Power coated door expose to rain will rust?, Back door..

TSedwardsiow
post Feb 25 2011, 12:45 PM, updated 15y ago

180 posts

Hi friends,

I would like to know, if power coated door, always expose to rain (because it is back door - don't have any roof) will rust easily?

ihatemynahs
post Feb 25 2011, 01:48 PM

48 posts

The powder-coated part will not rust.

But if there's a tiny bit of steel not covered by the coating
and it gets exposed to moisture (in your case, rain), then
it'll rust, spread and creep underneath the coating.

In time to come, you'll find yourself having a "marvellously
beautiful" powder-coated door with patches of rust. whistling.gif

Bottom line: Get a good contractor with quality workmanship.

Hopes this helps! icon_rolleyes.gif
myonedeco
post Feb 25 2011, 01:59 PM

make sure its coated good enough, double or tripple coat maybe? think it will extend the lifetime.
TSedwardsiow
post Feb 25 2011, 02:04 PM

180 posts

karyeowl
post Feb 25 2011, 04:04 PM

309 posts

Try to ask the contractor to galvanize it and then powder coat it.

aerozs
post Feb 25 2011, 04:12 PM

96 posts

one of grille contractor said powder coated also will rust but it'll take longer time than normal spray painting. he said only stainless steel and galvanized item cannot rust. rough/ uneven surface will occur if galvanized..
Eleganz Concept
post Feb 25 2011, 04:13 PM

582 posts

Usually, door send to powder coated b4 installation of lock set and hinger, so, when they install on site, installer will need to cut a hole for lock set, and may need to cut some part for hinger, mean those cut out part will no longer a powder coated part, even all this part may not will get rain directly, but is still possible to happen (not really related to installer problem, coz water is able to go into a small gab.) So i dont think u will able to get 100% coated door.
numbertwo
post Feb 25 2011, 04:15 PM

1,784 posts

galvanized body still smooth, not rough at all after a coat of good paint is laid..i'm using galvanized gate at home now.
TSedwardsiow
post Feb 25 2011, 04:45 PM

180 posts

because of money problem...Stainless steel too expensive...that's why I find alternative...everything can be the best if we have money, right? =)
bugijun
post Feb 25 2011, 04:47 PM

532 posts

maybe u should try zincalume door frame....
TSedwardsiow
post Feb 25 2011, 04:51 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(bugijun @ Feb 25 2011, 04:47 PM)
Any product page to refer to?
bugijun
post Feb 25 2011, 05:04 PM

532 posts

it is expansive, but i dunno compared to stainless steel...maybe u should consider covering the door? like put awning above?

http://www.metaframe.com.my/product.asp

Added on February 25, 2011, 5:06 pmanother thing...the back door is a gate or door? sorry cannot really understand your explaination

This post has been edited by bugijun: Feb 25 2011, 05:06 PM
Awakened_Angel
post Feb 26 2011, 09:10 AM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(edwardsiow @ Feb 25 2011, 01:45 PM)
Hi friends,

I would like to know, if power coated door, always expose to rain (because it is back door - don't have any roof) will rust easily?

provided that you have sufficient oxide primer and the powder coating thickness is thick....

Added on February 26, 2011, 9:15 am
QUOTE(aerozs @ Feb 25 2011, 05:12 PM)
one of grille contractor said powder coated also will rust but it'll take longer time than normal spray painting. he said only stainless steel and galvanized item cannot rust. rough/ uneven surface will occur if galvanized..
Not quite....

my house stainless steel SS304 rust on its second year life span..starting from its weld point....
(I am selling building material, so I opt for the best of its kind)
my house is 500m from river and 5km from sea side.....

and Galvanised is only a form of cathodic protection.. which mean it take Zinc(more reactive element) and subject if to rust rather than steel it self....

and at some places, Galvanise is not suitable....

My advice, wire brush thoroughly/sand blast before painting... when painting, choose a decent oxide primer.. eg. zinc chromate/other protective coating from reputable brand... and when choose a decorative paint, choose a first grade one... paint it twice...... this will enable it to last 5-8 years...

Added on February 26, 2011, 9:20 am
QUOTE(bugijun @ Feb 25 2011, 05:47 PM)
Zincalum is a technology that integrate Steel, Zinc and aluminium.... by blue scope steel(an ang mo company)
http://www.bluescopesteel.com.my
but in Msia, Ajiya is the main distributor of this technology... its colour is silver like for frame and sky blue colour for trusses....

This post has been edited by Awakened_Angel: Feb 26 2011, 09:20 AM
TSedwardsiow
post Feb 26 2011, 10:32 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(bugijun @ Feb 25 2011, 05:04 PM)
it is expansive, but i dunno compared to stainless steel...maybe u should consider covering the door? like put awning above?

http://www.metaframe.com.my/product.asp

Added on February 25, 2011, 5:06 pmanother thing...the back door is a gate or door? sorry cannot really understand your explaination
Normally back of the house has a door to go outside (backyard)..It should be considered as door...
karyeowl
post Feb 26 2011, 11:13 AM

309 posts

Zincalume only available for flat products, e.g. roofing, and max thickness for Zincalume coated steel is BMT 1.2mm

Most of the products that uses more than 1.2mm are galvanized (Zincanneal)

Zincalume and Zincanneal are registered trade mark for BlueScope Steel Ltd. Generic is Galvalume and Galvanized for both product respectively.

Back to the question: If exposed to rain, recommended to use hot-dipped galvanized steel and then powder coating. Based metal preferable 1.2mm.

0.0161sec    0.50    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 04:12 AM