> LYN Christian Lounge V5

Jedi
post Nov 18 2012, 09:29 PM

Pax Et Bonum
2,245 posts

QUOTE(Alvin330000421 @ Nov 18 2012, 06:10 PM)
Problems:
I almost found...with non christian.
I went out with a taoist girl...we almost held hands but I hesitated.
1) She is quite outspoken and she deliberately say things to me that irritates me...like she tell me she likes to go temple and meditate incantations. Why would she say such things?

the pastor told us that he conducted a lot of marriage councilling and he experienced a lot of tough call whereby lots of couples argue and want divorce. So he keeps on telling us single guys, 2) its better not to marry than to suffer a dysfunctional marriage. But hey, this pastor himself is married and got two kids so he does not know how it feels like to be single too.

I am not saying i like to rush into a marriage but if only, 3) if only, the church is open about christian dating and encourage its members to try going out with each other. But most members at church are very closed up. I have asked girls at church for a date, only for them to give me big big frowns and then the church leaders come over and give me black face.

Then 4) I decided enough is enough, I go outside and date non-christians. Why? Because the christians are not giving me any opportunity. The bible says do not mix unholy yoke with unbelievers...but hey, the church is not helping.

Wah, i wish they can drop on my lap. But I go to do ministries, the girls there don;t seem to be interested in me. I even try to approach them, like so LCLY and aloof. They then give me the black face. They seem to be seeking the super holy christian guy. This kind of guy ah, i tell you don;t exist one. Darn unrealistic.

Aiyah, all the young adult service are the same lah.

But outside the church, so many non-christian girls so interest in me, i bodoh bodoh reject them. Now i regret. One by one of those non christian girls who go after me, are getting married. Now I am suffering from loneliness because i listen to the pastor.
Hi Alvin, i have been following your sharing with some interest. Here is my own opinion and advice, based on Christian views.
Before we get to the problem:
God is Love. The Bible starts with marriage/union - Adam and Eve on Genesis and ends with marriage - Us to God and His angels, saints in heaven. We all seek this love, either by marriage to God (celibacy) or marriage with spouse (Union of two, become one flesh under God's blessings)

Love is Free, Faithful, Total and Fruitful. <--- Core of Love

Now to your situation: (Numerically to bolded part of your situation)
1) - When you meet/date a non-believer, you have to be patient. If you think her personality, attitude suits you and both of you are talking on the same wavelength, why not give the relationship some time? Afterall everything starts with a spark, and then to friends, and slowly .. For God's love for us is the same. It is unceasing, it is always free, faithful and total. It takes time for non-believers to realise this. To feel this love. The same as when we want to preach God's love, not by the gospel, but by our actions of faith, hope and love. God gives us reason, she can sees this herself, if one day she decides not to be with you, its her free will. You need not be sad for you love her as she is, be it friend or as a lover. It is beautiful for what you have done. If it is not yours, it means God has placed someone better, the best for you.
Of course, you also have a choice. Some christians prefer only christians. Some can accept non-believer (like me for example), with my actions, prayer, with time (even years) I am confident my spouse will feel this love, which is God.

2) - True, to marry and adhere to a certain unhappy marriage means it will be unfruitful. This is not love. It is destructive even at times, like you have said, God wants us not to mingle with those who will weaken our faith, or to throw pearls to the dogs and pigs. I am not sure how old are you - mind telling?, but not all people are called to the ministry of marriage. Some are called to be servant of God. Again, come to love - which is free,faithful,total and fruitful. God does not force us. If we feel that we have another vocation (maybe family wish, maybe our own choice), God always make something fruitful out of our choices. - We do our best, God will plan the rest. He always has plan A - Z for us. It is not always one. Therefore, pray and have faith. God is not within our timeline, sometimes it takes 1 week, at times 1 month, 1 year, even 10 years. Maybe He has another plan? His answer is Yes/No/Not yet. I am not sure which denomination are you from, but Catholics, Anglicans, certain protestants invoke the intercession of Saints (esp patron saint of love and marriage), or Mother Mary to God, and more often than not, is powerful.

3) - The Church, is the House of God. The world is a dusty, tiring place that often beats us down. The Church building is a haven, a quiet refuge, a place to encounter God. Here we drink deeply of the life-giving waters of word and sacrament that revive our drooping spirits (Psalm 23). The grace that flows from the altar bears us back into the world, changed, and able to change others, bringing healing and bearing fruit. The world tells us that we are consumers, employees and voters, and flashes a constant stream of icons at us every day to remind us of this. The Church building is an icon that reminds us of our deepest identity. As we gather for Sunday worship, we who were scattered by diverse loyalties, professions, and life-styles, are now united as the Body of Christ and dwelling place of the Spirit.
Therefore, the Church is not a place to seek love outside God. But the answer you seek is within The Church.
(Mat 7:7 "Ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you. )
That is why when in Church, focus your heart and soul fully on the Lord, pray and worship. Then, the girl you seek will come naturally (and as you said, christian girls may seek SuperHoly guy, what more when they see someone, who can devote his heart fully to the Lord, not devote his heart to the newly-wed? and to union with God? She also has the Holy Spirit bestowed upon, through the Spirit of Wisdom and Knowledge (Isaiah 11: 1-2), She will see the Christ in you, the same Christ who unites people through His Body - the Church to God.

4) "Do not forget that true love sets no conditions; it does not calculate or complain, but simply loves." (Pope John Paul II). As much difference as we differ in beliefs (Catholics - Bible+Tradition+Magisterium), you have to agree with this beautiful, meaningful sentence. It is Christ's love. Therefore bro, dont give up when you love - to anyone. Give yourself an opportunity, a chance, then others will give their chances to you and to take their chances too smile.gif

Lastly, love in humankind comes and goes. Only God gives a total and fruitful love. So OlgaC4 has said, seek Him first. Our mission on earth as God's children, is to ' go and make disciples of all nations, ' (Mat 19:28) - through faith, hope and love. (1 Corinthians 13:13)
*Pray: pray that God grants you the strength to persevere, the wisdom and knowledge to prepare yourself for your future spouse, so when the time comes, you present as a glorious gift for your spouse, in Christ, and through Christ. At the same time, ask Lord in prayer, is it his vocation for you? or maybe He has another plan for you? What are your strengths and weaknesses?

I will hold you in my prayers smile.gif

and Hello people, I have been following this thread too, I appreciate Unknown Warrior's sharing and you all to come and gather smile.gif as One Body. I am from Penang, and with the Roman Catholic (Please, I hope no bashing over RCCs - I am happy to be here, to see sharing, and love within brothers and sisters)

This post has been edited by Jedi: Nov 18 2012, 09:40 PM
Jedi
post Nov 19 2012, 03:10 AM

Pax Et Bonum
2,245 posts

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Nov 18 2012, 10:20 PM)
Thank you, you're most welcome brother in Christ.

But I need to discuss a bit with you on your point no. 2

Jedi,

I'm a bit convicted because The Bible is very clear, the apostles or saints of God are normal humans like you and I.

Invoking them in prayer as well as to Mary is not biblical IMO. It is akin to superstition. Bear with me. Don't get angry.

I'm not saying you're not a Christian neither am I saying you're not saved.

I believe you are saved but this doctrine of Saints prayer and supplication to mary is really nothing Man's perspective adding into the Bible.

I've read about the Catholics explanation on this and I can say it's not in line with scripture for a sole reason.

The gospel is really about Jesus Christ. Nobody else.

To Focus on Mary and the saints is nothing short of distraction and diversion and addition to what the core Gospel really is.

It causes confusion brother.

We discuss this when you come back.  biggrin.gif
Hello my dear brother, I understand that there is this 'superstition' going on around invoking intercession of prayers, particularly when we all believe that Christ is the sole mediator between God the Father and men.
I will try my best to explain and hopefully, to clear the confusion. Still, I am very happy you ask me about this one because at the very least, to choose to stand in this interpretation or not, people will understand why RCC and Eastern Orthodox practices intercessory prayer at certain times.

In general perspective, “Pray” for non-Catholics is synonymous with worship. But, not all prayer is worship. There are four types of prayer: 1) Worship 2) Thanksgiving 3) Petition and 4) Intercession. The original meaning and use of the word “Pray” is to “petition” or “ask.” The practice of petitioning Saints or Mary dates to the earliest days of Christianity and is shared by Catholics, Eastern Orthodox, the other Eastern Christians, and even some Anglicans—meaning that all-told it is shared by more than three quarters of the Christians on earth—It has only been with the advent of Protestantism (500 years old or less) that anyone has questioned the use of this word.

In Genesis 30:14, it says, “Then Rachel said to Leah, "Give me, I pray, some of your son's mandrakes."
In Genesis 40:8, the bible says that Joseph prayed to his fellow captives as follows: “They said to him, "We have had dreams, and there is no one to interpret them." And Joseph said to them, "Do not interpretations belong to God? Tell them to me, I pray you." Here the meaning 'To pray' means merely to ask; it does not mean to talk to God only.
In 2 Maccabees 15:13-14, the dead Jeremiah appears to Judas Maccabees and it says that he prays much for the people of Israel. The saints are not dead, they are alive. Jesus says that "God is not the God of the dead, but of the living" (Matthew 22:32).
Paul says that we are surrounded by a cloud of witnesses, in Hebrews 12:1. Witnesses have to be alive in order to testify on our behalf to the supreme judge.

As Scripture indicates, those in heaven are aware of the prayers of those on earth. This can be seen, for example, in Revelation 5:8, where John depicts the saints in heaven offering our prayers to God under the form of “golden bowls full of incense, which are the prayers of the saints.”
In Revelation 6:10, we learn that the saints in heaven know what is going on down here on earth.
In Luke 16:24, we learn that dead people in hell can communicate with the very dead Abraham.
In Mark 9:4, the "dead" Moses and Elijah appear to Jesus and communicate with Him regarding his exodus from earth. People who believe that being dead in the body is also dead in the soul are called atheists, not Christians. It would be sinful to conjure up a dead person, like Saul did with Samuel (1 Samuel 28:14), in order to gain hidden knowledge (Deuteronomy 18:10-12). But asking for intercession (1 Timothy 2:1) from live, holy people is very biblical, due to the power they have (James 5:16, 2 Peter 1:4). Revelation 5:8 and 8:3 plainly state that the saints and angels present our prayers to God in the form of incense.

So, we do pray to saints, but not to worship them. We pray to ask for their prayers. They pray with us and for us, just as others here on earth can pray with us and for us. Have you ever asked a friend or a family member to pray for you? It is the same thing. Saints pray alongside of us to Jesus as our intercessors. They do not stand "between" us and God. There is indeed one mediator between God and man, and that is Jesus Christ. And what is He the mediator of? Paul says in Hebrews 9:15 and Hebrews 12:24 that Jesus is the mediator of The New Covenant (the Last, Everlasting), not prayer. Intercession in prayer does not equate to being the mediator of the New Covenant; they are 2 entirely different things. The saints are equal to the angels, and are His sons, according to Luke 20:35-36. John 17:20-23 says that the saints are one with God, and that He has given them His glory.
It also means, Saints enjoy the Beatification of God - Beatified Vision, Meeting God face to face, when we enter Heaven.

Sometimes, certain Christian denominations do pray to them, but some prayer is making a request. We make requests of the saints and of Mary for their intercession, which the Bible says is pleasing to God. Paul says that Christians should intercede: “First of all, then, I urge that supplications, prayers, intercessions, and thanksgivings be made for all men, for kings and all who are in high positions, that we may lead a quiet and peaceable life, godly and respectful in every way. This is good, and pleasing to God our Savior, who desires all men to be saved and to come to the knowledge of the truth” (1 Tim. 2:1–4).

A request can only be answered by God. We request God’s help, his mercy, and his divine intervention. Nevertheless, we do ask the saints, the Blessed Virgin Mary and others in heaven to petition our prayer to God for us. All with the same goal, that God will help, have mercy and divinely intervene. Of course, through Christ, whose authority lies in His and Him alone, which is why every prayer, at the end, we say, through Christ, our Lord. Amen.

