QUOTE(happy4ever @ Feb 18 2011, 08:37 AM)
Eh you from DUMC? How come never see you b4?
If that is your pic of course.
Which ministry you active in?
LYN Christian Lounge V5
Nov 18 2012, 05:24 PM
78 posts Joined: Oct 2012 |
Nov 18 2012, 05:31 PM
Hey have of you chrisitan guys ever struggle to find a soul mate?
Sigh. I dated a lot of non-christians, only problem is they don't want to convert. I also dabble with the prospect of marrying a non-christian. I can accept not converting my wife but I really feel very bad if my future kids don't follow me to church, it might affect my kid's future faith because maybe the wife want them to be buddhist/taoist. I find it very very hard to meet christian girls at church. They seem aloof to me. Almost unapproachable, like they are seeking a super holy guy or something. Then the better looking christian girls, wah got one time, I saw 3 guys going after this girl at the same time. So competitive one. |
Nov 18 2012, 06:10 PM
QUOTE(skydrake @ Nov 18 2012, 06:37 PM) I almost found...with non christian. I went out with a taoist girl...we almost held hands but I hesitated. She is quite outspoken and she deliberately say things to me that irritates me...like she tell me she likes to go temple and meditate incantations. Why would she say such things? After that I didn't bother going out with her. |
Nov 18 2012, 06:15 PM
QUOTE(samantha_yeanmee @ Nov 18 2012, 06:43 PM) seems like this is the only way out for me too, trust the Lord that He'll bring me to the right person at the right time Sigh, yes i know i know...submit to his will and trust him. But its being many many years, i am not getting any younger. I don't want to wait for the miracle of abraham and sarah...when i marry at 50 years old and then pray and hope god can help us to produce an offspring like isaac when we are 80 and hope we will live until 150. I attended one church, the pastor told us that he conducted a lot of marriage councilling and he experienced a lot of tough call whereby lots of couples argue and want divorce. So he keeps on telling us single guys, its better not to marry than to suffer a dysfunctional marriage. But hey, this pastor himself is married and got two kids so he does not know how it feels like to be single too. I am not saying i like to rush into a marriage but if only, if only, the church is open about christian dating and encourage its members to try going out with each other. But most members at church are very closed up. I have asked girls at church for a date, only for them to give me big big frowns and then the church leaders come over and give me black face. Then I decided enough is enough, I go outside and date non-christians. Why? Because the christians are not giving me any opportunity. The bible says do not mix unholy yoke with unbelievers...but hey, the church is not helping. |
Nov 18 2012, 06:18 PM
QUOTE(deodorant @ Nov 18 2012, 06:38 PM) There is one thread each for the major religions. The other two major religion threads are here: Wah, i wish they can drop on my lap. But I go to do ministries, the girls there don;t seem to be interested in me. I even try to approach them, like so LCLY and aloof. They then give me the black face. They seem to be seeking the super holy christian guy. This kind of guy ah, i tell you don;t exist one. Darn unrealistic. Islam lounge: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=877129 Buddhism lounge: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1520928 These threads are not meant for debate and discussion of religions (which would belong in RWI), they are more like "chit chat threads" for believers of the respective religions. A place to get together and chat (hence why it is in kopitiam). Trust God lor. My previous two gf's were non Christians. Somehow didn't work out. Then I was single for five years before my current fiancee literally almost dropped into my lap from the sky (she is Christian too). But outside the church, so many non-christian girls so interest in me, i bodoh bodoh reject them. Now i regret. One by one of those non christian girls who go after me, are getting married. Now I am suffering from loneliness because i listen to the pastor. |
Nov 18 2012, 06:36 PM
QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Nov 18 2012, 07:33 PM) Seek the Kingdom of God first. Anyway do come for our young adult service 5pm Glad tidings Petaling Jaya. There are plenty of single and available there but first seek his Kingdom. Aiyah, all the young adult service are the same lah. I have been active in my young adult service for 3 years...so far no success. All the girls there only wanna search for the super godly holy guy. |
Nov 18 2012, 06:43 PM
