QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Oct 19 2012, 06:02 PM)
For you i will  pick the best one.
this one like got hidden meaning only. hmm.gif
unknown warrior
post Oct 19 2012, 07:36 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(pehkay @ Oct 19 2012, 03:56 PM)
^_- ... this is problem of our mind. The Bible is multi-faceted.  Standing on one aspect always causes problems. We are all struggling to understand.

Every truth in the Bible has sides, the twofoldness of the truth.

Robert Govett says it clearly:

Two hedges define the road; from two abutments springs the bridge. Does the bird fly with one wing? No—with two. Cut off one and it must forever keep to the surface. Thus does God try His people. Will they trust Him when He affirms that view of truth which runs counter to their temperaments and intellectual bias? or will they trample on one of His sayings in their zeal for the other? The humble, child-like saint will acknowledge and receive both; for his Father, who cannot err, testifies to each alike.

Again he says,

It must not be forgotten or denied that there are continually exhibited within its [the Bible's] pages truths seemingly opposed to each other. It is the glory of man’s intellect to produce oneness. His aim is to trace different results to one principle, to clear it of ambiguities, to show how, through varied appearances, one law holds. Anything that stands in the way of the completeness of this, he eludes or denies, as something destructive of the glory and of the efficiency of his discovery. But it is not so with God.

"The revealed biblical truth, being twofold according to the principle of the twofoldness of divine truth, embraces both the oneness and the threeness of the Triune God: God is uniquely one, yet He is three-one—the Father, the Son, and the Spirit."

"But are they not contradictory? That cannot be, for they are both parts of the Word of God, and contradictions cannot both be true. Both, then, are to be received whether we can reconcile them or no..."
Until now, I wonder which part is irreconcilable?
unknown warrior
post Oct 19 2012, 08:29 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(pehkay @ Oct 19 2012, 08:13 PM)
There are many:

1) salvation by grace alone and reward according to works; your famous one (Cal vs Arm) ... could be solved by this view

The believers’ eternal salvation is absolutely by grace through faith, not by the works of the law, “because out of the works of law no flesh will be justified” (Gal. 2:16). Paul’s word on this matter is emphatic: “For by grace you have been saved through faith, and this not of yourselves;
it is the gift of God; not of works that no one should boast” (Eph. 2:8-9). This is echoed in 2 Timothy 1:9 and Titus 3:5. In the former reference Paul says that God “has saved us and called us with a holy calling, not according to our works but according to His own purpose and grace.” This is reinforced by his declaration in Titus 3:5: “Not out of works in righteousness which we did but according to His mercy He saved us.”

This great truth is balanced by the truth that when believers appear before the Lord at the judgment seat, they will give an account of their works and then receive a reward (either positive or negative) based upon their life in the Lord and their service to Him. “For the Son of Man is to come in the glory of His Father with His angels, and then He will repay each man according to His doings” (Matt. 16:27). The Lord Jesus emphasized this in one of His last utterances recorded in the Scriptures: “Behold, I come quickly, and My reward is with Me to render to each one as his work is” (Rev. 22:12). This reward is specifically related to reigning with Christ in the coming millennial kingdom (2:26-27).

2) God’s complete salvation is both objective according to the righteousness of God and subjective in the life of God. These two aspects are portrayed by the best robe and the fattened calf in Luke 15. The best robe, signifying Christ as our righteousness covering us in the presence of God for our justification, is objective; the fattened calf, signifying Christ processed to be our life supply for our nourishment and growth in the divine life, is subjective. Hence, God’s complete salvation is both objective and subjective.

Paul addresses both in Romans 5:10: “For if we, being enemies, were reconciled to God through the death of His Son, much more we will be saved in His life, having been reconciled.” On the one hand, believers in Christ have been saved eternally according to God’s righteousness objectively; they have been justified by faith and reconciled to God through the death of Christ.

On the other hand, there is “much more,” and this is the need of being saved in Christ’s life. This salvation in life, as a careful study of the book of Romans discloses, includes sanctification, renewing, transformation, conformation, and glorification, all of which are predicated upon subjective experiences of Christ, who is our life (Col. 3:4). In keeping with the principle of the twofoldness of the divine truth, God’s complete salvation is both objective and subjective, both an accomplished fact and an ongoing process.

