♠ Samsung Galaxy Ace ♠, Decent mid range phone at RM9xx

_CheeZ_
post Feb 21 2011, 07:39 PM

85 posts

Am thinking really hard to get Ace or Optimus One.

This is going to be my first Android. I was actually quite set upon getting Optimus a few days ago.. until yesterday I read about Galaxy Ace. Now I'm torn between two choices. I been reading reviews that Ace ram is only 2xx and has a bad battery life. Is that true? Gsmarena doesnt specify the ram there.. and some comments on reviews say that the internal memory is too small to install apps..
please advice smile.gif
_CheeZ_
post Feb 21 2011, 09:15 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Feb 21 2011, 08:18 PM)
I'm sure there are many in the same boat.  I know I am!  Waiting for a full review now.  But I'm leaning towards the Ace smile.gif
Haha yeahh I'm waiting for the full review at gsm arena too. I'm actually more interested in Ace due to its design. My friend has already offered me Rm950 for that phone, but still holding myself to confirm hmm.gif
QUOTE(Calex @ Feb 21 2011, 08:32 PM)
Many are torn between the O1 and the SGA (I'll call them that for short k? tongue.gif)

Internal memory should not be much of an issue when its Froyo, not to mention app2sd when someone gets that supported for this.

The worry here is the RAM, you'll have to trade the sacrifice of RAM for a bigger screen, Touchwiz 3.0, and IMHO much better looks. 256 isn't great, but sufficient for general use.
Ahh, I agree with you about the better looks. However, I'm not a very heavy user, just mainly use for calls and texts. I used task manager alot on the desktop to kill my unused tasks, so I guess I'd do the same with the phone heh. That will help the RAM prob right?
_CheeZ_
post Feb 21 2011, 11:58 PM

85 posts

looking forward for the confirmation of the RAM before confirming my purchase.. biggrin.gif
_CheeZ_
post Feb 22 2011, 04:34 PM

85 posts

I been watching galaxy ace unboxing videos in youtube.. 2 of the videos had the earphones lacking in it. and on particular video had leather pouch, extra white back cover and earphones in it. Anyone can clarify?
_CheeZ_
post Feb 22 2011, 04:38 PM

85 posts

aw damn sad.gif the pouch and the back cover looks awesome. I was looking forward to the cover
_CheeZ_
post Feb 22 2011, 07:06 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(MaxK @ Feb 22 2011, 05:14 PM)
but it NOT from Samsung Official...
so, hope it will hv 2.3 update....  laugh.gif
I do hope so too. If i root it, i can make it 2.3? Sorry new with android. hehe

QUOTE(rosihan @ Feb 22 2011, 05:35 PM)
performance bottleneck at ram >.<
Yeah I read alot opinions in the internet about people disappointed at the ram.. then again, there is no perfect phone.
_CheeZ_
post Feb 22 2011, 08:09 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(Borsch Soup @ Feb 22 2011, 08:07 PM)
Wow, thanks, but rm999, that is rm1000 liao, still reasonable to buy? laugh.gif
look for forummer named moon0126 in garage sales.. he offering rm 917 haha. im tempted to buy from him but i cant cod. so I guess I'll have to settle with a local retailer
_CheeZ_
post Feb 22 2011, 11:11 PM

85 posts

Hehe. Just got my galaxy ace. unbox it already.. I wonder how long should the first charge be?
_CheeZ_
post Feb 23 2011, 01:11 PM

85 posts

I find the battery quite weak.. But I have to say this phone is impressive. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by _CheeZ_: Feb 23 2011, 01:16 PM
_CheeZ_
post Feb 23 2011, 09:45 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(shark7 @ Feb 23 2011, 09:08 PM)
how weak is it..this is one of the main reason i dun get android phone ..lazy to charge ..

bout the flash .isn't iphone 4 doesn't support flash too ??
around 12 hours. but of course half the time was spent dling and installing things
_CheeZ_
post Feb 24 2011, 04:58 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Feb 24 2011, 04:55 PM)
this SG ace can update to android 2.3(gingerbread) ??
and the colour just black and white for back oni
*ask for my sis~
Yea only got black and white color available. hehe. about the 2.3 i not sure. android newbie
_CheeZ_
post Feb 24 2011, 09:22 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(KHOdin @ Feb 24 2011, 08:40 PM)
looks like a nice designed phone .... nod.gif
Yes it's actually a well designed phone, love the simplicity. Feels good in the hands, not too heavy but just nice.
_CheeZ_
post Feb 24 2011, 11:09 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(bebeq @ Feb 24 2011, 11:00 PM)
im havin galaxy ace since 3 day...phone never hang damn fast ...everythin perfect... but battery life damn only last long 7 hour...i not usin wifi..just sms and call...

phone is worth for every single $$$ but if u lookin for better battery life s.g ace not right choice...

but 1 word fantastic...
Hmm my first day battery was below average.. second day it lasted 16hours with half the time usage on idling, wifi and surfing, and games.
_CheeZ_
post Feb 24 2011, 11:22 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(RhythmYun @ Feb 24 2011, 11:14 PM)
I find this to be quite random. I read upon some user's Ace can tahan 1 days +, with gaming, wifi once a while.
While some bash it for can't even tahan half days.
I don't know, but is this a common thing when it come to battery life ?
If i buy this, i will close unnecessary stuff like wifi, 3g coverage when not in use.
I guess it helps with battery life ?
Haha my first day of using it was kinda bad, cause I'm new with the phone. Had alot of things running. But I learnt from trial and error, off the 3g and activate only 2g and the battery lasted longer.

0.1351sec    0.16    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:45 AM