11 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Samsung GALAXY S II Official thread V1, Reviews/FAQ/Tips/Accessories/Apps

ventrilocks
post Apr 4 2011, 09:26 AM

So Nyuh Shi Dae
3,030 posts

QUOTE(StopSpamming @ Apr 3 2011, 10:38 PM)
Allow me to add...just hope to persuade those intended to give up...

1) Bluetooth 3.0
2) MHL connector
3) Mali-400
4) 116g & 8.49mm
5) Samsung Hubs
6) 8mp Cam doing 1080p + 2mp front Cam
7) NFC (this SHALL be the killer for user experience!!)

For all the above, we pay a premium...of course, some of us might not want those SERIOUS biz experience like Exchange, VPN, Encryption, Cisco & MDM, but the price is inclusive-loh!!! :-()
the NFC still not in malaysia...still fresh thing... sweat.gif
ventrilocks
post Apr 5 2011, 09:24 AM

So Nyuh Shi Dae
3,030 posts

QUOTE(clutch31 @ Apr 4 2011, 06:08 PM)
Chewww.

I see the official thread I thought the phone is here already.

Mana tau nothing, not even release date.

TS don't so overzealous to start official thread if the phone not available yet lar. tongue.gif
we all want hype.. cool.gif
ventrilocks
post Apr 5 2011, 06:59 PM

So Nyuh Shi Dae
3,030 posts

QUOTE(alfredtwl @ Apr 5 2011, 10:38 AM)
heard that Singapore delayed till late Q2 ... sigh ... shakehead.gif
really? links plox..

QUOTE(clutch31 @ Apr 5 2011, 11:08 AM)
Let's see.

11 posts since my post yesterday. And 4 or 5 of those posts are in direct or indirect response to my post. Not exactly fast moving, yes? And the remaining posts are mostly about the same things - when is it available and to which telco.

True, having a place to congregate is nice, but it's not as if we are getting a few dozen posts each day for this phone, and it's not as if this official thread contains any concrete answer for the most common questions being asked.

But yes, we all want hype. smile.gif
i dont see why are you arguing here..izzit wrong to have official thread even the phone is not release yet..

QUOTE(brotan @ Apr 5 2011, 04:59 PM)
i have some korean friends. can we get a good price if we buy directly in korea?
i also have korean friend..but i dont know the price will be in korean thou..maybe it is the same.. hmm.gif

QUOTE(StopSpamming @ Apr 5 2011, 05:13 PM)
NFC was initiated as early as Dec 2005 in Malaysia by MasterCard.
A French-based NFC Times recorded only the trial by Visa with Maxis & Maybank in Apr 2006 .

Upon the trial of 50 by MasterCard & 200 by Visa,
it was launched in Apr 2009 with 3,000 phones being issued.

But THAT 3,000 units of Nokia 6212 was not really something to shout about, hence not much publicity anywhere.
But it is still continue to roll-out...today, with your Nexus S, you can ask Maybank to issue you your NFC-credential
for use in LRT, buses, paying in Kenny Rogers or the likes that have contactless payment acceptance device.

One thing also, you can now programme your NFC phone like SGS2 (or even Nexus S) to be your student card
or office card that allowing you entry to the premises or even log on to your computer network.  whistling.gif

Hope the above enlightened a bit.  rclxub.gif
still i dont hear this NFC being used widely..well hoping it will develop soon or later.. thumbup.gif
ventrilocks
post Apr 5 2011, 07:41 PM

So Nyuh Shi Dae
3,030 posts

QUOTE(StopSpamming @ Apr 5 2011, 07:19 PM)
Hehehe...we all can pray, can't we?
Now, this is the KILLER that appears on Maybank's website on this NFC launch...
After reading it, you will know WHAT killed the initiative - Maxis, Maybank or Visa?