Many more ...

3) Christ is both at the right hand of God in the heavens and in the believers.
4) Christ is the only begotten Son in the Godhead and the firstborn Son among His many brothers.
5) Triune God tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif
6) Predestination and human freedom
Bro. For Believers of Christ, I don't believe, the Lord meant for a negative otherwise it contradicts the meaning of the scriptures.
God is very careful with words. As it is accurately mention reward not punishment as you said in Rev. 22:12.

For unbelievers, yes.

This post has been edited by unknown warrior: Oct 19 2012, 09:24 PM
unknown warrior
post Oct 22 2012, 09:35 AM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

Hi Peh Kay,

I know that you know this,

but just to add why I believe there's no negative, Jesus's Death at the Cross.

That is the reason. He consumed all the fiery judgement of God against all Lawlessness, Against all curse so that we will not be condemned.

And yes as you said, the Salvation Life is much more than just being saved, we are rewarded according to the good works in the Kingdom of God.

The eternal treasure stored up in Heaven as Jesus hinted in the 4 gospels.

And Good Morning to everyone.

The Lord has given me more verse as to why the 10 commandments is not for you who are made righteous in Christ.

As Peh Kay sais, we are made righteous by Faith not by works.

I will share more on this later.

in b4 olga calling cult, picking durians, wrong interpretation, wrong understanding of scripture = going to sheoul, bla bla bla. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by unknown warrior: Oct 22 2012, 09:42 AM
unknown warrior
post Oct 22 2012, 12:49 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(pehkay @ Oct 22 2012, 11:40 AM)
Hi Unknown, Morning.

Well, if you concern with the choice of word, negative, then you can pick yours  tongue.gif  after considering these small portions (A LOT). No wonder, arminianism believers have a lot of ammos to shoot though incorrectly using them to state that salvation is not eternal)

1 Corinthians 3:12-14. “Now if any man build upon this foundation gold, silver, precious stones, wood, hay, stubble; every man’s work shall be made manifest: for the day shall declare it, because it shall be revealed by fire; and the fire shall try every man’s work of what sort it is. If any man’s work abide which he hath built thereupon, he shall receive a reward.” The believers are God’s farm (1 Cor. 3:9). Whatever we grow that is wood, hay, and stubble will be burned. But if our work abides as gold (Gold symbolizing God's nature), silver (Christ's redemptive work), and precious stones (Spirit's transforming work), we shall receive a reward, a prize. However, if a man’s work is burned, he shall suffer loss, but this does not mean that he will lose his salvation. The following verse says, “If any man’s work shall be burned, he shall suffer loss: but he himself shall be saved; yet so as through fire” (Gk). This verse is very clear. A saved person may suffer loss, but he will not lose his salvation; he will be “saved as through fire.”

The apostle Paul told us in 1 Corinthians 3 that every man's work will be tested by fire (vv. 13-15).

There are many instances in Matthew, the parable of 10 virgins (maturity in the divine life) and parable of talents (faithfulness).  Matthew uses "outer darkness", "gnashing of teeth (regret)" etc. It is possible that we shall fail to receive a reward but instead suffer loss, even though we are saved, because we are lacking in the work which the Lord can approve (1 Cor. 3:15). At the Lord’s coming back the reward will be given to us according to our works (Matt. 16:27; Rev. 22:12; 1 Cor. 4:5). It will be decided by the judgment seat of Christ (2 Cor. 5:10) and enjoyed in the coming kingdom (Matt. 25:21, 23).

(Thinking). I think I see about your point on Christ's redemption work. Yes, I fully agreed Christ's work is complete. It is a spiritual fact. But is this fact applied and experienced by you? Again, truth is objective and subjective. If Christ's redemption (fact accomplished 2000 years) didn't experience by you when you believe, let's say 20 years ago, it is in vain with regards to you. How about daily salvation? How about being saved from murmuring, reasoning, self, flesh, sins, old man, worldliness? Need to apply His salvation to these details in our life tongue.gif
Well morning pehkay,

I think I will rather enjoy discussing this with you seeing that you and I both have kinda similar spiritual journey.

