135 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Bottom

LYN Official Toyota Vios Owners Thread V2, Thread for all LYN's Toyota Vios owners!

lanvin
post Jun 9 2011, 05:11 PM

Hello all, glad to informed that i got myself a 2009 G Spec for second hand, still under warranty, only 15km clocked.

For some reasons, the tyre appeared a bit worn. I am considering to change tyre at the end of the year, so better ask around the price smile.gif

i checked the michelin website, when i entered vios, they suggest XM2. Anyone has any idea how much this cost and how is the level of comfort and handling? My GF has a XM1 on her Myvi, all i can tell is it's better than her old Falken (dunno what model though), quieter at least.

Also, i see many people upgrading from stock size to 195/55R15, what is the significance in that? any saving in fuel, better handling or what? please advice. What is the price for XM2 if someone has installed it?
kenji1903
post Jun 9 2011, 05:25 PM

3,785 posts

depends on what you are looking for... performance you can go for PS3, comfort you can go for Primacy LC

I had Primacy LC 195/55 (RM225/piece that time) on my City VTEC, upgraded from the crap NCT5... more stable, quiet and pretty good grip, acceleration suffered a bit due to the slightly wider tyres...
Recently just changed back to 185/55 PS3 (RM245/piece) after more than 1.5 years, slightly noisier but the grip is amazing... it's like driving on dry road during heavy rain shocking.gif

This post has been edited by kenji1903: Jun 9 2011, 05:31 PM
DaBestOne
post Jun 9 2011, 11:16 PM

-LYN- 6 ★STARS★ Trader
1,329 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Jun 9 2011, 05:25 PM)
depends on what you are looking for... performance you can go for PS3, comfort you can go for Primacy LC

I had Primacy LC 195/55 (RM225/piece that time) on my City VTEC, upgraded from the crap NCT5... more stable, quiet and pretty good grip, acceleration suffered a bit due to the slightly wider tyres...
Recently just changed back to 185/55 PS3 (RM245/piece) after more than 1.5 years, slightly noisier but the grip is amazing... it's like driving on dry road during heavy rain shocking.gif
smaller on width but noisier o..? hmm.gif
bill_clinton
post Jun 10 2011, 04:46 AM

43 posts

I would like to ask is there a 'break in period' for new vios?
overfloe
post Jun 10 2011, 08:27 AM

Ain't nothing but a thang..
2,207 posts

QUOTE(bill_clinton @ Jun 10 2011, 05:46 AM)
drive it hard during the first 1000km.

soulcornell
post Jun 10 2011, 09:16 AM

17 posts

QUOTE(bill_clinton @ Jun 10 2011, 04:46 AM)
to my kniowledge there is no real break in period like proton cars, where you need to drive 80km for the 1st 1000km, you just can drive as per normal
kenji1903
post Jun 10 2011, 09:22 AM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(DaBestOne @ Jun 9 2011, 11:16 PM)
smaller on width but noisier o..?  hmm.gif
performance tyres memang noisy one mar nod.gif
arafat
post Jun 10 2011, 09:39 AM

ROCK ON!
1,747 posts

guys..which types of lubricant oil recommended for 5k service?
mineral or semi?
kenji1903
post Jun 10 2011, 09:43 AM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(overfloe @ Jun 10 2011, 08:27 AM)
drive it hard during the first 1000km.
sure or not? what i can conclude from reading a lot of sites and forums are constant gear changes, less than 100km/h, less than 3k rpm... no sudden acceleration and stay too long on 4th gear for long period...

wonder how true is it...

any comments from existing drivers?
soulcornell
post Jun 10 2011, 09:57 AM

17 posts

QUOTE(arafat @ Jun 10 2011, 09:39 AM)
guys..which types of lubricant oil recommended for 5k service?
mineral or semi?
hmm dunno la bro, i also only when for 1k service and gearing up for my 5k service next
for me i would go for mineral coz next service is 10k
so far for 1k service i go for mineral, car run ok la, FC also ok, so for now i would choose
mineral for 5k service
but after 10k service you have the option to go for 15k or 20k
i would go for 20k so, by my 10k service i would then only go for fully syn
any sifu out there got tips to share
here is newbie advising another newbie only
the blind leading the blind hahaha

Added on June 10, 2011, 9:59 am
QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Jun 10 2011, 09:43 AM)
sure or not? what i can conclude from reading a lot of sites and forums are constant gear changes, less than 100km/h, less than 3k rpm... no sudden acceleration and stay too long on 4th gear for long period...

wonder how true is it...

yeah read in another forum also, dont rev your rpm more then 3k
after my 1st service sekarang sudah berani bawak abit laju hahaha

This post has been edited by soulcornell: Jun 10 2011, 09:59 AM
overfloe
post Jun 10 2011, 11:30 AM

2,207 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Jun 10 2011, 10:43 AM)

wonder how true is it...

Why worry? I drove it hard.. coz at 1000km you will change the engine oil.. any problems can just ask the SC to rectify.
But so far no probs.. even other ppl who drove it hard also no probs. Did that on all of my cars.

But no probs also if you drive it slow and steady.

