Buying new handphone? Need RECOMMENDATION? V11, Simple Guide and price at page 1 !!!

kuanzc
post Mar 4 2011, 05:03 AM

474 posts

1. Brand.
Any

2. Budget.

3. Specs.
Easy to press number pad
Clear loudspeaker
Able to play clear music through speaker and earphone
3.5mm jack
3G Connection
Built in radio

4. Type/Size.
Quite slim

Hmm, is there such a phone? Please give a few suggestion.
kuanzc
post Mar 7 2011, 02:26 AM

474 posts

1. Brand.
Any

2. Budget.

3. Specs.
Easy to press number pad
Clear loudspeaker
Able to play clear music through speaker and earphone
3.5mm jack
3G Connection
Built in radio

4. Type/Size.
Quite slim

I am thinking of Sony Ericsson Cedar but I wanted to see some other model which could fulfill my requirements.
kuanzc
post Apr 28 2011, 12:43 AM

474 posts

1. Brand. Any
2. Budget. 500
3. Specs. 3G, Wifi, GPS, Decent Camera.
4. Type/Size. Any

Currently, I have SE Elm in mind. Is there any model that come in similar price range which is better or on par with it?
kuanzc
post Apr 28 2011, 02:14 AM

474 posts

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Apr 28 2011, 12:49 AM)
If you are willing to top up a bit, Nokia C5-03 is another choice if you wanted to try out for touchscreen. Otherwise, your choice should be a good one.
Thanks for your recommendation. I heard there are quite some user that dislike Symbian OS, I am not sure why either. Anyway, how is Symbian OS? Btw, regarding touchscreen, what are the difference between resistive and capacitive? And I heard my friend said some support multi-touch and some don't.

I am also having some dilemma whether to choose touchscreen phone or number-pads ones. So, it would greatly help if I could read more on those smart phone feature.
kuanzc
post Apr 28 2011, 11:50 AM

474 posts

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Apr 28 2011, 09:47 AM)
Different user have different perspective. I have been a Symbian user since 2005 and it is ok for me. I have to say, people have used iOS surely won't be happy about the Symbian's performance.

The issue about multi touch is that it is not available for all model. If number pad ones, Nokia C5-00 will have a nice and big keypad, but lack of wifi. doh.gif
Oh, how do I know whether the particular model support multi-touch?

Btw, I read about the type of touchscreen where the resistive type one detects pressure on the screen while the capacitive type ones detect some electrical properties of the human body, so does that mean that using a capacitive ones, you doesn't really need to press the screen? just glide it through and simply touch while the resistive type, we really need to apply pressure to it?

I also read about capacitive touchscreen doesn't support hand-writing recognition, is it?

Anyway, what's are the clear benefits from using a touchscreen phone?
kuanzc
post Apr 29 2011, 12:45 AM

474 posts

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Apr 28 2011, 11:08 PM)

Thanks for the link, if a phone has multi-touch feature, they would state it has multi-touch feature in their spec sheet?

QUOTE(adrianccseng @ Apr 28 2011, 11:23 PM)

Hmm, so the spec sheet of the phones will have multi-touch feature stated? Btw, I usally check the phones spec at Gsmarena, and when it is not stated, does that means it doesn't have the feature?

Btw, does all capacitive touchscreen have multi-touch feature? and all resisitive touchscreen doesn't have multi-touch feature? or there isn't a fix rules between these two feature?

Capacitive touchscreen surely seems better to me... Could you recommend me a capacitive touchscreen phone with 3G, GPS, Wifi and <RM500? Or simply said, could compare with SE Elm.

Weaker battery life? Does it go to the extend like charging it everyday? or once every two days? IINM based on a review, it said that the SE Elm could last for about 2-3 days only with normal usage and occasionally Wifi and such.

Added on April 29, 2011, 12:47 amOh, btw how come resistive touchscreen support handwriting recognition while capacitive ones doesn't?

This post has been edited by kuanzc: Apr 29 2011, 12:47 AM
kuanzc
post May 2 2011, 09:49 PM

474 posts

QUOTE(adrianccseng @ Apr 29 2011, 01:58 PM)
mostly spec sheet would state "Multi-touch input" if there's multi touch capabilities with the phone
but GSMA not 100% accurate though, like Acer Liquid Metal, it do support MT but GSMA didn't state it

not all capacitive touchscreen have multi-touch, some may limited due to hardware/software limitations like se x10 mini, x8 etc.
some got multi-touch after updates like the x10, SE was said that they can't put multi-touch on x10 due to hardware limitation, but after some trying, they at least bring 2-point-multi-touch to x10  rclxms.gif

well, i think there's only CSL mi300 Spice can fit your budget & requirements  nod.gif
LYN official thread [v2 somemore  thumbup.gif ] http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1793052
official android v2.1, got 2.3 custom rom  rclxms.gif

if normal use, can oso last up to 3 days..
got lots of way to increase battery life, like turning off wifi when not in use, lowering the brightness etc.
CSL mi300 Spice.. Hmm, I am not sure about CSL brand though. Their phone seems like a sub-par quality as it seems. Or am have I judge them too much upon their looks?
On the other note, it doesn't have Radio support. Not that it really matter that much, it just it would come in handy once in a while. But, CSL mi300 Spice's camera still lose out to SE Elm camera, right?
Based on HERE [V3.. sweat.gif ], it doesn't have those Gorilla Type Glass and some user said it is quite easy to scratch it..