In real life, for example:
You are a good friend with C. Best of best since childhood. C's mum is also very loving towards you whenever you come over to his house.
One day, you played a prank on C but C got caught in a misunderstanding and was very sad over this situation. He refuses to talk to you for weeks for He is sensitive. You are very sorry, yet C does not want to see you, he needs time to cool off. Seeing you standing at the doorway for a few hours, C's mum, who is very loving to you (it can be C's dad/aunt) wishes for both side to reconcile, and to be loving towards each other. C loves his mum very very much, and upon C's mum enlightening and loving words of encouragement and advice, C decided to give it a try, to talk to you over it. In the end, you all are best friends without problems whatsoever again.

From the story, C's mum/dad/aunt can be the Mother Mary or saints who enjoy the beatific vision (face-to-face) with God (C - Christ), and through their intercession, sometimes when the God's answer is No, or Not yet, through our persistent prayers and through invoking intercessory prayers, God, who is all-loving, would grant our wish, even though He sees a little good comes from it/time has not yet come, but God always improvise and through us, work something good out of it. But then Protestants may say, why not go to God straight? the answer lies beforehand. God will also not be jealous of this. In fact, He is happy for we are faithful in our prayers, like a loving Father to son, we too, grant our children toys in order to make them happy smile.gif
Besides this, we also look at the model life of saints when they are human beings on earth. i.e St Francis of Assisi, St Francis Xavier, St Thomas Aquinas. We understand that Christ has placed the perfect role model for us, through His life and His teachings. More often than not, in today's world we are often tempted and swayed, fell down only to be picked up by God's grace again. This is how all of us feel when we, feel like we fail our Lord. But there are people, Saints now, who had done it. We may heard of this saying, 'Every saint has a past and every sinner has a future.' Mother Teresa of Calcutta said, 'Saints are only sinners who keep trying'. They are an inspiration for us, but we definitely do not worship them. Afterall, heaven rejoices when we follow the Lord and our actions are pleasing to Him, through all helps in Christ and through Christ (The Branch and The Vine story) "Suppose one of you has a hundred sheep and loses one of them. Does he not leave the ninety-nine in the open country and go after the lost sheep until he finds it? Lk 15:4

Also exists Saints, who devote their life lovingly to the Lord our God, with such dedication that is admiration and inspiration to us, angels and God alike. Exists a supernatural phenomenon when God grants them grace and sanctity - when you have time, you can read up http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Incorruptibility or visit some of these places for a close look-up - again, we do look to them in awe, how they live examples of Christ on earth, not worshipping. It hurts when people say we worship even over these things when we visit them. (Of course, it does not mean one has to reach this supernatural phenomenon to enter the Kingdom of God, but they are prime examples and proof of God's miracle and reward)

Addition: and yes, it happens that many catholics (elders esecially) may not understanding fully or grasp Catechism and foundation of knowledge of Christ, that is why they are constantly reminded by priests to devote attention to our Lord Jesus Christ, and not Mary. For Jn 14:6 No one goes to the Father except through Me. As for me, old habits are hard to change. Sometimes the elders refute this advice, but priest told me once: who are we to judge? (Mat 7:1-2) Do not judge others, then you will not be judged. The way you judge others, that is the way you will be judged. When we condemn that, they are not focusing on Christ! blasphemy! etc etc. For they have a loving heart, and God judges our hearts (1 Samuel 16:7). Afterall, love points to One, who is Love - God. I was satisfied with priest's answer on that one too.

This post has been edited by Jedi: Nov 19 2012, 03:42 AM
Jedi
post Nov 19 2012, 03:02 PM

Pax Et Bonum
2,245 posts

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Nov 19 2012, 09:24 AM)
Hi Jedi,

Appreciate your effort, so I've read your entire explanation with due respect. I'm not one of those who practice TLDR because I can get pretty long winded myself at times.

But still it is not Biblical. Bear with me. I will explain in simple summary. So that it is easier to discuss.

Before that, Just a bit of background of myself, so that you know where I'm coming from. I don't consider myself a pew warmer. At best I have an on-going relationship with the Lord just like yourself. No longer young in age but still young at heart.  tongue.gif  The things of this world doesn't really interest me that much anymore like it use to.

And I know I don't deserve this, but by God's grace, God does speak to me. I've been getting revelations from the Holy Spirit. To me it's really an honour, because I believe there could be a platform Ministry waiting, if God is willing.

At times, the Holy Spirit would just highlight certain things. And here's one of them.

You agree that there's only 1 mediator between Man and God, Jesus Christ. If there's only one, then the Bible literally means it. I don't consider prayer the same as worship. IMO prayer is prayer, you can ask or petition or just talk to God, it is still classified as prayer.

The reason why the Holy Spirit specifically mention Jesus Christ as the only mediator of channel to God and not through anyone else is because only He alone is the access to God, no one else. He was the only one who came to represent us to God, through his death on the cross in remissions of our sins, the apostles didn't die for us. The Bible specifically mention Jesus is also our High Priest to replace the Priest of Old as in the Old Testament. Therefore there is no longer any need for human priest to represent us to God. - while I agree on this part, the protestants only have 2 Sacraments out of RCC and orthodox 7, mainly Sacrament of Eucharist which still needs priest - the role of Persona Christi. However we will not talk about this because its entirely different issue of our difference in opinion of actual presence of Christ in Eucharist.

Not the pope or any other priest will be able to do so because the Old Covenant has been made obsolete.

Didn't Jesus himself said, No one comes to the Father accept through me? It didn't say through me and the saints and mary. That's why I say some of the Catholics interpreted the scripture base on loose understanding of it's context.

During the times of the apostles as in the book of acts and so forth, whenever the apostles prayed, Jesus is still their Mediator to God. They cannot access to God without Jesus.

So to say that Catholics pray to them because the saints offer prayers to God? that's the same thing as using the saint or Mary as a mediator to God. It's contradiction. - It does seem so when you look at it from the out, if you see the situation I presented at the last part, Saints and Mary present our prayer to God, and petition God to grant our wish - in a role, accelerate the process by granting our prayers faster in cases of unanswered prayers. It is not the primary prayer that we use, only with Christ like a christian does.

The keyword here is, you pray to them. Praying alongside with them, would require for them to be alongside with you, just like your friends in Church. But the stark reality is, they are not alongside with you. They are in heaven. They could be praying to God but that's between them and God. Only God can do so through his omni presence power to be with each of his children alongside. The Apostles, mere human beings do not have that kind of power.

So Imagine the multitude who pray to the saints so to speak, but how can those few saints represent alongside with the millions if not billions of believers? The keyword here is alongside as in together?  That kind of practise is akin to treating them like some kind of deity very much like Taoism. - Why not? Luke 1:37 For nothing is impossible with God. while we do understand the word ''full of grace'', it is within human means of our reasoning and interpretations. in Jn 3:12  Jesus said to his disciples I have spoken to you of earthly things and you do not believe; how then will you believe if I speak of heavenly things? and in Mat 11:11 - A saint is greater than any greatest human of earth - John the Baptist. Here Saint who are full of grace, the omniscience and omni potent God, angels who carry our prayers to God, they have already accepted our Lord as Saviour, full of grace now, would surely love us humans and desire our Salvation - that the heaven rejoice for one lost sheep to return to the flock. the word 'together' despite not together in physical presence, surely are together in spiritual presence, who we are all one Body in Christ, the vine branches (Jn 15:4).

1 Timothy 2:5.
For there is one God and one mediator between God and men, the man Christ Jesus,

Only Jesus Christ. No mention of whatever saints.

Another thing I want to highlight to you is that, you err when you say only the saints have power. - Did I? if so, it is my mistake. only God have the power to authenticate any prayers or wishes.

You do not understand, we are all saints in the eye of God the moment we put our Faith in Jesus Christ. - - Yes you are right, we are Saints on Earth (Psalm 16:3) I did state too, Saints in Heaven pray together with us, like our family and friends here on earth and in addition like you said: [t]he prayer of a righteous man has great power in its effects" (Jas. 5:16).

We all have the same spiritual gifts In Christ Jesus. The apostles and Mary are on equal ground with all of us with regards to God's blessings.

Is it of your doctrine to believe that the saints are more righteous or better than any of us because of their works?

Because if you say so, I can prove to you, that such doctrines are erroneous. I have a number of devotions that explains this in this thread.

You claim many Catholics (elders especially) may not understanding fully or grasp Catechism. I claim many Christians do not fully understand Righteousness by Faith and not of works.

Especially when you quoted James 5:16 and  2 Peter 1:4, I already more or less understand where you missed out in understanding the scripture.

Go back through the old pages, at least 30-40 pages back or just search by my post, I have written very extensive devotion on this.
"Since all the faithful form one body, the good of each is communicated to the others. . . . We must therefore believe that there exists a communion of goods in the Church. But the most important member is Christ, since he is the head. . . . Therefore, the riches of Christ are communicated to all the members, through the sacraments."480 "As this Church is governed by one and the same Spirit, all the goods she has received necessarily become a common fund'' Catechism of Catholic Church 947 - which sums up theologically since its not long-winded and precise to the point

Anyway, yeah, thats RCC and Orthodox practice though. You know, I discussed this with prophetjul and in the end, after all theological discussion he said something that u RCCs always try to justify yourselves with human reasoning of this biblical context, leaving the original context loose. Well, so much for all this. That is why it comes to a point where, I will try to answer your question if you have any though, but that is it, to avoid conflicts. Because I really love to share and to listen and to experience unity. and Believe me, I am very very young (21 yr old), trying my best to serve the Lord too. I am very grateful though, to have experienced and receive help from senior brothers, the Church etc and to experience love. Therefore brother, please forgive my ignorance in certain issues, particularly when it comes to theology, where here explains how the disagreement with Communio Sanctorum came about during the Reformation, and in which this maybe more of help: - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Communion_of_Saints and http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Intercession_of_saints

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Nov 19 2012, 10:44 AM)
Erm don't be surprise, some pastors also.

But I notice that God uses people who depend on Him totally even though they seems to exhibit weakness.

God will come in and fill you up when you admit your weaknesses, not your strength.

It takes humility to admit before God, I'm not strong and I don't think I can do it without you God.

Just need simple Faith. That's all. A mustard seed Faith is powerful enough for God to work through you.
Yes Alvin, it is true to what Unknown Warrior advises. Always remember 'Thy will, not mine, be done'
You did state that u have 50-60 yr old sisters who are still single, serving the Lord. How do you know that in their hearts are empty? if you notice my previous reply (advice), perhaps some are extremely happy serving the Lord, it is their vocation.

"When I am weak, then I am strong"; "power made perfect in weakness. The key to the mystery of strength made perfect in weakness is the cross of Christ. The Father's love sent his Son to die for us to defeat the power of evil in human nature: that's the heart of the Christian story. We do not worship a deistic God, an absentee landlord who ignores his slum; we worship a garbageman God who came right down into our worst garbage to clean it up.

Even non-Christians like the great Chinese mystic and poet Lao Tze seem to have understood the mystery of strength made perfect in weakness quite profoundly, at least in some of its aspects, without knowing Christ or the cross.

This weakness is the very power of God, the secret of God's omnipotence. God is not omnipotent because he can create a universe or perform miracles. God is omnipotent because he is love, because he can yield to himself, because he can be weak. No theist but a Christian understands the secret of omnipotence. A God who is only one cannot be totally omnipotent.

Only the Trinity, only the God who can continually empty himself to himself, can be omnipotent.

We usually think of the Father as the source of omnipotence, but all three persons are necessary for omnipotence. Omnipotence arises only when we come to the Spirit, who is the love between Father and Son for each other.

When this Spirit enters us, the whole Trinity enters us, and lives his life in and through us. The glorious cross of the eternal Trinity and the bloody cross of Calvary mingle in our souls and lives as we participate in the joy of divine love and in the suffering of divine redemption.