I think you probably have gone through a lot in life, (well, I did, somewhat painful for me at times) to receive revelations as to so much you're able to expound them biblically.

Now of course God did not reveal completely how exactly we will live in Heaven but I believe Heaven will be perfect. Jesus did hinted there will be no more death, neither sorrow, nor crying, neither shall there be any more pain. Our body will be transcended as his, divinely perfect as well. Hence according to that verse I believe we'll either receive great reward, little or perhaps no much reward at all because for believers in Christ to receive punishment at Judgement day somewhat doesn't fit in.

Not that we need any of those rewards to live in Heaven. Without it, neither would we suffer. The reward as you mentioned, could be the right to rule with Christ in Heaven, could be rewards to do some work in the Kingdom of God. Something Good.

I believe 1 Corinthians 3:12-14 talks about the negative that we go through in this life. The trials of Life. Fire here denotes trials. Whether we based our life on the foundation of God's wisdom or Worldly wisdom, the fire of life will determined which one will stand, after it is tested and as it is, it must be based on God's wisdom. The book of proverbs is one such example.

God will leave us to our own device to fall (so that we know) if our trust is in this world. Such as worry, anxiety, books on Five steps, Six steps to financial freedom, to trust in self-help, yoga, chanting, meditation etc. God is patience and doesn't force it down our throat.

I believe Salvation is eternal PehKay. For a simple reason, we did not gain it by our good works, what makes anyone thinks he can lose by bad works? If we can lose our salvation by our works, then it wasn't a gift to begin with. It would have been a performance based salvation which points back to the 10 commandments and THAT is why I stand by faith that the 10 commandments is no longer relevant!

The Bible says in

Romans 5:19
For just as through the disobedience of the one man the many were made sinners, so also through the obedience of the one man the many will be made righteous.

We are righteous because of Jesus's obedience not our obedience so how can we lose our Salvation and Righteousness by our disobedience?

We apply by Faith we are saved not by our good works or lack or it or obedience. The only obedience and Law which Christ require for us is to Love. That's all.

Those who advocate that the 10 commandments is still relevant fail to understand this. (sorry off track a bit, this not for you)

You say you obey the 10 commandments because you love God, then I asked What if you fail to obey, one day in your life? The Bible says you break one, you will break it all. Break just 1 law, all the laws condemn you. If you fail to obey, do you agree you have fallen from grace and sin?

If you can agree to this, then the flip side is also true. You believe you got it right with God is because you obey, you didn't sin and fall from grace. Then I ask you this again, doesn't this make your performance meriting you your righteousness and Salvation? smile.gif You contradict God's grace and Jesus's sacrifice for you.

And back to your question Pehkay,

Talking about daily salvation? Let me start by saying this. The Bible says we have already cross over from Death to Life. Our Spirit is born again and thus we live eternal even after the 1st death, but our Flesh is still with us until the day we die or until the day of redemption. Our mind is still at war. So in this journey, The Bible says be transform by the renewing of the mind. We get changed in the mind by the Spirit and by applying and believing God's word over our natural circumstance or our flesh. That is why God instructed that the Righteous shall live by Faith not by works because if it's back to works, there is no assurance in our salvation.

This post has been edited by unknown warrior: Oct 22 2012, 12:52 PM
unknown warrior
post Oct 22 2012, 12:50 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(pehkay @ Oct 22 2012, 11:40 AM)
Note: I think God is awesome. Very righteous. I mean ... you have met believers who are genuinely saved ... yes ... yet still lived like unbelievers ..... hoping that death (going to heaven) will solved all things .... no.... this is an illusion! tongue.gif
Couldn't agree more. tongue.gif
unknown warrior
post Oct 22 2012, 01:29 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Oct 22 2012, 01:13 PM)
If you fail then Grace is there. That is why you must ask God to fill you with the Holy Spirit all the day. The more Holy Spirit in you the lesser you will sin. At the end of the day the sin become so small that there is no impact on Judgement day. I believe Heaven is so perfect no human can enter into. When your sin becomes so small is easier for Jesus to replace your records  with his good record during the Judgement day. It is up to Jesus to replace or not to replace the record of yours. The Grace is Upon his hand.
Brother doh.gif

your first 2 sentences is right but Who teach you all this? The one in bold? doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

