Studying in US V1

TSthenemesis
post Mar 1 2011, 09:43 AM

342 posts

QUOTE(Cyprid Dark ii @ Mar 1 2011, 04:04 AM)
Congratz!

What field did you studying?

I think if you got the basic skill or long time self experiences you can skip all the degree/diploma.

I applied for worldwide recruitment for Rockstar game(San Diego) as enviromental modeler & they accepted my application based on my work(which has been self-thought since year 6,I mean in 3d modeling skill) & most of time the requirement is devoid all the degree or certificate.They really looking for inner talent that you had(unless you really like the industry but didnt have any requirement skill,but even so there is fast learning class that provide you with some skill & insider of what the work you would be into)

Finally,they got enough workforce in San diego office,which they put an offer to transfer me to Northampton studio(Rockstar UK) but since I didnt know what the process of leaving the country(passport,visa,the flight thing...) so I declined the offer which I do regret as for today(now working as freelancer & helping my parents on company thing) but kudos for those has been granted this chance of their life,& able to fullfill the dream. cry.gif  drool.gif

I should learn how to doing oversea stuff now. hmm.gif
So next time I would not in rushed mood like last year.... doh.gif
AFAIK, US unemployment rate is raising every second. Just have a look at this

http://www.google.com/publicdata?ds=usunem...employment+rate

It is a total steal if u get to settle urself with a decent job like urs.
TSthenemesis
post Mar 1 2011, 09:47 AM

342 posts

QUOTE(LZ Zach @ Mar 1 2011, 06:47 AM)
Oh I see, are you still studying?
sad.gif Wow, it's thrice more expensive than the colleges here, I guess that's the price for taking up quality education in foreign countries.
I'm actually still in Form 5, I'm planning to go to US since animation courses there are highly recognized and prestigious starting next year (*oh well, hollywood)

But I'm kind of a little lost from researching unis in US, I thought trying to be independent and search on my own would be better, but I guess I ended up here to get some aid. sad.gif

Did you obtain some scholarship or something over there? I not much of an explorer, and I might not be well-prepared for this you see...
yeap. still studying smile.gif

As for the cost, i will strongly recommend u to go for it if u can afford it. When i say u can "afford" it, it doesn't have to be ur parent's money. It could be educational loan or fund. Once in a lifetime exposure. Unless, u r tellin me tat u will study abroad when you get older. that i have no comment.

Everyone starts from scratch. If you know u r not up for it yet. read more now. get urself prepared then smile.gif
TSthenemesis
post Mar 1 2011, 12:59 PM

342 posts

QUOTE(zhan @ Mar 1 2011, 10:08 AM)
rclxms.gif Thanks for TS for started this thread.

How do you guys getting education from US compare to UK?

Let's set aside the matter of tuition fees and focus on the quality of education & recognition among worldwide.

Feel free to share your thoughts/viewpoints.

Sorry in advanced if this question seems to be a stupid one.

Thanks notworthy.gif
Basically, to be succinct,

US - builds u to be an all-rounder.
UK - more specific

tats from my perception la
TSthenemesis
post Mar 1 2011, 01:00 PM

342 posts

QUOTE(Cyprid Dark ii @ Mar 1 2011, 11:39 AM)
Yup but gaming industries are much worthy than hollywood production for now.....that is why some of biggest name in gaming company did have some once-in-a-year worldwide recruitment(mostly for their high rated series.In this case I was applied for enviromental modeler/texturing & I might be employed in section like Midnight Club,GTA,Max Payne or LA Noir team)

But now..... doh.gif  sweat.gif

But I do want to continue my study which I was left in at year 1 during 2008(I taking industrial design,but left the college since I got personal issues surrounding the family such as moving to new place which is quite far from the college itself,& some others)

So just to ask,it is possible for me to continued study from where I left for 2 years or I need to restart all from the ground up all over again?
if im not mistaken, they evaluate u through credit hours right? Then u submit ur transcript on where u stop, then the uni will decide whether u can continue or start over again.
TSthenemesis
post Mar 1 2011, 01:01 PM

342 posts

QUOTE(Cyprid Dark ii @ Mar 1 2011, 11:54 AM)
Thanks for the help!

BTW,there is my friends from saudi that used to study the same subject with me from 2008-2009 in malaysia has got his chance to UK & he said to me recently via email that he can help me to go straight to 2nd year based on my work portfolio & his previous experience working together with me as one team during his time in malaysia.

