guess) = 8500

which is why i used fipronil. cheaper and the stuff is non-toxic to humans.
lucerne
post Mar 8 2011, 11:57 AM

1,946 posts

pls wash your hand throughly (with soap) after spraying/handling chemicals. i dun believe any pesticide is safe to human.
suggest to coat the wood surface with paint after treatment so your hand is not contaminated.

suggest to compare cost performance btw fipronil with chlorpyrifos.
centurionstareng
post Mar 8 2011, 12:06 PM

Termite treatment is actually a good LONG TERM investment and recommend you should do it, after all the cost compared to the house itself is very small indeed. I didnt do for my house in the beginning and regretted it last two months ago. Colony of termites decided to move into my place. Had to clear out 50% of the stuff and do spraying. Hard time, wish i'd spend that RM600 in the beginning. Total damage was about RM5k...

Last words...get it done now before later...you never know.

You can try my classmate, he's into termite treatment and pest control. Kerry Kua at 016 252 0344. Cheers.
shinchan^^
post Mar 8 2011, 12:10 PM

K66
21,256 posts

QUOTE(jav @ Mar 3 2011, 09:24 PM)
http://armaneejmb.lefora.com/2009/08/21/te...ast-in-block-a/
lucerne
post Mar 11 2011, 05:09 PM

1,946 posts

yes, u can buy chlorpyrifos or cypermathrin from any hardware shops and spray by yourself or contractor. after spray,u can coat the roof truss with with the common wood stain ( kind of paint), for door etc u can either piant wiht wood stain if u want to see the wood grain or normal paint (eg alkyd, polyester etc) to cover the toxic chemicals. (non translucent)
roof - make sure that u spray on both end /cut and nail spot coz termite can go in from here.

those treated wood is usually in greenish color but sometime sawmills cheat consumers with pigments.
common chemicals for wood use in outdoor is CCA (copper chrome arsenic) - green in color
some of them cheating by jsut soak with CCA to show it is green color. it shud be pressure reated , force the chemicals to go inside the wood cells. the longer time , the higher the pressure hte better.
anyway, they are too many cheating outside. in fact u dun have to spray if it is proper treated. spray is short term. pressure treat is longterm and wood can last more than 100 years. the wood primeter is deeply cover with chemicals, nailing have no affect.
Neoh1979
post Mar 13 2011, 05:18 PM

1,811 posts

I heard that u can spray chemical within your unit during the construction, right before they put up the bricks. Can that be done?
TSjojozep
post Mar 26 2011, 11:49 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(skng03 @ Feb 28 2011, 08:01 PM)
it's true that they have to drill & pump chemical every few years.. rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif thats why i run a set of pipes before i laid my tiles icon_rolleyes.gif
why do you need to run a set of pipes?

Added on March 27, 2011, 1:11 am
QUOTE(centurionstareng @ Mar 8 2011, 12:06 PM)
Termite treatment is actually a good LONG TERM investment and recommend you should do it, after all the cost compared to the house itself is very small indeed. I didnt do for my house in the beginning and regretted it last two months ago. Colony of termites decided to move into my place. Had to clear out 50% of the stuff and do spraying. Hard time, wish i'd spend that RM600 in the beginning. Total damage was about RM5k...

Last words...get it done now before later...you never know.

You can try my classmate, he's into termite treatment and pest control. Kerry Kua at 016 252 0344. Cheers.
What is done for rm600?