QUOTE(skydrake @ Oct 22 2012, 01:23 PM)
Good day all buddies! biggrin.gif
Good Day Ya'll wsup wsup. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by unknown warrior: Oct 22 2012, 01:30 PM
unknown warrior
post Oct 22 2012, 01:46 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Oct 22 2012, 01:33 PM)
Please share....if you think you are correct. Open my mind please.
The meaning of we are saved by grace = God save you because He loves you.

not you save yourself by your effort, means your obedience.

1 John 4:10
This is love: not that we loved God, but that he loved us and sent his Son as an atoning sacrifice for our sins.

When you are saved, you are saved because you believe. Not because you do anything.

That means your salvation is forever.

Maybe you will ask me, what if I sin? Will I go to hell?

Answer: No!

When you sin, God's grace will cover you and bring you (Romans 5:20) out so that you continue (Phillippians 3:12-14) in your walk with God.

Romans 5:20
The law was added so that the trespass might increase. But where sin increased, grace increased all the more,

Philippians 3 12-14

Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already been made perfect, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me. 13Brothers, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, 14I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.

This post has been edited by unknown warrior: Oct 22 2012, 01:48 PM
unknown warrior
post Oct 22 2012, 01:57 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Oct 22 2012, 01:45 PM)
Like this means better delete the 10 commandments in the bible lah.
No, we cannot remove it because we need the 10 commandments for this reason alone.

Galatians 3:19 (NLT)

Why, then, was the law given? It was given alongside the promise to show people their sins. But the law was designed to last only until the coming of the child who was promised. God gave his law through angels to Moses, who was the mediator between God and the people.

Without the Law we would not know what is sin.

IMO the Law is more for unbelievers, not so much for believers.

edit: well maybe for some believers to try and obey and find that he/she cannot fulfilled perfectly and give up and rely on God's grace.

This post has been edited by unknown warrior: Oct 22 2012, 02:01 PM
unknown warrior
post Oct 22 2012, 02:04 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(Piros @ Oct 22 2012, 02:00 PM)
On top of what unknown warrior had said, I disagree with the bold statement above for these reason below.
We grow stronger or sin less and less is because of sanctification by the Holy Spirit not "the more Holy Spirit".  smile.gif
Well Yes and to add to your explanation.

It comes when we give up our self confidence.

The more we acknowledge our weakness in the flesh, and the urgent need for God's spirit to empower our lives.

unknown warrior
post Oct 22 2012, 02:21 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(Piros @ Oct 22 2012, 02:18 PM)
The Bible clearly teaches that in Ephesians 1:13 (KJV)
And in 2 Corinthians 1:22 that God have gave us the Spirit in our hearts. It is than biblical that the Holy Spirit is within us.
I think what Olga meant is that,

He knows He has the Holy Spirit but doesn't know how to submit to the Holy Spirit.

So in his own words, more of Holy Spirit = More of being lead by the Spirit and less of our resistance.
unknown warrior
post Oct 22 2012, 02:31 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Oct 22 2012, 02:30 PM)
Still waiting for your interpretation.
Post # 3130.

unknown warrior
post Oct 22 2012, 02:32 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Oct 22 2012, 02:26 PM)
when did i say this. doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
ok ok lah.

you very clever la. tongue.gif

unknown warrior
post Oct 22 2012, 02:44 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Oct 22 2012, 02:33 PM)
Is no good for you to trap me. Bad guy.
Say u clever also kena. doh.gif Now I bad guy? cry.gif

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Oct 22 2012, 02:41 PM)
Salvation happens when a person acknowledges their guilt of sin, coming to God on the basis of being a hell-deserving sinner; believing on Jesus, the Christ, the Son of God  to forgive their sins (Acts 10:43). Salvation is receiving; not giving. Eternal life is the gift of God (Romans 6:23). Salvation is freely given (Romans 5:15), freely offered (Romans 10:13), and freely received (Revelation 22:17).
Yes.

