♠ Samsung Galaxy Ace ♠, Decent mid range phone at RM9xx

Dannyl
post Feb 27 2011, 09:28 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(yehlai @ Feb 27 2011, 09:14 AM)
Yes, Digi should offer SGA plan.

Yes, RM500 deposit. But when will Digi refund the deposit?
I have check Digi post paid plan, their RM50 or RM68 (unlimited data) is suitable for me. But their RM50 plan data charge is 10cents/10KB, thats quite expensive.

Im getting a SGA or DHD this month. But will using the RM68 plan for sure. Any advice? icon_question.gif
The RM500 deposit will not be refunded. Instead, it will be used to knock off your monthly bills. That means you won't need to pay anything for the first few months as your monthly charges will be deducted from the RM500. If you don't mind staying with DiGi and are sure of using the Smart Plan, then the DHD offer now is a good deal. Phone is RM1399 only and the first 6 months only RM23 for the Smart Plan! Save RM270!

6 x 23 = RM138 (offer now)
6 x 68 = RM408 (normal)
Dannyl
post Feb 27 2011, 10:02 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(yehlai @ Feb 27 2011, 09:36 AM)
Thanks for the clarify bro, now i understand how they charge smile.gif
I will switch to Digi, because their rate is more reasonable. But Digi RM50 plan's 10cents/10kb data charge is qite expensive rite?

You're using Digi too? Mind to share some other telco package which is cheaper (if have)?
I'm using DiGi, but not the Smart Plan. I only just signed up for the Internet Lite (equivalent of Smart Plan Lite), which is RM33 for 300MB. After 300MB, no more data. Smart Plan slows down your speed if you exceed quota, unlike Maxis which charges you like RM5 per MB (can't remember the actual rate). Not sure about Celcom. You definitely need a data plan if you use Internet on your phone! Otherwise those per KB charges will kill you. From forum postings, seems like DiGi Smart Plan is cheapest. But remember that Smart Plan does not include calls and SMS, those will be calculated separately, Pay-As-You-Use.

This post has been edited by Dannyl: Feb 27 2011, 10:03 AM
Dannyl
post Feb 28 2011, 01:29 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(What61 @ Feb 28 2011, 12:41 PM)
hi anyone know how to identify ap sets with original SME sets? by checking imei no. ? or sticker?
You can check your warranty by Samsung by SMS, it will reply with your warranty period. If it's not registered with Samsung, then maybe AP set? Water set?
Send to 62002.
PC [your phone IMEI]
Dannyl
post Feb 28 2011, 02:05 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(What61 @ Feb 28 2011, 01:35 PM)
so means if i go to a shop and would like to check if its warranty by SME there would be no way to check unless i sms the imei number?
If you haven't bought the phone yet, the IMEI might not even be registered... not too sure. Why not buy from reputable sellers? We have a few here in Garage Sales.
Dannyl
post Feb 28 2011, 02:15 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(What61 @ Feb 28 2011, 02:08 PM)
yup yup got see around lyn and saw a few reputable sellers but would at least like to know if there is a way to identify (so won't be conned/have a peace of mind)

thanks!

any secret code input to check imei on the ace?
Same as Nokia. Tap *#06# on the dialer.
Ensure IMEI on box is the same as the one on the phone, phone sticker, etc.
Ensure all accessories are included. Especially the 2GB mem card... don't be like me doh.gif
Dannyl
post Feb 28 2011, 04:38 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(david6629 @ Feb 28 2011, 04:36 PM)
i buy rm999 with 8gb +2 years original warranty ..= ]
Is that from Samsung store?
Dannyl
post Mar 1 2011, 08:20 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

Very good phone GPS performance, not like my old Nokia Garmin, always detect that I'm on some other parallel road.

Tried Papago X5 and Aura Sygic. Papago not much settings, volume very low, but can expect good map updates from the MFM guys, and shows photos when you approach forks. Sygic navigation is questionable, brought me pusing-pusing makan angin, and searching for destinations seem confusing to me, but has very smooth animation (Garmin looks like PPT slideshow in comparison) and lane info (like you're on highway with 4 lanes it will highlight which lane you're supposed to be on).

Google Navigation haven't tried... I heard that voice navigation is not supported in Malaysia?
Dannyl
post Mar 1 2011, 10:37 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(danieloo @ Mar 1 2011, 09:26 AM)
BTW, owner of Black SGA, can you confirm the back cover is actually Rubberised or Glossy plastic?
Malaysia unit's back cover comes with either rubberised black or glossy white.

QUOTE(kathyasir @ Mar 1 2011, 09:48 AM)
Where to get :

Screen protector, pouch bag, car holder and car charger ??