See here : The Killer

thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
omg..nais..it will spread the using of NFC.. thumbup.gif
ventrilocks
post Apr 6 2011, 12:47 AM

So Nyuh Shi Dae
3,030 posts

QUOTE(buntutwoman @ Apr 6 2011, 12:18 AM)
any reason to believe "that" forummer ?
+1
ventrilocks
post Apr 6 2011, 08:56 AM

So Nyuh Shi Dae
3,030 posts

QUOTE(alfredtwl @ Apr 6 2011, 08:45 AM)
copy from forum ....

The latest spec had the 1GB RAM removed!

Looks like Samsung is back with its old trick again. Back when GSMArea reviewed a pre-production unit of the Galaxy S it came with 512MB RAM, but the actual production version had somewhere around 320MB to 384MB RAM.

Now it seems the Galaxy S II may not have 1GB RAM anymore, mmore likely between 512MB to 768MB.

Doesn't really matter to me though, most important is that it does not lag. Hope they are addressing the biggest issue that was in the Galaxy S.

just shared .... blush.gif
can they downgrade it after they already do press release of the spec? hmm.gif
it is very weird and disappointing if this is true..
ventrilocks
post Apr 6 2011, 10:16 AM

So Nyuh Shi Dae
3,030 posts

QUOTE(alfredtwl @ Apr 6 2011, 09:46 AM)
I just hope everybody understanding, i'm not try to breaking SGS II. I like SGS II too and i'm gonna buy it when it arrive.
Just sharing some info only.  blush.gif
its okay..sharing is caring.. thumbup.gif
ventrilocks
post Apr 6 2011, 12:06 PM

So Nyuh Shi Dae
3,030 posts

QUOTE(ijat91 @ Apr 6 2011, 12:01 PM)
This is completely misleading, yes what we inside galaxy s only 3xxMB usable RAM but it hardware actually 512MB RAM, some of it reserved for the system
only especially for it GPU for video acceleration and 720p recording, that is why when the developers in xda change the usable RAM cause the XVID video and
720p not functioning. If the galaxy s2 have usable 7xxMB usable, it actually accepted. Hope the fellow forummer get it right  nod.gif
agree, where he get the rumor  hmm.gif
ahh..i see..forgot of shared memory..same case as computers.. laugh.gif
ventrilocks
post Apr 6 2011, 01:51 PM

So Nyuh Shi Dae
3,030 posts

QUOTE(7989k @ Apr 6 2011, 01:08 PM)
Korea has 3 telecom carriers(SK telecom, KT telecom, LG U+) and each carrier has their own model (In case of Galaxy S : SK telecom_Galaxy S, KT telecom_Galaxy K, LG U+_Galaxy U). SK and KT use WCDMA and SIM-Card, only LG U+ still use CDMA and has no SIM-Card. In result Galaxy S and Galaxy K is usable abroad, but Galaxy U is not.

About Galaxy S2's release date, it's not officially announced yet, but some news site says it will be released in korea at the end of this month and Galaxy S2 for Korea is a bit different from global model :

CPU : 1.0 Ghz Dual Core -> 1.2 Ghz Dual Core
Thickness : 8.89mm (for SK and KT), 9.3mm (for LG U+). Global Version(announced at MMC) was 8.49mm
Additional Function : T-DMB, NFC
Other specs are not mentioned.

And this is what's known as Galaxy S2 for LG U+
deym..korean SGS II more tempting..tq bro.. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(ijat91 @ Apr 6 2011, 01:09 PM)
latest news, the india release date on April 13 maybe truth, taking from india newspaper:-
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/tech/pe...how/7874390.cms
good news indeed.. thumbup.gif
ventrilocks
post Apr 6 2011, 04:47 PM

So Nyuh Shi Dae
3,030 posts

QUOTE(oldKyoo @ Apr 6 2011, 04:39 PM)
I thought india no 3g????
lol..they just launched it ... laugh.gif
http://www.businessweek.com/magazine/conte...17042858674.htm
ventrilocks
post Apr 7 2011, 12:51 AM