And remember, you bring your spouse to union with Christ, therefore God should be and is always 1st (the 1st commandment), not that you bring God to see how you have faith and works - that you now have attracted a wife.

and yes, I may be long-winded, bear with me smile.gif

This post has been edited by Jedi: Nov 19 2012, 03:21 PM
Jedi
post Nov 19 2012, 03:29 PM

Pax Et Bonum
2,245 posts

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Nov 19 2012, 09:24 AM)
I claim many Christians do not fully understand Righteousness by Faith and not of works.

Especially when you quoted James 5:16 and  2 Peter 1:4, I already more or less understand where you missed out in understanding the scripture.

Go back through the old pages, at least 30-40 pages back or just search by my post, I have written very extensive devotion on this.
Yes, unfortunately I do not have the time to browse many pages for now (give me a few weekends). I really like your sharing on Faith.
However, for Christians, Faith must go hand-in-hand with works - I shall come back with this during the weekend okay? thank you!

Peace be with you all. Have a blessed weekend ahead.
Jedi
post Nov 23 2012, 05:13 AM

Pax Et Bonum
2,245 posts

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Nov 21 2012, 12:13 PM)
Hello guys need help.

What is the main different between Christian and catholic?

Just for my knowledge. Pastor ask this question and i don't know how to answer also.
привет olga, give me one more day, I will add more to what Unknown Warrior has said, and to try my best to tell you. TGIF tomorrow and I have more time.

QUOTE(FantaPeach @ Nov 21 2012, 04:42 PM)
Hi Warrior,

I am actually a Catechumen and yet to become a Catholic. I am undergoing RCIA class now. From there, I get to know quite a number of catholic friends from all-walks-of-life . Besides, my hubby who is a Catholic himself was quite involved in some parish church activities. Hence, I get to know some neighbours who are Catholics. Every weekend, we will organise bible reading session at one of our house and thereafter will be fellowship session.

Everyday, I will receive some Catholic news or material from my friends. Should you wish to be in my forwarding list, kindly send me your email address via message system here.

May the Lord guide you smile.gif Happy to see this from me a catholic myself , I will pass materials to you via PM, in addition to what this thread has to offer smile.gif

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Nov 21 2012, 04:48 PM)
lol, you summon me, i summon the Holy Spirit for help, because all knowledge of truth comes from Him.
Erm, that link provided by Skydrake pretty much cover the difference.

There are a few things in Catholicism which I know of.

1. They have extra books in the Bible (canons or Apocrypha) which the Protestant discarded due to historical inaccuracies, fables and contradictions like the book of Tobit which emphasize works or self effort which contradict the meaning of grace in the book of Romans.  - we have 7 'extra', or in another words, Luther took away 7 books deem not important, hence I am not sure what is the correct term, but RCC Bible is most complete?! no to start a flame war dont worry brothers and sis

2. They believe in Prayer of the Saints and to Mary.

3. They consider Mary as the Mother of God, Queen of Heaven's Saint.

4. They believe Sin can be absolve through confessions to priests.

5. Very Ritualistic and the religious practise like burning of incense, basically it's very religion base as oppose to relationship base.

6. They believe in a temporary Heaven call purgatory

7. They believe the Pope is the supreme Authority in the Body of Christ

8. They believe Salvation need to be attained through works. - we believe Salvation is attained through BOTH faith and works.

9. They have laws like Canon law (Catholics), Catechism of the Catholic Church (CCC), 10 commandments, papal decrees and orders.

10. Can't think of any more, <feel free to add>
These are the few things that I believe does not fall in line with the Gospel of Christ.

Because I've always emphasize this which the RCC seem to ignore, The Gospel of Christianity is really about God's begotten son. The main story in the Old Testament and New Testament is about the love, grace and the redemption of Jesus Christ and No one else.

Some of the RCC revered the saint and mary to a divine state and is almost put side by side along with Jesus Christ. Of course some may say they are treated as secondary channel or backup to speed up the process of prayer but I find that hard to reconcile to the scripture. It's not there.

But never the less they are still Christians. There are charismatic/protestant Catholics who broke away from RCC. The key difference are doctrines and practises.

We shouldn't distance ourselves from Catholics as they are still our brother and sisters in Christ as well. We love them as our own.

At best, try to avoid condemning them, but walk with love.

Only be careful of the difference of doctrines. That's all.
Great, I like this post, I shall explain , with time, God willing, to my best to all these differences by concise, refined articles - as opposed to the TLDR Intercession of the Saints I did for all who to view better.
and to Olga as well.

Thanks be to God the ceasefire is now official in Gaza-Palestine.

Jedi
post Nov 23 2012, 02:18 PM

Pax Et Bonum
2,245 posts

QUOTE(hotjake @ Nov 23 2012, 12:45 PM)
sickness come from?
from sin. Men fell off grace, hence we become corrupt.

Medically speaking, it comes from bacteria viruses fungi

Routinely, it comes from external factor improper diet, lack of exercise, our lives - stress, smoking? alcohol?, internal factor : genetics, family history

but we Christians know very well, also all Abrahamaic religion, that it results from sin.
Jedi
post Nov 24 2012, 12:54 AM

Pax Et Bonum
2,245 posts

QUOTE(imin @ Nov 23 2012, 03:21 PM)
any comment about this statement?

One Scripture tells me that Jesus is not God because Jesus himself defined who is God and who isn't. Jesus prayed to the Father in John 17:3-"And this is the way to have eternal Life, by knowing you, the Only True God, and Jesus Christ, the one you sent to earth". When Jesus already defined who is the Only God, then he has already defined who isn't God, which is everybody else. So, Jesus did say in that scripture that he is not God.
In addition, (to add up on what Unknown Warrior has said, I will draw the 28th Sunday in Ordinary Time little sermon that I give to my Catholic Christian Fellowship student group (now 35th)

Mk 10:17-30

As Jesus was setting out on a journey, a man ran up,
knelt down before him, and asked him,
"Good teacher, what must I do to inherit eternal life?"
Jesus answered him, "Why do you call me good?

No one is good but God alone.
You know the commandments: You shall not kill;
you shall not commit adultery;
you shall not steal;
you shall not bear false witness;
you shall not defraud;
honor your father and your mother."
He replied and said to him,
"Teacher, all of these I have observed from my youth."
Jesus, looking at him, loved him and said to him,
"You are lacking in one thing.
Go, sell what you have, and give to the poor
and you will have treasure in heaven; then come, follow me."
At that statement his face fell,
and he went away sad, for he had many possessions.

Commentary:

The Gospel reading left much for us to ponder. Let us check the first two lines, the man came up to Jesus. Why Jesus? Why not Bruce Wayne the Batman? Why not Liam Neeson? Ok serious, why not other rabbis or teachers of that time? here are plenty.

hmmm, the moment of our conception, God has placed a longing in our hearts. St Augustine says, 'You have made us for yourself, and our heart is restless until it rests in you.” It is natural for man to seek God. All of our striving for truth and happiness is ultimately a search for the one who supports us absolutely, satisfies us absolutely, and employs us absolutely in his service. A person is not completely himself until he has found God. “Anyone who seeks truth seeks God, whether or not he realizes it” (St. Edith Stein). In this reading, the man is longing for a guide from the Divine Being.

And then he called Jesus GOOD. - He hears within himself the voice of conscience, which urges him to what is good and warns him against what is evil. Anyone who follows this path reasonably finds God. - why on this context? lets look at the following paragraph.

Jesus answered him, "Why do you call me good? No one is good but God alone. Christ gave a very clever answer. Jesus here rebuking the man for calling Him good and thereby denying His deity? No.

Rather, He is using a penetrating question to push the man to think through the implications of his own words (not just out of respect), to understand the concept of Jesus’ goodness and, most especially, the man’s lack of

goodness. The young ruler "went away sad" (Mark 10:22) because he realized that although he had devoted himself to keeping the commandments, he had failed to keep the first and greatest of the commandments—love the

LORD your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength (Matthew 22:37-38). The man’s riches were of more worth to him than God, and thus he was not "good" in the eyes of God.

Jesus’ fundamental lesson here is that goodness flows not from a man’s deeds, but rather from God Himself. Jesus invites the man to follow Him, the only means of doing good by God’s ultimate standard. Jesus describes to the

young ruler what it means to follow Him—to be willing to give up everything, thus putting God first. When one considers that Jesus is drawing a distinction between man’s standard of goodness and God’s standard, it becomes

clear that following Jesus is good. The command to follow Christ is the definitive proclamation of Christ’s goodness. Thus, by the very standard Jesus is exhorting the young ruler to adopt, Jesus is good. And it necessarily follows

that if Jesus is indeed good by this standard, Jesus is implicitly declaring His deity.

The logic can thus be summarized as follows:
1: Jesus claims only God is good.
2: Jesus claims to be good.
3: Therefore, Jesus claims to be God. <---where the man reasonably finds on his path
, in his quest of longing for Divine Love, he found the Divine Being from whom, Divine Love flows.

Jedi
post Nov 24 2012, 01:01 AM

Pax Et Bonum
2,245 posts

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Nov 23 2012, 04:25 PM)
Since when God can be contained within the boundary of logic?

an omnipotent God who exist outside of time and is above natural elements?
Read this.

God the Father, Jesus and the Holy Spirit are all one. Moslems and the world will have a hard time understanding this trinity. But I just point that as trying to limit God in the box of our human thinking. If you can accept there's nothing impossible for God, then it's also fair for you to accept that God can co-exist in any form He desires. Back in the time of Moses, God came in the form of burning fire. He also came in the form of pillars of cloud to guide the Israelites through the wilderness.
To follow the Mat 17-30 I posted: this is exactly what Jesus said after the 'rich' guy left, refusing to leave everything behind and follow Jesus.

Jesus looked around and said to his disciples,
"How hard it is for those who have wealth
to enter the kingdom of God!"
The disciples were amazed at his words.
So Jesus again said to them in reply,
"Children, how hard it is to enter the kingdom of God!
It is easier for a camel to pass through the eye of a needle
than for one who is rich to enter the kingdom of God."
They were exceedingly astonished and said among themselves,
"Then who can be saved?"
Jesus looked at them and said,
"For human beings it is impossible, but not for God.
All things are possible for God."

Peter began to say to him,
"We have given up everything and followed you."
Jesus said, "Amen, I say to you,
there is no one who has given up house or brothers or sisters
or mother or father or children or lands
for my sake and for the sake of the gospel
who will not receive a hundred times more now in this present age:
houses and brothers and sisters
and mothers and children and lands,
with persecutions, and eternal life in the age to come."

the comments for this passage are answered by Unknown Warrior at least 50%, in the part of self-glorification and humility. We always want to fly before we can walk, arent we? But we are actually able to crawl only, and before we fly, we must SERVE - learn to walk. smile.gif

so you see, Christ came down as full God, full man, He is the King, but the King He meants, is not the human King who sits on a humanly throne. This is also why Jews refuse to accept Jesus as the Messiah, because they expected someone more glorious, full of glory u can say, to come to this world and save their nation (from the Romans at that time).
It also has a rumor that Judas betrayed Christ, because Judas was expecting a glorious King, and not Jesus. Hence he accepted the 30 pieces of silver because he lost faith in his teacher.

Jews will nevertheless, see Christ in His full glory on the 2nd coming of Christ which will be their First - during the end of times, and we Christians will see the 2nd coming.

This post has been edited by Jedi: Nov 24 2012, 01:04 AM
Jedi
post Nov 24 2012, 03:42 AM

Pax Et Bonum
2,245 posts

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Nov 19 2012, 10:20 PM)
The Catholics are still preserving traditions and rituals as in the days of old Testament. That's why you practise sacraments and rituals. But you'll hardly hear this passage of the scripture below, preach in the RCC. - what? we preach the Gospel - 1st reading, 2nd reading, Gospel reading in Masses, albeit only in a ritualistic manner however u may call it

Hebrews 8:6-7
But the ministry Jesus has received is as superior to theirs as the covenant of which he is mediator is superior to the old one, and it is founded on better promises. For if there had been nothing wrong with that first covenant, no place would have been sought for another.

Here the Holy Spirit on purpose mention the Covenant of the OT is faulty and has something wrong . You can see the verse above and below.

