Toyota Camry 2.0G Performance

TSjohnrck99
post Feb 27 2011, 01:31 PM, updated 15y ago

88 posts

Hello all,

I just bought a new Toyota Camry 2.0G about 2 months ago.
Can some of the Camry 2.0G owner share with me some of the things that I am doubtful about.

1.Fuel Consumption
My car mainly travel in small town for about 10-30km a day with trafic lights, start- stop, max speed goes to 70km/h.
MID shows 6.3km/l
I have clocked only 3000 km only so far.

Is the FC ok ?

2. Auto unlock of car door when shifted in P.
Can we disable this function?

3. Lack of power... Hehe.. I think the car is a bit lack of power

4. Bumpy when go through yellow stripes.

5.Body kit, I plan to install bodykit now (not the toyota original one). What is the market price now? My car is black.

TSjohnrck99
post Feb 27 2011, 05:38 PM

88 posts

hi all,
tq for the ans. any of u is camry owner?

answering some question on accord vs camry, to be honest with you i bought this car together with my good buddy. Bott of us were hard core accord fan.... i cant afford it but he can.... anyway.. to cut the story short..... we went to test drive both cars, he then placed a order for camry... 2 days later i followed his foot step..

Why camry?
A: handlig is supperior but very bumpy
C: more comfy ride

service interval
A: 5k km
C: 10 k km

HID light
A: no for VTIL
C: YEs for G

rear ac vent
A: rear passensger cant get the blow...bcus its pointed downward.
C: Ok

TSjohnrck99
post Feb 27 2011, 09:04 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Feb 27 2011, 07:18 PM)
bro if you want comfort throw those Bridgestone away... the tire is not for comfort... frankly u can try Toyo C1S for better comfort wink.gif the grip is nice and comfort too...
Bro,
tq for the tips. I guess I wont be changing it first... rugi man!

Added on February 27, 2011, 9:05 pm
QUOTE(acbc @ Feb 27 2011, 08:55 PM)
In terms of highway FC... Camry still loses to Accord 2.0 5-speed AT. I got over 830km @ RM 120 of Shell RON95.

I would have bought a Camry 2.0G if the Toyota salesman have been nicer to me. Damn arrogant and rude. Did u notice my Honda hire more girls in the sales department? Try checking out Honda @ Mofaz in TTDI.
Agree! Car salesboy r rude! Girls r cute.. hehehe lol

This post has been edited by johnrck99: Feb 27 2011, 09:05 PM
TSjohnrck99
post Feb 27 2011, 09:27 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Feb 27 2011, 09:14 PM)
well it is up to you... have a few AW forummer changed their tires just after 1~2 months... of course have to fork out another few hundreds to swap to new tires but at least it meet your requirement...
i changed the NCT5 (98% new when installed) come with the 2nd hand rims for only 1 yr and did not even mnage to clock 20k km from it... really have to throw it away as it's wet grip sucks that is dangerous...
then changed my 14" CC1 even have more than 40% of thread... really cannot stand the grip it gives and the common problem (bilateral offset) on the tires... 
it depends on individual...

Bridgestone tires on Toyota does not perform la... u thought Potenza they give you is good meh... just entree level for performance and it's sidewall is hard so got some ppl complaint y toyota suspension is hard... by right is just the tires... haha

well girls more easy to get sales kua... btw a lot of sales (car) did not even know their product spec properly one... so better do homework and test drive, then make decision yourself...
Bro, smart move! NCT5 is rubbish! my vios used to run on it and then i changed to michelin XM1, good!
I see ur profile pic is altis, u also own an altis?
TSjohnrck99
post Mar 1 2011, 05:13 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Mar 1 2011, 05:01 PM)
Btw, noise level is also very subjective smile.gif
Cabin noise is higher for accord vs camry at various speed. This starts from 60km/h and above.
TSjohnrck99
post Jun 19 2011, 12:26 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(masz94 @ Feb 28 2011, 07:17 PM)
What can you expect from Camry 2.0 147hp. It is a car tuned towards ride quality rather than performance.

If you ask about performance, based on my father '09 Accord, I can tell that the Accord 2.0 can easily tapau Camry 2.0  from 0-190km/h ++. Oso Camry can't take corner as hard as Accord could. I oso tested that Accord can also tapau Teana & Sonata. Ride comfort of Accord is also good. Damn nice this car. When i'm old enough i'll surely going to buy this Accord. wub.gif
Accord ride is horrible, I tested Camry and Accord in the same day before deciding for camry. No doubt accord is nicer to drive.. power wise, I cant comment as it is Accord 2.4 unit that I tested.

0.1558sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:59 PM