So Nyuh Shi Dae
3,030 posts

QUOTE(7989k @ Apr 6 2011, 11:32 PM)
LG U+, one of korean mobile carriers, posted "We are planning to release Galaxy S II at the late of this month" on their homepage.
how about SK? LG doesnt come with sim right?
ventrilocks
post Apr 7 2011, 08:50 AM

So Nyuh Shi Dae
3,030 posts

QUOTE(alfredtwl @ Apr 7 2011, 08:39 AM)

SGS II website specs ( before = right one, after = left one ) .... something missing / change ?? hmm.gif
hmm.gif
seems like nothing is change..but 1GB RAM removed sentence? doh.gif
the screen also says *May not be applicable in some regions...the probability to have SCLCD...why do they need to make 2 different type of display.. doh.gif doh.gif

relax guys..eventhough the April release is disappointment for us, but buntutwoman already said the phone will arrive on May..1st week or 2nd..
if Q3 that is just too long to wait..im sure they dont want to delay anymore..

at samsung mobile facebook..they say "We’re busy getting the new Galaxy S II ready for you.Are you looking for a new smartphone? What would you like it to be able to do?"

This post has been edited by ventrilocks: Apr 7 2011, 09:11 AM
ventrilocks
post Apr 7 2011, 09:14 AM

So Nyuh Shi Dae
3,030 posts

QUOTE(alfredtwl @ Apr 7 2011, 09:11 AM)
yup u got the point. actually i dont really care about processor ( since now comfirmed 1.2Ghz ), 512 RAM also not big problem, just keep using Super Amoled Plus screen .... thumbup.gif
for me..i dont care about processor.. just need 1GB RAM and Super AMOLED plus.. biggrin.gif
samsung do know how to make people rage... sweat.gif

update: Samsung Galaxy S II gets upgraded to 1.2GHz, delayed until May or June?

This post has been edited by ventrilocks: Apr 7 2011, 10:10 AM
ventrilocks
post Apr 7 2011, 01:37 PM

So Nyuh Shi Dae
3,030 posts

QUOTE(xsaintzx @ Apr 7 2011, 01:10 PM)
There are two asterisks (*)on the list, one is for the processor, another for the screen.
The * for processor means some region will get Tegra 2 while some will get Exynos.
Another * for the screen means the actual measurement is 4.27" rather than 4.3".
It doesn't mean it will get SLCD people, stop the SLCD obsession lol.

Btw, the removal of RAM specification might indicate some changes to the RAM.
Hopefully they don't downgrade it.
its just assumption..dont take it seriously.. notworthy.gif

internal news:

SGSII will be launched ONLY in End-May.

Alot of reasons for this, which i cannot share. But don't take things at face-value lah.

Things - PRs given to correspondants etc.

so 2 month guys?its getting later and later.. rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by ventrilocks: Apr 7 2011, 01:54 PM
ventrilocks
post Apr 7 2011, 05:14 PM

So Nyuh Shi Dae
3,030 posts

QUOTE(7989k @ Apr 7 2011, 03:44 PM)
There're no official comments from SK, KT and Samsung, except for LG U+ which says on its homepage "Galaxy S II is scheduled to be on the market at the late of this month". At present just several news quoting 'according to some source, according to xxx site' are popping up here and there.
Yes. LG U+ use CDMA(CDMA Rev.A or CDMA2000) like Verizon(U.S.) or KDDI(Japan).
then we cannot use SGS2 LG U+ version... sad.gif

QUOTE(athlonmax @ Apr 7 2011, 04:18 PM)
yea, i afraid cannot tahan and then 'terbeli' Arc or LG Optimus 2x  hehe...
or wait Optimus 3D... tongue.gif
ventrilocks
post Apr 7 2011, 09:38 PM

So Nyuh Shi Dae
3,030 posts

QUOTE(oldKyoo @ Apr 7 2011, 05:21 PM)
its not gonna spoil.

but one thing is for sure.

