4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

> UNSW or UWA?

TSpapamia
post Feb 24 2011, 08:17 PM, updated 15y ago

38 posts

Hi guys, I'm currently planning to continue my tertiary education in Australia. I've selected two good Universities which is UNSW and UWA.

The problem is, I'm still vague about the expenses in Sydney and Perth. Anyone studying there can brief me on this? Fees are 29k and 31k anually for UWA and UNSW.

I understand that UNSW is more prestigious than UWA but both are also good considering that they're in Group of 8 and I've pass all the requirements required by these two Unis, certainly UNSW's requirement is higher.

I come from an average family where my dad and mom are both teachers. They have lots of savings, and want me to study in Aus for 2 years. Well, if given a chance to go, why not?

People have told me that certificates don't really do much after your first working experience. So I was thinking, if I go to UWA, which is much cheaper and may be able to find a job since it's in Perth where job opportunities are vast.

So now I need to know
-the living cost/expenses
-whether is it really that important to enter a slightly more prestigious Uni

Thanks a lot biggrin.gif

P.s. Engineering student here. tongue.gif
pinkfoxlulu
post Feb 24 2011, 08:18 PM

159 posts

unsw....
awsome beb!
i love it:)
trust me
u never regret once u in unsw
teehk_tee
post Feb 24 2011, 08:19 PM

ไม่เป็นไร
5,363 posts

dey, that's more expensive than studying in the UK mang
vapeace
post Feb 24 2011, 08:19 PM

217 posts

why must study aus ?

both my parent teacher, i get jpa scholarship at a private college
my aunt and uncle are mostly gomen servent also. most do their studies in MY. Furthers also is SG and 1 in russia for medic
TSpapamia
post Feb 24 2011, 08:21 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(teehk_tee @ Feb 24 2011, 08:19 PM)
dey, that's more expensive than studying in the UK mang
Yes, knew that already.

QUOTE(vapeace @ Feb 24 2011, 08:19 PM)
why must study aus ?

both my parent teacher, i get jpa scholarship at a private college
my aunt and uncle are mostly gomen servent also. most do their studies in MY. Furthers also is SG and 1 in russia for medic
Why? I never liked UK in the first place, and my parents would love to see me in Aus.

Added on February 24, 2011, 8:23 pmOh yea, another reason studying there is to get a PR which is very hard now.

No pr, no job. Want job but got no pr. Need to break this cycle.

One method is to work in small companies where they don't require a PR and we can start applying from that.

Now if you finished studying in UK, you have to fly back to your country. That's the policy, no chance of getting a job liao

This post has been edited by papamia: Feb 24 2011, 08:23 PM
teehk_tee
post Feb 24 2011, 08:25 PM

ไม่เป็นไร
5,363 posts

QUOTE(papamia @ Feb 24 2011, 08:21 PM)
Yes, knew that already.
Why? I never liked UK in the first place, and my parents would love to see me in Aus.

Added on February 24, 2011, 8:23 pmOh yea, another reason studying there is to get a PR which is very hard now.

No pr, no job. Want job but got no pr. Need to break this cycle.

One method is to work in small companies where they don't require a PR and we can start applying from that.

Now if you finished studying in UK, you have to fly back to your country. That's the policy, no chance of getting a job liao
oh ya hor for new grads the visa also susah.
liek that ok lo aus.
simo_keng
post Feb 24 2011, 08:27 PM

59 posts

UNSW la... ranking is higher

UWA sucks max

unless you wanna go to uni and have picnic like every afternoon
SUSalmattitude_v1
post Feb 24 2011, 08:28 PM

Fuck The Authorities
769 posts

Sydney's living expenses will definitely be higher than in Perth.
TSpapamia
post Feb 24 2011, 08:29 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(almattitude_v1 @ Feb 24 2011, 08:28 PM)
Sydney's living expenses will definitely be higher than in Perth.
But how much does it differ? If slightly then I don't mind Sydney.
peinsama
post Feb 24 2011, 08:33 PM

Au fait
725 posts

Whichever you choose, just make sure your classes are loaded with chicks.
thugs
post Feb 24 2011, 08:34 PM

Tun Tan Sri Datuk Dr. Thug
828 posts

Few years back, Perth is cheaper than Sydney but I guess there's only slight difference now. Engineering student? What discipline? You might like uwa because of their motorsports team. One of the best in the world. But that's if you're planning to join.

By the way, both uni are good.

I still prefer Perth!:)

This post has been edited by thugs: Feb 24 2011, 08:36 PM
TSpapamia
post Feb 24 2011, 08:35 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(thugs @ Feb 24 2011, 08:34 PM)
Few years back, Perth is cheaper than Sydney but I guess there's only slight difference now. Engineering student? What discipline? You might like uwa because of their motorsports team. One of the best in the world. But that's if you're planning to join.

I stll prefer Perth!:)
Mechanical student here.

I got severe headache liao, this whole moth I've been thinking and asking around. cry.gif
+3kk!
post Feb 24 2011, 08:37 PM

8,275 posts

UNSW is defo a better uni, but after going to every austalian major city

perth is always in my heart, but also depends on location la. get SYDNEY central and you get really really expensive shit, get a bit far and its alright

SUSalmattitude_v1
post Feb 24 2011, 08:38 PM

Fuck The Authorities
769 posts

QUOTE(papamia @ Feb 24 2011, 08:29 PM)
But how much does it differ? If slightly then I don't mind Sydney.
I'm in Melbourne, and I am going to assume Sydney will be similar to Melbourne.

