QUOTE(Baby-Lemon @ Mar 8 2009, 07:39 PM)
HAHA...LOLEmergency Contraception aka Morning After Pills, all u need to know
Emergency Contraception aka Morning After Pills, all u need to know
Mar 13 2009, 02:03 PM
83 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
Mar 30 2009, 04:34 PM
11 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
ECs... hmmm I personally wouldn't recommend them unless it's EMERGENCY and it's been close to 12hr since the exciting ordeal. If not, ECs tend to send the hormones haywire. Especially so in girls who has a irregular menstrual cycle. Every girl that I've known who has used them tend to share the same story. Irregardless of whether they have a consistent cycle or a irregular one. ECs will either make you bleed earlier than usual or way, way, way later than usual. To make matters worst, it is not a secret that stress will contribute to late period. So the more worried you are, the chances are it's going to be even later. So if the only way to make sure is do a home pregnancy test.
To the girls, I feel girls should be more well informed on issues like this. If you find yourself having to take ECs more than once a month, I suggest you better make a trip to the GP or O&G and talk about monthly OCPs. It's proven safer than ECs with at least some benefits to it (i.e: better skin condition). It's definitely more expensive than ECs but it's definitely better than flooding your body with hormones sending all the wrong messages everywhere. |
Mar 30 2009, 08:45 PM
718 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
QUOTE(steffy1811 @ Mar 30 2009, 04:34 PM) ECs... hmmm I personally wouldn't recommend them unless it's EMERGENCY and it's been close to 12hr since the exciting ordeal. If not, ECs tend to send the hormones haywire. Especially so in girls who has a irregular menstrual cycle. Every girl that I've known who has used them tend to share the same story. Irregardless of whether they have a consistent cycle or a irregular one. ECs will either make you bleed earlier than usual or way, way, way later than usual. To make matters worst, it is not a secret that stress will contribute to late period. So the more worried you are, the chances are it's going to be even later. So if the only way to make sure is do a home pregnancy test. Totally agree. To the girls, I feel girls should be more well informed on issues like this. If you find yourself having to take ECs more than once a month, I suggest you better make a trip to the GP or O&G and talk about monthly OCPs. It's proven safer than ECs with at least some benefits to it (i.e: better skin condition). It's definitely more expensive than ECs but it's definitely better than flooding your body with hormones sending all the wrong messages everywhere. It causes hormones to go haywire because that's exactly what it needs to do to prevent a pregnancy. Pregnancy depends a lot on hormones, and with the ECs killng the hormonal stabilty, not only will pregnancy be prevented but regular bleeding will also be affected. It's actually scary when it causes menses to bleed later. One will probably think she's pregnant. However, it usually causes abrupt bleeding, which is also scary. Conclusion, stay away from it |
Apr 16 2009, 07:19 PM
205 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
Guys/Girls, ECP raise the risks of getting ectopic pregnancy.
Try use condom is the best way. Risking your girl's life juz for a nite fun ..is way too irresponsible http://www.medsafe.govt.nz/Profs/PUarticles/ectopic.htm |
Apr 17 2009, 02:23 AM
QUOTE(alloyion @ Apr 16 2009, 07:19 PM) Guys/Girls, ECP raise the risks of getting ectopic pregnancy. Chauvinist.. why cant it be the girl wanting to have fun and willing to take it? LoL!Try use condom is the best way. Risking your girl's life juz for a nite fun ..is way too irresponsible http://www.medsafe.govt.nz/Profs/PUarticles/ectopic.htm |
May 12 2009, 08:05 AM
3,045 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: Canterlot |
better to take ur ecp/ocp, and suffer a bit of irregular menses, than not taking it and later having a baby which u do not want, or couldnt take care of. they're selling the ecp for a reason, and if it's real dangerous, they wouldn't be approved for sale. ecp has much higher success rate than condoms, although it would be wise to actually use both, since u can also prevent std. everything carries risks. even panadol or aspirin can kill someone.
May 13 2009, 09:33 AM
QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ May 12 2009, 08:05 AM) better to take ur ecp/ocp, and suffer a bit of irregular menses, than not taking it and later having a baby which u do not want, or couldnt take care of. they're selling the ecp for a reason, and if it's real dangerous, they wouldn't be approved for sale. ecp has much higher success rate than condoms, although it would be wise to actually use both, since u can also prevent std. everything carries risks. even panadol or aspirin can kill someone. Very misleading statement, because ECP definitely does NOT have a higher success rate as compared to condoms.Sure it's meant to prevent unwanted pregnancy, and that's the reason why it's in the market. However, the topic is not about use in emergency, but more on it's use on a regular basis, after each unprotected sexual experience. That IMHO, is not healthy. Of course panadol/aspirin can kill, but not in their correct doses. Take ECP once in a blue moon is fine, but taking it regularly isnt good |
May 30 2009, 02:16 PM
309 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: Penang |
QUOTE ECPs contain hormones. Some ECPs are "combination pills" with estrogen and progestin - synthetic hormones like the ones a woman's body makes. Others are progestin-only. another is postinor? So which better? i blurr abit~~~ |
Jul 6 2009, 01:21 AM
12 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
I had 2 ECPs this month and feel terrible. Planning to switch to birth control pil, what are the brands available in Malaysia and what is the price?