1000km use mineral.
5000km use semi-syn.
10000km onwards use fully syn.

of course, you can use better oil just after 1000km, but why waste $$$?
kenji1903
post Jun 10 2011, 11:40 AM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(overfloe @ Jun 10 2011, 11:30 AM)
Why worry? I drove it hard.. coz at 1000km you will change the engine oil.. any problems can just ask the SC to rectify.
But so far no probs.. even other ppl who drove it hard also no probs. Did that on all of my cars.

But no probs also if you drive it slow and steady.

1000km use mineral.
5000km use semi-syn.
10000km onwards use fully syn.

of course, you can use better oil just after 1000km, but why waste $$$?
actually i'm concerned that it will affect the FC if thrash the car withing the first 1000km... how's your FC so far?

i have a City VTEC which my wife is driving... 80km/h for the first 1000km actually gave her 550km per full tank... some more that time using mineral oil... now changed the full syn, easily 600km with full tank...
DaBestOne
post Jun 10 2011, 01:33 PM

-LYN- 6 ★STARS★ Trader
1,329 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Jun 10 2011, 11:40 AM)
actually i'm concerned that it will affect the FC if thrash the car withing the first 1000km... how's your FC so far?

i have a City VTEC which my wife is driving... 80km/h for the first 1000km actually gave her 550km per full tank... some more that time using mineral oil... now changed the full syn, easily 600km with full tank...
alot of ppl are saying that city or civic also very fuel saving. one tank can go 500+ 600+km.. sometimes i wonder how true is that.. coz it doesnt seems like it also to me also..
BuFung
post Jun 10 2011, 01:39 PM

8,407 posts

I can tell you 500+ to 600+ is only true in perfect driving condition...

normal usage.. 400-450km per tank is the real figure..

6 years Vios user experience....

it can hit near to 600 when u drive all the way highway only...
kenji1903
post Jun 10 2011, 01:45 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(DaBestOne @ Jun 10 2011, 01:33 PM)
alot of ppl are saying that city or civic also very fuel saving. one tank can go 500+ 600+km.. sometimes i wonder how true is that.. coz it doesnt seems like it also to me also..
new city, 450km full tank... should be around there...

i'm having the prev gen with 7speed CVT, 550km is a minimum, 80% city, 20% highway...average 600km with full syn... had the car for 3 years already...

Added on June 10, 2011, 1:46 pm
QUOTE(BuFung @ Jun 10 2011, 01:39 PM)
I can tell you 500+ to 600+ is only true in perfect driving condition...

normal usage..  400-450km per tank is the real figure.. 

6 years Vios user experience.... 

it can hit near to 600 when u drive all the way highway only...
really? maybe should have opted for City instead... hmm.gif
nemind lar... try Vios see how... yours is the 2003 Vios?

This post has been edited by kenji1903: Jun 10 2011, 01:46 PM
overfloe
post Jun 10 2011, 02:28 PM

2,207 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Jun 10 2011, 12:40 PM)

FC as per normal.. RM50 will get 350km town driving.. full tank on highway, > 600km. 700km possible if slow-mo..
drive 130-140km constanst also can get > 600km. this is on mineral oil.

I believe, the factory filled lube is fully-synthetic.. coz the feeling is so sedap!
kenji1903
post Jun 10 2011, 02:30 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(overfloe @ Jun 10 2011, 02:28 PM)
FC as per normal.. RM50 will get 350km town driving.. full tank on highway, > 600km. 700km possible if slow-mo..
drive 130-140km constanst also can get > 600km. this is on mineral oil.

I believe, the factory filled lube is fully-synthetic.. coz the feeling is so sedap!
your car all stock? what you did during break in period??

but the >600km per full tank is 90%-100% highway lar?
overfloe
post Jun 10 2011, 02:47 PM

2,207 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Jun 10 2011, 03:30 PM)
your car all stock? what you did during break in period??

but the >600km per full tank is 90%-100% highway lar?
aiyoh bro.. already mentioned I drove it hard for break in. yes, > 600km is for 90-100% highway.

stock.. and forgot to mention it is manual. but auto shouldn't be that far off..

hard break in period shouldn't affect the fc.. but not a problem if owners want to drive it slow and steady.. fast and furious also no prob laugh.gif
iCloud
post Jun 10 2011, 02:48 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(DaBestOne @ Jun 10 2011, 01:33 PM)
For that i've doubt, coz one of my friend actually can't even reach 400km with his new bought city. Coz so far i always heard that city is fuel saving but my friend's city is not. weird case i would say..haha..

I'm driving Vios bought in '10 and my tank is around 450-550 like that. smile.gif
BuFung
post Jun 10 2011, 02:56 PM

8,407 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Jun 10 2011, 01:45 PM)
new city, 450km full tank... should be around there...

i'm having the prev gen with 7speed CVT, 550km is a minimum, 80% city, 20% highway...average 600km with full syn... had the car for 3 years already...

Added on June 10, 2011, 1:46 pm
really? maybe should have opted for City instead... hmm.gif
nemind lar... try Vios see how... yours is the 2003 Vios?
yap.. first Gen VIOS... handsome Vios.. tongue.gif tongue.gif

135 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Top

0.0340sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 03:30 AM