Guys any idea ?

Please update if there is any recommended shop selling...

TQ smile.gif
Fantastic Communications selling all of their phones with the above items free. Currently they are selling SGAce at RM917. Many positive feedbacks, it seems. Can search at Garage Sales.
http://www.1handphone.com
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1456101

This post has been edited by Dannyl: Mar 1 2011, 10:38 AM
Dannyl
post Mar 1 2011, 02:48 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(cheehing @ Mar 1 2011, 01:37 PM)
1 of the lyn seller called me SGA price increased a lot !!!!!!!
Retail price is RM999, worst case scenario is you buy from Samsung only. If price really do go up a lot, then just wait for new mid-range models to be released. Phones get old fast smile.gif

Added on March 1, 2011, 2:51 pm
QUOTE(imjustakit @ Mar 1 2011, 02:47 PM)
hi folks, really intrested to get this as my new hp especialy its affordable price, since my old k810 keypad is getting worse..n i need a good wifi, 5mp camera and gps and etc, for my budget is now considering between nokia e72 and this, heard that symbian is getting outdated but many stable and steady apps still available?

my questions, pls help, thx.

galaxy ace users, have any1 tried the gps? im not expecting too fast to lock on location but is it nice? accurate? kindly share ur opinions pls?

galaxy ace/android users, is there anyway to set password to lock on the sreen or some certain folders or msg inbox?

thx in advance for the input.
Many people getting Ace or Optimus One as first Android phone. We welcome you in advance biggrin.gif Symbian apps lose to Android apps in terms of availability, development speed, and volume.

GPS performance is good, read up a few pages back on some members' comments.

Password to lock the standby screen, yes it's built-in, you can enable it. Folders or msg inbox, I'm sure there are apps which can do that smile.gif

This post has been edited by Dannyl: Mar 1 2011, 02:52 PM
Dannyl
post Mar 1 2011, 04:31 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

I got a problem with Ace. After I re-arrange the application menu icons, if I connect to the PC in USB Storage mode, then unplug, I noticed the icons will become randomly re-arranged. Anybody else facing this?
Dannyl
post Mar 2 2011, 08:14 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(BasicCX @ Mar 1 2011, 06:12 PM)
This is comparison between Galaxy Ace vs Optimus One
Well, maybe can improve on this list... for eg, both have no lens protection, no shutter key, no front-facing camera, no Flash support, etc, but only mentioned for one side, so can remove those if this is purely a comparison list.

QUOTE(danieloo @ Mar 2 2011, 06:09 AM)
http://www.senheng.com.my/#

Only got to know Samsung Galaxy S now offer SLCD version. Good price too.
There are more differences other than the screen. SLCD version has less memory and storage capacity.

QUOTE(LPJ @ Mar 1 2011, 05:03 PM)
I have similar issue like yours, but my Icon will become random re-arranged whenever I restart the phone. So now I cant be bother to arrange the icons. Anyone know about this issue? Or did I miss some setting somewhere?
QUOTE(nick05 @ Mar 1 2011, 07:04 PM)
hey, new ace user here.. =)
wana ask any user experienced these after restart the phone:-

1) icons in the menu are not in the same position before turning off
2) battery drops fast after charging (indicated by battery widget) eg: 100% after charged, after light using for a while, battery drops to 73% T_T

is this happening to other users out there?? or juz my ace having these problems?? plz help.. tq
Maybe the phone doesn't save the icon locations in solid state memory... just temporary. Or, something to do with the memory card, since both restarting the phone and unplugging from USB will result in the phone saying "preparing SD card", "scanning media file" or something like that.

For the charging, when the battery icon shows full, and your battery widget shows 100%, it's still not full yet. Let it charge until the charging icon (looks like lightning bolt) disappears and the notification area shows a battery with '100%' inside.

My first day usage of some apps, wifi on, some SMS = 1 day and a half.
Second day usage of lots of download and apps trying, wifi on, 3G on, some SMS = less than 1 day.
Today I'm going to try with wifi off, 3G off, 2G network only. See how long it lasts.
Display brightness is 50% in all cases. Can't sacrifice the beautiful clear screen view just to save some juice! laugh.gif
I saw my friends with AMOLED screens, DHD TFT screens, all using matte sp... looks totally not nice... what a waste...

QUOTE(cheehing @ Mar 1 2011, 05:46 PM)
anyone using white???
do u all prefer white or black???
White is glossy, attract too much fingerprint, easily scratched. Looks very cool if you can keep it clean. I prefer black, better grip, fingerprint-less, scratch-resistant.