QUOTE(skydrake @ Nov 18 2012, 07:32 PM) your curiosity will makes u gain more knowledge, just like what I usually likes to do.. ask as much as I can Of course i pray..all day all night. your friend have his own choice, pray hard to god and ask lord for guidance. We can do our best and let god do the rest. ic, alvin.. have u try to pray and ask for god guidance? if i guess it right, u did not pray to god for guidance. *no offence* from my point of view, u are lack of self confidence n self esteem, my wild guessing might be wrong.. if is right, u can try work it out. Lack of self confidence and self esteem???? More like the opposite. I went for a youth camp and ask for the hp no of this girl i met at the youth camp. I text her and ask her out...but it took her two days to reply...i text another two or three times...she never replied. Then I even ask this other christian girl out on a date. At first she went out. THen second time, I ask her for movie..she also go out. Third time I ask her out again she go out. Fourth time, I ask her out...this time she say don't want. THen she reply me in email..she thought that we not compatible, and she say we both should remain as friends. Then i reply ok loh and thanked her for giving me the opportunity to go out with her. I wasn't hurt at all, to tell you the truth. But next friday, I attend cell, so her brother in law, got black black face at me. When I go to house for meeting, he open the door at me and then slam the door at my face..crazy man. Then in the meeting all the members show black black face like so angry. I just act normal only. What so angry, I also dunno, its two consenting adults agree to go out on a date wat....its not a sin right? Then she never go for the cg anymore. I decided to change cg because I didn't want her to backslide. Two weeks after that, I ask some friends, it turns out she return back to the cell. |
Nov 19 2012, 09:08 AM
QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Nov 18 2012, 07:49 PM) lol you go to church and cell more to look for girl rather then God. How God will help you lah. Seek first his kingdom. I have gone to church for past 10 years serving in food bank, street ministry, ushering, mission trip and young adult ministy. Of course I seek his kingdom first. Now after 10 years, I would at least wanna see some help from the church to pair us christians..to no avail...nothing of that. I am not getting any younger. And the church and the bible tells us not to have unholy yoke with unbelievers. I have remain faithful to seek a christian believing wife but have not been helped much by church. I have two friends, two christian sisters, they are now in thier 60s. They been serving obediently at church for years, faithfully but they are still single. I don't want to end up like them. Serve, serve, serve...but make not effort to find soul mate. Of course its their intention to remain single to serve...I respect that because its their calling. But its not my calling to celibate...ok. So yes seek the kingdom of god first but we also have to make some effort in seeking a soul mate. Or else it be like you say wanna go and study medicine at a prestigous university but instead you go through the Arts stream in Form 5. Does that really going to achieve your aim??? You must have faith + action. You say you wanna achieve this, you got to do it. That is why along the way, I have ask christian girls out for a date. But time and time again, they refuse. I don't know what they looking for..man. I even witness a few christian girls at church, rejected many of us christian guys cause we ain't good enough for them, but ended marrying non-christians. Why? Is it because we christian guys are too good people? We are not bad enough? They want bad boys? Maybe I should start smoking...(sarcasm).... |
Nov 19 2012, 09:56 AM
QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Nov 19 2012, 10:31 AM) Seeking God is not doing God's work or ministry bro. Of course I am spending time with God. I do my quiet time, I do my bible study with my friends.Seeking His Kingdom and His righteousness is spending time with God, seeking only Him as your source of fulfilment in life. Not Girls, not property, wealth or work satisfaction because there are only superficial level. I sense there's emptiness inside you because you have not really been seeking God by spending time with Him. You're trying to fill it up with works which is not the same. Of course I seek god first. But I don't deny my human nature which I do want to settle down. What emptiness? You don't know me. I kniow exactly what is works. Please don't tell me works is not important. Works is a manifest of our faith. You don't tell me that when you convert to christian, you still go out to night club, party and drinking and fool around with girls at the pub while yuo are still being married, right? The conversion to christianity have to manifest in your actions too. You can't just say, I believe in what Christ did for me at the cross, I am saved. Hooray...and then you still live in sinful life. The love for christ has got to manifest in your actions....hence works carried out as a result of your faith. Please don't tell me that works = emptiness. You don't tell me that you are not affected at all if something not very good happens to you? You never felt frustrated at all? Yes I am a fallen human being. Yes I am still a sinful human being. But by the blood of christ I am cleansed. Until I die and have the eternal salvation, I will still do battle with sin. Yes I am frustrated...I admit that. But don't don't tell me that I am empty because I did not seek the kindgom of god first. |