Btw, I was looking at Samsung Galaxy Mini, but when it was match up with SE Elm, SE Elm's camera still wins? IINM the Samsung Galaxy Mini doesn't have multi-touch function?

Anyway, is there a phone that has the same or better spec than SE Elm which has a capacitive touchscreen and multi-touch feature and has Gorilla Type Glass [Not really important] that is on the similar price range with SE Elm?
About the price range, I could stretch a little though, maybe to 600 max.

QUOTE(adrianccseng @ May 2 2011, 08:05 PM)
actually normal QWERTY phone & BlackBerry phone do have a distance of differences...
u won't really feel what feels like using BB with a non-BB OS phone even there's a QWERTY

but do you think blackberry just special with the QWERTY keyboard?  laugh.gif
you know it...

also, if u buy BB w/o BIS plan, then u will feel more worse than a non-BB qwerty phone, cuz' u won't get to use the unique feature of BB  icon_rolleyes.gif
Just curious, what are those unique feature of BB? unsure.gif

This post has been edited by kuanzc: May 2 2011, 10:53 PM
kuanzc
post May 3 2011, 02:43 AM

474 posts

QUOTE(adrianccseng @ May 3 2011, 02:10 AM)
that time i reply u still v2
oh wai...cheapest choice with gorilla glass is SGA lu, but its oso scratchable  blink.gif

u pay peanut u get monkey lu

basically special features of BB are long battery life, push email[famous], typical business phone [thats all i rmb, go BB subsection to noe more]
Haha, so I think SE Elm is the best one in its price range?

Btw, SE Elm's camera is better than Samsung Galaxy Mini, Samsung Galaxy 5 and CSL Mi300?
kuanzc
post May 3 2011, 07:57 PM

474 posts

QUOTE(adrianccseng @ May 3 2011, 07:43 PM)
i think yeah

absolutely ~
Hmm, how much would a phone that has a capacitive touchscreen, multi-touch feature, Gorilla Type Glass, Radio, Wifi, 3G, GPS, a decent camera and lag-free if possible cost?

blush.gif Quite some requirement there. Hope someone would reply to me.
kuanzc
post May 4 2011, 01:20 AM

474 posts

QUOTE(adrianccseng @ May 3 2011, 08:59 PM)
from ur budget,
x8, galaxy mini, galaxy 5 with some tweaky/customize[but camera still got some distance from decent  blush.gif & sacrifice gorilla glass ]

if not, i think samsung galaxy ace will do [but some users said even though it's gorilla glass but it still will get scratch.

scratch test starts @ around 0:40
**WARNING: Try at your own risk

*so far, Galaxy Ace is the cheapest phone that offer Gorilla Glass even it's lookalike brother, iPhone 3GS/3G don't have 1  laugh.gif
Hmm, X8, Galaxy Mini and Galaxy 5 doesn't have multi-touch feature, right?

The Gorilla Glass sure seems interesting if it work like it has in the video albeit I think I would still let go this amazing technology as I don't really want to spend that much for a phone.

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ May 3 2011, 09:29 PM)
There are no perfect phone in this world especially with the lag free term. It really depend on what user do as i do not think any manufacturer would ever release a phone that would lag by itself.

Nokia N8 should fulfill those requirement well except for the lag free since user plays an ultimate role in deciding that.

By the way, N8 is less than RM1.4k now.  biggrin.gif
Oh, my requirement for a decent camera doesn't go to the extend of the king of camera phone quality though. It would be sufficient if it could snap a clear picture.

Btw, I just found out that the GPS Navigation System provided in the SE Elm is a trial version, so I think I would not go for this model after all.

Hmm, let me tweak a little on my requirement then.

How about a capacitive touchscreen phone with multi-touch feature that has a decent camera and come with a free GPS Navigation System?
kuanzc
post May 4 2011, 12:54 PM

474 posts

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ May 4 2011, 10:53 AM)
I would say Nokia C7 would be cheaper, but still hit RM1k mark i guess.
I assume that would be the cheapest phone with the above feature, i guess?

Btw, is it true that only Nokia phone has free GPS Navigation System in their phones?
kuanzc
post May 4 2011, 08:21 PM

474 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ May 4 2011, 02:22 PM)
Yes using ovi maps
Oh, btw I saw Google Map in the Andriod Market which is free for Andriod User to download and it has GPS Navigation System too, but sadly there are quite some bad reviews for it.

How's the Ovi Maps and its GPS Navigation? Is the map detail?

Hmm, so if I wanted to have GPS, the only way is go for Nokia phones only?

