11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Spanish Clubs FC Barcelona, Messi won UEFA Best Player Award!

TSmatyrze
post Feb 26 2011, 11:26 AM

Historical tears
678 posts

How did it not appear back in 2003? While googling, you can try limit news from 2003 to 2005. I can't found anything.

This one is well known. But Cesc, I don't know since when this 700k appear. If you've got the numbers from Arsenal.com around 2003/4, I'm ready to pull back my words.

Although I'd still question the morality of Arsenal, forcing us to refer to FIFA (referring to your news piece), I reckon Barca should have just move on. Its not like Cesc was the last one coming off the conveyor belt.
TSmatyrze
post Feb 27 2011, 11:09 AM

Historical tears
678 posts

QUOTE(mengdez @ Feb 26 2011, 03:50 PM)
I must say Barca really done a good job for supplying the football talent to Spanish football team, i wonder if Real Madrid doing the same thing (even this is barca thread, just wonder)?  hmm.gif
They do have good youngsters. But their developments is heavily dependent on Mou's willingness to provide them first team football. So far he has handed debut to several of them.

QUOTE(MrFay @ Feb 27 2011, 07:30 AM)
Anyway there should be a compensation to barca rite?
Not to say we should get it, no law says Arsenal was obliged to pay. The main point is the lack of respect shown by Arsenal when they poached Cesc away.

-----------------------------------------

We won 3-0 in San Moix. Pleased to see our team played well in absence of Xavi, Puyol, Alves and Valdes. But it was clear that if Alves is gonna leave, we are going to look for new RB this summer. Adriano was not hyperactive like Alves, while Montoya showed very little in 10 minutes he featured.

This post has been edited by matyrze: Feb 27 2011, 11:10 AM
TSmatyrze
post Feb 28 2011, 12:31 PM

Historical tears
678 posts

Great comment (as usual wink.gif) by Pep:

Those that didn’t get to play have to endure, of course, but they know their responsibility, and that we have all the confidence in them. I try to make them understand that it is necessary for them to train hard, and that there will always be opportunities for them, but if everyone behaves like Keita everything will be easier. Today, along with Andres, it was Keita who won us the match, and they played a superb game. He’s always there when we need him, and that’s why I’m happy for him.

TSmatyrze
post Mar 3 2011, 12:02 PM

Historical tears
678 posts

I missed the match, so couldn't comment anything.

But for me, its no big surprise if Masch played bad. Playing as a DM for Barca is not about stealing the ball. Heck this job is not exclusive for our DM, its a job for everybody. What myhotgary may be concerned of is Masch's ability to help out his teammates after they stole it, as well as his lack of initiative (due to tactical awareness, not his work rate) to distribute the ball after wrestling for it. He depends a lot on Xavi/Pique to distribute it. In certain match that's not the best option, as both players tend to get pressurized from opponents too.

For me, after we spent 20ME on him, he's proved that he is only good enough to be Busi's cover. Not much more.

But still, I missed the match tongue.gif So if there are others missed the match too, we'll have a replay at 4.30pm today. I'll be home from office by 4 I guess tongue.gif
TSmatyrze
post Mar 5 2011, 08:38 PM

Historical tears
678 posts

I read Xavi's interview with Sport, and he was asked to comment on Messi being 'slightly' more vocal towards Villa in the last game. He said it was normal, and resulting from stress. When the interviewer said it was not normal for Messi being angry, Xavi snapped back "See if you never got angry at work". Great answer it was laugh.gif

Pep is set to give another run around for back ups (not that we have many of them laugh.gif ) for tonight. And Pep is set to watch the game from hospital cry.gif Hopefully he get well soon.

