To use subwoofer or not to use, Any opinion?
TSMonkey D
Feb 21 2011, 11:30 AM, updated 15y ago
Hi Sifus!
Sorry for the noob question as im totally new when talk about ICE.
I just recently got myself a 2nd hand car. The previous owner have left me almost everything from front speakers, rear speakers and a 12'ch subwoofer but not the amp. Sighed!
My question is, should i go and buy me a new amp just to power up the woofer or opt for a new simple rear speakers with decent bass?
The front and rear speakers gives me very clear sounds but they seems like no bass at all! hahahaha!
Which way better and of course, cheaper? hehehehe!
Thanks!!
o10+01o
Feb 21 2011, 11:42 AM
Get an amp and power the woofer since you said 'like no bass at all'.
Cheaper: Search for a 2nd hand amp which suits your type of woofer. RMS rating and number of coils.
TSMonkey D
Feb 21 2011, 12:07 PM
o10+01o,
Hahhaa! Not that im addicted to bass but really can feel the bass from those speakers.
Get an amp ar? Feels like very messy with all those extra wiring if using amp. Will my car battery/alternator gone faster if using amp??
Thanks!
o10+01o
Feb 21 2011, 01:12 PM
messy? depends on ur installer, normally they will do it neatly.
As for the battery and alternator, no problem for me. my batt survived 2 years ++ running on 2 amps. Always start ur engine first then only switch on ur player.
TSMonkey D
Feb 21 2011, 01:23 PM
010+01o,
Hmm.. maybe i should go some accesories shops and starts surveying any cheap amps available.
I guessed the cost of getting an amp are somehow similar to getting a pair of rear speakers.
Thanks mate for your inputs!
zennn
Feb 21 2011, 02:22 PM
just sell the sub la if youre not keen on it...
TSMonkey D
Feb 21 2011, 02:25 PM
Zennn,
Was thinking about selling the sub but i don't think i could get much from it. So, just see how i could do with some minor upgrade to reuse it. hahahah!
zennn
Feb 21 2011, 03:14 PM
to use it u need to buy an amp...
TSMonkey D
Feb 21 2011, 03:29 PM
zennn,
Thats my concern whether i should get an amp or just buy a better pair of rear speakers. Lets see which option save me more money! hehehhe!
Quazacolt
Feb 21 2011, 04:48 PM
QUOTE(Monkey D @ Feb 21 2011, 03:29 PM) zennn, Thats my concern whether i should get an amp or just buy a better pair of rear speakers. Lets see which option save me more money! hehehhe! you're not making sense when you want to save money and yet you want to buy a pair of rear speakers.
SUSgrinders
Feb 21 2011, 05:30 PM

i wonder can we use amp but without subwoofer. Just want to add more power to headunit without the down shaking bass subwoofer
headunit and amp but no subwoofer can it be done or need to buy subwoofer if want to use an amp
Quazacolt
Feb 21 2011, 05:49 PM
QUOTE(grinders @ Feb 21 2011, 05:30 PM) i wonder can we use amp but without subwoofer. Just want to add more power to headunit without the down shaking bass subwoofer headunit and amp but no subwoofer can it be done or need to buy subwoofer if want to use an amp you can buy amp only to power your component speaker set. provided your component set and amp isnt chicken brands, it will make a difference with and without amp. generally it will be better unless you get a fail amp then you may potentially worsen your sound quality.
MyWifeCar
Feb 21 2011, 07:06 PM
Actually ayam brand also can... you will get a louder sound only.  But TS, you plan for rear speakers...yet without amp, what is the woofer for? You also no plan to sell because you scare not worth much. May I suggest, get a amp for the woofer... be it with ayam logo.
Quazacolt
Feb 21 2011, 07:09 PM
QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Feb 21 2011, 07:06 PM) Actually ayam brand also can... you will get a louder sound only.  But TS, you plan for rear speakers...yet without amp, what is the woofer for? You also no plan to sell because you scare not worth much. May I suggest, get a amp for the woofer... be it with ayam logo. if all you want is louder audio, ok lo XD
howiechoo
Feb 21 2011, 08:42 PM
why does everyone treat a sub as head banging or shaking device? use your ear to hear.....if u cant, feel it.
ps: A 5 seater car doesn't mean u must always carry 5 peoples inside.....
MyWifeCar
Feb 21 2011, 09:37 PM
QUOTE(howiechoo @ Feb 21 2011, 08:42 PM) why does everyone treat a sub as head banging or shaking device? use your ear to hear.....if u cant, feel it. ps: A 5 seater car doesn't mean u must always carry 5 peoples inside..... ...TS sub is for shaking one. confirmed... I can foresee a lot of things recently.... But the Eclipse in your shop is my precious for what ppl always say~~ Real sub.  It goes so slow that if you look up, the girl with the mini-skirt beside you will slap you. ...but need "some" power la.