Samsung has clear intentions to take on the big apple.

think why they keep delaying it. sure stock problems might be an issue.

but look on another side. they want to see how well it competes with the iphone5.

and let me tell you one thing. Samsung is foolish.

all the people i know, they care about one thing and only one thing. substance. this alone samsung has none in its phone. it looks cheap, feels cheap.

sure, it is foreseeable that samsung and apple might sell just as many as one another but the point is, we dont even know what ip5 is up to, but we do know, their ipad2 has the most powerful graphics in the whole tablet industry against our soon to be outdated tegra 2, so we do have a point that ip5 mightbe a gaming powerhouse.

i meant like, just give ip5 a 4 inch screen, with dual core and the same graphics, and i tell you, samsung is ready to pack their bags. because the ifags would be jizzing all over the place.

and seriously, I would actually consider one.

but even so, we shall see which is best.
relax bro..if samsung want to compete sure they need to release phone fast..as the guys knows well that iphone "WOW" is there..so many people will go for iphone if same month release with SGSII.. nod.gif

QUOTE(athlonmax @ Apr 7 2011, 05:37 PM)
Hopefully the price will be around RM1.8-1.9k and pray Digi has the exclusive package for this phone biggrin.gif
the price not gonna be that range..probably higher..if by telco higher plan and long period can get that price.. tongue.gif

QUOTE(alfredtwl @ Apr 7 2011, 09:29 PM)
Singapore and Malaysia also before May ?? hmm.gif
I guess.. Singapore probably before May..Msia sure May as we get it late a bit lol.. sweat.gif
ventrilocks
post Apr 7 2011, 10:39 PM

So Nyuh Shi Dae
3,030 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Apr 7 2011, 09:53 PM)
ya announce during WWDC

and i really dun think this month SGS 2 will release,
because samsung just got news to say that its processor from 1ghz > 1.2ghz
so fas can change it ?
they do thinner their tablet in just 1 month.. nod.gif
so up clock from 1GHz to 1.2GHz in a short time is very possible for them.. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ventrilocks: Apr 7 2011, 10:39 PM
ventrilocks
post Apr 8 2011, 12:47 AM

So Nyuh Shi Dae
3,030 posts

QUOTE(zuiichi @ Apr 7 2011, 11:42 PM)
thread almost v2, but phone still no where in sight. =.=
starting V2 there will be the phone... tongue.gif
ventrilocks
post Apr 8 2011, 08:46 AM

So Nyuh Shi Dae
3,030 posts

QUOTE(ijat91 @ Apr 8 2011, 01:57 AM)
Oh boys, the news getting better, we have read about the bump of speed from 1 ghz to 1.2ghz, really smooth browsing in web,
the phone are not delay and now the best part, samsung have change it file system from RFS to EXT4 !!!.  drool.gif

Samsung have learnt from it mistake at last...
SOS http://translate.google.com/translate?js=n...xy_s_ii%2F93675
good to hear this... thumbup.gif

QUOTE(cloudstrife07 @ Apr 8 2011, 02:11 AM)
good that they changed to EXTRAPERFORMANCE4 system than using their own Retarded File System.
nice name indeed... laugh.gif
ventrilocks
post Apr 8 2011, 09:00 AM

So Nyuh Shi Dae
3,030 posts

So yesterday we learned that Samsung's planning to speed up the dual-core Exynos processor inside its Galaxy S II to 1.2GHz, but there was also word that the handset may suffer a setback in terms of release date. Today, the company has tweeted out a two-part notice assuring us that that will not be the case and things are proceeding "as planned." April will see the first retail appearance of the 8.5mm-thick Android phone, though Samsung does advise that "it will be gradually rolled out in each market according to the local launch timetable." That sounds to us like whatever April availability we get will be in the highest priority markets and / or limited in quantity, but we'll take whatever we can get.

Source Engadget

Is Malaysia in it? tongue.gif

11 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0389sec    0.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 12:00 AM