Nov 19 2012, 10:24 AM
QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Nov 19 2012, 11:11 AM) A lot of Christians have faith that God is able to bring them out of their sin through the blood of Jesus but lack the Faith that God is able to bring them into the promised land life. One of fulfilment and contentment in Christ. Fren, I can tell you there are some Christians who hide their pain in the works of ministry but cry behind the scene before God about the unfairness of their life. Because they don't trust God enough. There are some people can perform work without really believing in God. Do you know that? They do it for the sake of doing. Now I'm not saying you are but just to give you an example it can be so. Because works cannot make you holy nor righteous. The Bible is very clear, until your have a right believe, then only your life will be transform. I know for a fact there are some people who can cry out at the alter " Oh Jesus change me" with tears and emotion but still remain the same after leaving Church. I'm not trying to bring you down, but your level of trust in God has to go much deeper. The trust in God manifest in my actions. Meaning to say, I go out there and do something about it. Not sit there, pray pray and believe that it will come true...but do nothing about that. Do you pray earnestly to find a wife. But don't bother to go out there to meet people? Always stay at home do nothing? You're not walking the talk. Of course, I know there are lots of people hiding behind ministry, crying in pain. That is why I don't spend half my life doing ministries. I still have a job to do. I only do those ministries that my talents can excel in. I won't simply walk into a ministry that I am not capable or not suitable. of course there's no harm trying to see if it fits me or not. Aiyoh, of course works cannot make one righteous. But works is a manifestation of your process of sanctification ! The result of your transformation, makes you want to serve for his glory and have a heart of servanthood. Works are the fruits of your labour. Get it? Actually, I don't really believe in the power of altar call. Correct me if I am wrong, I have never read anywhere in the book of Acts, about alter call. |
Nov 20 2012, 09:00 AM
QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Nov 19 2012, 11:32 AM) Let me put it this way (I'm trying to help you, really) Bro/fren,Until you can come to a place before God and say, Dear God, I submit to your will. Even If I don't see my potential wife, I will be contend with you alone to fill my emptiness. Until you can come to that place, you'll probably not get what you want. Until you can say I don't need a wife if it's not your will, you will pursue and not find. I know it's hard to accept this. I know it's not easy. But bro and you're wrong to say I don't understand. you're so very wrong. I was like you, seeking my life partner like my life depends on it. I know one guy who is very pious. Yes he did the same as you say. Now he is 45 years old and still single ! You get the whole meaning wrong. You still have to go and find. Not say "Duh, I submit to god's will but I am going to continue to sit down here and do nothign about it". If you are a gold prospector, you don't go prospecting gold in your toilet. If you are an insurance salesman, you don't go and sell to people who already have policies, you will go and target the graduates who just came out to work. If you have a gun, you have to aim it so the bullet reach the destination, not shoot up the sky. I am not empty ok. I am just figuring out how to do this. |
Nov 20 2012, 10:15 AM
QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Nov 19 2012, 11:33 AM) I got a friend which he is very good cell leader but some how his faith is not really strong as i am. He is very good in the bible verse but his faith is not that strong when he is facing challenges. Whoa...its dangerous to compare your faith to his. I recall there is a proverb - about a brother who have a giant pebble in his eye, ask his brother whether if he can remove a small speck from his eye. We are all sinners in the eyes of god. Don't be too sure that you are better than the other brother/sister in christ. Only Jesus who sits on the righthand of god's judgment seat, will judge all of us in the end of days. |
Nov 20 2012, 10:27 AM
