Tiles, Cost and Installation

cmk96
post Jun 4 2013, 12:10 PM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(TarePanda @ Jun 4 2013, 09:19 AM)
I think laminated flooring is same as solid wood floor?

It need maintenance after few years..think so  rolleyes.gif
Laminated floor is printing on the surface of mdf which is much cheaper than solid wood. Solid wood gv better feel of course.

sovietmah
post Jun 4 2013, 02:30 PM

2,243 posts

I renovate both of my bathroom using White Horse tiles.
Contractor said not yet wash using chemical yet, after wash on those dirt will looks even more elegant.

This post has been edited by sovietmah: Jun 4 2013, 02:32 PM
MG4
post Jun 4 2013, 03:06 PM

I have a quotation to do 1 step at the porch + laying tiles at the car porch...

a step + tiles (550 pcs) + materials + labour charge for the work in the car porch (22ft x 25ft)= RM 6.00 per sqt...

Is that reasonable? Ipoh area
petlu28
post Jun 4 2013, 03:16 PM

3,936 posts

any promotion right now?

QUOTE(sovietmah @ Jun 4 2013, 02:30 PM)
I renovate both of my bathroom using White Horse tiles.
Contractor said not yet wash using chemical yet, after wash on those dirt will looks even more elegant.

sovietmah
post Jun 4 2013, 05:08 PM

2,243 posts

QUOTE(petlu28 @ Jun 4 2013, 03:16 PM)
any promotion right now?
Not sure bout promotion,
but i am using alsinea series, cheap series haha, bout RM2-3 per pieces. but i think the stripe looks nice.
The flooring tiles is very rough in surface, difficult to wash, but hardly fall down in step on it.
So I choose dark grey color.
petlu28
post Jun 4 2013, 05:15 PM

3,936 posts

i am planning buy 1 x 1 for store room floor & 2 x 2 (Black) for concrete table. Can recommend which one suitable?

QUOTE(sovietmah @ Jun 4 2013, 05:08 PM)
Not sure bout promotion,
but i am using alsinea series, cheap series haha, bout RM2-3 per pieces. but i think the stripe looks nice.
The flooring tiles is very rough in surface, difficult to wash, but hardly fall down in step on it.
So I choose dark grey color.
sovietmah
post Jun 4 2013, 05:18 PM

2,243 posts

QUOTE(petlu28 @ Jun 4 2013, 05:15 PM)
i am planning buy 1 x 1 for store room floor & 2 x 2 (Black) for concrete table. Can recommend which one suitable?
Black one maybe u have to refer to china tiles, so far my contractor let me choose MY tiles, black one all i dun really like.

But i choose grey for my wet kitchen concrete top MML 60cm x 60cm homo tiles.
Light grey Alpha tiles 30cm x 60cm for my wet kitchen flooring
W53011 White 25cm x 33cm Alsinea (same like my bathroom one) (With very lighter grey stripe) for my wet kitchen wall tiles = The rest of wall tiles
W53006D Dark grey 25cm x 33cm Alsinea (same like my bathroom one) (With very darker grey stripe) for my wet kitchen wall tiles = Hood and Hob area only. bout 500mm wide.

so after done, it should be looks like somethg like this.
http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-wwG4Axult4Y/T5eu...00/DSC_0608.jpg
But of course i am not using very small mozaic, but it is a 25cm x 33cm dark grey tiles (same like my bathroom one)

And then i bought the silver color Fotile hood,
and then dark black glass Fotile Hob 3 burner from builders hardware.

So silver hood match bit with the dark grey wall tiles,
lighter grey concrete tiles match with black hob, should looks cool hopefully.

Code refer here http://whitehorseceramic.com.au/alsinea-wall-floor.html

White Horse tiles pattern quite OK, but each tiles got different length, could be 1-2mm differences.
If you want very accurate length, maybe got to refer to italian brand.

This post has been edited by sovietmah: Jun 4 2013, 05:29 PM
petlu28
post Jun 6 2013, 10:57 AM

3,936 posts

Are you hear Feruni tile before? Yesterday i seen Houz Depot have selling 60cm x 60cm selling RM26 per piece.

QUOTE(sovietmah @ Jun 4 2013, 05:18 PM)
Black one maybe u have to refer to china tiles, so far my contractor let me choose MY tiles, black one all i dun really like.

But i choose grey for my wet kitchen concrete top MML 60cm x 60cm homo tiles.
Light grey Alpha tiles 30cm x 60cm for my wet kitchen flooring
W53011 White 25cm x 33cm Alsinea (same like my bathroom one) (With very lighter grey stripe) for my wet kitchen wall tiles = The rest of wall tiles
W53006D Dark grey 25cm x 33cm Alsinea (same like my bathroom one) (With very darker grey stripe) for my wet kitchen wall tiles = Hood and Hob area only. bout 500mm wide.

so after done, it should be looks like somethg like this.
http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-wwG4Axult4Y/T5eu...00/DSC_0608.jpg
But of course i am not using very small mozaic, but it is a 25cm x 33cm dark grey tiles (same like my bathroom one)

And then i bought the silver color Fotile hood,
and then dark black glass Fotile Hob 3 burner from builders hardware.