This post has been edited by jojozep: Mar 27 2011, 01:11 AM
Kelvin5717
post Apr 5 2011, 10:46 PM

742 posts

Today i learn bout another way to treat termite from my boss, was not sure the name of the treatment..

we have

1) the usual spray around treatment
2) the one that make a lots of hole by injecting the chemical inside the land
3) baiting system (for active termite)

today i heard that my boss actually ask the contracter to do a piping for termite chemical method, before they lay down the new tile, they actual make a long pipe system from porch area to your middle of your living hall, the pipe will be plant underground ur tile, slightly more below and the move to all corner and have different spliting, what you need to do is on yearly basic go to the pipe mouth at porch area and pour in 1 can of the chemica and it's done.. the pipe thing cox less then 1k rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

i wonder if really got such thing ???
skng03
post Apr 5 2011, 11:06 PM

1,450 posts

QUOTE(Kelvin5717 @ Apr 5 2011, 10:46 PM)

i wonder if really got such thing ???
got, i did mine when reno.....

Kelvin5717
post Apr 5 2011, 11:27 PM

742 posts

QUOTE(skng03 @ Apr 5 2011, 11:06 PM)

Wow drool.gif really got such thing, how much u do ? cox u see i just brought 1 sub sale at BMC and that place is famous for termite, i got upper floor on parque wood and if change to tile cost a lot, hence thought of just maintain the parque by shellec and polish with only Rm1.5k so the method call what ? does it cover the whole house ? how much the chemical per botol or tin or what ever amount needed per time for treatment ?

where is your house by the way ? tongue.gif
areankim
post Apr 6 2011, 04:23 PM

"Live Life Cool"
3,705 posts

erm... what are the option for those house that do not do renovation?

jst to a hole at the back of the house?
bteoh
post Apr 6 2011, 08:58 PM

158 posts

constantly pouring chemical onto where you live....how does that sounds like????
Jo_da48
post Apr 6 2011, 09:33 PM

1,529 posts

QUOTE(skng03 @ Apr 5 2011, 11:06 PM)

Interesting..which company doing this? and cost like?
Also, you only done on area need relay tiles or you actually do the who GF tiles replacing? How about if pnly partial example: Kitches / Car Pourche etc?

This post has been edited by Jo_da48: Apr 6 2011, 09:34 PM
Kelvin5717
post Apr 6 2011, 09:51 PM

742 posts

QUOTE(areankim @ Apr 6 2011, 04:23 PM)
erm... what are the option for those house that do not do renovation?

jst to a hole at the back of the house?
that is to punch a small hole at the corner of your house and surounding it.. it will punch and inject the chemical through ur existing tile after that close up with cement so ur tile wont look so nice d...

QUOTE(bteoh @ Apr 6 2011, 08:58 PM)
constantly pouring chemical onto where you live....how does that sounds like????
hmm i also dunno but u see there is no FOREVER termite treatment in the world.. even if we chose the above method i mention to areankim, 3 years later u still ask ppl come and inject it again and ur tile look ugly le... if use baiting system u still put chemical and wait those termite carry it back to their king and queen and the colony might die but later come new gang u still put again same chemical thingy inside the house doh.gif
TSjojozep
post Apr 6 2011, 10:00 PM

119 posts

The termites can sense the chemicals? and avoid it?

I done baiting DIY before and it works,killed all the termites...only thing is that I found out a bit late..
now I have a LED touchlight white light to do my own inspection...

This post has been edited by jojozep: Apr 6 2011, 10:02 PM
skng03
post Apr 6 2011, 10:27 PM

1,450 posts

QUOTE(bteoh @ Apr 6 2011, 08:58 PM)
QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Apr 6 2011, 09:33 PM)
Interesting..which company doing this? and cost like?
Also, you only done on area need relay tiles or you actually do the who GF tiles replacing? How about if pnly partial example: Kitches / Car Pourche etc?
NLC termguard, cost a bomb. i have a bungalow project use their system.

the piping in my house reno was done by my indon, in fact any plumber also can do it, drill holes surrounding the house, insert perforated pvc piping with end cap, wrap with geo-textile and connect to each other from front to back.

i replace tiles for the whole house nod.gif

QUOTE(Kelvin5717 @ Apr 6 2011, 09:51 PM)
that is to punch a small hole at the corner of your house and surounding it.. it will punch and inject the chemical through ur existing tile after that close up with cement so ur tile wont look so nice d...
hmm i also dunno but u see there is no FOREVER termite treatment in the world.. even if we chose the above method i mention to areankim, 3 years later u still ask ppl come and inject it again and ur tile look ugly le... if use baiting system u still put chemical and wait those termite carry it back to their king and queen and the colony might die but later come new gang u still put again same chemical thingy inside the house  doh.gif
the conceal piping buried under the floor tiles actually serve the same function as u mention above, only difference is my floor tiles not need to drill in future, and i won't have those chemical smell inside the house when i recharge it every 2 years.