TSMonkey D
Feb 21 2011, 10:21 PM
Hahaha!! Thanks all for ur inputs guys.
That sub came as free when i got my this 2nd ride recently. The previous owner gaves me almost everything but without the amp.
The main problem is both front and rear speakers don't gives me bass at all. They sounded like people singing live opera.
And i just wanted some bass only. Hehehehe! Thats y lor, don't know i should get an amp OR a better pair of rear speakers that could produce some bass.
Of course, poor people like me needs to think much coz no money ma. So have to think which option saved me more.
MyWifeCar
Feb 21 2011, 10:23 PM
TS, poor people use public transport. They don't own a car~~
TSMonkey D
Feb 21 2011, 10:40 PM
Mywifecar,
Hehehe! Actually, im poorer coz of car loan consider debt. Every months no eat also kena pay.
Btw, the sub is 12'ch and brand is MTX audio. Don't know its watts/ratings unless i unscrew the whole thing from the box. Is it a good brand? How much will it fetch at least? Also, a HU Alpine CDA-9833. Any idea?
Thanks!!
MyWifeCar
Feb 21 2011, 11:05 PM
MTX is used for shake butt one... But don't worry la... can be tuned to your liking. You have a very nice HU there.... You have to open the box and check the model of your sub... btw, curious to know what brand and model is your comp set.
TSMonkey D
Feb 21 2011, 11:27 PM
Mywifecar,
Opps! I've taken out the Alpine to make way to a Sony coz this Alpine don't support USB.
Component set means front and rear speakers? Hehehe! Opps again. No idea. They're all sealed inside the doors panel. Noticed, there 2 pairs tweeters at front and another 2 pairs tweeters at rear.
Looks like im more than a noob. Paiseh. Never thought to be so complicated when it comes to ICE.
Any shop can recommend so i could just go and get all those things sorted up? Some bass to my ride will be just nice.
Thanks all
rona
Feb 22 2011, 11:54 AM
get rear speaker dont improve bass too much one la... get an amp, use your sub... then the real bass comes... MTX is good brand... dont waste it. as for the alpine.... haih too bad... you could have bought the USB module for it rather than downgrading it... hope you still keep the HU with you...
Quazacolt
Feb 22 2011, 03:02 PM
QUOTE(howiechoo @ Feb 21 2011, 08:42 PM) why does everyone treat a sub as head banging or shaking device? use your ear to hear.....if u cant, feel it. ps: A 5 seater car doesn't mean u must always carry 5 peoples inside..... malaysia generic ICE: ahbengs, ahbengs everywhere. car pass by no shake no duk zi duk zi = no ICE = fail. correct right? LOL Added on February 22, 2011, 3:04 pmQUOTE(Monkey D @ Feb 21 2011, 11:27 PM) Mywifecar, Opps! I've taken out the Alpine to make way to a Sony coz this Alpine don't support USB.Component set means front and rear speakers? Hehehe! Opps again. No idea. They're all sealed inside the doors panel. Noticed, there 2 pairs tweeters at front and another 2 pairs tweeters at rear. Looks like im more than a noob. Paiseh. Never thought to be so complicated when it comes to ICE. Any shop can recommend so i could just go and get all those things sorted up? Some bass to my ride will be just nice. Thanks all 9 series HU replacing a possible ciplak HU. oh well if its for the USB function's sake... cant be helped i guess This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Feb 22 2011, 03:04 PM
TSMonkey D
Feb 22 2011, 03:28 PM
Hehhehe!
I really needs to find a sifu urgently now before i totally spoilt the systems.
The Alpine is still with me. Planned to sell it off but no taker. So, it just laying around at my house now. Hehhehe!
Not that bad kua? The Sony should be ori la. Bought it that time during Sony promo and get extended warantty when register it online.
Thanks to Mywifecar too for recommended me someone to solve my probs!
MyWifeCar
Feb 22 2011, 05:43 PM
How much want to let go your HU? Still working not??
craziechild
Feb 22 2011, 06:15 PM
the day you know you made the wrong choice for the sony...
will be the day you know how well the alpine performs...
iciwe
Feb 22 2011, 06:47 PM
save cost suggestion.... let sell your 12" sub and add a-bit $$ to buy a new active subwoofer with amp built-in ! nowways ... the audio shop salesman told me got sell 10" active subwoofer !
TSMonkey D
Feb 23 2011, 10:05 AM
Hmm.. Maybe i should let go the sub and the Alpine HU to get some money since im not really into high end car audio setting. Hehhhe!
Will upload the picture this weekend and as well the looking price for them.
Mywifecar, yeah! the HU is working fine. Was using it for almost 2 weeks before finally changed to Sony as i see USB to be more convinient.
Iciwe, active sub looks tempting to me. ehhehehe! Care to let me know more about it? Will they cost cheaper than an amp? How about its setting? Plug n play kind of thing?
Thanks everyone!
zennn
Feb 23 2011, 12:26 PM