This post has been edited by matyrze: Mar 5 2011, 08:45 PM
TSmatyrze
post Mar 6 2011, 09:26 AM

Historical tears
678 posts

QUOTE(barca96 @ Mar 6 2011, 12:50 AM)
I found that quite disturbing to see Messi scolding Villa.
We hardly ever see that here.
And what made it worse was,
before that incident, Messi ignored an open Villa twice who couldve already had 2 tap in goals.
Kinda disappointing coming from MEssi.
Well, I don't call that 'scolding'. Alves was the one who scolded Villa. If you watch the game again, the incident occurred after Villa failed to find Alves, who was absolutely free at the far post, and opted to take a shot instead, which of course had missed the target. You know, this kinda situation occurs. Xavi said he sometimes tells Puyol and Alves his opinion on the pitch. But for Messi, things get exaggerated because the TV focused on Villa and Messi during the game, and ignored Alves' scream before that.

Btw, I missed the Zaragoza match tongue.gif Sigh, another match to download it seems blush.gif
TSmatyrze
post Mar 6 2011, 11:46 PM

Historical tears
678 posts

QUOTE(barca96 @ Mar 6 2011, 03:47 PM)
I dont understand why they didnt draw the defenders to either side of the pitch.
Doesnt take a rocket scientist to figure that one out smile.gif
Because Zaragoza defenders also realized that they had to crowd the middle area? If they were opened up in defense, they were doomed, and for them that's not rocket science either.

QUOTE(fareezth @ Mar 6 2011, 08:55 PM)
BTW....that game will shock the gunners just draw with sunderland.... hopefully puyol will able to play the next big game and give the big impact and big scoresheet after this....
>>> messi and villa look like stress on the pitch, of course to get more goal...hope they're find chemistry each others for UCL clash
According to TB, its nearly confirmed that Puyol will miss the match doh.gif doh.gif

So the next match will be very similar to last season; Arsenal with injury problems, vs Barca with heavily make shifted back line.

So who should play in defense? Milito or Busquets?

This post has been edited by matyrze: Mar 6 2011, 11:46 PM
TSmatyrze
post Mar 8 2011, 08:21 AM

Historical tears
678 posts

90% of chances are (don't ask me where did I get the percentage from tongue.gif) Busquets to be deployed as CB, instead of Milito. If Milito plays, Masch won't get to play. Maxwell meanwhile will play as LB.

Ops, sorry guys for not updating first post and the thread title, been busy these few days with courses. Can online for 15 minutes max liao doh.gif doh.gif
TSmatyrze
post Mar 8 2011, 05:03 PM

Historical tears
678 posts

QUOTE(toshio14 @ Mar 8 2011, 04:27 PM)
nothing, and i mean nothing Arsene Wenger did in footballing world so far warranted you to call him rat. it's purely disrespectful, and sadly something i've come to expect from typical Barcelona fan
Bro, you don't need to be too sensitive. Name calling is bad, I know. But it's nearly pointless to teach other people about ethic in the internet. Seeing that you generalize Barcelona fans as always being disrespectful, I also can point out that in the internet, the most frequent users of the word 'Farcelona' are Arsenal fans. I also receive not-so-friendly responses when posting in Arsenal thread sometime ago, and even bro Kimhoong PMed me to warn about it. Not to mention all the words like 'pathetic', 'f***er' and whatnot being thrown towards Barca players. I've seen these in Arsenal LYN thread too.

Like it or not, this thing goes both way. Just let it pass.
TSmatyrze
post Mar 9 2011, 05:53 AM

Historical tears
678 posts

We deserve this right? Up until 80th minute the stats showed Barca had 16 shots, while Arsenal had none. They can speculate all they want about the sending off, but up until that, they failed to even let Valdes worked. I think we played supremely well today. Mascherano and Adriano were monsters, although Adriano obviously hasn't trained on his shooting for quite a while now.
TSmatyrze
post Mar 9 2011, 06:13 AM

Historical tears
678 posts

And 19 fouls rclxms.gif Was Arsene talking about attacking our goal, or attacking Barca players' legs?

Got to sleep lah, 7.30 am have to get up already. Nite everyone laugh.gif
TSmatyrze
post Mar 9 2011, 04:36 PM

Historical tears
678 posts

Don't target anybody la bro. myhotgary just stated his opinion when he said Masch played bad. He was not saying Masch was a bad player for Barca. IMHO Masch did look clueless in numerous matches before. Yes he could get his trademark tackles in, but in Barca people people expect other other quality from DM too. Its good that Masch finally seems to be getting better game by game. It should not be a reason to target the critics back.
TSmatyrze
post Mar 9 2011, 06:55 PM

Historical tears
678 posts

I iz sad, because of so much emphasize is on the ref, when Arsenal have only themselves to blame for their defeat.

