135 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Bottom

LYN Official Toyota Vios Owners Thread V2, Thread for all LYN's Toyota Vios owners!

vios2002
post Jul 22 2011, 11:17 AM

167 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Jul 22 2011, 10:21 AM)
you service outside or SC? can buy oil then ask SC to use?
yes service outside, friends workshop. SA will not use anythings we buy from outside and request them to install.

been outside service since 5k of mileage, our toyota full syn is on but after long hour drive outstation most of the time notice respond is abit slow.

QUOTE(dtna7 @ Jul 22 2011, 10:32 AM)
beware though, 30 is abit low for the weather in Msia. Our temperature here can easily pass that 30 degree celcius mark, and it will damage your engine after that.

You won't realize it yet, until your engine starts giving in after years.

Which is why i always stick to 5w40.
Understand your concern, if you say 30 is low then 20 will kill the engine right? Yes our Msia is hot but for normal driving our weather is still OK even to use 0w20 grade (normal use)... if you like to rev 0w30 or 10w30 better.

recently our weather is getting hotter but this is still not as hot as we do track driving..will notice water and oil temp will climb higher and higher ....this is where i switch to Racing oil from Amsoil R30 10w30.

every engine will have some wear and tear after some years of using but if using good engine oil it able to reduce the amount. 5w40 is good but abit heavy need long time to warm up and respond is abit slow in my previous experince.

my current mileage is 35k for 8 month old car.

my colleague vios is 250k plus for 5 year old car and have not been overhaul he only use normal oil still running strong.
kenji1903
post Jul 22 2011, 11:47 AM

3,785 posts

beware though, 30 is abit low for the weather in Msia. Our temperature here can easily pass that 30 degree celcius mark, and it will damage your engine after that.

someone in VZS using w20...
dtna7
post Jul 22 2011, 01:37 PM

456 posts

QUOTE(vios2002 @ Jul 22 2011, 11:17 AM)
yes service outside, friends workshop. SA will not use anythings we buy from outside and request them to install.

been outside service since 5k of mileage, our toyota full syn is on but after long hour drive outstation most of the time notice respond is abit slow.
Understand your concern, if you say 30 is low then 20 will kill the engine right? Yes our Msia is hot but for normal driving our weather is still OK even to use 0w20 grade (normal use)... if you like to rev 0w30 or 10w30 better.

recently our weather is getting hotter but this is still not as hot as we do track driving..will notice water and oil temp will climb higher and higher ....this is where i switch to Racing oil from Amsoil R30 10w30.

every engine will have some wear and tear after some years of using but if using good engine oil it able to reduce the amount. 5w40 is good but abit heavy need long time to warm up and respond is abit slow in my previous experince.

my current mileage is 35k for 8 month old car.

my colleague vios is 250k plus for 5 year old car and have not been overhaul he only use normal oil still running strong.
I've always eager to try a thinner engine oil but my ignorant stopped me.

is the 0w30 you referring this?

Mind to tell me the price? whistling.gif

Been trying to research on it just now, though now i doubt it can't be used in our vios, I am still not certain that I should go for it.

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Jul 22 2011, 11:47 AM)
w20 is definitely very thin. Im pretty sure there will be consequences.
Revving the engine would be great though thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by dtna7: Jul 22 2011, 01:39 PM
vios2002
post Jul 22 2011, 02:10 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Jul 22 2011, 11:47 AM)
yes, 0w20 from Idemitsu have been launch some time a go in japan.
during the testing result was good.

QUOTE(dtna7 @ Jul 22 2011, 01:37 PM)
I've always eager to try a thinner engine oil but my ignorant stopped me.

is the 0w30 you referring this?

Mind to tell me the price? whistling.gif

Been trying to research on it just now, though now i doubt it can't be used in our vios, I am still not certain that I should go for it.
w20 is definitely very thin. Im pretty sure there will be consequences.
Revving the engine would be great though thumbup.gif
Yes, this Signature is their best grade for everyday use some time can push push too.

last time my mindset also like u but after use few time looking at result getting was on the good side.

Price: local & internet got few supplier this oil

0w20 oil is never too thin, im still finding 0w20 racing oil

there is few maker offer 0w10 oil this is much thinner.

dtna7
post Jul 22 2011, 02:34 PM

456 posts

QUOTE(vios2002 @ Jul 22 2011, 02:10 PM)
yes, 0w20 from Idemitsu have been launch some time a go in japan.
during the testing result was good. 
Yes, this Signature is their best grade for everyday use some time can push push too.

last time my mindset also like u but after use few time looking at result getting was on the good side.