I tried googling for more info but they all do not state the Malaysian market price. Thanks |
Jul 28 2009, 05:48 PM
24 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
pharmacy here introduce the brand name Madonna to me, who know hw effective is it and is it still powerful if take after 10 hours after intercourse.
cause i found that some pills only effective within 5 hours after intercourse with partner. is it postinor-2 effective if take it within 24 hours after intercourse? |
Jul 28 2009, 05:51 PM
730 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
wow.. we seem to have a few of this kinda threads here today...
yes.. postinor-2 is supposed to work within 24 hrs.. |
Jul 28 2009, 05:52 PM
273 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: Kuala Lumpur |
i thought within 72 hrs should be ok.
Jul 28 2009, 06:16 PM
how about Madonna??
Jul 28 2009, 06:54 PM
1,308 posts Joined: May 2005 From: 127.0.0.1 |
Postinor2 is 90% effective within the initial 24 hours, then 75% effective within the initial 72 hours, and 60% effective within the first 120 hours. Not sure about Madonna, ask the pharmacist.
Jul 28 2009, 07:32 PM
okok, thx
Aug 8 2009, 03:28 AM
1 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
I need help!
My first day of period last month was 2nd of July. I had unprotected sex on the 10th of July, and my bf ejaculated inside me. I took the first postinor-2 pill in less than 2 hours after the unprotected sex and then the 2nd pill 12 hours after taking the first pill. On the 13th of July which is 3 days after taking the pills, i had blood discharge which was dark colored and different from my usual period. It lasted only for 3-4 days. Is this considered as my period? It is now the 38th day of my menstrual cycle if i count from 2nd of july. Or am i supposed to start counting from 13th of july which i experienced the blood discharge? I am super confused. When is my next period supposed to come? I usually have 29-31 days menstrual cycle but my previous period (July) came on the 36th day. I am confusedddd!!~~~ |
Aug 8 2009, 11:37 PM
14,576 posts Joined: May 2006 From: Sarawak |
QUOTE(d3vilish_angel @ Aug 8 2009, 03:28 AM) I need help! It would be difficult to ascertain whether the 13th of July was your period. Morning-after pills can disrupt the next menses, either making it come earlier, later or on time.My first day of period last month was 2nd of July. I had unprotected sex on the 10th of July, and my bf ejaculated inside me. I took the first postinor-2 pill in less than 2 hours after the unprotected sex and then the 2nd pill 12 hours after taking the first pill. On the 13th of July which is 3 days after taking the pills, i had blood discharge which was dark colored and different from my usual period. It lasted only for 3-4 days. Is this considered as my period? It is now the 38th day of my menstrual cycle if i count from 2nd of july. Or am i supposed to start counting from 13th of july which i experienced the blood discharge? I am super confused. When is my next period supposed to come? I usually have 29-31 days menstrual cycle but my previous period (July) came on the 36th day. I am confusedddd!!~~~ If you're worried, the best thing to do would be to seek expert opinion from your own doctor... |
Aug 12 2009, 03:56 PM
139 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
QUOTE(d3vilish_angel @ Aug 8 2009, 03:28 AM) I need help! dear angel~~ Pls dun worry~~ one of the side effect of hormonal pill esp after pill is abnormal bleedin~ its normal~Ur normal menstration shall not be disturb by this after pill~ but however , from ur statement , seems tat u also havin irregular menses , so ur menses might be delayed~ so, i suggest u to wait for another month and see. If u afraid that u r pregnant , the urine pregnancy test shud be positive by now , so go buy a UPT kit and test on it~My first day of period last month was 2nd of July. I had unprotected sex on the 10th of July, and my bf ejaculated inside me. I took the first postinor-2 pill in less than 2 hours after the unprotected sex and then the 2nd pill 12 hours after taking the first pill. On the 13th of July which is 3 days after taking the pills, i had blood discharge which was dark colored and different from my usual period. It lasted only for 3-4 days. Is this considered as my period? It is now the 38th day of my menstrual cycle if i count from 2nd of july. Or am i supposed to start counting from 13th of july which i experienced the blood discharge? I am super confused. When is my next period supposed to come? I usually have 29-31 days menstrual cycle but my previous period (July) came on the 36th day. I am confusedddd!!~~~ I am glad tat u use it in the correct timing , so the protection rate is the highest~~pregnancy is unlikely~ thx |
Aug 14 2009, 03:29 AM
1 posts Joined: Jul 2009 |
Hi all, i just want to know how long is the side effects such as neusea, tired, breast tenderness, spotting will last after taking postinor 2?
Aug 14 2009, 11:40 AM
139 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
The nausea , vomittin and others side effect is due to the hormonal component of the pills , so it wont last long , maybe a couples of days~
Nausea , vomittin is the commonest , others like breast fullness, spottin is quite rare~ thx~ |
| Change to: | 0.0301sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:03 AM |