"Arsenal failed to muster a single shot at Camp Nou as they were eliminated 4-3 on aggregate, the first time a team has failed to do so since Opta's Champions League records began in 2003."

sos from soccernet.

They cry for van Persie's sending off, when in fact he was utterly useless when he was on. They said his sending off changed the game, so why oh why he didn't changed the game in Arsenal's favour when he was ON THE FIELD? He had 56th minute to do that. Zero shot on goal, against a heavily rotated back line, what a way to show your presence on the field as forward.

Maybe they should learn from Hercules on how to counter attack us in Camp Nou, and take Nelson Valdes as their main cikgu. But nvm, I don't think Arsenal need tips from a poor club from an inferior league compared to theirs. rolleyes.gif
TSmatyrze
post Mar 9 2011, 07:42 PM

Historical tears
678 posts

Before Abidal touched van Persie, they were arguing over a tackle (I forgot who received it). They both argued, so both players would get cards, not just Abidal. Don't be too biased here. You can never know what words came out during that argument. Van Persie also played his part during the argument. Not just Abidal.

You said Arsenal gain their momentum just because Nasri dribbled on the left flank on his own, only to be surrounded by Abidal (iinm) and Masch, and no support to look for, and just get a corner? Arsenal was never in the game dude. Arsenal fared a lot poorer than the likes of Hercules, Sporting and Villareal, who gave us a game in Camp Nou. At least they registered shots, and gave us scares.
TSmatyrze
post Mar 9 2011, 08:07 PM

Historical tears
678 posts

QUOTE(sickx @ Mar 9 2011, 07:49 PM)
if he didn't got choked by abidal,he wouldn't react by shoving alves.he was clearly pissed off by that incident.

we're moving on but some of you can't stop looking down on us by keep on saying that barcelona was superior.f*ck that.we won against you at the emirates.and we contained with your attack for the first 45 minutes at nou camp.how is that more superior?yes,your players got the skill.the passing was flawless but we still manage to absorb the pressure from you.at least show us some respect.
You just have to relax dude. I don't mean to belittle Arsenal. Honestly I don't.

But the fact is the match stat read something like this:

Which very very clearly showed clear domination by Barca, even unbelievable for ourselves. As I mentioned, even Nelson Valdes and his Hercules did a lot lot lot more better than Arsenal.

And when you come here suggesting that our first goal was just purely the result of Cesc mistake, I think we have the right to be pissed off. Why don't you think its the result of our brilliant way of pressuring opponents right in their own half? If we fail to score from Cesc mistake, what make you so sure we couldn't score another goal, like the second we scored?

This involve a lot of 'what if', an argument filled with speculation and theories. The argument that you guys might fell apart even if you were playing 11 players, like how we score the first goal, may be applicable too. Its just that you guys decided to turn blind on this argument, because it suits you guys lesser.

So this argument about referee is pointless, because it involves something might or might not have happened. The fact is, Arsenal played poor, and Barca deserve to go through.

QUOTE(sickx @ Mar 9 2011, 07:57 PM)
it was masch on jack.both argued but did you see RVP choked abidal back?at least during that moment,RVP still able to handle his temper by not choke/punch/shove abidal back.

what can you see from the first 10 minutes of the second half?nasri did dribbled on his own.if the rest 45 minutes was still 11 on 11,we might be able to have some shots on goal.in fact after the introduction of bendtner and arshavin,our attack looks more promising.
BOTH argued, so BOTH deserve a yellow.

And more "might be" argument eh.

Added on March 9, 2011, 8:14 pmOh, and please note that I've NEVER brought out Ref's mistake against us over these two legs, because I honestly feel discussing on Refs' performance is pointless. I really do.