So I just want to know how that was possible or there really such thing like skipping year like sekolah rendah?(I got few frens that able to jump from darjah 1 all the way to darjah 3 during my primary school time)

Sorry to ask,it might sound silly,but just want to have the comfirmation since if it really was,I can strive my best this time to get continue my study. sweat.gif
that will onli happen in private school in msia afaik
TSthenemesis
post Mar 1 2011, 07:14 PM

342 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Mar 1 2011, 01:58 PM)
It depends a lot on where you go and what field. I would definitely ask up front and show your portfolio before you even take the time and effort to apply. If they say yes they can consider giving you advanced credits then go ahead and apply.

The only thing is if you're going to one of the top universities, they most likely won't accept these kinds of advanced placements but as with all things, it doesn't hurt to ask.
Yeap. Totally agree. The point is, no matter what, you should at least try. U will nvr know.
TSthenemesis
post Mar 1 2011, 07:18 PM

342 posts

QUOTE(latias93 @ Mar 1 2011, 02:04 PM)

Thanks! Actually I'm just about to start my four-year degree haha..

Ooo... After spm and degree, i guess it would be ADP? biggrin.gif
Haha, when I was in Form 5 (last year) I went to several American Education Fairs in KL to talk to the college representatives about my options. Many of them offer animation. They're very helpful and will talk to you (and your parents) about what you can do, etc, etc.

In fact there's one coming up, I received this from an email. They regularly email me about the education fairs heheh. Open the spoiler to view the details of the event.

Which website did u subscribe? Mind sharing? Im utterly interested! drool.gif
I see. Where are you taking up your ADP? And what's your concentration?

Most probably Inti smile.gif Chemical engineering!

TSthenemesis
post Mar 1 2011, 07:26 PM

342 posts

QUOTE(LZ Zach @ Mar 1 2011, 03:24 PM)
Ok, thanks for the emotional lift-up, I'll try my best to research more into detail and get myself prepared:)
Thanks for the info, really appreciate it icon_rolleyes.gif Right now, I'm battling all out on what can I do now other than scoring As on my next exam, had real head-aching sessions these few days.
I'm not really sure where to get started...
I hope I'm not really bothering you, but one question; Do I have to take TOEFL? Can you sit for TOEFL even though you're a Form 5 student?
No problem. Just bear in mind. Stay positive and everything will turn out well icon_rolleyes.gif

You can actually sit for TOEFL and enhance ur english. Future proof too. If u're free, why not?

IINM, if u r taking ADP program, you dont have to take SAT, and onli TOEFL when u transfer to US.

BTW, SPM, just take it easy, honestly, from my experience, its very easy, compared to my school's standard. Just pay attention in your class when teacher is teaching. And do some revision maybe once or twice a week? That would be more than enough for normal students. Unless u r reli slow then u have to buckle up and do extra revisions. Last minute revision (approximately 1-2 weeks b4 exam) can get you a good result too if u paid attention in your class.

PS. Im not encouraging u yea whistling.gif im just saying.

I know, sometimes, in class, you can't resist the urge to chit-chat in the class, to be with the "cool gang" to do something naughty, be rebellion, trying to get, maybe the girls attention? by doing something unusual and end up neglecting your teacher in front. Its ok for few times, but always please. You should enjoy secondary school times but make sure u dont go over the limit.

This post has been edited by thenemesis: Mar 1 2011, 07:35 PM
TSthenemesis
post Mar 1 2011, 07:33 PM

342 posts

QUOTE(LZ Zach @ Mar 1 2011, 05:40 PM)
Wow, it's seemed like you did a lot of preparation before too  smile.gif, thanks for sharing.

Another question, should I start discussing with my parents in this? I did tell my dad about animation courses but not specifically like where or when.

And do I score really well as in straghts A's for my SPM?

And how do you officially translate the school-relevant transcripts?
I think I'm asking too many questions for now blush.gif
There is never too many questions. Do clear ur doubt b4 its too late. Dont go "AIYA WHY I DUNO GOT SUCH THING ONE" when u r in the US. DOOM whistling.gif

Yes u should discuss with ur parents. I duno ur parents but mostly all parents are the same. They may show "duno dun care" face in front of u but deep down their heart they are very curious about their own children interests and future. They would be glad to hear ur say. After all, they would be ur bank wat tongue.gif

Of course, dont tell me just because a college will accept u with 5 credits so u just neglect ur studies because 5 credits is like peanuts. You should do your best. Straight As ease your application for scholarship and entrance to uni/college.

