QUOTE(xalim @ Aug 22 2011, 09:31 PM)
why not u ask him to break the cost by sqf means hack and removed the existing + install the new tiles excluding the tiles cost. you can buy your own tiles....Tiles, Cost and Installation
Tiles, Cost and Installation
Aug 23 2011, 01:01 AM
843 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
Aug 23 2011, 11:32 AM
1,529 posts Joined: Feb 2011 From: PJ |
QUOTE(xalim @ Aug 22 2011, 09:49 AM) i bought 1 house (flat) with 750 sqf. Not really clear about your situationwith currently living n dining floor got tiles and 3 bedrooms with parquet. asked few contractors ,but only 2 replied : 1st contractor - they need to see the site first before decide whole price even though i already give them plan. 2nd contractor - got 2 options a) new tiles (2x2) and repair parquet total cost RM 5670: mobilization cost : 1400 (2 weeks = 14 days) demolishing/removing 1280 floor finished (including 2x2 tiles) : 2600 b) new tiles (2x2) and new laminated timber floor total cost : RM 7366 mobilization cost : 1400 ( 2 weeks = 14 days) demolishing/removing including : remove parquet = RM256 & demolished old tile = 390 floor finished : (tiles 2x2) = 2600 (laminated timber floor) = 2720 mobilization cost : Transportation cost, rentals of machineries,delivery of materials charged by supplier, temporary works & dustbin. is it reasonable price for tile renovation especially in mobilization cost & time frame 1) Are you please to change the whole house tiles (750sf) or only the 3 bedrooms (what the sf)? 2) the contractor quote base on whole house (750sf) or only some space? 3) Is Skirting been covered too? 4) why you option B are cheaper than option A on the Demolishing / removing? Are those said thing? Mobilization cost? Perhaps only Dustbin, the rest it is the contractors cost. Why you need to pay rental pf machine and delivery of materials? Because normally if puchase through hardware shop (cerement / sand...) or tiles (tile shop) once your about a treshold than the shop will deliver FOC or will charge RM20-50 (normally the contractor will pick up themself is only small number) Maybe good to get another contractor to quote too. |
Aug 23 2011, 12:49 PM
33 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
QUOTE(xalim @ Aug 22 2011, 10:49 AM) i bought 1 house (flat) with 750 sqf. Considering your house is a flat, imho I think the price of the 2nd contractor is quite reasonable. But I would suggest you buy your own tiles, not for saving but just the fun part of it with currently living n dining floor got tiles and 3 bedrooms with parquet. asked few contractors ,but only 2 replied : 1st contractor - they need to see the site first before decide whole price even though i already give them plan. 2nd contractor - got 2 options a) new tiles (2x2) and repair parquet total cost RM 5670: mobilization cost : 1400 (2 weeks = 14 days) demolishing/removing 1280 floor finished (including 2x2 tiles) : 2600 b) new tiles (2x2) and new laminated timber floor total cost : RM 7366 mobilization cost : 1400 ( 2 weeks = 14 days) demolishing/removing including : remove parquet = RM256 & demolished old tile = 390 floor finished : (tiles 2x2) = 2600 (laminated timber floor) = 2720 mobilization cost : Transportation cost, rentals of machineries,delivery of materials charged by supplier, temporary works & dustbin. is it reasonable price for tile renovation especially in mobilization cost & time frame Since the 1st contractor said they need to see the site first, why not? The plan you gave most of the time doesn't reflect the actual cost. And my feeling even the 2nd contractor only give you estimated price. There still possibility that there might be some add up here and there. Be prepared. |
Aug 24 2011, 01:02 PM