I have no qualms, Jesus is indeed the new and ever-lasting covenant. The only thing we differ is about Jesus handling the keys of heaven to Peter, and upon this Rock - this giant stumbling rock to RCC n Protestant  vmad.gif that He passed down authority for Church to continue His mission, under the guidance of Holy Spirit. and for you, like you said, only Christ as the covenant, not the authority of Popes - Peter the first - as Vicar of Christ on earth.

Hebrews 8:8
But God found fault with the people and said: "The time is coming, declares the Lord, when I will make a new covenant with the house of Israel and with the house of Judah.

Hebrews 8:13
By calling this covenant "new," he has made the first one obsolete; and what is obsolete and ageing will soon disappear

It is link to the verse below where it talks about priest of old representing the people to God. God has made that covenant obsolete.

Hebrews 10:11 says.
Day after day every priest stands and performs his religious duties; again and again he offers the same sacrifices, which can never take away sins.

The reason priest need to stand is because they can never rest, for their work is not perfect is will never appease God perfectly. Jesus on the hand as our High Priest sat down at the right hand of God because his sacrifice is perfect and acceptable to God. He does not need to offer to God over and over again just like the priests of old. He sat down indicating his work is a complete finished atonement.

Therefore based on this scripture, Jesus is our High Priest today interceding on our behalf to the Father. Not human priest. Not saints, neither Mary.

We RCCs also agree on this one. Our sacrifices are indeed not worthy. In masses RCC proclaim: May the Lord accept our sacrifices at Your hands, for the praise and glory of His name, for our good, and the good of all His Church.
But, I think when it comes to the matter of eucharist, it is Christ's body. It is not our sacrifice. Hence I am willing to discuss this on another time, to clear this misconception - about Christ, not human. and the priest as Persona Christi when it comes to Eucharist, not human sacrifices like the old Pharisees.

Hebrews 7:26-28

26 For it was fitting for us to have such a high priest, holy, innocent, undefiled, separated from sinners and exalted above the heavens; 27 who does not need daily, like those high priests, to offer up sacrifices, first for His own sins and then for the sins of the people, because this He did once for all when He offered up Himself. 28 For the law appoints as high priests men who are weak; but the oath, which came after the law, appointed the Son, who has been made perfect forever.

The passage here gives the idea that it is fitting that only Jesus becomes our High Priest. The Holy Spirit purposely mention under the Law of the Old Covenant, the 10 commandments and law of Leviticus, Man who becomes Priest to represent us to God, they are called weak. The word weak means not as divine as Jesus.

So to say The saints are full of grace, divine or highly favoured and hence you still need them to practice the traditions of old, you're in essence not putting yourself under the New Covenant but of the Old which is obsolete.
Not supported in scripture,  brother. This is man's reasoning. The Catholics mainly rely on this logic, ]I agree with you. It is not written explicitly. whatever that is not explicit, Christians should not practice. That is your stand am i Right? - at least what protestants think, only obey and take what is biblical. So we will end this discussion bec I hold no theological knowledge (degree) to give a better explanation, but all I can say is, no harm trying. I tried, it works. U try? - it would be like blasphemy for you  sad.gif To God, never is. IMO at least. I give glory to God, and I give thanks to the Saints in heaven who care for the Saints on earth. so bro, its ok smile.gif at least I learn here Protestants do not practice, bec it is not explicitly written, I thought they just know how to bash RCCs with their knowledge of scriptres TBH before this discussion

If my prayer are not answered, I need to pray to the saint as backup or to speed it up. Bro I can fully understand the need for answer to prayer but it must be based on scriptures. This idea of praying to the saints actually denotes that Jesus is NOT the only mediator which is already contradiction. It's very hard to justify 1 Timothy 2:5. You can give 100 solid reasons but it still contradicts the meaning of one mediator. One mediator is one mediator.

Besides, it can sideline to a dangerous heresy. In the sense you put your Faith more on the saint rather on God or Jesus.
The Bible says very clearly

Jeremiah 17:5
This is what the LORD says: "Cursed is the one who trusts in man, who depends on flesh for his strength and whose heart turns away from the LORD.

You cannot deny there's this tendency to revered Apostles and Mary on the same level as Jesus by practising this. Now I didn't use the word worship but you can see how it's very possible to end up as such. That could lead to idolatry.
Well you said this.

"But asking for intercession (1 Timothy 2:1) from live, holy people is very biblical, due to the power they have (James 5:16, 2 Peter 1:4)." - Its my bad, sorry. maybe productive? is a better word.

Yes we are all Forgiven in Christ, justified and righteous by Faith. Not of your works. I can point this on tons of scripture verses that is in line with this.

Therefore your prayer can be akin to prayer of Man righteous as in James 5:16 when you based your righteousness by Faith in the finish work of Christ.

You are THAT righteous man and in turn your prayer is powerful and effective.

The only problem is that, do you have Faith to believe that? Bro, I ask you to pray for me to have this Faith, the wisdom to seek this faith in Lord. I would not say I am a righteous man. But I can say, I want to, and I am trying my very best, to reach this level.At times, I may lose the strength to persevere, only to see through with His grace. you are senior to me by decades of age perhaps - I am 21, so, pray for me smile.gif

If you cannot believe that and need to rely on your obedience or good works to be deemed as a righteous Man, then the foundation of your doctrine is already lost. Your righteousness falls on your works which is of the flesh or self effort. I call that self glorification towards God which is not biblical because the rest of this world's religion work in the same manner.

and I would say judge not, my works, but my Faith. My works, I give glory to God, and I ask strength to do more in His name, and for Him whenever possible, with His strength, within my means. Works of my own flesh, I pray not, I pray to understand than to be understood, to love than to be loved.

And You cannot use the scripture in James where it says Faith without works is dead, because that scripture is use to justify for doing the work of God in the context of Love which of course need action and not just mere empty talks. That's why it says, Show me your faith without deeds, and I will show you my faith by what I do. Faith and action works hand in hand. But the key point in all scripture of the New Covenant is that only our Faith is credited as righteousness.

and if so, we believe in the same thing, and we defend the same faith (RCC and Protestants). The misconception would be: RCC work their way to heaven by their own flesh, but the truth is, we too, give glory and thanks to God, works by His grace.

Jedi
post Nov 24 2012, 04:00 AM

Pax Et Bonum
2,245 posts

Discussion with Unknown Warrior (1st Post)

Protestants:“Good Works have nothing to do with getting into heaven. Faith alone is what gets you into heaven.” (Some) Protestants don't believe in the necessity of good works for salvation (faith alone). Catholics believe that good works are a necessary fruit of one's faith.

Catholics and Orthodox: ''Faith must go hand in hand with works for a Christian, to get into heaven''

Misconception: Some Protestants think that Catholics add beliefs to what is necessary for salvation; Catholics believe that Protestants subtract beliefs as to what is necessary for salvation.

The real confusion which I found out today afterall: works of flesh or works of faith? rclxub.gif

First before we go on, I must say you have right it very clearly yourself, and I agree with 95% of it : by bolding what you wrote (apart from 1 article). I even saved many of it to my additions for future reference and share with people!!. I also conclude that after all that is being justified by others in the name of RCC/Protestant, we actually hold the same belief, unless, the person is adamant and understands the scriptures differently than an ordinary Christian or holds himself superior in interpretation. I will write why I agree on my next post as I plan to also put an article here for our bros n sis to clear this misconception wink.gif

Now to go on to some of your quotes which I really like, thank you for sharing smile.gif must have helped many many people who viewed them : (I will go in retro manner by timeline and at times not in order, to page no 150)

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Nov 8 2012, 12:31 AM)
I want share a revelation why our salvation is justified by faith and not effort in the flesh.
And I thank God, He has foreseen, that faith alone is able and will bring us out far better than our effort will be able to.

Most of us think that when we are fully obedient to God, we are saved from condemnation due to our own mistakes.
Hence deserve to partake Jesus sacrifice at the cross. I believe most Christians will think like this.
As long as I don't lie, don't watch porn, don't doubt, don't curse, don't lust at woman,
don't do this or that <insert whatever don't s >, I'm in a safe zone before God.
God can't judge against me for the things I didn't do.

What we don't sometime realize is that none of us are perfect. Myself included.
I don't think there's anyone on Planet Earth who is able to perfectly control his/her own emotion, thoughts or actions.
There are times we will fall in our journey of a Christian life. So to speak, missed the mark of grace. So what happens then?

I will tell you what happens next. We will feel a distance between us and God.
We will feel we are unworthy to come near to God because we have sinned.
The greater the sin, the greater we distance ourselves.

And Here is the solution : to sin, disconnection from grace. Faith is the answer.

Our effort may fail us from time to time. It takes time to grow and mature in the spirit, doesn't happen over night.
So when you fall from grace, the feeling of guilt and condemnation is there. To rely on effort, might cause a sense of hopelessness.
Under the New Covenant, The Bible have never supported once that we are justified by works for Righteousness but in fact discourage us to look to our works but 100% on Faith.

The Bible says we are transformed by the renewing of our mind, it didn't say by our effort. (Romans 12:2 )
So be transformed by believing. Right believing will lead to right living. Our transformation starts when we think right.

Have Faith in what Jesus has done for us. His sacrifice at the cross for your sins and mine has been finished.
Jesus cried out,"it is finished!" (John 19:30). Your Salvation is complete and finished at the cross, regardless of what you have done.

That is why the Bible says in

Hebrews 9:12
He did not enter by means of the blood of goats and calves; but he entered the Most Holy Place once for all by his own blood, having obtained eternal redemption.

1 Peter 3:18
For Christ died for sins once for all, the righteous for the unrighteous, to bring you to God. He was put to death in the body but made alive by the Spirit,

Jesus Sacrifice at the cross for you sins according to Hebrews 9:12 is eternal redemption. Stop for a moment, what is it saying here?
Your Salvation is eternal redemption. You cannot lose your Salvation. When you believe and have Faith in that, your repentance comes effortlessly.
You don't have to force it. The more you are conscious that you've been forgiven for past, current and future sins, your obedience and repentance comes as a fruit of the Holy Spirit! AMEN! Your Salvation is secure and assured.

I see All Churches that is Christ centred belongs to God as the head. And God uses different members for different purposes.  - Nov 6 - here, the vine and branch which bro also stated: refer my next post (article)

Galatians 5:6 Nov 3rd
But No, according to this verse in Galatians 5:4, if you try to justify yourself with the Law of the OT, you have fallen away from grace.
But if you read in the book of Romans, our Righteousness is given to us as a gift. (Romans 3:22) So Why are we still trying to earn it?
And all the while, I submit to you, people interpreted that as, oh I must obey in order to be righteous or to get blessings. - Simony
our Faith expressed through Love. Why Love? Because when we walk in love, one it fulfils all the requirement of the Law of OT (Galatians 5:14)

New Covenant Blessings Oct 31st I seriously hope this devotion will set you free. For you to know, it is your Faith that act as the foundation to your blessings. Your works or your obedience has been reassigned to love others.

Start Loving others as how Christ Loves the lost. - Oct 28th The power of loving others keeps you in victory

QUOTE(kendrickkeng @ Nov 21 2012, 05:27 PM)
the excellence of LOVE  thumbup.gif
1 Corinthians 13:4-13 NASB
1 Corinthians 13:4-13 NKJV

13 And now abide faith, hope, love, these three; but the greatest of these is love. - not faith  cool2.gif 
QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Nov 21 2012, 07:02 PM)
ha, i like this. it talks about the gospel of Jesus grace.

Bible Verses
Luke 2:40 And the little child [Jesus] grew and became strong, being filled with wisdom, and the grace of God was upon Him.
Col. 2:3 In whom [Christ] all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge are hidden.

Words of Ministry
Verse 40 says that as the Man-Savior was growing, He was being filled with wisdom. This wisdom, which came from the Savior's deity, was revealed in proportion to the measure of His bodily growth. Verse 40 also tells us that the grace of God was upon Him. As a Man, even Jesus needed the grace of God for His human life. He was filled with wisdom from His deity, and He needed the grace of God for His humanity. As God, the Man-Savior did not need grace. However, as a Man He needed the grace of God. Therefore, we are told in verse 40 that the grace of God was upon Him.