This post has been edited by matyrze: Mar 9 2011, 08:14 PM
TSmatyrze
post Mar 10 2011, 12:39 PM

Historical tears
678 posts

Guys, avoid focusing on ref's mistakes. As I said it's not worth discussing. Even after the first leg, I think we had done remarkably for not discussing over an incident. Only barca96, minority and Angel of Deth were involved in the discussion, and heck it wasn't a long discussion. We acknowledge that our team was wasteful, because we were simply wasteful and ineffective.

This is football. Just accept that ref's incompetency (or idiocy, whatever you prefer) can affect both sides. After all it's obvious that which team were the better performer. Just highlight that.

Note: Some may misinterpret this again, so I stress again, that I said the better performer, not the better team.

Added on March 10, 2011, 12:50 pm
QUOTE(devis87 @ Mar 10 2011, 05:37 AM)
Ibra literally went missing again last nite despite claiming himself as the world best player   doh.gif  doh.gif
This is another misinterpretation.

I read this headline in Goal.com, but when I read the article, Ibra actually said he has the confidence that he is among the best player, and it is important to have that mentality to succeed. It was not like he said he is the best, better than Messi. He was only stressing on his strong mentality. I don't think that's wrong. Self belief is a must for top football player, its just the way they show their confidence differ.

Nowadays, a lot of words can get twisted very easily. Just read interviews whenever you can, because it can provide complete explanation on certain statement made by the player. There's any chance that nearly every news pieces are BS.

This post has been edited by matyrze: Mar 10 2011, 12:52 PM
TSmatyrze
post Mar 10 2011, 11:42 PM

Historical tears
678 posts

WTF!?

President suspended over village team bid for Barcelona's Lionel Messi

A bid to sign Barcelona's Lionel Messi has led to the suspension of the president of a French village side. Cédric Enjolras, the president of FC Borne, a second division team in the Haute-Loire league, made the official offer to Barcelona this week. It may have been a joke but the French Football Federation has failed to see the funny side.

Borne, who are based in a village of 400 inhabitants, were looking to add the 2009 and 2010 world player of the year to their ranks but were blocked by France's governing body. The transfer offer was intercepted by the player registration office of the FFF, which refused to submit it to the Spanish FA. Although Barcelona were not exactly likely to accept the bid, they were denied the opportunity to even read it.

But the killjoys did not stop there. Enjolras has been suspended from his position for six months.

"One cannot accept such behaviour. It is perhaps a joke but we are here to judge the facts," said Yves Begon, the head of the FFF registration office.

Enjolras, bemused by the FFF's lack of proportion, explained what had happened: "To submit bids among small clubs, you need to fill out forms on the internet. I decided to register a bid so I typed the name Lionel Messi, his date of birth and his parent club into the system. Then the league transmitted the request to the federation. They were shocked by it and refused to send it to their Spanish counterparts. I have been suspended for six months, of which three are suspended. It was just a joke, to amuse friends.

"I'm going to have spend three months in the bar."

Every cloud has a silver lining.

sos

TSmatyrze
post Mar 11 2011, 03:15 PM

Historical tears
678 posts

At least the president should reveal how much money he put in the website, so that we can estimate market value for Messi. So far we never receive official offer from any club for Messi right? Only Moratti has made occasional noises.
TSmatyrze
post Mar 13 2011, 10:19 AM

Historical tears
678 posts

QUOTE(minority @ Mar 12 2011, 12:24 AM)
As before, within the context of the result, I agree that Barca's performance was much better, but I was here to refute the contention made by some posters that the result would have certainly been the same if van Persie was not sent off. After all, Arsenal was playing at a slower pace and hoping for a late counter-attack, just like the first leg. The tactic was definitely blunted by the red card.

I am not blaming the ref, nor am I saying that if the red card was not served, Arsenal would definitely have won. I am saying that nothing was a foregone conclusion. Even if Barca continued to dominate, there was always a chance that the counter-attacking strategy would've paid dividends. Dani Alves' late mistake is proof that complete concentration is hard to maintain for 90 minutes even for the best players and that was what Arsenal was obviously banking on.
I've no problem with you posting, but, you see, this post is heavy with 'what-if' theme.