Kelvin5717
post Apr 6 2011, 11:41 PM

742 posts

QUOTE(jojozep @ Apr 6 2011, 10:00 PM)
The termites can sense the chemicals? and avoid it?

I done baiting DIY before and it works,killed all the termites...only thing is that I found out a bit late..
now I have a LED touchlight white light to do my own inspection...
dunno hahahaha the baiting only kill 1 gang, dunno got 2nd or 3rd gang or not many puak lol this samseng termite doh.gif shakehead.gif

QUOTE(skng03 @ Apr 6 2011, 10:27 PM)

the piping in my house reno was done by my indon, in fact any plumber also can do it, drill holes surrounding the house, insert perforated pvc piping with end cap, wrap with geo-textile and connect to each other from front to back.

the conceal piping buried under the floor tiles actually serve the same function as u mention above, only difference is my floor tiles not need to drill in future, and i won't have those chemical smell inside the house when i recharge it every 2 years.
yeah this is the exact thing i wanna do since i gonna change the whole floor tile in my house, might as well do this 1st.. how much does it cost actually ? i mean ur indo guy la hahaha ?
skng03
post Apr 7 2011, 11:11 AM

1,450 posts

QUOTE(Kelvin5717 @ Apr 6 2011, 11:41 PM)

yeah this is the exact thing i wanna do since i gonna change the whole floor tile in my house, might as well do this 1st.. how much does it cost actually ? i mean ur indo guy la hahaha ?
the material cost +-400, labour +-500, chemical 200
Jo_da48
post Apr 7 2011, 02:05 PM

1,529 posts

QUOTE(skng03 @ Apr 7 2011, 11:11 AM)
geo-textile? How and where could this get from?

skng03
post Apr 7 2011, 02:40 PM

1,450 posts

QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Apr 7 2011, 02:05 PM)
geo-textile? How and where could this get from?
hardware shop lar doh.gif doh.gif
Kelvin5717
post Apr 7 2011, 08:59 PM

742 posts

QUOTE(skng03 @ Apr 7 2011, 11:11 AM)
QUOTE(skng03 @ Apr 7 2011, 02:40 PM)
hardware shop lar  doh.gif  doh.gif
hmm around 1.1k + -, better then me hacking the whole upper floor parque wood rclxms.gif maybe u can intorduce me ur indo for it ? hahaha

and apa itu geo-textile ? i thought we are discussing termite treatment over here ? what is it gonna do with geotextile ?
skng03
post Apr 7 2011, 09:33 PM

1,450 posts

QUOTE(Kelvin5717 @ Apr 7 2011, 08:59 PM)
hmm around 1.1k + -, better then me hacking the whole upper floor parque wood  rclxms.gif  maybe u can intorduce me ur indo for it ? hahaha
and apa itu geo-textile ? i thought we are discussing termite treatment over here ? what is it gonna do with geotextile ?
u can google it mar.......the perforated pvc pipe wrap with geo-textile to avoid those small holes clog up by soil.

every 3 ft one pipe punch in to soil about 2ft depth. for existing slab, my worker drill the floor concrete with 32mm drill pit

This post has been edited by skng03: Apr 7 2011, 09:34 PM
Jo_da48
post Apr 8 2011, 01:12 AM

1,529 posts

After all the horizontal in place, it than connect with a vertical PVC with T-Connectors with each of them? that all?
The PVC is Blue colour, is that specific type or just the colour is blue, where it just like those grey colour PVC?

skng03
post Apr 8 2011, 01:41 AM

1,450 posts

its actually those vertical pipe plant in place 1st, then connect them to a set of main with T connector. the blue color pipe we call it ABS pipe lar, no difference if u use those grey PVC
Jo_da48
post Apr 8 2011, 01:49 PM

1,529 posts

discussed with my contractor and he give ton of reason not to do it, and ever indicated should charge for 2-3k.