183 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Segamat(Johor), Selangor, Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Aug 23 2011, 11:32 AM) Not really clear about your situation kindly find attachment below for whole view of apartment (plan).1) Are you please to change the whole house tiles (750sf) or only the 3 bedrooms (what the sf)? tile= just living,dining till in front of bedrooms. parquet = 3 bedrooms 2) the contractor quote base on whole house (750sf) or only some space? for some space as mention in Question 1 3) Is Skirting been covered too? i'm not sure , basically did they covered too? 4) why you option B are cheaper than option A on the Demolishing / removing? Are those said thing? maybe for repairing parquet in option A including parquet itself. Mobilization cost? Perhaps only Dustbin, the rest it is the contractors cost. Why you need to pay rental pf machine and delivery of materials? Because normally if puchase through hardware shop (cerement / sand...) or tiles (tile shop) once your about a treshold than the shop will deliver FOC or will charge RM20-50 (normally the contractor will pick up themself is only small number) Maybe good to get another contractor to quote too. currently living & dining covered by tile 1x1 , wanna change to 2x2 3 bedrooms with parquet. [attachmentid=2403612] Added on August 24, 2011, 1:14 pm QUOTE(lhsmedphy @ Aug 23 2011, 12:49 PM) Considering your house is a flat, imho I think the price of the 2nd contractor is quite reasonable. But I would suggest you buy your own tiles, not for saving but just the fun part of it This post has been edited by xalim: Aug 24 2011, 01:14 PMwill survey and purchase by myself Demolishing/removing works draw lotsa energy and sweat. Contractors are human too, they also need to feed themselves and their family. yeah, need to consider this kind of thing also, but The mobilization cost charged by the supplier, so I guess there is nothing extra that the contractor could/want to earn from it. Since the 1st contractor said they need to see the site first, why not? The plan you gave most of the time doesn't reflect the actual cost. And my feeling even the 2nd contractor only give you estimated price. There still possibility that there might be some add up here and there. Be prepared. |
Aug 24 2011, 01:34 PM
Looking at the plan and assuming your Kitchen will not touch
11 x (11+10) = 231 sf Assuming walkwall (3x9) + door entire (3x3) = 18+ 9 = 27 Total tile 231+27 = 358 (make it ease we count as 360sf) 360sf x 4.50 (tiling without hacking) = 1620 Tiles 360 / 4(2x2 tile) = 90 pcs x RM10@ = RM 900 Total 1620+900 = RM 2520 Hence base on above exemption, it sound reasonable for RM 2700 but then few items you need to check 1) What the max allow tile price you allow to purchase? Maybe he only give RM7, more than that you need to pay extra 2) How about skirting, or how much will be charge? (I'm been charged RM3@f) 3) How much he charge if your buy tiles (as suggested by lhsmedphy and what I do during my renovation) and the contractor supply labour I still don't understand why the mobilization cost is so high * Sorry, cant advise on parquet. |
Aug 25 2011, 12:14 AM
2,113 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
QUOTE(phoenix69 @ Aug 22 2011, 08:30 PM) Been to one stop in kepong. Saw Niro Tiles 2'X2' selling at RM9.80 thought I hit the mother lode Oh, i love niro tiles, their patterns very realistic & hi res. But this time hafta keep costs down so go for guocera But when I ask more details, its Grade 2 Grade 1 cost RM 20+++ |
Aug 25 2011, 09:45 AM
70 posts Joined: May 2008 |
I've ordered Niro Charme 1x2 series- RM11 (above 600pcs) Wave brown- 1x2 - RM11 Niro black- 2x2- RM27 White horse beige 2 x2 - RM17 All first grade tiles. Price wise i think is quite reasonable. This post has been edited by bernard79: Aug 25 2011, 09:46 AM |
Aug 25 2011, 09:57 AM
10,314 posts Joined: Dec 2009 From: Malaysia |
the only grouse i have with niro is it's not homogenoues.
if chipped or broken, can see the white base. will be very obvious. it's usually thicker than other tiles. now i'm seriously considering mml tiles since its homogenous. bernard, good price. where you buy? |
Aug 25 2011, 12:26 PM
80 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
if my house is currently underconstruction can i actually request the developer not to lay tiles on certain parts (eg: kitchen, toilets) in order to save the hacking costs if i'd like to lay my own tiles later?