As human beings, we all need God's wisdom and grace. Wisdom is related to the way of doing things, and grace, to the power, the ability, to carry out those things. In our living we first need the way to do a particular thing; then we need the power to do it. Wisdom is the way, and grace is the power. We need wisdom in order to have the proper way. However, wisdom itself is not enough. We also need grace. If we do not have grace, we shall not have the power, strength, or energy to carry out a certain matter in the proper way. But we may have God's wisdom for our way and God's grace for our power, strength, and energy. The Man Jesus lived in God's wisdom and grace. You underlined it yourself.  brows.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Nov 21 2012, 10:44 PM)
Praying and trusting God while you continue doing your daily work and not worrying about your circumstances IS DOING something in the eyes of God. icon_rolleyes.gif  Not worrying IS pointing your Gun shooting the Bullet at the Devil, spiritually speaking. God will work when you have submissive trust in Him.
Shalom brother.
QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Nov 22 2012, 10:32 AM)
How to increase Faith.
In the book of Luke, when the apostle asked Jesus how to increase their Faith, I think the first thing a lot of people
would think is to conjure up more Faith in them. To gather more Faith in oneself is equivalent to increasing Faith. But that's not what our Lord said.

He said, If you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to this mulberry tree, ‘Be uprooted and planted in the sea,’ and it will obey you.

Jesus is saying in essence, if you want your Faith to increase, it's not about conjuring Faith in oneself but to issues command to your circumstances.

It's not always about quoting verses or prayer, though of course they are applicable but in this instance, Jesus teaches us to command.

Based on this scripture verse, we are to issue commands to our natural circumstances to change.

For example, if you have a health condition? Command it to be uprooted by it's root and be planted in the sea. Amen.

if you have financial situation, command your debts to be uprooted by it's root and be planted in the sea in Jesus Name.

I believe the reason Why the Holy Spirit mentioned to be up rooted by your roots is because when roots are remove, the whole symptoms are absolved.

God does not want Half Solutions to our problem. He wants total solutions and wholeness. Amen.

I remember a sister once asked me, how to increase Faith?

Well here is your answer. Start commanding!
- Start give water to your mustard seed!

Well you may say, but I have no Faith!

Sister, you just need a mustard seed Faith. It's very Small but it's enough for God to work powerfully in your commands!

Command it and believe it and you shall have it in Jesus Name.

Hope this helps you.

God Bless.
and by the great jihadist of Christendom notworthy.gif
QUOTE(prophetjul @ Oct 22 2012, 02:58 PM)
There should Not be any PROFIT in doing something for someone we love.

The greatest example is when Jesus died for us. He did not profit from GIivng and OBEying.

This is the greatest love, that someone should lay down his life for another.

Salvic Grace is the gving of salvation inspite of what we are, sinners appointed for wrath.

Obedience is reciprocal to that love shown by God to us. We love because He first loved us.
It is also His grace and power which enables us to OBEY.
Jedi
post Nov 24 2012, 04:39 AM

Pax Et Bonum
2,245 posts

Continuation from 1st:

Protestants:“Good Works have nothing to do with getting into heaven. Faith alone is what gets you into heaven.” (Some) Protestants don't believe in the necessity of good works for salvation (faith alone). Catholics believe that good works are a necessary fruit of one's faith.

Catholics and Orthodox: ''Faith must go hand in hand with works for a Christian, to get into heaven''

Misconception: Some Protestants think that Catholics add beliefs to what is necessary for salvation; Catholics believe that Protestants subtract beliefs as to what is necessary for salvation.

The real confusion which I found out today afterall: works of flesh or works of faith?
rclxub.gif Must be cleared

Before I start, please correct me for my ignorance and forgive me about that. and I do this for the interest of all Christians, not to justify any sides.

Why exists this misconception?

1) The Protestant New Testament contains the same books as the Catholic New Testament. Although Luther showed great hostility to St. James's Epistle because of its doctrine of the necessity of good works and contemptuously called it an "epistle of straw," he clearly saw that he had no more reason for excluding that book than he had for rejecting the other books of the New Testament. The differences between the Protestant and Catholic New Testament arise from changes in specific passages in various books of the New Testament.

2) There are many who have pointed out that Luther added the word, "alone" to Romans 3:28 (you can read one such example in this question) so that the Luther Bible reads:
for we reckon a man to be justified by faith alone without deeds of law
where the Greek reads:
for we reckon a man to be justified by faith without deeds of law

From wiki 'Luther Bible',The word "alone" does not appear in the Greek texts,[9] but Luther defended his translation by maintaining that the adverb "alone" was required both by idiomatic German and the apostle Paul's intended meaning.

Answer: Yes and no. Yes he added it, no it is not the atrocity that it necessarily implies.

Part of Luther's defense of the translation is that inclusion of the word "alone" is more grammatically correct than its exclusion.

His problem, though, is in the interpretation of the verse. If we're being true to the original Greek the passage is better understood, "of the set {faith, works of the law} man is only reconciled by faith."

Causes: Because when he was RCC Monk, He was a faithful person who did all his best to imitate the life of Christ. But he felt that something was missing. He felt that what he did was NOT ENOUGH, that people are still dying,

quarreling etc. Being a theologian and he is a professional theologian when it comes to St Paul's doctrine especially, one day he found new meaning in the Letter to the Romans. (Something like Buddha getting enlightenment)

There, he understood that his actions were in vain because he lacked faith. Then, he started to be more faithful than ever, and he did not care about actions for actions without faith is dead. But he had forgotten this, Faith without

action is equally dead.

I understand Protestants (some, who do not grasp the Scriptures properly or listen to a certain Pastor/anyone alike bashing RCCs) accuse us Catholics of trying to work our way into heaven, as if our works precede our

faith. They have it exactly backwards. Our faith precedes our works. Faith in Jesus and the resultant works go together like fire and heat. You can't have fire without heat, and you cannot have true faith in Jesus Christ without

good works. Jesus cursed the barren fig tree in Matthew 21:19 because it didn't bear fruit. Yes, it was a fig tree with leaves, but a useless fig tree because it didn't do what it was supposed to do - bear fruit.

Good works are the fruit of our faith, according to Paul in Colossians 1:10.

Jewish works of the law, which Paul condemns in Romans 3:28, are not good works.

James 2:24 PLAINLY says - You see that a man is justified by works and not by faith alone.

Matthew 5:16 commands us all to do good works as a way to let our light shine before men, so as to give glory to God.

In Matthew 25, at the final judgment, only the people who performed good works got into heaven (Matthew 25:31-46). The people who did not were banished into hell. In those verses, Jesus said that whatever we do for the least of our brethren, we do to HIM.

Matthew 7:21 says "Not every one who says to me, `Lord, Lord,' shall enter the kingdom of heaven, but he who does the will of my Father who is in heaven." (In other words, one has to do the good

works prescribed in Matthew 25:31-46!)

In the book of James, God declares through Scripture that faith without works is dead (James 2:14-17). Who wants dead faith? Dead faith is no faith at all. True faith in Jesus has good works embedded in it. Paul says that

scripture makes you complete by equipping you for every good work (2 Timothy 3:16-17).

Paul also says in Colossians 1:10 that good works are the fruit of our faith;

This is so important because

Jesus cursed the fig tree in Matthew 21:19 because it did not bear any fruit, and in Matthew 7:19 Jesus says that every tree that does not bear good fruit is to be cut down AND THROWN INTO THE FIRE.

Jesus says that we will do greater works than He did (John 14:12). The only useless kind of works are old Jewish works of the law (Galatians 3:10), like circumcision, ritual hand washing, and dietary laws.
These useless works of the law are certainly not good works, which we have to do as a result of our faith in Jesus Christ, and which we were created for (Ephesians 2:10).

Hebrews 10:24 says to stir up one another to "love and good works", which indicates that love and good works GO TOGETHER.

1 Timothy 6:18 says that the rich are to also be rich in good deeds, so that they can attain heaven.

Titus 3:8 says that those who believe in God must do good deeds, because they are excellent and profitable.

Therefore, Catholics, just like Jesus Christ and his apostles, don’t do good works in order to be saved; rather, we do good works because that is what Jesus expects us to do if we truly have faith in Him. Doing good

deeds is the imitation of Christ's life on earth, who raised the dead, healed the crippled, and made the blind see. St. Paul says that there are three things that abide; faith, hope, and love, and THE GREATEST of these is LOVE,

not faith - reminder (1 Corinthians 13:13)
. Faith in Jesus Christ and the resultant good works go together like heat and light from a flame! Pretty hard to separate those two?!

To sum up, echoing what Unknown Warrior shared with brothers and sisters alike here, meaning RCCs and Protestants should hold the same Truth

solution : to sin, disconnection from grace. Faith is the answer.
our Faith expressed through Love. Why Love? Because when we walk in love, one it fulfils all the requirement of the Law of OT (Galatians 5:14)
For you to know, it is your Faith that act as the foundation to your blessings. Your works or your obedience has been reassigned to love others.
Praying and trusting God while you continue doing your daily work and not worrying about your circumstances IS DOING something in the eyes of God.

I remember a sister once asked me, how to increase Faith?
Well here is your answer. Start commanding! - Start give water to your mustard seed!

and by prophetjul: Obedience is reciprocal to that love shown by God to us. - How do you obey? Guess you guys know that answer  nod.gif  (You know what, not Lord club party sex drugs)
So, my dear bros, if Faith is the Door,

Entering the Door (receiving faith), you see God, our Lord Jesus, you go and kneel/hug him etc (JOY and ELATION) = receiving grace

One who opens the door, HOWEVER, may decide to ENTER or NOT TO ENTER.

U may have faith (u open the door), to receive Grace if you truly have faith is another matter. One can proclaim Lord Lord but doing things that is not in the name of the Lord.

Faith + Grace = Fruits, Works of Law Faith

Thank you, for viewing and may God bless you all. and Thank you, Unknown Warrior, for your sharing. God willing, one day, if you ever come to Penang, I shall treat you a big one smile.gif

This post has been edited by Jedi: Nov 24 2012, 04:54 AM
Jedi
post Nov 24 2012, 05:28 AM

Pax Et Bonum
2,245 posts

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Nov 21 2012, 12:13 PM)
Hello guys need help.

What is the main different between Christian and catholic?

Just for my knowledge. Pastor ask this question and i don't know how to answer also.
QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Nov 21 2012, 04:48 PM)
lol, you summon me, i summon the Holy Spirit for help, because all knowledge of truth comes from Him.
Erm, that link provided by Skydrake pretty much cover the difference.

There are a few things in Catholicism which I know of.

1. They have extra books in the Bible (canons or Apocrypha) which the Protestant discarded due to historical inaccuracies, fables and contradictions like the book of Tobit which emphasize works or self effort which contradict the meaning of grace in the book of Romans.  If interested, Refer http://www.cathtruth.com/catholicbible/cathprot.htm

2. They believe in Prayer of the Saints and to Mary. (Some Protestants think that saints are dead and don't know what's going on down here on earth. Dead in the body = dead in the soul, they think.  Catholics believe that saints are very much alive, know what we are presently enduring, present our prayers to God,  and are equal to the angels.)

3. They consider Mary as the Mother of God, Queen of Heaven's Saint. (Some Protestants see Mary as an ordinary person, just like everyone else. Catholics see Mary as being handpicked by God to be the vessel of God’s Incarnation , the Mother of God who was always full of grace, the New Eve (who reversed Eve's action), a Woman Clothed with the sun who fights satan, and Our Mother.  In other words, like Gabriel said BEFORE the incarnation, The Lord IS WITH Thee!) as Tertullian, Early Church thinker put it: Into a virgin’s soul, in like manner, must be introduced that Word of God which was to raise the fabric of life; so that what had been reduced to ruin by this sex - might be the selfsame sex be recovered to salvation.

