5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

The Raw Selvedge Denim Thread, Version 4

junky_man
post Apr 23 2012, 09:29 AM

The 'bater Debater
1,118 posts

QUOTE(LAYANGLAYANG @ Apr 23 2012, 08:47 AM)
junky_man

Where are  you getting the Red Wing , locally ? If so what's the address and contact ?

Thanks in advance.
The one I've managed to physically hold one was at Sole What in Gardens Mall near Mid Valley. I think there's another outlet in One Utama but I'm not sure.

I tried to check at Pertama Complex since the red wing web site mentioned the shop name, but I'm not sure whether they have the lifestyle boots or the normal work boots. Finding the shop was a bit confusing but when i managed to locate it, the shop was closed on Thursday. sweat.gif

bear in mind there are reports of fakes out there. So be careful in purchasing one beforehand whether in store or online. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(gnarkill @ Apr 23 2012, 09:16 AM)
its the wrangler blue bell at the pyramid?
I never saw the selvedge denims at wrangler, especially the MIA blue bell line. sweat.gif
junky_man
post Apr 23 2012, 09:51 AM

The 'bater Debater
1,118 posts

QUOTE(soulquarianz @ Apr 23 2012, 09:36 AM)
sorry to interrupt.....but heres the address for THE ONLY local red wing distributors in Malaysia

their shop is in pertama complex, address as follow

Lot 1.30, 1st Floor pertama Complex Jalan Tuanku Abdul Rahman Kuala Lumpur, 50100 West Malaysia
Tel/Fax: (60) 3 2692 4233

this sale outlet company actually belong to

Leeden Sdn Bhd
Lot PT 5075, Jalan Jangur 28/43 Section 28, Hicom Industrial Estate Shah Alam, Selangor Darul Ehsan, 40400 West Malaysia
phone: +60-03 55228308
mysales.safety@leedenlimited.com
www.leedenlimited.com
fax: +60-03 55228309
Leeden is actually the main supplier for Petronas and other petroleum workers for their redwing boots - the PECOS.....
also if not mistaken they are also main supplier for Red Wing in Singapore. but they dont bring half size only full size, if u want half size u can custom order. They also do sole replacement.....hope this helps....

p/s: price is firm...i think 876, Chukkas is selling RM960 plus....Iron Ranger 1K plus....but their boat shoes is cheap less them RM500...but stock and sizes is limited.

Added on April 23, 2012, 9:42 am

SW kicks is overprice hehe....only rich people will go there....smart ppl buy online....

anyway the fake you mention is being sold by the only RW official distro? where did you read it bro? pls share....

anyway the collection of RW in Pertama is quiet complete..i think they cover about 80% of the shoes....if u want other model you can custom order it including sizes....they also selling other accessories such as mink oil, wallet, t-shirt, lace, socks, etc;s....
Thanks soul for that detailed info! Most of us will appreciate that. nod.gif

The fakes are what I've read online. I haven't heard personally the ones selling over here are fakes, but it's best to be informed that there is a possiblity. sweat.gif

QUOTE(gnarkill @ Apr 23 2012, 09:45 AM)
owwww, i thougt it's blue bell oneĀ  biggrin.gif
TBH i haven't seen them, but i stand corrected if they do. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by junky_man: Apr 23 2012, 09:51 AM
junky_man
post Apr 23 2012, 02:34 PM

The 'bater Debater
1,118 posts

Raw & selvedge denims is serious business yo! biggrin.gif

On topic, as @nekonano said, the shop at Subang Parade does a nifty job repairing shoes.

Once sent my Tims there for stitching because the sole was lose. A bit pricy compared to your normal cobbler, but the workmanship was good. thumbup.gif

junky_man
post Apr 23 2012, 04:11 PM

The 'bater Debater
1,118 posts

QUOTE(g3n0c|d3 @ Apr 23 2012, 04:07 PM)
do they have the timberland punya tapak kasut? i got a pair of timberland and the tapak needs to be change... the sole and the leather still looking good... kindda sayang want to retired it since the leather still looks good thou...
for mine, I'm still using my original soles. Had it repaired not because of the sole was wearing off, but the sole was gaping from my shoes. Hence, had it repaired by sewing up the sole.

I've been using their services for quite awhile. no complaints so far. touch wood. sweat.gif
junky_man
post Apr 23 2012, 04:54 PM

The 'bater Debater
1,118 posts

QUOTE(g3n0c|d3 @ Apr 23 2012, 04:51 PM)
i really wanted to repair the tapak kasut , but i want to use the original tapak from timberland... can ah like that? hahahaha....

sleep.gif
Haha, probably you can order it online, ship it here and ask the cobbler to do the rest?