So silver hood match bit with the dark grey wall tiles,
lighter grey concrete tiles match with black hob, should looks cool hopefully.

Code refer here http://whitehorseceramic.com.au/alsinea-wall-floor.html

White Horse tiles pattern quite OK, but each tiles got different length, could be 1-2mm differences.
If you want very accurate length, maybe got to refer to italian brand.
sovietmah
post Jun 6 2013, 12:12 PM

2,243 posts

QUOTE(petlu28 @ Jun 6 2013, 10:57 AM)
Are you hear Feruni tile before? Yesterday i seen Houz Depot have selling 60cm x 60cm selling RM26 per piece.
Nope, nope. no money to buy feruni.
Should buy at fair last month, my colleague get some very good deal for feruni tiles.
petlu28
post Jun 6 2013, 12:18 PM

3,936 posts

Feruni tiles expensive tiles? Can recommend which brands?

QUOTE(sovietmah @ Jun 6 2013, 12:12 PM)
Nope, nope. no money to buy feruni.
Should buy at fair last month, my colleague get some very good deal for feruni tiles.
sovietmah
post Jun 6 2013, 01:29 PM

2,243 posts

QUOTE(petlu28 @ Jun 6 2013, 12:18 PM)
Feruni tiles expensive tiles? Can recommend which brands?
but each brand got diff grade also la, white horse, MML and guocera also got high end one.

So far i prefer white horse, alpha tiles.
http://www.whitehorse.com.my/
http://alpha-tiles.com.my/

petlu28
post Jun 6 2013, 01:50 PM

3,936 posts

don't know which type tiles are high grade. Any different low grade & high grade? Just wanna survey normally 60cm x 60cm tiles how much market selling.

QUOTE(sovietmah @ Jun 6 2013, 01:29 PM)
but each brand got diff grade also la, white horse, MML and guocera also got high end one.

So far i prefer white horse, alpha tiles.
http://www.whitehorse.com.my/
http://alpha-tiles.com.my/
weikee
post Jun 6 2013, 02:32 PM

12,019 posts

If you get grade 2, lower grade or some term is Grade B it may have one or more defective e.g.

- Some area of the tiles surface are bloated / pregnant
- Tiles wrap
- Tiles are not cut symmetrical, you notice some are offset in one angle
- color inconsistence even in the same batch.
- Size inconsistence, even same box some can be bigger than other.

Basically these are manufacturing defective.

This post has been edited by weikee: Jun 6 2013, 02:33 PM
sovietmah
post Jun 6 2013, 02:36 PM

2,243 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Jun 6 2013, 02:32 PM)
If you get grade 2, lower grade or some term is Grade B it may have one or more defective e.g.

- Tiles wrap

Ya true.
I noticed my white horse tiles bout 1mm diff in term of length or height.
Luckily the workmanship OK, after put the gap white powder now looks good for me.
weikee
post Jun 6 2013, 03:12 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(sovietmah @ Jun 6 2013, 02:36 PM)
Ya true.
I noticed my white horse tiles bout 1mm diff in term of length or height.
Luckily the workmanship OK, after put the gap white powder now looks good for me.
Variance in between the spec are ok. But some can be very bad.

I use Grade 2 for non exposed / cover area like under the wash basin.
petlu28
post Jun 7 2013, 10:36 AM

3,936 posts

Are we allow to check the tiles before purchase?

QUOTE(weikee @ Jun 6 2013, 02:32 PM)

- Tiles wrap

weikee
post Jun 7 2013, 10:50 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(petlu28 @ Jun 7 2013, 10:36 AM)
Are we allow to check the tiles before purchase?
If already stated Grade 2 or B, you won't get refund for the defective i mention unless the tiles break. Grade A, you can change need to ask the seller.

How do you check each piece of tile when you buying in hundred or thousands pieces?
sovietmah
post Jun 7 2013, 10:53 AM

2,243 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Jun 7 2013, 10:50 AM)
If already stated Grade 2 or B, you won't get refund for the defective i mention unless the tiles break. Grade A, you can change need to ask the seller.

How do you check each piece of tile when you buying in hundred or thousands pieces?
No way to check before u purchase.
Same like when you are buying printer cartridge, buy first, try, problem then exchange.
You mostly can check after purchase, and refund those tiles that got major defects.
For corner break tiles you can utilize it to do skirting and cut into minor piece for cornering part.

This post has been edited by sovietmah: Jun 7 2013, 10:55 AM
petlu28
post Jun 7 2013, 11:01 AM

3,936 posts

i buy for concrete top & for store room only.

QUOTE(weikee @ Jun 7 2013, 10:50 AM)

petlu28
post Jun 7 2013, 11:02 AM

3,936 posts

Thanks your advise. I think contractor should know how to do.

QUOTE(sovietmah @ Jun 7 2013, 10:53 AM)
No way to check before u purchase.
Same like when you are buying printer cartridge, buy first, try, problem then exchange.
You mostly can check after purchase,  and refund those tiles that got major defects.
For corner break tiles you can utilize it to do skirting and cut into minor piece for cornering part.

136 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Top

0.0323sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 12:51 AM