He means Eve ^ fall to sin, and Mary (we RCC would say: the New Eve as Christ is the New Adam: vessel for salvation of sin (Genesis 3:15) )

4. They believe Sin can be absolve through confessions to priests.

5. Very Ritualistic and the religious practise like burning of incense, basically it's very religion base as oppose to relationship base. (When you have relationship with your girlfriend/wife, you date her , propose to her and marry her officially, wear nicely, and carry your manners strictly. When it comes to every Sunday (1-2 hours/24x7 hours in 1 week), the only time you date God, when God always think about us and love us, it is also only right that one is  very particular about this/ Having said this, not to say Protestants are not strict or serious with God, but certain, fool around, offer cookies, not listening or respecting to the Pastor, picking up girls, exchanging flirts - Forgive me, for I judged. But..I saw it myself and while I enjoy protestant sermons most of the times, I deplore what those black-sheep followers do. oh well, problem of men, not of God. RCC has problems as well - i.e sleep in church so yeah,  sweat.gif )

6. They believe in a temporary Heaven call purgatory - The Second Book of Maccabees: besides purgatory, and of prayers and sacrifices for the dead (12:39-46) (rejected, not in Protestant Bible, given apocryphal (2nd place) and uninspired in Lutheran, Anglican Bible)

7. They believe the Pope is the supreme Authority in the Body of Christ. (Some Protestants believe in something called "the invisible church", which is a body of believers around the world who truly believe and follow Jesus Christ. The term "invisible church" is not found in the bible.  Catholics are part of a very visible and active worldwide Church.)

8. They believe Salvation need to be attained through works. - Some Protestants don't believe in the necessity of good works for salvation (faith alone).  Catholics believe that good works are a necessary fruit of one's faith.

9. They have laws like Canon law (Catholics), Catechism of the Catholic Church (CCC), 10 commandments, papal decrees and orders. (Some Protestants believe that the Bible is self explanatory, a doctrine that is not found in the Bible. Catholic believe that the Church, the creator and originator of the Bible through the inspiration of the Holy Spirit, has the authority to properly interpret scripture.) c) Some Protestants believe that the Bible alone is the pillar of truth. Catholics believe The Church is the Pillar of Truth, and the Church uses its Bible like a University uses its textbooks - to teach those hungry for the Word. d) Some Protestants see things as "either/or  - You must love Jesus, but not Mary or the saints.  "Faith alone" and "Scripture alone" are how they view salvation. Catholics certainly believe in loving Jesus, faith and scripture,  but also include the necessities of the Church, Sacred Tradition, the Magesterium, the communion of saints, the sacraments, love, hope, charity, etc.

10. Some Protestants think that every Christian is a priest (the priesthood of believers), and see nothing special about Catholic Priests.  Catholics recognize that Catholic Priests are consecrated (set apart) so that they can give us all the Eucharist and Absolution in the sacrament of confession.

11. Some Protestants believe that any and all statues in a church is idolatry. Catholics know that there were 2 statues of angels on top of the ark of the Covenant which carried the 10 commandments, that Solomon's temple had statues of cherubim in it, and that the Israelites in the desert were cured from snakebites by looking at a statue of a serpent.  It is only a sin if one worships the statue as if it were God, like when the Israelites worshiped the golden calf.

12. Mentality: Sensitivity that is. Some Protestants will give you leaflets to read that explain how they got "saved", and how they think you should also.  When Catholics give Protestants something to read, especially if it talks about the Mother of God, they will never read it, and instead will usually recoil in horror as if the devil was after them. b) Some Protestants love to quote scripture that proves their point of view is correct.  However, they do not like it when Catholics quote scripture back to them that proves the Catholic view is correct. They most likely will get offended at you for trying to evangelize them with scripture and will shut down the conversation when that happens. c) Some Protestants believe that their personal view of scripture is the only right way to interpret scripture (some might say infallible), even when it conflicts with other Protestants' view of scripture. And they will even claim that their personal view is the only correct view, at the same time they claim that no Pope can ever be infallible, because he's just a man.  And this personal interpretation of scripture flies in the face of what Peter said about it in 2 Peter 1:20!

13. From a catholic site, Catholics don't believe that salvation happens until the moment of death, because, as Paul says, it is a race that has to be run until the end. (I still believe that we are all granted Salvation, however to enter heaven directly or through Purgatory depends on our pureness)

14. Some Protestants believe that you have to have a personal relationship with Jesus Christ as your personal Lord and Savior. Catholics consume Jesus - Body, Blood, Soul, & Divinity - in the Eucharist. You can't get any more personal than that. b) Some Protestants believe that the Eucharist is only a memorial or a symbol of Jesus.  Catholics believe that the Eucharist is the physical Body and Blood of Christ, which also forgives sins.

15. Some Protestants like to say that the Catholic Church is evil because of the Inquisition and the Crusades.  They conveniently ignore all of the Catholics killed by Protestant leaders in Ireland and England, as in the Irish Martyrs and the English Martyrs.  And they will never bring up the alleged witches killed by Protestant leaders in Salem Massachusetts.  And then there was Jonestown and Waco.

16. Some Protestants like to accuse the Catholic Church of being anti-science, because of one and only one thing,  the Galileo affair (Galileo was funded by the Catholic Church, and he had not adequately proven his theory of heliocentricity to the Church.  Galileo was wrong about the earth's orbit causing the ocean tides, and he was also wrong about the earth's orbit being a perfect circle).  For the record, the Catholic Church has funded thousands of science projects throughout the centuries, including the huge Vatican Observatory. Gregor Mendel, who discovered genetics, was a Catholic priest.  The only reason any science at all made it through the dark ages was because of the Catholic Church hiding all of the textbooks from the rampaging  and pillaging Huns, Vandals, and Visigoths.  They will accuse the church of being anti science at the same time they deny scientific theories like evolution.

17. Some Protestants love to point out the church scandals with homosexual priests attacking altar boys. They will say "See - This not only proves that celibacy is wrong because it caused these attacks, but it also proves the Catholic Church is evil." However, when Protestant Pastors get caught cheating on their wives, or molesting kids in huge Protestant "compounds" in Waco, TX and other places, they don't refer to them as Protestants, but rather, as cults. They will get real offended when you refer to David Koresh, Tony Alamo, or Jim Jones as "Protestants".

18. Some Protestant pastors feel no guilt whatsoever about making huge salaries. Catholic priests do not make huge salaries.

19. Some Protestants view the Church as a meeting place of believers, for bible reading, singing, fellowship, and preaching, and they are free to pick and choose different churches based on what they personally feel to be true.  Catholics view The Church as a holy meeting place where the Eucharist and the other six sacraments are dispensed by God's priests to give us His sanctifying grace.  The first half of the Mass (prefigured in Malachi 1:11) is the Liturgy of  The Word, the second half is the Liturgy of The Eucharist.

20. Some Protestant Churches believe that you can change the definition of sin  by a simple majority vote of the elders, like with abortion, artificial birth control, and homosexuality.  They do this to be more "relevant" to the modern world.  The Catholic Church does not wish to go along to get along with the world.

21. Some Protestant Churches are pastor based churches, where the congregation loves and believes in the personal beliefs, charisma, and speaking style of their Pastor. Billboards advertising their church may have a huge picture of the pastor on the billboard.  Catholic Churches are Eucharistic-based churches, and the priest is not the main attraction. The Eucharist is.

22. Some Protestants don't really believe in biblical typology, where a person or an event in the Old Testament foreshadows a person or an event in the New Testament. Catholics see this as a primary tool of biblical exegesis.

23. Some Protestants believe that drinking wine is evil. Catholics believe that Jesus changed the water into wine at the wedding feast at Cana, and that this is a good thing. Getting drunk on wine, of course is evil. - Really?

24. Some Protestants believe that the whore of Babylon is the Catholic Church. Catholics believe that it is a city that martyred the saints, like Jerusalem. 

25. Some Protestants believe the Pope is the Antichrist. Catholics believe that the antichrist is anyone who denies that Jesus is the Christ, which would exclude every Pope. - Personally, as much as I believe in Papal Infallibility, There was once a pope who sold his seat because Papal States was bankrupt (forgot his name). That alone is very  doh.gif

26. Some Protestants do not believe in the holiness of relics.  Catholics believe that relics are sacred and have spiritual power.

27. Some Protestants do not believe that grace is administered through the seven sacraments.  Catholics believe that the sacraments are one of God's ways of delivering His grace.

adapted from http://www.catholicbible101.com/catholicprotestant.htm . IT would be a good read and considerably for your Pastor, Olga, but I do not think we should take it seriously and also to judge our brothers, sisters alike.  sad.gif  i.e in worship, some ppl like rock song, some ppl like evergreens, some ppl even like rap songs, but as long as they have the heart and soul to worship God, I see nothing wrong. In fact I really love i.e Hillsongs, Chris Tomlin, Ana Laura etc. and Humans err, that is why all of us need Christ, this I know  icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by Jedi: Nov 24 2012, 05:43 AM
Jedi
post Nov 24 2012, 03:56 PM

Pax Et Bonum
2,245 posts

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Nov 24 2012, 12:14 PM)
Fuh Jedi this is really TLBIR

(too long but I read)
lol. Will reply to you later. Got lunch appointment today.

God Bless.
Actually is just Post #3570 that is important, others are all quotes from your examples that I agree smile.gif

hehe, God bless!

on a side note: tell me what do you think of this year's Dec 21,2012 even though it is not the end of times. hmm.gif

My friend was talking with me over the phone for an hour for this issue. He worries much that if Christ comes, he is not ready. acc to my friend, the 3-day darkness of earth (where the sun will be eclipsed - can be scientifically explained) but falls too much coincidentally with Christ dying on the cross. It will happen at 3.21pm (GST?!) - Christ died around this time, and there was total darkness.
3 days, Resurrection. and the Sun will appear again. well he seems to think that after this, is a 'new' period on earth, perhaps a period of more chaos and dark times..
Of course, as Christians we should prepare always regardless of when etc even though it will not be in our lifetime, and also to look optimistically.
Jedi
post Nov 25 2012, 05:25 AM

Pax Et Bonum
2,245 posts

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Oct 24 2012, 04:16 PM)
Anyway FYI. Satan is very handsome since he is the fallen angle. Since we are Son of Daughter of God, satan is powerless against us.
This handsome? icon_idea.gif

btw, excellent posts about 10 Commandments and although quite a 'drama', it is wonderful to see how arguements bring about stronger relations btw bros n sis and a more fruitful understanding. wub.gif

the Truth indeed sets us free. Christ is the truth, therefore, when we love, we do not break the 10 commandments, that is how we, living images of Christ, should imitate on the life of Christ.

If we love for example, I love Olga. therefore someone asks me to kill Olga but why would I? 'since Olga is a female name I would use 'she' ', in this way, the commandment 'Thou shall not kill' is fulfilled. We are free from the law.

John 8:32
New International Version (NIV)
32 Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.”

Bro Unknown Warrior wants this idea conveyed basically smile.gif

Jedi
post Nov 26 2012, 12:57 AM

Pax Et Bonum
2,245 posts

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Nov 25 2012, 10:03 PM)
When you have the right foundation and believe, obedience comes naturally as a fruit, it is no longer a root for righteousness.

I hope you will share this to your friend and let the word of God set him free, Amen?

God Bless.
notworthy.gif You are a gifted preacher. I bold your last quote: it sums up what I wanted to say about we both agree faith + grace = fruits (works of faith)
but in this sermon that you give, you let me realise one more thing: faith + works still will not work, and this is why I feel unworthy of the righteousness that you ask me to feel - to believe that I am this righteous person. It all inter-connects, flowing beautifully like a music scoresheet.

yeah, i sent it to my friend. smile.gif

about ur advice to bro alvin on subconscious unforgiveness, I want to to share one of my own experience: the darkest time of my life. It is also this exp that I come to God ever closer than ever, that I understand what is weakness being made perfect in strength (of God)

I was in a relationship only once in my whole life, with a russian girl (extremely beautiful one too) 4 years ago (I study med in rus). It was my 1st year, coming out of a chinese all-boys sch, growing up in an asian env, we are used to guys courting girls. and Girls (jual mahal) and play the tom and jerry game to attract attention. Come here, I would say I am born with good looks (cute, sweet type) and I naturally attract ppl to look at me several glances. But bec of family upbringing (thank my parents), I am not one of those who go and court and want a relationship to get attention or 'glory'. In rus, girls court guys. They marry young (20-22 are prime age for marriage). Unbeknownst, they are also open-minded, outspoken. There was 1 I really like bec of her efforts to gain my attention, and would do all sorts to ask me out and help me in shopping, translating for me to rus in many things. We grew close and we just kissed (I reluctantly give and go for all out romance after her clever ways of indicating to me). At that time, I indulge in a lustful 1st kiss. and soon I am chained in this desire to want more kisses.