Price: local & internet got few supplier this oil

0w20 oil is never too thin, im still finding 0w20 racing oil

there is few maker offer 0w10 oil this is much thinner.
May i ask more on AMSOIL SSO 0w30 that you used?
how much did you pour into your vios?
Everytime when i bought those 4L Full Syn 5w40, there will always be leftovers doh.gif

is 3qt enough? Or you poured more than that?

Interval change? 10k like other full syn? or more?

I plan to try it out for my next oil change thumbup.gif
vios2002
post Jul 22 2011, 03:06 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(dtna7 @ Jul 22 2011, 02:34 PM)
May i ask more on AMSOIL SSO 0w30 that you used?
how much did you pour into your vios?
Everytime when i bought those 4L Full Syn 5w40, there will always be leftovers doh.gif

is 3qt enough? Or you poured more than that?

Interval change? 10k like other full syn? or more?

I plan to try it out for my next oil change  thumbup.gif
Amsoil per quart is 945ml, for our vios i use about 3.8 quart left abit the dipstick is full abit....

interval oil change if you love ur engine u can change at 10k that depend how u drive and how much mileage you drive in a day. if you look at Amsoil service Interval for SSO it can 17,500 miles. For our local Msia weather i think between 10k ~ 15k the best i think.

Amsoil have launch new API grade SN or they call API group V this new formula is the improve version. you can check the latest info from AMSoil.

here are some feedback from Evo forum Amsoil SSO
OKLY
post Jul 22 2011, 11:27 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,090 posts

Change to iridium spark plugs now or wait until warranty over? About 6 months old only. hmm.gif
han12345
post Jul 24 2011, 08:39 PM

82 posts

Hi......Which sound proof product is the best for vios 08 to reduce engine noise inside the car?what is the price for it?
OKLY
post Jul 25 2011, 09:32 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,090 posts

Currently at the Toyota SC and they told me that replacing the spark plugs outside could very well void the warranty if there are any knocking issues. So I asked them how much are the iridium plugs and they quoted me RM79 each so for a Vios I would need 4, will be above RM300. sweat.gif
McRyan
post Jul 25 2011, 09:35 AM

539 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ Jul 25 2011, 09:32 AM)
Currently at the Toyota SC and they told me that replacing the spark plugs outside could very well void the warranty if there are any knocking issues. So I asked them how much are the iridium plugs and they quoted me RM79 each so for a Vios I would need 4, will be above RM300. sweat.gif
Which SC you are in now? Cause last couple of weeks ago, the SC that I've been do not recommended to use iridium plugs and claimed that it is for camry use, funny right
vios2002
post Jul 25 2011, 11:20 AM

167 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ Jul 22 2011, 11:27 PM)
Change to iridium spark plugs now or wait until warranty over? About 6 months old only. hmm.gif
If want performance just change if cause warranty then wait 3 years.... by changing to performance spark plug will not harm your engine but if you change the wrong heat range of the spark plug will damage your engine example: knocking issue, bad FC, engine power not smooth.

1 more tips be carefull there is alot of fake NGK & Denso spark plug in the market. Dont buy because of cheap.

QUOTE(han12345 @ Jul 24 2011, 08:39 PM)
Hi......Which sound proof product is the best for vios 08 to reduce engine noise inside the car?what is the price for it?
depend of how much you willing to spend, there are few forum selling this sound proof.

QUOTE(OKLY @ Jul 25 2011, 09:32 AM)
this void warranty is normal issue, if you check with SC basically you cant change any thing from outside.

QUOTE(McRyan @ Jul 25 2011, 09:35 AM)
Which SC you are in now? Cause last couple of weeks ago, the SC that I've been do not recommended to use iridium plugs and claimed that it is for camry use, funny right
funny joke, then wat is the point there is so many iridium plug in the market.
SUSMatrix
post Jul 25 2011, 11:56 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

fyi, the 0W30 DOES NOT REFER TO DEGREE CELCIUS, it's the viscosity rating. doh.gif

http://www.upmpg.com/tech_articles/motoroil_viscosity/

All ratings are tested at 100C-150C when the engine is operating normally. The front number is for Winter, for cold start performance, but not relevant to us because we don't have winter here.
SimonsayZ
post Jul 25 2011, 12:39 PM

2,792 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jul 25 2011, 11:56 AM)
fyi, the 0W30 DOES NOT REFER TO DEGREE CELCIUS, it's the viscosity rating. doh.gif

http://www.upmpg.com/tech_articles/motoroil_viscosity/

All ratings are tested at 100C-150C when the engine is operating normally. The front number is for Winter, for cold start performance, but not relevant to us because we don't have winter here.
Yea matrix is right about the viscocity rating.

LOL. Unbelievable people think viscosity is the temperature mark lol.

0-30w is ok with vios in tropical weather like ours. I use 10-40w for my car since engine is getting old.