On the other note, my friend is using Samsung Galaxy 5 and it uses Papago for its GPS Navigation, and iinm he said it doesn't required any extra cost for it. I am not sure whether it is a trial period though.

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ May 4 2011, 03:20 PM)
Yup. The rest Android device have to pay extra. I strongly suggest you to top up get one good N8.
Are you referring to GPS Navigation feature or those feature I have listed?

Btw, I don't really like Symbian OS as based on reviews, the menu, icon, apps placement are kinda mess and not too organized. E.g. To access the File Manager, I have to choose Applications from the main menu screen, then choose Office, then only I can reach the File Manager. This is based on Techradar review though.
kuanzc
post May 5 2011, 02:46 AM

474 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ May 4 2011, 08:33 PM)
I use garmin no regrets
Maps are updated very week via MFM maps

Added on May 4, 2011, 8:34 pm

why cant u just drag tat icon from > MENU > APPLICATIONS > OFFICE > FILE MANAGER

to

MENU > FILE MANAGER ?

DOnt always read review too much they only provide information they want you to see. Try the device yourself. Certain things they also do not know or might be bias
Ok, so all Nokia phones uses Garmin as its GPS Navigation System?
And for Andriod phones, most of them uses Papago as its GPS Navigation System?
What are the difference between Garmin and Papago? Which one do you prefer?

As for Papago, does the phone seller install them when you buy the phone or you have to DIY? and how much would it cost for them to install it for us?
I checked online and it is sold for RM99 though.

I am kinda on the line between Symbian OS and Andriod OS, can anyone list out some of its pros and cons?

Also, I found out that Samsung Galaxy Mini do support multi-touch pinch zooming, and the only let down is the absent of free GPS Navigation System though.

And I don't think there is a Nokia phone with capacitive touchscreen and multi-touch pinch zooming at the similar price range as Galaxy Mini?

This post has been edited by kuanzc: May 5 2011, 02:47 AM
kuanzc
post May 5 2011, 04:31 AM

474 posts

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ May 5 2011, 04:04 AM)
No. Garmin does not come along with Nokia.

Papago is compatible with Android, but it does not come with it as a default GPS like the Nokia Ovi Maps.

If use online application, always forget about "ahem" as it would be in the matter of time when you cannot use it coz the server can detect that you are not the authorized user.

For me, i hold myself from investing in overpriced Android devices now since their hardware specification is not good enough either when compared to Nokia. However, i do understand that there are people does not like Symbian due to their preference.

For me, Symbian is an established rather than the old OS. Android and Apple may have a lot of application, but the issue is more quantity does not mean that the quality is good as well.
Oh, so Nokia has their own GPS Navigation System?
And, to have Garmin in Nokia phone, you need to buy it as same as Papago in Andriod?

Hmm, I couldn't seems to find a Symbian phone which could compete with Samsung Galaxy Mini in the same price range. Most if not all of the phone in that price range are resistive touchscreen, but I do admit that their camera are better in that price range though or I am wrong?
kuanzc
post May 5 2011, 06:01 PM

474 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ May 5 2011, 03:55 PM)
Its free navigation but the map is not as updated compare to garmin
Garmin is using malfreemaps too? Btw, Garmin is not supported in Symbian OS?
How to install Garmin in Symbian phone? We need to buy it same as Papago?
Garmin VS Papago, which one do you prefer?

Btw, Symbian do have apps too? and it is just it is not as updated as Andriod's?

What are the Symbian phones that could compare with Samsung Galaxy Mini?

Added on May 5, 2011, 6:06 pmBtw, how's OpenStreetMap? Anyone use it before?

This post has been edited by kuanzc: May 5 2011, 06:06 PM
kuanzc
post May 5 2011, 06:25 PM

474 posts

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ May 5 2011, 06:15 PM)
Using t to navigate on the main road should not be a problem i guess. If small lorong, it is possible that would happen.
As far as i am concern, garmin is supported in Symbian only....

Legally you need to buy Garmin software.

You cannot simply compare Symbian phone with SGM. If i take N8 to compare of course N8 win. If i take N65 to compare, of course SGM wins.

Symbian have app, but it is much lesser than the Android. However, quantity does not represent quality of the application.
So, if users prefer Garmin, they have to buy it themselves and install it themselves too?

Compare Symbian phone that are in SGM price range la. N8 is in a different league d.

Hmm, quality as in lesser bug and more useful? Btw, where could I find Symbian Apps Offical Website? Those website I found looks like fan made sites.
kuanzc
post May 5 2011, 08:06 PM

474 posts

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ May 5 2011, 06:36 PM)
Symbian application for Nokia usually can be found in the Ovi Store. Like i say, legally, they should buy, but i doubt out of 10 users use it, how many actually buy it.

Yup. Android device is made up of different manufacturer like Samsung, SE, HTC and etc. SO it is not surprised that compatibility of the application is an issue if user does not choose the correct brand to invest in.
Oh. Btw, for Symbian phone that are on the same price range as SGM is C5-03? Any others one?

0.0259sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 09:12 PM