What do you mean by officially translate?

Added on March 1, 2011, 7:34 pm
QUOTE(chew1991 @ Mar 1 2011, 07:33 PM)
Thenemesis ,
you got one point wrong. EVEN with ADP, you STILL need TOEFLs to transfer.
oh yea. no wonder i felt abit fishy

Thx for pointin out. will edit it.

But SAT is excluded right?

This post has been edited by thenemesis: Mar 1 2011, 07:34 PM
TSthenemesis
post Mar 1 2011, 07:36 PM

342 posts

QUOTE(chew1991 @ Mar 1 2011, 07:35 PM)
No worries mate , i study because of interest and I'm aware of the future job path.
But yeah , most of the universities who offer AE , would definitely have ME and EE on their list also, i might Minor in ME. biggrin.gif
Always have your backup plan smile.gif
TSthenemesis
post Mar 1 2011, 07:38 PM

342 posts

QUOTE(edge_seraph @ Mar 1 2011, 07:36 PM)
You can translate the documents yourself, keeping the format the same. Then, get it certified by your principal or any senior assistants.

Hope this helps.  smile.gif
Now i get it, u mean certify is it? it is called translate or certify?

In my school, you have to get ur principal/vice principal to sign on ur certificate smile.gif
TSthenemesis
post Mar 1 2011, 08:05 PM

342 posts

QUOTE(latias93 @ Mar 1 2011, 07:56 PM)
You're welcome!

Yes, you should discuss with your parents. It is important that the parents are involved in this process.. after all they've been taking care of you all your life and they will fund your studies there in the States. Have a talk with them. I discussed this a lot with my father as well as my relatives as they've all studied in the US and thus can share their experiences. smile.gif

Your SPM results doesn't really matter.. I mean, don't get like 9G for your SPM! Like 5A's should be fine too (that's what I'm aiming for!). Most of them don't really look at your SPM results, they just want it to make sure that you are a certified high school leaver.

You can translate it yourself and get your school to chop it (I made a thread on this a couple of months ago!) or you can find translation services by notary publics (according to my cousin) and also the state education office. smile.gif
Haha, ADP is for those who want to stay in Malaysia for 2 years first lah. I didn't want to. tongue.gif

I didn't subscribe at any website, I just attended one of the fairs and filled up a form. They'll start emailing you with emails about upcoming fairs after that! laugh.gif

Nice! Chem Eng, fairly hard subject.. you must have really good marks in school for your science subjects!
Haha. Thanks.

For adp, it is not a must to do it 2+2. it can be 1+3, 1.5+2.5, 0.5+3.5

The choice is yours.

Hmm, they should insert a link to their website along with the infos u get what, mind checking?
TSthenemesis
post Mar 1 2011, 08:22 PM

342 posts

QUOTE(Irzani @ Mar 1 2011, 08:21 PM)
Is it 10K per year or month?  sweat.gif
of coz its year.
TSthenemesis
post Mar 1 2011, 08:33 PM

342 posts

QUOTE(chew1991 @ Mar 1 2011, 08:29 PM)
If you're studying. and if 4 years there = 40k USD x 4 x 3 = 480k ringgit. HAHAHAHA

Now THATs for the rich.
i believe if u r going to US, there will only be two kind of ppl.

1. Rich ass who go for the cool factor
2. Hardworking scholar who wants the best education and what does hardworking scholar normally gets? Scholarships.

This post has been edited by thenemesis: Mar 1 2011, 08:35 PM
TSthenemesis
post Mar 1 2011, 08:35 PM

342 posts

QUOTE(Irzani @ Mar 1 2011, 08:26 PM)
if 4 years ... 40K x 3 = RM 120 000 only for cost of living

that's quite acceptable  hmm.gif
sir. its around 40k USD per year. so

40k x 4 x 3 (usd-rm rate) = around 500k ringgit smile.gif
TSthenemesis
post Mar 1 2011, 08:37 PM

342 posts

QUOTE(chew1991 @ Mar 1 2011, 08:35 PM)
add one more , my type.