Lololol. Sorry cant help loling.
dtna7
post Jul 25 2011, 02:21 PM

456 posts

QUOTE(SimonsayZ @ Jul 25 2011, 12:39 PM)
Yea matrix is right about the viscocity rating.

LOL. Unbelievable people think viscosity is the temperature mark lol.

0-30w is ok with vios in tropical weather like ours. I use 10-40w for my car since engine is getting old.
Lololol. Sorry cant help loling.
And where did you get the assumption that I do not know its the viscosity rating?

The link provided by matrix i read about it long ago.

So dun try to be a smart @ss here saying
Sorry cant help loling.
the reason why i thought 0w-30 is too thin is all due to my vios manual stating Xw-40.

Btw,
I use 10-40w for my car since engine is getting old.
its 10w-40 doh.gif
so much for lol-ing doh.gif
OKLY
post Jul 25 2011, 02:29 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,090 posts

QUOTE(McRyan @ Jul 25 2011, 09:35 AM)
Was in the Jalan 217 branch, the one next to Federal Highway. Their advise is ridiculous, just as long you use the correct rating/specs of iridium spark plugs then it could pretty much benefit the car in the long run.

P/S: Decided to change the spark plugs to the Denso Iridium Power, already changed it just now at my frequented workshop (before I changed car). Kept the original spark plugs that came with the car just in case, if really need to claim warranty then I'll just have a workshop to plug back the original spark plugs. laugh.gif
kenji1903
post Jul 25 2011, 03:00 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ Jul 25 2011, 02:29 PM)
Was in the Jalan 217 branch, the one next to Federal Highway. Their advise is ridiculous, just as long you use the correct rating/specs of iridium spark plugs then it could pretty much benefit the car in the long run.

P/S: Decided to change the spark plugs to the Denso Iridium Power, already changed it just now at my frequented workshop (before I changed car). Kept the original spark plugs that came with the car just in case, if really need to claim warranty then I'll just have a workshop to plug back the original spark plugs. laugh.gif
any difference in performance ar, bro?
OKLY
post Jul 25 2011, 03:52 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,090 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Jul 25 2011, 03:00 PM)
any difference in performance ar, bro?
Haven't brought it to the highway for high speed testing but for a normal road drive, I feel that pickup feels steady, don't really know how to describe in words but the feel is much better. It claims to improve a little on acceleration but I did not feel it, anyway they claimed the acceleration to be improved by about 0.7 seconds but can't really be felt since I'm not driving like I'm in a drag race competition. laugh.gif

Also, I've read some feedback stating that overall, you won't be able to see much difference but a lot felt while cruising at higher speeds, it's easier to go even faster with iridium plugs.

Anyway, no harm putting something better since the price already justifies its estimated lifespan of about 100,000KM or so. biggrin.gif
kenji1903
post Jul 25 2011, 04:02 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ Jul 25 2011, 03:52 PM)
Haven't brought it to the highway for high speed testing but for a normal road drive, I feel that pickup feels steady, don't really know how to describe in words but the feel is much better. It claims to improve a little on acceleration but I did not feel it, anyway they claimed the acceleration to be improved by about 0.7 seconds but can't really be felt since I'm not driving like I'm in a drag race competition. laugh.gif

Also, I've read some feedback stating that overall, you won't be able to see much difference but a lot felt while cruising at higher speeds, it's easier to go even faster with iridium plugs.

Anyway, no harm putting something better since the price already justifies its estimated lifespan of about 100,000KM or so. biggrin.gif
how much? drool.gif
watonk
post Jul 25 2011, 05:13 PM

QUOTE(OKLY @ Jul 25 2011, 03:52 PM)

Just a friendly note, make sure your mech install the correct Iridium plug number for Vios eg, IK16 for Vios (Denso). Wrong temperature rating for the plug will damage its electrode and damage the engine in the long run. wink.gif
OKLY
post Jul 25 2011, 08:05 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,090 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Jul 25 2011, 04:02 PM)
how much? drool.gif
RM145 per set of 4.

QUOTE(watonk @ Jul 25 2011, 05:13 PM)
Just a friendly note, make sure your mech install the correct Iridium plug number for Vios eg, IK16 for Vios (Denso). Wrong temperature rating for the plug will damage its electrode and damage the engine in the long run. wink.gif
Yea, the IK16 is the recommended rating by Denso for the Vios but after researching at many car forums and several sellers, many recommended to go with the IK20 instead (one temperature rating higher) which will be suitable for the hot Malaysian weather. Found a lot of Vios users using the IK20 as well, even when I bought the spark plugs from the spare parts shop, the moment I mentioned Vios they gave me the IK20.

135 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Top

0.0187sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 01:50 AM