He recommending not to do since only wood thing in my house will be those kithcen cabinet / TV rack not the door frame or skirting area, hence should be save except and only worry should be those fly termites type.
Also frequencely need to go roof top to spray...

skng03
post Apr 8 2011, 02:12 PM

1,450 posts

QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Apr 8 2011, 01:49 PM)

Also frequencely need to go roof top to spray...
my worker apply the chemical to all timber roof trusses and paint a coat of solvent base sealer the next day, hopefully can last for few year nod.gif
Jo_da48
post Apr 8 2011, 02:44 PM

1,529 posts

QUOTE(skng03 @ Apr 8 2011, 02:12 PM)
my worker apply the chemical to all timber roof trusses and paint a coat of solvent base sealer the next day, hopefully can last for few year nod.gif
what the name of those? I believe I could DIY instead of asking them mad.gif
skng03
post Apr 8 2011, 08:30 PM

1,450 posts

QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Apr 8 2011, 02:44 PM)
what the name of those? I believe I could DIY instead of asking them  mad.gif
not recommended to DIY lar, my worker complaint to me the whole body feel itchy for few days, after apply the chemical to roof trusses sweat.gif sweat.gif
Kelvin5717
post Apr 8 2011, 10:39 PM

742 posts

QUOTE(skng03 @ Apr 7 2011, 09:33 PM)
u can google it mar.......the perforated pvc pipe wrap with geo-textile to avoid those small holes clog up by soil.

every 3 ft one pipe punch in to soil about 2ft depth. for existing slab, my worker drill the floor concrete with 32mm drill pit

it should go up to the upper floor also ? i thought we need to do it for the ground floor only ? hmm in that case what happen to my existing parque on top floor ? also need to hack ??? and top up chemical at upper floor ? my boss told me only top up at car porch there ??
skng03
post Apr 9 2011, 12:29 AM

1,450 posts

QUOTE(Kelvin5717 @ Apr 8 2011, 10:39 PM)
it should go up to the upper floor also ? i thought we need to do it for the ground floor only ? hmm in that case what happen to my existing parque on top floor ? also need to hack ??? and top up chemical at upper floor ? my boss told me only top up at car porch there ??
the piping only for ground floor, the roof trusses apply by brush/ roller
phoenix69
post Jun 30 2011, 12:30 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(skng03 @ Apr 6 2011, 10:27 PM)

This is a fantastic idea.
Let me clarify this, This is basically the drilling method where they pump in chemicals like Agenda 25 EC / fipronil
Instead of closing the hole with cement, you leave a pipe there that can allow you to re pump in again the chemicals after the expiry date.
I heard that you need to drill a hole every ten square feet. My house is around 1650sq feet.
Does this mean I need to drill approx 165 holes. sweat.gif
How to lay the pipes to allow even distribution of chemicals? icon_question.gif

soonyeap
post Feb 20 2012, 08:30 PM

227 posts

and u need a pump to inject the chemical as else the front part will only get it but not those at the back????
skng03
post Feb 20 2012, 11:06 PM

1,450 posts

QUOTE(soonyeap @ Feb 20 2012, 08:30 PM)
and u need a pump to inject the chemical as else the front part will only get it but not those at the back????
Definately need pump
ladybike13
post Feb 21 2012, 12:15 AM

