dreamer101
post Feb 24 2011, 08:13 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(Irzani @ Feb 23 2011, 05:56 PM)
I know I would never pursue my PhD in US due to financial constraint ... but can anyone give a rough idea how much is the living cost to live there? Let's put aside the tuition fees .. how much minimum per year do I need to live as a student?

Example > 100 top universities such as  :

1) Michigan State University
2) Texas A&M University
3) Stony Brook University
4) University of Florida
Thanks  notworthy.gif

* Yeah .. India the only cheaper choice I have now ..  sad.gif
Irzani,

I know I would never pursue my PhD in US due to financial constraint .

This STATEMENT is ILLOGICAL. At Phd level, if you qualifies, most likely you will get a scholarship and / or teaching assistant job along with that. Financial constraint normally is NOT the problem...

Dreamer

dreamer101
post Mar 2 2011, 06:57 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(thenemesis @ Mar 1 2011, 08:33 PM)
i believe if u r going to US, there will only be two kind of ppl.

1. Rich ass who go for the cool factor
2. Hardworking scholar who wants the best education and what does hardworking scholar normally gets? Scholarships.
thenemesis,

3) Those who work and pay their own way through college. And. this kind of people do not go for the most expensive school.

Dreamer
dreamer101
post Mar 2 2011, 09:40 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(Irzani @ Mar 2 2011, 12:39 AM)
for 500K own money ... I should banned myself from entering this thread liao ...  doh.gif

thanks for the estimated figure  cry.gif
Irzani,

What is WRONG with your BRAIN?? I guess it is probably not good enough for Phd material??

People had told you that if you are doing Phd, you probably pay NOTHING and get an allowance for teaching assistant job too.

Those numbers has to do with people not doing Phd...

Dreamer
dreamer101
post Mar 3 2011, 08:58 AM

15,855 posts

[quote=Irzani,Mar 2 2011, 01:57 PM]
Just do some reading ... thanks for keep highlighting about the teaching assistant

[QUOTE]

But how easy to get the funding? In Malaysia, most of the Malaysian master/phd candidate (UPM) will get their GRF/GRA opportunities. For foreigners, it's very hard to get one ... hmm.gif

[/quote]

Irzani,

What is WRONG with YOUR BRAIN??

People had told YOU AGAIN and AGAIN.

1) For engineering and science Phd student, the PROBLEM is to get ADMITTED into USA. That is VERY TOUGH since you are competing with the WHOLE WORLD.

2) If you can get ACCEPTED, in most cases, you will get funding.

<<In Malaysia, most of the Malaysian master/phd candidate (UPM) will get their GRF/GRA opportunities. For foreigners, it's very hard to get one ... hmm.gif>>

3) Who CARES about a small tempurung like Malaysia??

Dreamer

dreamer101
post Apr 4 2013, 11:57 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(happy_berry @ Apr 4 2013, 10:50 PM)
Some people have the impression that it is easier to academically score in the us than the uk = us is of low quality... Kinda annoys me a little.

I wonder what it means when people say the us' education system is more liberal...  hmm.gif
happy_berry,

UK / Australia system is focused..

USA system's goal is to produce well rounded person.

In term of Engineering,

UK / Australia system teach more engineering in undergraduate.

USA system force engineer to take classes like Social Science and so on. Less engineering classes. You focus on Engineering when you do master degree.

I have BSEE and MSEE from USA.

I studied History, Politic, Economy and so on in addition to Engineering for my BSEE. Over the long run, this serves me well. I had 10+ jobs over 20+ years across technical, sales, marketing, and product management. This would had been harder if my undergraduate engineering degree is in the UK / Australia system.

Anyhow, I am an UNIQUE person. I read and kept thousands of books on many subjects at home. It may not apply to others.

Dreamer
dreamer101
post Apr 5 2013, 02:38 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(spunkberry @ Apr 5 2013, 02:03 AM)
while I agree with your other descriptions regarding the UK, Australian and graduate school (masters), I disagree that the US system has less engineering classes in undergraduate years. Sure, they throw in required electives, but I don't feel that I had as many to take than I did engineering classes. Most electives can be cleared out in the first year foundation courses or even test out or transfer credits, leaving the next three years to be solely focused on your chosen engineering field - which ends up being similar to the UK system.

I was not one of those fortunate ones with the ability to do away with many elective classes (I received transfer credit for only one and it wasn't a class I would have taken anyway). Even so, for every three engineering classes that I was required to take, I had only one or no electives, so I reiterate my disagreement that the US system has less undergraduate engineering classes.

A masters or even PhD in engineering (in the US at least) focuses on a specific area of interest within engineering, hence the totality of engineering classes taken in graduate school. I opted for specialization in the industry, rather than school, though I still am toying with the idea of a masters.

But happy_berry, like marubox said, the difficulty (or ease) in obtaining a US degree depends entirely on two things: the caliber of the school and your abilities.
spunkberry,

I got my BSEE and MSEE 20+ years old. So, things may had changed. I was the last batch of BSEE that do not have to choose a SPECIALIZATION of EE in the undergraduate program. Most people in my batch had to use 5 years of full time study to get their BSEE. After my batch, people in BSEE program had to pick one EE specialization. Then, they can finish in 4 years.

There is another difference too which may or may not exist now.

In UK system, you get into the university after form 6. In USA system, you only need 12 years of schooling plus SAT/ TOFEL. So, technically, you can get into US college after form 5.

So, it may be 3 years after form 6 for UK. But, it is 4 years after form 5 in USA. In the end, it is the same.

Dreamer

dreamer101
post Apr 5 2013, 02:43 AM

15,855 posts

Folks,

In summary, UK / Australia system is highly structured and inflexible. You are fixed into what to learn and when. There is a fixed schedule.

In USA system, it is flexible. You pick what to learn and when to learn. You can go slow or fast. You learn as much or as little. You graduated with more or less knowledge.

Dreamer

0.0167sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 03:25 PM