heard dat some developer allow that & will even deduct the tile costs from the house price... not sure whether dis is true? has anyone hav similar experiences? |
Aug 25 2011, 12:39 PM
2,113 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
QUOTE(Lara~ @ Aug 25 2011, 12:26 PM) if my house is currently underconstruction can i actually request the developer not to lay tiles on certain parts (eg: kitchen, toilets) in order to save the hacking costs if i'd like to lay my own tiles later? Normally smal developers wil oblige, bigger ones stricter. But got ppl do the undercover way, approach the developer contractor directly to lay.heard dat some developer allow that & will even deduct the tile costs from the house price... not sure whether dis is true? has anyone hav similar experiences? |
Aug 25 2011, 12:48 PM
843 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
QUOTE(mrPOTATO @ Aug 25 2011, 12:39 PM) Normally smal developers wil oblige, bigger ones stricter. But got ppl do the undercover way, approach the developer contractor directly to lay. CF can approve with diff material on diff house? unless the developer have upgrade package to buyer. but also need to concern on developer contractor workmanship, later outcome is worst. |
Aug 25 2011, 12:57 PM
102 posts Joined: May 2011 |
QUOTE(mrPOTATO @ Aug 25 2011, 12:39 PM) Normally smal developers wil oblige, bigger ones stricter. But got ppl do the undercover way, approach the developer contractor directly to lay. can ask ah.. if we do this, do we have to get black and white from the developer? cos i think developer will worry later we argue they didnt deliver per spec |
Aug 25 2011, 02:11 PM
QUOTE(member808 @ Aug 25 2011, 12:57 PM) can ask ah.. if we do this, do we have to get black and white from the developer? cos i think developer will worry later we argue they didnt deliver per spec i think there should be black & white..i dun mind dey dun giv any discounts, at least i can save on hacking costs.. i'll try to enquire from my developer (Paramount) dis weekend & update u guys here another unrelated Q: are slate tiles generally expensive? compared to porcelain? considering to use them for my car porch & bathroom |
Aug 25 2011, 02:33 PM
70 posts Joined: May 2008 |
QUOTE(kochin @ Aug 25 2011, 09:57 AM) the only grouse i have with niro is it's not homogenoues. Got it from johor. but only possible if purchase above 400pcs.if chipped or broken, can see the white base. will be very obvious. it's usually thicker than other tiles. now i'm seriously considering mml tiles since its homogenous. bernard, good price. where you buy? |
Aug 27 2011, 10:18 PM
1,484 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: Diamond Bay |
is there any shop sell the hotel type of tiles, toilet seat, washing basin etc..
Aug 28 2011, 12:10 PM
732 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
Ok just bought the Loos Series HD66004 model at RM19.80 per pc of 2x2 size from Mesmenang HArdware in Bkt Kemuning yesterday. Total no. of pieces is 76 for 300sqf area.
The was another shop in Bkt Tinggi Klang which offers RM19.50 per pc but but the shop looks doggy hence willing to pay a bit more. |
Aug 28 2011, 04:13 PM
1,836 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
QUOTE(kochin @ Aug 25 2011, 09:57 AM) the only grouse i have with niro is it's not homogenoues. Are you sure. I've always have the impression that Niro Granite is the leader in Homogeneous Tiles if chipped or broken, can see the white base. will be very obvious. it's usually thicker than other tiles. now i'm seriously considering mml tiles since its homogenous. bernard, good price. where you buy? They even claim as below.. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iy_o41rnzb4 |
Aug 28 2011, 09:34 PM
QUOTE(Lara~ @ Aug 25 2011, 02:11 PM) i think there should be black & white.. confirmed with my developer Paramounti dun mind dey dun giv any discounts, at least i can save on hacking costs.. i'll try to enquire from my developer (Paramount) dis weekend & update u guys here another unrelated Q: are slate tiles generally expensive? compared to porcelain? considering to use them for my car porch & bathroom we can write to request (subject to mgt approval) them not to lay tiles in certain areas (eg, kitchen, toilet), or not to do tiles skirting (coz mebbe u wanna go for laminated flooring later) however they wont return u the tiles & oso wont giv any discount on house price (some other developers do giv discount) but u still save the cost of hacking anyway |
Aug 28 2011, 09:54 PM
QUOTE(Lara~ @ Aug 28 2011, 09:34 PM) confirmed with my developer Paramount THis already a good arrangment lol. Hacking the tile with cost additiona RM1@sf (minimum)...but you need to make sure that may the ground work proper laying (water level) and can ready for tiles workwe can write to request (subject to mgt approval) them not to lay tiles in certain areas (eg, kitchen, toilet), or not to do tiles skirting (coz mebbe u wanna go for laminated flooring later) however they wont return u the tiles & oso wont giv any discount on house price (some other developers do giv discount) but u still save the cost of hacking anyway |
Aug 29 2011, 11:00 AM
361 posts Joined: Mar 2010 |
Hi all
Wonder if anybody used venus tiles before. Was told that it is Malaysian made product. Is full-body tile same as homogeneous? Thank you |
| Change to: | 0.0257sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:58 AM |