33 posts

oh no! i renovated my apartment and totally forgot about termites problem. i heard few units had been attacked too

icon_question.gif
benjinfw
post May 21 2012, 12:04 PM

Hi bros,
today just saw this Pest Paramedics at StreetDeal

cant find any comment from google but only has a facebook that gives good comment..

not sure want to proceed or not..
the deal will be off by end of today..

hopefully any bros has any experience with them could give comment..

http://www.streetdeal.my/deals/view/1271/9...ang_Valley.html
bat11
post Jul 21 2012, 07:39 PM

881 posts

Hi, I am looking for termite prevention for my new house. Any good contact to share? Thanks!
coconutzz
post Jul 21 2012, 11:14 PM

1,109 posts

I used Aneka Pest Control (not a famous name)...they did the drilling method as well..and spray onto roof trusts
he used imidacloprid...not sure good or not..but i paid RM1,600 for the service..

bat11
post Jul 22 2012, 09:00 PM

881 posts

QUOTE(coconutzz @ Jul 21 2012, 11:14 PM)
I used Aneka Pest Control (not a famous name)...they did the drilling method as well..and spray onto roof trusts
he used imidacloprid...not sure good or not..but i paid RM1,600 for the service..
Thanks Coconutzz, RM1600 is quite expensive for termite treatment. How big is your house?
coconutzz
post Jul 23 2012, 10:55 AM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(bat11 @ Jul 22 2012, 09:00 PM)
Thanks Coconutzz, RM1600 is quite expensive for termite treatment. How big is your house?
Expensive? I m not sure though ...I have checked another which quoted RM2,800...

Mine is a End Lot Terrace...

phoenix69
post Jul 23 2012, 11:25 AM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(ladybike13 @ Feb 21 2012, 12:15 AM)
oh no! i renovated my apartment and totally forgot about termites problem. i heard few units had been attacked too

icon_question.gif
Apartment.... how to treat termite problem? Do you have to treat it for the whole building since they nest underground??
ladybike13
post Jul 27 2012, 01:51 PM

33 posts

ooo ok, actually i'm not sure about it, have to check it with the management. btw thanks!

maxguy
post Aug 21 2012, 02:37 PM

822 posts

PJusa
post Aug 21 2012, 04:10 PM

2,027 posts

is bayer termidor the same stuff as bayer agenda? in that case i can confirm that this stuff rocks. didnt do any dusting though.
creativespikes
post Nov 18 2012, 05:15 PM

188 posts

QUOTE(coconutzz @ Jul 21 2012, 11:14 PM)
Can u pm me d contact??

I found this brows.gif
promo price

Added on December 1, 2012, 12:01 amJust done mine today

RM1750 with Japanese chemical

This post has been edited by creativespikes: Dec 1 2012, 12:01 AM
~Curious~
post Jan 13 2013, 11:58 PM

1,744 posts

[quote=skng03,Feb 28 2011, 08:01 PM]
it's true that they have to drill & pump chemical every few years.. rclxub.gif rclxub.gif thats why i run a set of pipes before i laid my tiles icon_rolleyes.gif

[/quote]
skng03,i haf d same query as wildrestark

furthermore i plan to grow some edible plants n herbs in my garden.how much did d whole thing cost n since u did it almost 2 years ago,effective or not this method?wad about ur annual maintenance-juz poour the chhemical in?btw wad kinda pump needed;normal water pump?

[quote=lucerne,Mar 11 2011, 05:09 PM]
yes, u can buy chlorpyrifos or cypermathrin from any hardware shops and spray by yourself or contractor. after spray,u can coat the roof truss with with the common wood stain ( kind of paint), for door etc u can either piant wiht wood stain if u want to see the wood grain or normal paint (eg alkyd, polyester etc) to cover the toxic chemicals. (non translucent)
roof - make sure that u spray on both end /cut and nail spot coz termite can go in from here.

those treated wood is usually in greenish color but sometime sawmills cheat consumers with pigments.
common chemicals for wood use in outdoor is CCA (copper chrome arsenic) - green in color
some of them cheating by jsut soak with CCA to show it is green color. it shud be pressure reated , force the chemicals to go inside the wood cells. the longer time , the higher the pressure hte better.
anyway, they are too many cheating outside. in fact u dun have to spray if it is proper treated. spray is short term. pressure treat is longterm and wood can last more than 100 years. the wood primeter is deeply cover with chemicals, nailing have no affect.