God, so love me, did try to warn me many many times, through all little miracles that I only found out after I was hurt (dumped) and I recalled what went wrong.
Most significant 1st miracle I tried to bring her to church, to bring her to closeness with Christ. I am a very cheerful innocent person at that time, as in I thought I can have a most perfect first love-->marriage etc she agree to come to me if not I go to hers. First time just before entering church premise, she hesitates, and kissed me. that was the first kiss where my lips bleed. (I dont know why...until I recall - God wanted me to know this is not the correct person and will lead me away, like the sacred heart of Jesus bleeding) I decided to agree to her not to enter
Other warnings include she walked past the cross and altar of church without glancing, hiding behind me and said she is afraid, during solo walk Holy Spirit tells me she will not wait for me etc etc

Anyway, its full of ups and downs. Bec I felt being used even though we kiss every time theres no satisfaction, once watch movie in room, she hinted want me to stay back and just sit there - God knows what she thinks (no XXX as I very very particular about this, till marriage), to pull myself out before its too late, I said I would get home and then she agreed. and we started to make out less . fast forward to last moments: its Good Friday. we went to christian fellowship (student group) to watch Passion of Christ together. She just refused to look at how Christ got crucified and close eyes or look down. She is afraid..or so I thought and I hold her hands and take down the cross from my neck for her to hold.
During easter, her candle was blown away, while all of us our candles are still lit (despite some slight winds) - and Holy Spirit at that time tells me, her faith is wanting. she will betray me and I will see.

3 weeks later after good friday, i wanted to invite her for authentic Chinese dinner. when I went to her room, I walked past a dark shadowy couple there making out lustfully (I used to maim myself from looking at romances of others for it induces negative thoughts or desires). it was locked, I walked away...and then, suddenly a voice called me from behind: how are u jeffrey? my name
to my horror, she was sitting there with a moroccan guy, That stunned moment: Holy Spirit repeats: she betrays you.

I just said: are you happy? and she nodded and I left , running as fast as i can, and I cried uncontrollably. flashes of memories of Crucifix of Christ and the betrayal of Peter denying 3 times (3 weeks it takes after Easter) and to think back of her refusal to see crucifix scene bec she will exactly do this to me 3 weeks later all make the more I hate her, for everything of this to come true. This is the most cruel way of dumping someone but from it, from this, Christ strengthen me to where I stand today, which I totally be grateful of. I rmb I had a depression of a few months, replacing classes when I feel better, I even think of ____ my life, for there goes my perfect dream. I couldnt bear it, I wish the 2 months faster come, so I can get home to malaysia and at least forget all these for a while. But I rmb, I am the hope of my parents, I cannot be irresponsible.

as u know we RCC believe in Sacrament of Confession. I have to make confession before I can receive Eucharist (bec its mortal sin to think of ___ life, and not to forgive). I refuse to forgive her I was full of anger, such that the priest ask me before he initiates the rite of reconcillation: do u wish to forgive her? I said no, not within this time. He did it anyway, and somehow I felt lighter, I feel calm and when I try to be angry, I could not during the Mass.
God bore all of it upon Himself. Its also a miracle this one. till now I have no explanation how I stopped to hate her. It is how I started to pick myself up. ''what i can say from this is, I firmly believe, through sacraments of RCC grace of God can be imparted to RCCs apart from what we general Christians practice''

There was even once, shortly after, I went to church after class just to sit and talk with God, crying all over. The bright lit summer day turns grey and then rains heavily when I cried to God. and I felt touched, that God still tells me then: He is always with me.
Following then, I grew closer and love God more, for He saved me, from a disaster that could have been worse. Not just attending and celebrating the Mass, my friends, esp christians encourage me, ask me to attend talks etc, and through that, through the priest who is still very much cares for me and calls me a friend, I now can lead my life happily, in Christ. Each time I think back, I would wept in tears, so after 2 years, I become stronger smile.gif
Now, after the seniors graduated, I became elected to president of catholic fellowship student group with previous presidents guiding me and moulding me, and I try my best to serve Lord smile.gif even the Church helps me, sends me to Vatican for free trips, for meetings, shaking hands with Cardinal, Archbishops, celebrating Mass with the Pope, I am thankful for all I have, for with Christ, it definitely is a better, more fruitful life.

we never speak again after that, despite her attempts to (i.e invite me to her house again to eat (alone), want to photostat or need my help in Eng for smtg..) I think the most beautiful love I can gave during that period: is Christ - I gave her a Rosary with the Cross amongst the minor- teaching her chinese, strengthening her english, a chinese b'day celebration with my bare hands amongst, even though I never acknowledge her as my gf publicly - which is the reason my friends laugh at me and pointed to me for the reason she dumped me.

cool.gif Of course, I thank God for the lesson, it makes me matured in thinking, and in preparing myself for my future bride. I nv pray for love, for I am studying well, my life is full of graces of God. I believe He sets my life in motion and carry me, so I need not be afraid anymore smile.gif I do however, pray to not be over-passionate (be it rus, lithuanian, polish, italians, spanish, wherever I go they come attracted esp to what I have to say - even though they also say I am long-winded, and hugs, kisses on cheek are norm in EU, even holding hands to not let them slip in winter - so I really have to pray for be loving, but not being too passionate in what I do, but within limits) and I am a bit perfectionist. I do still have russian friends who are good, truthful and loving at the same time, which to me I say exceptional russians, for contemporary rus 80% goes for physical. Something, which I think, I pray for all the time.

oops, another TLDR biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Jedi: Nov 26 2012, 01:14 AM
Jedi
post Nov 26 2012, 03:09 AM

Pax Et Bonum
2,245 posts

I believe God will bring in the right person to be our life partner in the moment we least expect it to happen.

where is the like button? blush.gif

its true, I also hope Bro Alvin realises this smile.gif asap, regardless of age.

When God presents that perfect girl for you, Before you know it, you are already the perfect knight in shining armour as you now prepare towards God.
Jedi
post Nov 26 2012, 03:01 PM

Pax Et Bonum
2,245 posts

QUOTE(Alvin330000421 @ Nov 26 2012, 11:38 AM)
Yes if I just sit down and believe, its not putting my faith into practice.

If I have a lifespan of 200 years maybe I can do that, hoping somebody nice to come pass by and ask me out.

But I got to go out there and find.

You don't become an insurance agent and hope you can meet your quota by just expecting your friends to come to you and request to buy your policies. You gotta go out house to house, choose right demographics to fit your customer profile to catch the right customers.
no one said anything about sitting down and doing nothing. what I try to convey and encourage bro is to work your way towards God, towards love. its on my 1st ever reply to you (the advice part)

have a blessed week ahead.

QUOTE(Patrick Star @ Nov 26 2012, 01:41 PM)
Hi unknown warrior,

i have a question here.

let say we already forgive people who hurt us. tat person is our buddy.

should we continue be friend with him? o stop contacting?

what to do to avoid the same person hurting us again? what to do to avoid the same tragedy happening again?

Jesus answered, "I tell you, not seven times, but seventy-seven times. (Mat 18:22)

and Luke Chapter 6

27 But I say unto you which hear, Love your enemies, do good to them which hate you,

28 Bless them that curse you, and pray for them which despitefully use you.

29 And unto him that smiteth thee on the one cheek offer also the other; and him that taketh away thy cloke forbid not to take thy coat also.

30 Give to every man that asketh of thee; and of him that taketh away thy goods ask them not again.

31 And as ye would that men should do to you, do ye also to them likewise.

32 For if ye love them which love you, what thank have ye? for sinners also love those that love them.

33 And if ye do good to them which do good to you, what thank have ye? for sinners also do even the same.

34 And if ye lend to them of whom ye hope to receive, what thank have ye? for sinners also lend to sinners, to receive as much again.

35 But love ye your enemies, and do good, and lend, hoping for nothing again; and your reward shall be great, and ye shall be the children of the Highest: for he is kind unto the unthankful and to the evil.

36 Be ye therefore merciful, as your Father also is merciful.

For consolation of self,

"If the world hates you, keep in mind that it hated me first. (Jn 15:18) - I always remind myself this when people attack us, Christians or say that we brainwash others. It gives you strength to do more for God.

Jedi
post Nov 26 2012, 03:12 PM

Pax Et Bonum
2,245 posts

I hope bro Unknown Warrior has no problems with me doing a little preaching and sharing.

readings are available here: (The 1st reading is OT, 2nd reading and Gospel reading is NT and all are together and related as u know of the OT and NT relations)
http://www.usccb.org/bible/readings/112512.cfm

yesterday we catholics celebrate the Solemnity of Christ the King

In case you have no idea what that means: 'This day completes the Christian journey through the life of Jesus Christ on earth and in heaven which began with the preparation for the birth of Jesus in Advent'
In another words, Catholics now prepare for period of Advent, the birth of Christ

Today we read about Christ, coming as King, the Dominus, the Alpha and Omega of the world. Dominus is the Latin word for master or owner. When we speak about King or Kings, we would not forget Kings that came and conquer: namely Alexander, Genghis Khan, Augustus Caesar, and Adolf Hitler, to name a few. And some kingdoms have lasted a very long time, such as Rome whose Eastern half lingered on for 2000 years.

But despite all their machinations, pretensions, and self-glorifying monuments, the great rulers of the earth all proved mortal like anybody else. The had their day in the sun only to disappear. Their kingdoms, too, ultimately passed away, leaving abundant ruins for generations of tourists and archeologists to explore.

In contrast, Christ's Kingdom: Dn 13 ''His dominion is an everlasting dominion
that shall not be taken away,
his kingship shall not be destroyed.''
Rv 8 "I am the Alpha and the Omega, " says the Lord God,
"the one who is and who was and who is to come, the almighty."

He is not the President or the King you can simply vote in or out, at our pleasures, for he does not belong to the power structures, custom and practices of this world Jn 18 '"My kingdom does not belong to this world.'' Rather, He is 'the way and the truth and the life' Jn 14:6. He is the CENTRE of our private, public, spiritual, intellectual, physical, and the -ships of our lives, the absolute TRUTH. The question remains: Do we submit ourselves to this TRUTH?

My dear bro n sis, in today's world where relativism (Truth does not matter, I decide what I want.) is preached at large, it oftens wrestle against the embodiment within us, the living images of Christ. How so?

Look at the Kings existed on earth, they jealously guarded their glory, sharing it with no one. Their ascent to the pinnacle of power was made over the backs of others, and they did not hesitate to eliminate any and all rivals. Same as Pilate, Governor of Judea where often are unrests, if you look one line further than today's Gospel Reading, he questions Jesus 'Truth? What is truth?", of Latin Quid est veritas?'. Like in relativism, Truth is a matter of indifference. As long as whatever works, power is maintained, the ends always justify the means. Power, Violence, Self-grandiose, these are qualities in relativism, and reflectively, of a worldly King.

A Divine King however, rather than executing his opponents, he forgave them. Rather than dominating his subjects, he exalted them. He even called them not servants, but friends, and bestowed on them a share in his own priesthood and kingship. Though he died, like other kings, it was for a different purpose than Augustus in his bed or Hitler in his bunker. He died willingly to save his people, and his death was not a result of a battle lost or a plan gone awry, but of a glorious victory planned before the world began.

