♠ Samsung Galaxy Ace ♠, Decent mid range phone at RM9xx

kidmad
post Feb 24 2011, 10:36 PM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(RhythmYun @ Feb 24 2011, 09:17 PM)
Welcome  smile.gif
I'ma wait for the pricing for xperia neo next month.
If over my budget of 1k++ > 1.3k+  like that.
Then i will get this Ace =]
never play the waiting game when it comes to gadget. just get what you have in the market. you never know down the road in 6 - 8 months time what else will be coming out.

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Feb 24 2011, 10:19 PM)
depends on u
but this phone still dunno can update to 2.3(official) anot
is still a question ~
not really important. 2.2.1 is really good imo. 2.3 is just a + if they have.

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Feb 24 2011, 10:29 PM)
Disastrous video recording!  GSMArena got that right.  15fps?!  WTF was Samsung thinking?!  This is like, what, 2006?
Not many ppl will be taking video, moreover you can't expect too much for a phone at the price tag of rm900 right?

QUOTE(Apple_DarreN @ Feb 24 2011, 10:31 PM)
Shouldn't have bought my Galaxy 5. DAMN
why said so? it's different segment la bro, that phone is slightly cheaper but it serve it's purpose.
kidmad
post Feb 24 2011, 10:46 PM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Feb 24 2011, 10:39 PM)
Yes, but come on, 15fps?  I think ANY phone in the RM900 range can do better... anyway... I'm not using the phone as a primary video recorder, but it does come in handy sometimes smile.gif
Then simple, choose another phone with a better fps? haha for someone like me i only occasionally take some pictures candid camera type and heavy messaging and txting. so it's fine with me. You might want something better than.
kidmad
post Feb 24 2011, 11:03 PM

4,482 posts

anybody had tried this phone on Blackberry Holster? I am trying to find a holder for my phone so it wont so easily get scratch. haha
kidmad
post Feb 24 2011, 11:38 PM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(RhythmYun @ Feb 24 2011, 11:23 PM)
For you, longest record still within 1 day right ?
Most user claims that. However for those who claims 1 days +, i hope i can join them if i buy ACE  sweat.gif
lol those comments usually comes from user who does not know how to optimize the battery. if you once used an android before you pretty much would know how to optimize it. my phone battery can last one whole day despite playing and downloading with 3g on and never off.
kidmad
post Feb 24 2011, 11:49 PM

4,482 posts

most importantly in Ace is that, try not to on your GPS when you are not using it. do not click on allow gps to locate your location and if you are not using google navigator just off it.

Despite there are cool apps like gps tracker where can track your phone location but those apps are going to kill your battery life span.
kidmad
post Feb 25 2011, 12:52 AM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(Music Mania @ Feb 25 2011, 12:45 AM)
When there's a section for the Galaxy Ace over at xda, this phone is a total steal. biggrin.gif

Would love to try out how the Gorilla Glass feels like. Not a fan of the plasticy screen of the Optimus One. But beggar can't be choosers..
this phone is definitely not on gorilla glass.
kidmad
post Feb 25 2011, 11:47 AM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(cheehing @ Feb 25 2011, 11:39 AM)
158mb is total or the free ROM for user to install apps???
if total thn after the Android OS installed...it left less thn 50mb free for use????
i think it's inclusive of after the OS installed. so you are left with 100mb. anyway apps can be installed in sd card though.
kidmad
post Feb 27 2011, 11:40 PM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(yehlai @ Feb 27 2011, 09:36 AM)
Thanks for the clarify bro, now i understand how they charge smile.gif
I will switch to Digi, because their rate is more reasonable. But Digi RM50 plan's 10cents/10kb data charge is qite expensive rite?

You're using Digi too? Mind to share some other telco package which is cheaper (if have)?
I think digi offers the cheapest plan already compared to the others. im using RM50 + internet unlimited rm68. Better call rate + sms rate with unlimited. Smart Plan is great actually. Might sign up for DHD and sell the phone off tongue.gif

Added on February 27, 2011, 11:44 pm
QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Feb 27 2011, 11:39 PM)
wah this question alot ppl ask
but depends on u
ace almost all spec pawn lg O1,if not mistaken oni ram lose to O1 oni
furthermore O1 got android 2.3 update soon ~
not sure about ace got update anot
ill stick with ACE la. the user experience is totally difference when it comes to 3.2" and 3.5" more over the iphone like button is superb i should say! OP1 might only comparable to Legend maybe? no point playing the waiting game, i waited for my milestone to have 2.2! i ended up frustrated and sold off the phone. if i want 2.3, i'll just change. haha

This post has been edited by kidmad: Feb 27 2011, 11:44 PM
kidmad
post Feb 28 2011, 12:02 AM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Feb 27 2011, 11:51 PM)
lolx u sure stick with ace lor,coz u own it liao mar
wah so rich if this ace can't upgrade to 2.3,den u just change a new phone
go for dual core phone is the best tongue.gif
haha i've been changing more than 6 phones for the past few months. everytime buy and sell luckily lose abit only but have yet to find a phone which i like since after the milestone i own. tongue.gif now i am waiting for motorola pro before i change again. pretty happy with Ace haha.

QUOTE(kaizenng90 @ Feb 27 2011, 11:52 PM)
guys, just got my Ace and it doesnt comes with a pouch or screen protector...
anyone know where to get one??
you can use any iphone or blackberry pouch la. i bought a iphone pouch fit in nicely. haha.
kidmad
post Feb 28 2011, 04:39 PM

4,482 posts

Come on, if the phone is around rm9xx it's a worth to go already. no point going so far away just for 10 - 30 ringgit discount. You wasted your precious time + toll + petrol + parking.
kidmad
post Feb 28 2011, 10:57 PM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(shark7 @ Feb 28 2011, 10:20 PM)
hurm..i tot got 2 covers included..(black/white) ..only 1 ?
only one la

QUOTE(mynewuser @ Feb 28 2011, 10:39 PM)
Gps = Papago x5
why not google navigator.

0.0252sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 12:41 AM