[/quote]
how to tell if we buy coloured furniture?i mean those already painted over.

This post has been edited by ~Curious~: Jan 14 2013, 12:00 AM
skng03
post Jan 14 2013, 11:04 PM

1,450 posts

QUOTE(wildrestark @ Nov 17 2012, 12:34 PM)
those of u having pipes on the ground, will it contaminate the drinking water ? will it cause cancer to others or leukemia to children nearby? is this dangerous chemical pump into the ground or not?
QUOTE(~Curious~ @ Jan 13 2013, 11:58 PM)
skng03,i haf d same query as wildrestark
this piping run purposely for re-charging the termite chemical, your drinking water/ incoming cold water piping is total different set of piping, how the the chemical can contaminate the drinking water doh.gif doh.gif unless u are digging a well nearby for your drinking water lar wink.gif

~Curious~
post Jan 15 2013, 12:52 AM

1,744 posts

QUOTE(skng03 @ Jan 14 2013, 11:04 PM)
this piping run purposely for re-charging the termite chemical, your drinking water/ incoming cold water piping is total different set of piping, how the the chemical can contaminate the drinking water  doh.gif  doh.gif unless u are digging a well nearby for your drinking water lar wink.gif
but when d chemical is dispensed from d pipes,won't it disperse into d ground?then it might get absorbed by garden plants wor..
btw wad r ur comments regarding this system since u ady installed it?
skng03
post Jan 15 2013, 02:04 PM

1,450 posts

QUOTE(~Curious~ @ Jan 15 2013, 12:52 AM)
but when d chemical is dispensed from d pipes,won't it disperse into d ground?then it might get absorbed by garden plants wor..
btw wad r ur comments regarding this system since u ady installed it?
i installed this @ my ex-2stry intermediate house so never consider about any plants/ garden tongue.gif tongue.gif

can't comment too as i already sold this house before the reno completed whistling.gif
sovietmah
post Jan 16 2013, 10:23 AM

2,243 posts

QUOTE(jojozep @ Feb 27 2011, 09:25 PM)
Does anyone know how effective and how much it is ?

There are no termites but as a future prevention, will it be good to have it done..

or there is nothing to worry about, as the chances are slim..
I don't think you need to do the treatment for new house, just waste of money.
every few months just ask the termites solution to do checking, and if there is termites then do the sentricon solution.
And make sure the house is not humid and if possible change all the door frame to aluminium or steel one.

If you check with any termites solution they 100% advise you to do the drilling treatment with sentricon warranty.
Or else how they earn money. laugh.gif
~Curious~
post Jan 16 2013, 01:41 PM

1,744 posts

QUOTE(skng03 @ Jan 15 2013, 02:04 PM)
i installed this @ my ex-2stry intermediate house so never consider about any plants/ garden tongue.gif  tongue.gif 

can't comment too as i already sold this house before the reno completed whistling.gif
wah reno wif termite prevention system to sell...such a nice buy smile.gif

anyone else installed d underground piping system can give some testimonials?
~Curious~
post Jan 24 2013, 02:43 AM

1,744 posts

QUOTE(wildrestark @ Jan 24 2013, 12:06 AM)
underground piping system is not even recommended by experts. only some china man thinks they knows better. kakak.
y is it not recommended?
maxguy
post May 14 2013, 08:14 PM

822 posts

http://escience.bayercropscience.my/bcsweb...MY_Agenda_25_EC

0.0632sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:38 AM