QUOTE(abugem @ Mar 1 2011, 04:47 PM)
yo lor...... price is increased dramatically... i have called several lowyat seller.... all have no stock and they said the price increased +- RM 100 from original price  cry.gif  cry.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
Don't worry, Samsung will catch up with the demand with more supplies. Price increase is just because of the sellers looking for quick profit. Just wait for a couple of weeks. Who knows, maybe while waiting, a better phone with same/better price comes out?

This post has been edited by Dannyl: Mar 2 2011, 08:31 AM
Dannyl
post Mar 2 2011, 09:17 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(BasicCX @ Mar 2 2011, 09:11 AM)
You may be no read it carefully. Read it carefully and you will find it.
I know it's there. I mean to remove it. Since both phones also don't have it, why mention it for comparison? Like no shutter key, it's a CON for both.

This post has been edited by Dannyl: Mar 2 2011, 09:23 AM
Dannyl
post Mar 2 2011, 04:34 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(iJoel @ Mar 2 2011, 02:09 PM)
Wah this phone seems to be really high in demand.. lucky i bought it earlier@RM900 ori set. My ifag friends all butthurt, they condemn samsung copying iphone's design la, no front camera la etc etc... which i dont give a damn tongue.gif my phone can do what their phones are capable of

To those people who are asking about the viewing quality, i can say it is good, for a RM900 phone of course. Texts look much better than wildfire, while picture quality is decent too. Not very sure how would the battery performs yet coz on the first charge it lasted me about 8hrs+ of extensive non-stop wifi usage and molesting. All in all i'm very satisfied with this phone la smile.gif
Before iPhone4 came out, iFags said why would they need a front camera? How many times do you video call in a year? Then Steve Jobs presented iPhone4 with front camera and the iFags rejoiced... basically they will say whatever features are not included, they will not need it, and vice versa.
Dannyl
post Mar 2 2011, 08:01 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(terrytoh1984 @ Mar 2 2011, 04:37 PM)
for me currently is using samsung keypad....
From some forumer mentioned when u expert on swype will x3 times faster than occasional keypad in typing msg.
Can also use Swype keyboard for normal typing. I find the special characters are easier to reach with the Swype keyboard than with the Samsung keyboard.
Dannyl
post Mar 3 2011, 09:25 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(cheehing @ Mar 3 2011, 09:15 AM)
anyone know about the samsung e-warranty ???
how do it works???
The seller would have registered your phone with Samsung via SMS. To check your warranty period, send SMS to 62002.
"PC <your IMEI no>"

My warranty period started 3 days before I bought the phone. Maybe the seller pre-registers them when stock arrives? But then, what if the phone doesn't sell for 1 month? Then the buyer lost 1 month warranty?

This post has been edited by Dannyl: Mar 3 2011, 09:25 AM
Dannyl
post Mar 3 2011, 12:27 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(abugem @ Mar 3 2011, 11:55 AM)
news on update to 2.3 gingerbread for samsung galaxy ace

( i took it from indonesia forum)

[attachmentid=2071800]
Ahhh... hope Ace will get Gingerbread... because when I look at Samsung Kies with Ace plugged in, it's worrying.
Dannyl
post Mar 3 2011, 01:33 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(ireneto @ Mar 3 2011, 12:35 PM)
available in white colour? both side white or only back side white colour?
Only back side white. I predict there will be aftermarket covers soon which you can buy and slap on, since the design is fairly simple and it's all cheap plastic.
Dannyl
post Mar 3 2011, 02:41 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(Hianz @ Mar 3 2011, 01:57 PM)
Is this shop at ground floor? Is the package come with 8G memory card & Papago X5 (GPS software)?

I have asked one of the shop at 1st floor which offer me RM1099 with Papago X5 & 8G card or RM999 for 2G card and Papago X5.
I forgot the shop name and I didn't take the offer that day.
I think this is the best offer so far but anyhow i didnt ask the warrantty period.
The Papago genuine or not... genuine copy is worth RM149 I think. But if you don't want to muck around with Papago, having them install it is also a good thing.
Dannyl
post Mar 3 2011, 05:15 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Mar 3 2011, 04:15 PM)
I was looking at the Ace also...suddenly found out the video recording is only QVGA@ 15fps....wtf....at least 24fps@ VGA resolution lar....sigh...
Yeah, kind of a 'surprise', isn't it? That's drawback number 1. Battery is drawback number 2. Other than those, everything else is good to go!
Dannyl
post Mar 3 2011, 07:26 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

Noticed a speck of dust trapped near the top of the screen and another one near the bottom. Don't know if they were there when I bought the phone or while I was using it. Hard to see indoors. Future buyers, be careful!

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0334sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:18 PM