I'll google it for you if it's possible. icon_rolleyes.gif
junky_man
post Apr 24 2012, 09:49 AM

The 'bater Debater
1,118 posts

QUOTE(apsidewatch @ Apr 24 2012, 09:21 AM)
up yours, some ppl like it stack, or cuff. if ur not sure on which one to have, my suggest is to go for stacking first and if it is not into ur liking then try cuff, hemming should be ur last option since u cannot turn back.
@apsidewatch Oh mai.....he was just asking about hemming his jeans. no need to feel offended. laugh.gif icon_rolleyes.gif /joking, i know you mean "Up to you". wink.gif

@don8ld on topic, yeah, it's up to you if you want it hemmed. i don't think it'll change dramatically unless the tapered part is significant from the knee down. but don't blame me if you don't like it after you've done it. sweat.gif

Since @apsidewatch mentioned about local denim brands, anyone else has experience in our local Malaysian brands? besides Cheese denim since bro Stinky has one. wink.gif
junky_man
post Apr 24 2012, 05:08 PM

The 'bater Debater
1,118 posts

Hey guys, a question:

I want to get the back pocket wallet impression for my raw denims, but my worry is if my credit/bank cards get bent and ruined in the process. How do you guys go about it?

should i get a separate card holder?
junky_man
post Apr 25 2012, 10:11 AM

The 'bater Debater
1,118 posts

QUOTE(Stinky Fart @ Apr 24 2012, 05:23 PM)
my touch n go card got twisted and funky from me sitting on it. Replaced it with a new one and the new one is also in my wallet tongue.gif
Other cards seem unaffected though
had to replace my credit card twice. sweat.gif

QUOTE(gnarkill @ Apr 24 2012, 05:46 PM)
still got no problem with it man, my cc n atm card still workin good even they are lil bit bend  sweat.gif

separate card holder ok for the solution, but since im kinda a reckless person im afraid it'll get lost like before  rclxub.gif
that's another concern as well if i kept them separated. sad.gif

QUOTE(apsidewatch @ Apr 24 2012, 05:52 PM)
with the current wallet fade for my n&f, all my card is still good. no bent or anything. so i suggest u to let me hold all ur cc and atm card. ill pm u my address.

it's a trap! laugh.gif

QUOTE(chazychaz @ Apr 24 2012, 07:08 PM)
Get urself a damn thick horsehide wallet mate..nice backpocket fading effect, secured atm and cc card plus leather that look better with age
oh dayum bro, don't poison me!!!

.....erm, probably you can PM me how much it is? just wanna check if it's affordable. getting my tax rebate from my latest tax filing. tongue.gif
junky_man
post May 7 2012, 02:45 PM

The 'bater Debater
1,118 posts

QUOTE(dlaz @ May 7 2012, 01:53 PM)
@gnarkill:nice pick up!
didnt know gnarkill works at embassy.can you help me renew my passport?lol
Wait a sec.....how do you know he works in an Embassy? rclxub.gif

QUOTE(gnarkill @ May 7 2012, 02:01 PM)
hahahah, yeah of course just gimme a call bro... i'll help you  notworthy.gif
Which embassy? brows.gif

QUOTE(JapanUsedClothing @ May 7 2012, 02:05 PM)
Hi Alls,

How are all of you today?

For your info, I'm still very new here. And I'm soooo glad to meet all of you here.. since all of you have had a very nice and very2 informative discussion here regarding denim/jeans. As I'm also a denimhead just like all of you, especially to Japanese premium brands since my adolescence.

Hence, I hope all of you can accept me here as one of your forumer friend.  smile.gif

Thanks you.
Hi and welcome aboard.

Just came back from Midvalley during lunch time. Went into a Wrangler outlet over there and was pleased to see some selvedge denims being brought.

I manage to see two of them, one is European made (dunno where) selvedge but pre washed. Retails at RM699. sweat.gif

the other was something that made me excited. it was a raw selvedge denim. green line. Made in Turkey. this one retails at RM499 IINM. wink.gif

One thing nice about it, you'll get a box together with your jeans! some nice novelty there.

Got another interesting tid bit. I asked the sales guy when the MIA blue bell line is coming in. He said it'll be mid year, probably June or July.
junky_man
post May 7 2012, 05:23 PM

The 'bater Debater
1,118 posts

QUOTE(Stinky Fart @ May 7 2012, 03:00 PM)
good news junky. The store was recently renovated right? Went there before it was renovated but saw no selvedge denim. Now I wish Levi's carry their vintage denim at a fair price
I haven't been to Mid Valley for awhile, So i'm not sure it was recently renovated. sweat.gif

For LVC, the only place I've ever seen them in stores here is at Garden's Levi's store. Some decent selections, but the price are around RM999. cry.gif

There was a particular design that was eye catching. a collab with one japanese designer, hence MIJ. left hand twill and half selvedge. Some thing you can buy if you want to be unique. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(gnarkill @ May 7 2012, 03:17 PM)

wew... a blue bell? which floor bro?