What if van Persie was not sent off? Maybe Arsenal's counterattack became more effective...

but...

maybe our domination for the first 56th minute (we were playing 11vs11, remember) went on for another 34 minutes, and Barca might also score 2 more goals as well.

What if Barca indeed could score another goal after Busi's own goal? Maybe Arsenal's catenaccio may serve Arsenal well...

but...

maybe Messi could score another goal. Remember, for all Arsenal fans' attempt to hype up Arsenal's defensive gameplay, we already breached that defense of yours once, when you guys still had 11 players. We might do that again.

What if Barca defenders made several lapse of concentration? Maybe Arsenal could take advantage...

but...

maybe Masch might as well pull up several other heroic feats. And this also depends on how really effective Arsenal's counterattack, because based on what Arsenal showed for the first 56th minutes I was not really convinced. As I said before, a host of Spanish clubs have done a hell lot better than Arsenal did, and many of them didn't have to wait until 56th minute to show their effectiveness while to counterattack.

You can speculate all you want on the referee and the sending off. But in the end it all boil down to who were actually performed better, and who actually had the luck, and who actually showed they wanted it more.

According to the stat, we performed better, and that may also be the case if you watch the match. We had a few of luck with our shooting, but we have luck with the sending off. We have also proved that we wanted it more, as evidence by our attacking nature. Furthermore Almunia also pointed out the lack of spirit of among Arsenal players. You see, this was not said by the 'disrespectful scums' like Xavi, Puyol, Pique, Pep, Rosell, Laporta or Jimmy Jump. This was the words of a Arsenal player. So this is why Pep said "The only way they can grow is to think about the bad things they have done and improve."

Arsenal performance was so under par, that Arsenal ought to improve from it. And I'm not saying that Arsenal is inferior team to Barca, I just say Barca played performed better than Arsenal. Don't misinterpret me here.

----------------------------------------

Puyol is set to miss another game doh.gif doh.gif I thought he was near to full fitness, since there was some hope he would be able to participate in Arsenal game.

Added on March 13, 2011, 10:32 am
QUOTE(barca96 @ Mar 12 2011, 01:23 AM)
I feel the same way.
I was called a troll too on the Arsenal side and I didn't even though I didn't even make fun of them or what?
All I did was disagree with their opinions.
I have a long reply for an Arsenal fan who disagreed with my opinion but Ive been holding back cos
I dont want to be called a troll or any kind of names.

I dont understand why some fans here take it so seriously.
Im new to this forum, so I thought we could have a healthy discussion.
Heck I am an Ajax fan, lived in Rotterdam, and yet we could get along and talk about the teams without getting so serious
but they are more serious here.
The way some comments fly around here, it looks like it's goal.com.
Most of us here I believe are M'sians so why the need to fight over a team that has no attachements to us?
Jsut have fun.
We are all fans but we still can talk as long as you dont get personal.
Bro barca96, I've posted in Arsenal thread once, and I completely understand what you went through laugh.gif You want some good replies to your opinion? You may try Liverpool thread. Haven't tried much with Man Utd and Chelsea thread though.

Not generalizing any set of fans, but those are just my internet experience tongue.gif

This post has been edited by matyrze: Mar 13 2011, 10:34 AM
TSmatyrze
post Mar 13 2011, 08:57 PM

Historical tears
678 posts

QUOTE(boxsystem @ Mar 13 2011, 11:24 AM)
Try to post in United thread. It should be fine, IMO.
No idea liao sweat.gif No fun troll in MUST, because if I post now, 30 minutes later my post will be pushed to 3rd last page. Too many posters liao. And I'm afraid of the infamous sheep jinx also laugh.gif

QUOTE(barca96 @ Mar 13 2011, 05:37 PM)
Uefa should;ve gone ahead with the G14 super league 10 years ago.
Then Ajax, Feyenoord and PSV would've been more competitive.
The UEFA Super League? I think it would make matters worse. But this require a new thread to discuss, if we don't have one already.

11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0450sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:33 AM