QUOTE(skydrake @ Nov 20 2012, 10:44 AM) good day alvin, If I am empty, I would have given up going to church or being a christian altogether. uw did not say that u can sit down n let god spoon feed u, u r right that if u sit down n wait for god to give u a wife is wrong. he means to tell u that you r empty in your soul, you are not empty from your daily knowledge. you are still not connected with god, u need to understand whay uw told u was from bible and it will helps u to create a connection with god. then god will leads u the way. from all u had mentioned, i can see that u r counting on your own knowledge to deal with this matter. In other word to say, you are walking alone without letting god to assist u. my friend, having own knowledge is very limited, u need to understand and do what the bible told, u can say what i told was wrong. the way u understand bible nor gods word are with your own point of view.. not the real understanding of bible. i m not trying to proof myself right, i just wants to help u. i hope u can be patient, i had meet ppl that reading the bible for 10 years or 20 years, they may not understand bible if they not willing have the gift "faith" thats cames from god. Yes I know, his grace is sufficient for me. But it doesn't mean that I am superhuman and I deny the challenges I face. I really dislike christians that go around saying that everything in their life is ok not even wanting to bear any weaknesses at all, for fear of saying something would mean that they are empty. Fact is we are all sinners, we face a lot of challenges in life, its not wrong to come out in open and say yeah, i am facing this and I wanna do something right about this. But face with immense challenges of which the church structure itself is not helping christians to find mates, force me to find alternatives. So I am not blaming god, I am blaming the church bureaucracy. |
Nov 20 2012, 05:45 PM
QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Nov 20 2012, 11:43 AM) Everybody have different needs Skydrake, Well something has to be done. For Alvin, It's a life partner, For some to have children, others Finance, For some Healing from body sickness, etc. All these fall under this verse of God's promise Matthew 6:25 "Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life........ Somehow the devil knows the things that worry us through our actions and words spoken in confession and will not hesitate to use it against us to disrupt your peace of mind. The Holy Spirit already said this in John 14:27 Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid. Philippians 4:6 Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. and in Matthew 6:8 for your Father knows what you need before you ask him. I believe, the reasons why our prayers can be hindered: 1. We don't trust God enough. Lack of Faith. 2. We worry. 3. We let our hearts be troubled and fearful. These symptoms, I believe will allow the devil to operate anxiety and slow down or hinder the answers. It's not that the Devil has powers against God. No for sure not, but here's the secret as to why and how. The devil know he can't touch God. But he can affect the believer to doubt God and hence that's why, things doesn't flow. The problem is our worrying. For Alvin, he worries he'll grow old without a partner and perhaps due to age is catching up. That kind of fear can grip a believer's life to the point of doing things outside the will of God, like looking for unbelievers as life partners. I hope this sharing helps you in your journey with God. I've seen christians like you say the same thing. That is if you are still single of course. Then 30 years old still single, 40 years old still single, 50 years old still single... Then the pastor who preach this, wah..he get married and have two or three kids. Apa ini? Not walking the talk man. But if come from Apostle Paul, respect lah, after all, Paul walk the talk. Remain celebate, never take a cent from the church, earn his own money tentmaking. I am not as careless as you think I am. I've gone out with a number of non-christians but have decided to call it off due to very MATERIAL differences in religion. I am looking for somebody who have that open heart to accept the gospel. Who knows? The unbeliever may accept christ as her saviour. I am not looking for a super holy girl though. Somebody submissive and nice. Also chemistry is important. I not lacking faith, I am just doing what god has given the skills, time and effort I have to, to do what I have petittion and prayed for. I am not going to sit there and do nothing about it. I have gone to young adult and youth services. Many times try to make friends with christian ladies. However, nobody seem interested and remain aloof. Ask out also, say not interested. So what alternative I have? I go to match.com and find loh... So this means Devil make me anxious? huh? Aiyah resists and he will flee. Put on the armor of god loh. Breastplate of righteousness, helmet of salvation, belt of ???? forgot lah. |
Nov 21 2012, 01:27 PM