So if i see an Indonesian embassy worker wearing killer denims, it must be you. notworthy.gif icon_rolleyes.gif laugh.gif
junky_man
post May 14 2012, 05:18 PM

The 'bater Debater
1,118 posts

QUOTE(cheesedenim @ May 14 2012, 05:09 PM)
Hi again to all of you smile.gif  smile.gif  smile.gif  smile.gif
Here's a brief intro on us

We're a homegrown denim brand started back in 2010 but materialized in 2011. 
Product Categories & Cutting:

Mens : Stiffy (100% cotton denim) - Skinny & Slim straight (at present)

Strechy (stretch denim) - Skinny (at present)

Womens : Swaggy - Skinny (at present)
Materials - Non selvedge raw denim currently, we are in the midst of producing our selvedge models
hmmmm....cheeese...... thumbup.gif

welcome aboard!
junky_man
post May 16 2012, 09:08 AM

The 'bater Debater
1,118 posts

QUOTE(kerryking @ May 16 2012, 12:48 AM)
Here's my fitting.
welcome to the GTB (Going To Battle) family! rclxms.gif

Have one myself. thumbup.gif
junky_man
post May 16 2012, 03:11 PM

The 'bater Debater
1,118 posts

QUOTE(Stinky Fart @ May 16 2012, 01:15 PM)
nudies just arrived. Need an opinion on the fit. Keep or sell?

front

back

feels tighter than what I normally wear. Balls are fine, they have room. It's just tight throughout the leg.
This is a Thin Finn Black Coated Indigo btw.
Keep it. thumbup.gif

You can pull off wearing Skinny/thin finn cutting.

junky_man
post May 18 2012, 01:56 AM

The 'bater Debater
1,118 posts

QUOTE(Louis Vuitton @ May 17 2012, 07:07 PM)
I see Tony Stark's shirt in Avengers  drool.gif
I also just realised there's a tri-force in the forehead.

cool t-shirt. Nice find!
junky_man
post Jun 8 2012, 12:30 PM

The 'bater Debater
1,118 posts

QUOTE(potemkin @ Jun 8 2012, 11:24 AM)
Got myself a pair of Momotaro's (need to consult the label once i get back home for type).

But now i should've consulted online about the stretching sad.gif

Bought a size 31 due to the fact that i couldn't button all the way up on a size 30. Now the 31 feels baggy as heck. Will post pics once i've the time.

Edited..

version is 0700sp , the cheaper Momo's
the jb x momos should be one size down from your tts imo.

The texas cotton not gonna shink/strech much.

This post has been edited by junky_man: Jun 8 2012, 12:30 PM
junky_man
post Jun 8 2012, 03:07 PM

The 'bater Debater
1,118 posts

QUOTE(chazychaz @ Jun 8 2012, 03:01 PM)
wow bro junky..u sound like an expert already
FFFFUUUUU....I hope that is a compliment rather than a sarcasm! laugh.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

Nah, just based on my experience with that particular jeans.

I'm already wanting to grab my hands on some good Zimbabwe Cotton Jeans but no spare money to spend on them. House is getting ready for major renovation, so gotta spend it elsewhere.

even have to put on hold my Red Wing Moc toes! cry.gif

junky_man
post Jun 8 2012, 04:43 PM

The 'bater Debater
1,118 posts

QUOTE(apsidewatch @ Jun 8 2012, 04:40 PM)
there's an offer for 300aud or 900myr at australia for red wing 875, which is 400aud before offer... but still so broke for this winter trip  cry.gif
it's about the same price here since AUD now is times 3 to RM.

would've been lesser if the exchange rate were favourable.

but thanks for the heads-up. thumbup.gif
junky_man
post Jun 10 2012, 02:46 PM

The 'bater Debater
1,118 posts

QUOTE(chazychaz @ Jun 8 2012, 09:56 PM)
good for u bro..keep rocking that pair..

Thanks for the encouragement. Still wearing it 6months unwashed but minimal fades. laugh.gif

QUOTE(azizul9736 @ Jun 9 2012, 10:40 AM)
i found out the JP x Momo size if 30"  mean 32" true size.

need to size down 2.

http://tateandyoko.com/1-jeans/11-japan-bl...edge-denim.html

Added on June 9, 2012, 10:43 am
BUT cultizm stated it run true to size  rclxub.gif

http://www.cultizm.com/product_info.php?in...SP-Selvage.html
Size one down or two or even tts is all dependent on the fit you're looking.

Safest to go one size down for sanforized jeans and your first pair of that brand and cutting.

Once you get familiar, you can be more adventurous on the next same brand and cutting.

junky_man
post Jun 12 2012, 04:19 PM

The 'bater Debater
1,118 posts

QUOTE(jhchong @ Jun 12 2012, 03:10 PM)
around 6 months of wear.
again, im bad at taking photos, but hope some of you get the gist.

zoom in on the honeycombs.
Nice fades dude.

im always envious you guys manage to get good fades. aaarrgghhh, need to work harder for mine! tongue.gif
junky_man
post Jun 18 2012, 02:55 PM

The 'bater Debater
1,118 posts

QUOTE(bugb34r @ Jun 18 2012, 12:45 PM)
Any of you guys familiar with this brand?

Yup, heard of them before.

Some of the denims are from Cone Mills.

American Brand iinm.

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0574sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:10 AM