Unlike the wordly Kings and Pilate with his self-justified truth, Jesus comes to testify the Truth. ''For this I was born and for this I came into the world,
to testify to the truth.
Everyone who belongs to the truth listens to my voice."
More often than not, if we follow our own paths, that is, without God, we justify our 'truths' as long as it is intellectually and morally righteous. How ignorant we are! When this 'truth' lose the moral part, tyrants impose their will. Its happened, its still happening, politics (abortion legalised namely) around the world, fell to temptation only to justify in defense: I did not harm anyone - under the aegis of truth.

Hence, if we are to proclaim Christ is our Saviour, we should SERVE the truth. Dn 7 'the one like a Son of man received dominion, glory, and kingship;' If Jews proclaim Israeli high priest to throne of Yahweh (treated like King even now),what more of Christ, the definitive final high priest representing people before God, and with God's grace, be leader of the world. This is the ruling order to the truth! To guide people to God.

and to quote from Pehkay posts back:
The intention of God's purpose is to dispense Himself into His chosen people, a) making Himself one with them b) for the constitution of the Body of Christ, the church, to express the processed Triune God (Eph. 3:8-10).
This is the central line of the divine revelation.

In us, the Triune God has been working in us since our regeneration and will continue until we are exactly the same as the firstborn Son of God.
''Jesus Christ is the faithful witness,
the firstborn of the dead and ruler of the kings of the earth.'' 2nd Reading (Rv1:5-8)

All of us as God’s chosen ones need to pass through the processes of sanctification, renewing, transformation, and conformation unto the glorification of our entire being.
We are in the processed Triune God for Him to work in us to the extent that we are exactly the same as the embodiment of God, the firstborn Son of God, so that we all may become the embodiment of God. The firstborn Son of God is the individual embodiment of God; we as the many sons of God are the corporate embodiment of God. The reality of this embodiment is the all-inclusive Spirit. When this embodiment is expressed and enlarged, it is the Body of Christ.
Finally, His True Kingship, and at his heavenly coronation, when he ascended to his Father, he was given what all the rest lusted for–a worldwide dominion that will not pass away. This judgment, this kingdom, will have the last word. No election will overturn it in four years or four million years. There is no one stronger who can rest the dominion from his Almighty hand.

Today, amidst the chaos of outside world, the Church instituted this feast Christ the King serves as a reminder to us that we know the end of the story and should not be fooled by the braggarts who strut and the bullies who gloat. They’ll be gone soon. And He’ll be here soon. How soon no one knows.

This post has been edited by Jedi: Nov 26 2012, 03:15 PM
Jedi
post Nov 26 2012, 10:17 PM

Pax Et Bonum
2,245 posts

QUOTE(glamour @ Nov 26 2012, 04:08 PM)
i got a problem...
my friend don't believe in Jesus but he believe in God
he dont believe jesus is son of God
he think Jesus is just a prophet only..same like the Muslim Muhammad.
how should i explain to him?
he is a chinese..
to help, first u must HEAR. if just explaining the Christian doctrines and ways it will be grounds for them to think: yala u try to impose your belief on others etc

Ill briefly explain so no TLDR

HEAR

goes backwards

R - Respect. First you must respect him as a person regardless of his religion and beliefs. then you will have no presumptions and assumptions about him, in a negative way.

A - Attention. 2nd, You must give attention to the person - meaning no answering phone calls, no looking sideways but maintain eye contact with the person so he or she feels secure and have your attention, then gain your respect in return, first by asking him or her: Why do you think so? How have you come to this conclusion?

E - Empathy. Listen attentively and while doing so, not staring at him or her uninterestingly or at her pretty face his handsome face. Try to be empathetic to what they have to say. responses like 'I see, I understand why you think so, etc' is apt.

H - Help. After you get to why and how they came to their beliefs, this is how you can help him or her.

lastly, I present you a very good article about Divinity of Christ - http://www.peterkreeft.com/topics/christ-divinity.htm
There, if you go to general topics, Peter Kreeft explains excellently about Core of Christianity, Existence, Arguements etc, bookmark and read. Its really good! For Christians.

Take some time to read and digest, and then, maybe u can help your friend smile.gif Also refer my post no 3565 on the previous page.

This post has been edited by Jedi: Nov 26 2012, 10:21 PM
Jedi
post Nov 28 2012, 12:43 AM

Pax Et Bonum
2,245 posts

QUOTE(Ahn3hn3h @ Nov 27 2012, 08:48 PM)
The Catholic Church Exposed

They removed the 2nd commandment which in return replicates the "Thou Shalt Not Commit Covet Your Neighbour" into 2 different lines.

This removal of God's original commandment allows them to practice paganism.

It is also unclear that they allow themselves to worship the "Mother of Heaven" and their pope to be the mediator between God. In the protestant believe, we can only reach God thorugh Christ who took away all our sins.

Anyone care to explain why?
Dear sis/bro, do not believe everything you see first sight. First of all, Catholics are also Christians. Since I am like the only catholic active here (for now), Ill explain what I already know, and forgive my ignorance on the part I had not. You are also christian, and you have the Spirit of Discerning, Knowledge and Wisdom to know what is right and what is wrong.
Now thank God u have that, if not u would not ask.

to the 1st part:
This is the Christian Community Bible- Catholic Pastoral Edition. Is it not the same as Protestant Bible? (I dont know where the video maker get his source but its clearly done without much research)

to the 2nd part:
Why Catholics do not have gifts of the holy spirit? This title itself is so effin wrong. Catholics believe in Christ too, what is there for this person who made this video to judge or post smtg without doing proper research, and that RCC believe in Is but discard Corinthians? No, we all believe the same, Catholic or Protestant.

His half-baked story and condemnation and judging.... doh.gif

Let us look at Isaiah 11

Judge me if I understand the Scripture wrongly, RCCs and Protestant do believe in the same cool2.gif

The Branch From Jesse

11 A shoot will come up from the stump of Jesse;
    from his roots a Branch will bear fruit.
2 The Spirit of the Lord will rest on him—
    the Spirit of wisdom and of understanding,
    the Spirit of counsel and of might,
    the Spirit of the knowledge and fear of the Lord—
3 and he will delight in the fear of the Lord.

First, to understand this, one also must understand that this book is about Israel's glory and prosperity declined after kingdom of David. Judah is between two great nations of that time, Ashur - Assyria and Egypt. Days of Anguish indeed. The israelites knew about Yahweh because of their books and because the old people told their children, therefore they still go to Jerusalem to offer sacrifices and follow religious customs of their elders. BUT, Isaiah will reproach them, all of this is nothing more than human laws, a religion that is learned and does not spring from the heart.

This faith has no power. It is a mustard seed but without water. Isaiah is the man who at this time lived this experience and encountered the living God. (Chapter 6)

This book is about a persevering struggle to arouse faith in those deprived of vision. and about God's promises to David's descendants.

Isaiah 11: Israelites live their lives as normal, after David they only hoped for a future King better than David or at least at his level. Why? Because the promise that God made to David about his descendants (2 S 7:14) was not understood to be announcement of future Messiah. Isaiah is the first to announce the Messiah, HERE. Presented as 'A shoot will come up from the stump of Jesse' and better than David, Emmanuel (he is also called son of Jesse like David).

Better? the Spirit of the Lord dwell in him always, and unlike the prophets inspired by Spirit of God which is only sometimes.

Spirit of wisdom and intelligence, as Solomon had
Spirit of prudence and strength, like David
Spirit of knowledge and respect for the Lord, as Moses and and Patriarchs had.

The RCC 7 Gifts of the Holy Spirit that he presented (author did not write clearly, but only condemn), from this Isaiah passage are in accordance to St Thomas Aquinas (Doctor of the Church for RCCs), in his Summa Theologica
and is the guideline for Catechism of Catholic Church, BUT

like our Protestant brothers, we believe in all gifts (they do overlap) listed by St Paul
please refer here:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gifts_of_the_Holy_Spirit
and there is one sentence there which sums up: In addition, Roman Catholicism[17] and Eastern Orthodoxy also continue to believe in and make use of all of the spiritual gifts. - We believe in all, not that we do not have (like the video maker said)

I do not possess theological knowledge to tell you why CCC chooses from Thomas Aquinas as guideline, but not from St Pauls sources (let me get back to you on this one after I asked priest in church)

Part 3 (RCC “Catholics break the biblical command to not call anyone on earth father by referring to their priests as Father”.)

This passage is often taken out of context, but is wrong to do so. You should not read the Bible and take verses and apply it to whatever you wish. As we dig deeper into this passage, if we were to read it literally then no one can be called father. This would include our biological father and the “Founding Fathers” of our country.

One of the Ten Commandments given us by God was to “Honor Thy Father and Thy Mother.” It doesn’t say “Dad”; it says Father.
Furthermore, there are also passages where Jesus refers back to the “fathers” of Israel. And, St. Paul in describing his very own church leadership refers to himself as the father to his children in 1 Corinthians 4: 14-15.

“I do not write this to make you ashamed, but to admonish you as my beloved children. For though you have countless guides in Christ, you do not have many fathers. For I became your father in Christ Jesus through the gospel”

In James 2:21, James refers to Abraham as our father.
In 1 John 2:14, John is writing to the fathers.

Now,
In taking the full context of Matthew 23, you see that Jesus is condemning the scribes and Pharisees for lack of humility for not looking toward God for authority but rather setting themselves up as the ultimate authority. In the chapter, Jesus condemns them for using the titles rabbi (master), abba (father) and moreh (teacher), for their own selfishness and personal gains. A very crude example of this is a man having children so that he can get a tax benefit and treats his children as such. He is taking the role of “father” for his own selfishness and personal gains.

For RCCs,
Catholics refer to Priest as “father” as a term of endearment and respect. The priests provides for our spiritual welfare just as a father of a family provides food, shelter and love for his family. Priests, through the Eucharist, provide us with our Spiritual food; through Reconciliation, provide us with forgiveness; through mass and the Bible, they teach us about God and His teachings; they listen and give us advise; and by their vocation, they sacrifice their life in service for us and our families. The Priest is our spiritual Father and we are his spiritual children.

“The world looks to a priest, because it looks to Jesus! No one can see Christ; but everyone sees the priest , and through him they wish to catch a glimpse of the Lord” – Pope John Paul II

Hyperbole is used in the Bible in several places, in order to make a point. The point with “call no man on earth your father” (Matthew 23:9) is to let us all know that our Heavenly Father is the Father of us all (“Our” Father). Other examples of hyperbole would be “all have sinned” (Jesus, 1 day old infants have not sinned), and “all Israel will be saved” from Romans 11:26 (Israeli murderers, robbers, sorcerers, fornicators, etc., who do not repent will not be saved). Jesus says in Luke 14:26 ,"If any one comes to me and does not hate his own father and mother and wife and children and brothers and sisters, yes, and even his own life, he cannot be my disciple. Does anyone really think that statement by Jesus is to be taken literally? And we have this holiday called “Father’s day”. Do you celebrate this day with Catholics? smile.gif

About Mary, about Pope (who say he is mediator to God? only Christ is, as RCCs and Protestant believe the same) ), tell me what you believe now and why you think RCC is wrong, and I will reply to u another day.

And from what I see, we should not attack each other, if only we have the good will to try to understand what went wrong, what had to be right, this Church on earth would be united as one. It all happens when 1 try to justify his claim, this is human error, not God's. What is to say the protestants are more true than RCCs about gifts of holy spirit? I know that Assembly of God only accepts people for baptism if, and only if, they have the power to speak in tongues shakehead.gif This problem happens when 1 tries to justify his interpretation of the bible above all others, and hence even though pastor do not call themselves 'father', they are akin to the 'father' that Jesus condemns in the same Mat 23:9 that they use to attack RCCs, when in truth, they argue btw each other and break off forming their own church etc problems. So, let us try to be open to each other, bros n sis in Christ smile.gif Have a blessed week!

This post has been edited by Jedi: Nov 28 2012, 01:14 AM

3 Pages  1 2 3 >
Bump Topic Topic ClosedOptions New Topic

0.0270sec    0.19    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 04:46 AM