People who might not be smart but is passionate about something and is willing to invest a lot to pursue his dreams. biggrin.gif FUHHHHH.
haha. ok.

type 3. not born talented but yet trying his best to be the best with his/his parents hard earned money? or maybe some loan?

Added on March 1, 2011, 8:38 pm
QUOTE(chew1991 @ Mar 1 2011, 08:35 PM)
he meant for cost of living. not uni. lol
oh yea. when i say 40k. it includes tuition + living cost.

This post has been edited by thenemesis: Mar 1 2011, 08:38 PM
TSthenemesis
post Mar 1 2011, 09:06 PM

342 posts

QUOTE(zacknistelrooy @ Mar 1 2011, 08:58 PM)
anybody joining this talk?

Interested to study Medicine in the U.S? Go online and speak with our experts in the 'Researching Choices' session and learn what it takes to further your studies in this particular field. Participation is open to all. Happening tonight from 9pm - 10pm (Malaysian time, GMT +8).
Connect Pro Meeting Login
edusaconnects.acrobat.com
where did u get this info?

btw. this is for those who r interested in medicine. big no for most of us.
TSthenemesis
post Mar 2 2011, 07:13 AM

342 posts

QUOTE(Irzani @ Mar 2 2011, 12:39 AM)
for 500K own money ... I should banned myself from entering this thread liao ...  doh.gif

thanks for the estimated figure  cry.gif
Alright. Dont give up. You'll find a way smile.gif
TSthenemesis
post Mar 2 2011, 09:32 AM

342 posts

QUOTE(Cyprid Dark ii @ Mar 2 2011, 09:24 AM)
I did this before,but in malaysia my subject was hardly available(Industrial design:Transportation design & theory)
so I do not want to becoming like some of my frens that was taking the subject in sake for the cool factor when going to university or college life.

& the gaming industry also not very good either.Hence,I take the rockstar worldwide recruitment last year because the payment was very well(around GBP 18k based on my criteria & subject I choose,+ 5-6 year working tenure for game project/assigment on teamwork/department)

So,I not really choosy type of person when it come to place where I can learn the same thing at even affordable price but in here there is almost no college or university that offering the subject that I want to learn.
Crprid. Dont get offended. I was just generalizing people from the big picture.

Of course, there are special cases like u and the kind that dreamer stated smile.gif
TSthenemesis
post Mar 3 2011, 01:33 PM

342 posts

QUOTE(alxa3021 @ Mar 3 2011, 08:23 AM)
Hi guys,

Just a small background on me. I graduated from college in Dec '08, majored in Aerospace Engineering. Now I'm currently in Solar/Photovoltaic/Construction Industry.
That being said, I want to say that soitsuagain is right that Solar is all the rage here in America. I mean people are literally being snatched up if you have 6 mths to 1 year experience. As far as Aerospace being boring, I beg to differ tongue.gif. Aerospace is pretty interesting, so interesting that you'd be afraid to sit on an airplane since you know what assumptions the piece of metal is made off.
As far as getting a job in Aerospace, chew1991. I must say that I was pretty disappointed to find out that the list of jobs for foreigners in America is a short one. You'd need to get security clearances to work in the Defense sector and if you're not a citizen, it's very VERY tough, heck it is even tough for green card holders to get a job in defense. That is not to say you cannot get a job in the commercial sector, though i must iterate that most of these companies handle ITAR class items which means that you'd need security clearances to handle those items.

If you do not intend to work in America, then you'd have a better chance in the rest of the world. Singapore's govt pours a ton of money into the Aviation O&M industry, though you'd work in O&M instead of R&D. There are also markets in Europe (EADS/Airbus), Canada (Pratt-Whitney/Bombardier), and Brazil (Embraer). Well, though I'm in the green industry now, I have not given up my dream to be an actual AE.

Just wanted to give you a heads up and I believe you'd be the best judge of your future. At the end of the day a degree is just a piece of paper to show that you're qualified to do white collar work and make more money (at most times) than blue collar workers.
Dude, Irzani, you seriously need to look up more information if you're even a tiny bit interested in studying in America. "Nay sayer's get no where." It's easier to say I can't do it, than I can do it.

I know many Malaysians and other foreigners who come here with less than a hundred US dollars for education. If they can do it why can't you.
Peace out!

alxa3021
wow. so u r doing in US now? smile.gif u must be in the first class honors thumbup.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0299sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 05:26 AM