I don't know how well off your family is, but I used to spend about AU$800-a-month.

That was because I used to live by myself, and I didn't think it was worth cooking for one person.

This year I will be living with my brother, so its more worth it to cook for two people. I guess I will be saving money by not eating out all the time.

Accommodation can vary depending on your standards, but generally I'd say about AU$250/AU$300-a-week (excluding bills) for property if you plan to live in the city, and it will get cheaper if you plan to live further away from the city.

Once again, if you have a housemate, living weekly expenses for food, etc will be cheaper. I recommend you get a housemate, as you can split groceries, utility bills, etc.

Not so sure about Sydney's public transport system, the last I went there was like 10 years ago I think, so I can't really remember.

Take it into account this is based in Melbourne, but as I said, I expect Sydney to be quite similar.

And I am not sure what it's like in Perth at all, as like Sydney, I went to Perth also 10 years ago or so.
thugs
post Feb 24 2011, 08:38 PM

828 posts

QUOTE(papamia @ Feb 24 2011, 08:35 PM)
Mechanical student here.

I got severe headache liao, this whole moth I've been thinking and asking around.  cry.gif
Don't worry... No matter where you go, make sure you study and enjoy the same time! smile.gif
teehk_tee
post Feb 24 2011, 08:39 PM

ไม่เป็นไร
5,363 posts

QUOTE(peinsama @ Feb 24 2011, 08:33 PM)
Whichever you choose, just make sure your classes are loaded with chicks.
engineering? fat chance
SUSalmattitude_v1
post Feb 24 2011, 08:41 PM

Fuck The Authorities
769 posts

Oh, if you have some free time, a part-time job will be very useful, financially and also for your CV.

Working in Australia is not like working in Malaysia, the pay is actually pretty good, even for students working in McDonalds (who generally don't need to support themselves), there is a minimum wage.
thugs
post Feb 24 2011, 08:43 PM

828 posts

QUOTE(almattitude_v1 @ Feb 24 2011, 08:38 PM)

I don't know how well off your family is, but I used to spend about AU$800-a-month.

That was because I used to live by myself, and I didn't think it was worth cooking for one person.

This year I will be living with my brother, so its more worth it to cook for two people. I guess I will be saving money by not eating out all the time.

Accommodation can vary depending on your standards, but generally I'd say about AU$250/AU$300-a-week (excluding bills) for property if you plan to live in the city, and it will get cheaper if you plan to live further away from the city.

Once again, if you have a housemate, living weekly expenses for food, etc will be cheaper. I recommend you get a housemate, as you can split groceries, utility bills, etc.

Not so sure about Sydney's public transport system, the last I went there was like 10 years ago I think, so I can't really remember.

Take it into account this is based in Melbourne, but as I said, I expect Sydney to be quite similar.

And I am not sure what it's like in Perth at all, as like Sydney, I went to Perth also 10 years ago or so.
It's always cheaper to stay with more housemates. Last few years when I left Perth, the average weekly accommodation per room is about $150-180 per week... Seems to be cheaper than the eastern state... Food out there I heard per meal is about $10 per meal. Of course cheaper to cook yourself:)

This post has been edited by thugs: Feb 24 2011, 08:45 PM
TSpapamia
post Feb 24 2011, 08:44 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Feb 24 2011, 08:37 PM)
UNSW is defo a better uni, but after going to every austalian major city

perth is always in my heart, but also depends on location la. get SYDNEY central and you get really really expensive shit, get a bit far and its alright
Alright, thanks for the info. What about the living expenses?

QUOTE(almattitude_v1 @ Feb 24 2011, 08:38 PM)

Oh yes, I have a friend going with me. Oh yea, for Perth, 6 or 7 people are going. but some wana stay on campus, and those are girls. For guys, let's say 3, we can share and cook together.
QUOTE(almattitude_v1 @ Feb 24 2011, 08:41 PM)
Oh, if you have some free time, a part-time job will be very useful, financially and also for your CV.

Working in Australia is not like working in Malaysia, the pay is actually pretty good, even for students working in McDonalds (who generally don't need to support themselves), there is a minimum wage.
Already known that but thx anyway blush.gif

SUSalmattitude_v1
post Feb 24 2011, 08:49 PM

Fuck The Authorities
769 posts

QUOTE(papamia @ Feb 24 2011, 08:44 PM)
Alright, thanks for the info. What about the living expenses?
Oh yes, I have a friend going with me. Oh yea, for Perth, 6 or 7 people are going. but some wana stay on campus, and those are girls. For guys, let's say 3, we can share and cook together.
Well, since you have friends going, if you do pick Perth with them, then do consider living together. It will save you a lot of money.

As thugs said, meals generally cost about AU$10. If you cook with friends, it can come as cheap as AU$4-AU$5 (more or less) per-person (depends on the number of people, obviously).

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » 

0.0169sec    0.29    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:10 PM