QUOTE(skydrake @ Nov 20 2012, 12:21 PM) brother alvin, before I start my quoting & conversation here.. we're all in here chatting as a family, no hard feeling ok? if any words I quoted wrongly, please correct me. Look, I never say that I gave up. I am not blaming god but all I can say is that there are some politics at church that are enormously ridiculous. I won't disclose to you the details but me and some friends tried to implement some basic stuff while serving but was refused due to competing politics from another more dominant group. So whats not to blame on human flaw? I came to church empty as a sinner, imagine.. my life is very good, rich with all the material needs and I can full fill my own desire with $. I can buy all materialistic desire needs with $. Do u think I will go church and seek god? I don't think so. Meanings, giving up to go church or seek for god kingdoms does not relates to the word "empty" as we said... With his grace, we are not superhuman. We walk with him together, we face the challenge together as a team. Its just too dark to walk alone out there. U said that u dislike what other christian told u that "everything in their life is ok not even wanting to bear any weaknesses at all, for fear of saying something would mean that they are empty.", but bear in mind.. u r walking the challenge with god and carrying other ppl cross. And yes, is not wrong to say out that u r facing this and wana do it right, in fact u had done the right things Please look properly on this quote here u had write, "U r counting on church mates to help u, when they failed to help u with ur desire needs.. u had blame them". what i trying to tell was here, when anything u failed to archive after u "ask/pray" to god, u don't give up and don't blame other.. having faith to it and continue to make your search and face the challenge together with god. Hold god tight and don't let go. And again, my english is not good and I hope u don't mind I sharing this to u also. I don't know why I feel so much on u, I had the same feeling that u having last time.. I can't say its the same feeling I had been thru it, but when I read all ur conversation... I feels it. Thats why with my broken english I die die say share this out agreed This is why I don't count church mates to help me anymore....I am better off going out with non-christians or christians who backslided. Fail? Hey, don't draw conclusions. I have prayed. And I never say I will make big concessions until when i marry the non-christian, i let her live an unbeliever's life. I want to meet somebody who responds to god's call. I don't expect her to immediately become a christian, attend cg and start serving and immediate transformation. That fella say I empty...ah...he wait lah. When he face his next big trial...see whether he (unknown warrior) thinks he will become "empty" like me. Bottom line is, we are human beings, god will not make us go through a trial we can't handle..but doesn't mean I cannot brainstorm and express myself. |
Nov 21 2012, 02:46 PM
Amended.
This post has been edited by Alvin330000421: Nov 21 2012, 02:48 PM |
Nov 21 2012, 10:33 PM
QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Nov 21 2012, 06:09 PM) Actually God can. I am not relying on my own abilities. There's a misconception there about this. if you read up Pehkay's devotion, he mentioned, God can remove his hand of grace to let us fall on purpose. Do you know why? So that you start looking to God for strength instead of being self confidence of your own ability. This is very important and I hope all my friends in this thread take note, the moment things like this happens, straight away come to God and relieve yourself of all your own abilities. Start Praying that you need to trust and rest in God more than before. Sometimes crying out and simple prayer like, " God Help me, permit me to have a fresh revelation of the cross" is all you need. Because the moment you start depending on God totally in spirit and in truth, He will come in and carry you and deliver his answer to your prayer. When you say I can, God will probably let you go on your own but When you say I cannot, God will say I can now come in and help you. 2 Corinthians 12:9 But he said to me, "My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness." Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ's power may rest on me. But crying out and praying but not doing anything about it after that, is a travesty, you know. I've seen a lot of christians do that. After praying for direction, I realise this is the way I should go for. 2 Corinthians 12:9 applies when you are in a situation that you can't do anything about it due to your suffering in pain such as a handicap or something bad happen to you. However my situation is different, I've got the divine solution in my head and I am heading towards what god is guiding me to do. |
Nov 23 2012, 11:10 AM
QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Nov 21 2012, 11:44 PM) This is your divine solution from God, as in below what you've said? Ahem what do you mean by disrespectful and scornful? I disagree. lol, up to you brother. Praying and trusting God while you continue doing your daily work and not worrying about your circumstances IS DOING something in the eyes of God. Not worrying IS pointing your Gun shooting the Bullet at the Devil, spiritually speaking. God will work when you have submissive trust in Him. And the Fact that your leaders or pastors who preached this same message but found their wife and even having Children is not a sign of hypocrisy. It's a sign to tell you that God blessed and answered them and you should really learn from them how to obtain the same favour. God is a respector of no one, if He can do it for your Church Leader/Pastor, He can do it for you too. You should see it that way instead of figuring out in your head, they did it on their own, ie to go all out to find their wife to be in their own way. That is so disrespectful and scornful if I may add. Yes it's nothing wrong to go out and look for a partner after prayer, I've already said it should be that way. But don't complain when things doesn't work out, pointing finger to Church bureaucracy, Or Church Girls look down on you, Church people not very supportive of you. Why don't you stop and think for a moment, why this is happening. Perhaps God is speaking to you, you're doing it not according to his will of quiet trust. btw 2 Corinthians 12:9 talks about total submission to God in our weaknesses. It's not talking about medical condition. Shalom brother. Pastors are human beings. Yes submission to authority. But some of them tend to be bullies. I know of one youth pastor, he outrightly told me off that I am an outsider and not belong to his congregation just because I didn't attend his youth service when I was 10 years old. I once brought up the issue about the lack of fellowship and the clickishness of a youth church. But the pastor chastised me and told me to persevere rather than bringing up to the youth leadership and doing somehting about it. I have even witnessed one occassion that a pastor influence a girl to break up with her boyfriend. Four years later he married her. Wow, speak of conflict of interest. And what about cases in singapore? I don't want to mention names due to legal ramifications. But we have heard of one ongoing in singapore about funds use by pastor's spouse for singing career. Another church, divided because too much funds allocated for a building. I know of an insider in that church told me about how bias the funds were approved, every one of the officials chosen to approve it are the pastor's close confidants. We need to discern ! Not blind submission. |
Nov 23 2012, 12:16 PM
QUOTE(skydrake @ Nov 23 2012, 12:47 PM) downloading.. Shucks, what is there to forgive? downloading.. btw its this illegal? LOL! Good day brother alvin, How is your day? About your quotes above here, I'm curious 'bout the answer u will give to "unknown warrior " question "have u forgiven them"? Add on with another question from me, "have u doubt 'bout god judgement towards them?".. 1)The church that overbudgeted their building fund and cause the church to be short of fund is not my church. 2)The youth pastor who induced the girl to break up the bf and married her, has nothing to do with me 3)The youth pastor who told me off that I am an outsider, I just left and did better at another church, I am glad he told me that or else I won't know the true pic there. So what is there to forgive? In fact, he blessed me more when I found somewhere better. 4)The singapore church is not my church, so why i must be mad at them? Sigh....my topic is not about god judgment about them. Everybody, even christians after we die, we will face judgement at the judgement seat of christ. My topic here is...even church leaders are imperfect, we need to discern and by discerning means we need to ask god for direction and strengthen our knowledge in the word. Because unknown warrior say that I was rude to them. I never say anything rude to them. Like i say, the youth pastor who call me an outsider, I dunno wat happen to him, but I just left the church and am glad I found somewehre better. Anyhow, there was once, I ask him if i could use the church toilet during a while waiting for transport. He say ok, and then he let me into the office. Then as I was coming out, he locked me in the church office ! I peaked through the window and saw he and his wife few feet away. I tried to shout to the top of my voice to ask him to help open the door. But he ignored me. Then one member saw that, and tell him that i was calling him but his back is turn against me and didnt bother to respond. If what i can say is, the pastor is wierd. He must really dislike me...maybe i yong sui or something. But there's nothing to forgive because i moved on. I am just telling u tht people r not perfect in this world. |
Nov 23 2012, 12:20 PM
QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Nov 23 2012, 12:21 PM) Read my reply to skydrake.Besides, I think its more of the issue of "have they forgave me?" Btw I done no wrong. Maybe the youth pastor don't like me because I am yong sui or what. I can forgive them anytime, if they just come over and chat with me, i am ok. |
| Bump Topic Topic ClosedOptions New Topic |
| Change to: | 0.0884sec
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 02:58 AM |