God gives you as a gift. (Give)

You receive it freely. (Receive)
unknown warrior
post Oct 22 2012, 02:57 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(hotjake @ Oct 22 2012, 02:30 PM)

QUOTE(hotjake @ Oct 22 2012, 02:52 PM)
ermm... so i'm from FSM church, my comments can't be taken seriously anymore in here right?
inb4 captain obvious
No lah, just that your subject intended will spark long debates over about gay rights and issue on morality when it's quite clear that's not what we believe in. Not to say we will witch hunt and burn all LBGT but just that we don't condone their sexual practice.

I've watches the youtube video and can say this preacher is just trying to justify without even referring to one verse of the Bible.

That my friend is self justification.
unknown warrior
post Oct 22 2012, 03:04 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Oct 22 2012, 02:56 PM)
I think salvation and eternal life are 2 different thing.

Salvation = Rewards are earned.

eternal life = FREE GIFT (If you have Christ living within you, then you have eternal life.)

For eternal life to be effective you must do some action not just received him.
Eternal Life is one of the composites of Salvation.

According to Hebrew word study, the word Salvation is not only just eternal life, it's more than that.

It encompass deliverance, rescue, wholeness, safety, welfare.

This one, those who are good in theology can tell you. Not me. biggrin.gif

unknown warrior
post Oct 22 2012, 05:27 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(hotjake @ Oct 22 2012, 03:01 PM)
good that u see that. but that vid was just random. then again, any subject that centers on religions are bound to spark long debates, be it generally on morality or specifically as in the vid. but hey... i'll refer to you and the rest here when i need some clarification on the bible. u guys know your stuff  smile.gif
No problem bro.

QUOTE(hotjake @ Oct 22 2012, 03:10 PM)
also means non-stop and still existing for a hehe reason
what? rclxub.gif

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Oct 22 2012, 03:19 PM)
Since we cannot understand what is happening in this cruel world. We must have 100% faith in him.
Yes. Amen.

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Oct 22 2012, 03:38 PM)
Actually in God's eternal purpose is all about love, is it not?

If God is the only one to love, how does that fulfil His will?
That is one of the problems in churches today. That we are saved and thats about it.
If we say we love God, we MUST strive to OBEY Him.

For the jews, at the sealing of the covenant, they are expected to show their faith by
doing. It does not stop at the sealing of the covenant. This is what James is alluding to.

Just as Abraham went out in Faith in obedience, not knowing what to expect, so are we.
This trusting attitude is pleasing to God.

So when i say there is good in obedience to the 10 commanments, we are obeying HIM. Thats is good.
Only good can come out in obedience to God.
Don't mind if I just add on to this.

Yes in all eternity, God's purpose is all about love.
If you notice in almost all the New Testament book, the authors emphasize heavily on the Law of Love, because if you fulfil Love, you fulfil all the Laws of the 10 commandments. Even Jesus expound it beautifully, if you claim to love God, you should know what to do.

And yet here is the confusion.

What I believe the Church today fail to understand, is the purpose of the 10 commandments. I repeat many times, there's nothing wrong on what's inside of the 10 commandments but the design, the purpose and the sole reason of it.

It's been proven for centuries and generations after generations, nobody could fulfilled them because it was never meant to.

But yet the confusion starts when we try to obey it.

Jesus did not come to enable you to fulfil the 10 commandments, the outward Law, in order to have right standing with God for a simple reason.

Our righteousness comes from Faith not of works (works = obedient to the law) less we have something to boast about before God. But God is a debtor to no man will not give his glory to others.

That is why your righteousness is given to you as a gift by grace and through your Faith.

And if you scrutinize the scripture, the emphasize for obedience is really pointing to Loving others.

That is the much needed obedience and one commanded by Jesus.

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Oct 22 2012, 03:54 PM)
Some how i know Joseph prince is a cults.
there you go again. Judging others.

Have you actually seen an actual sermon from him or you just see those youtube video by critics?

unknown warrior
post Oct 22 2012, 05:30 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(pehkay @ Oct 22 2012, 03:39 PM)
Why underline commandment as if you think it is an outward laws? You know that in Matt 22:37, God is telling you to love HIM, the Person  tongue.gif

And in 1 John 5:3, you know that commandments are the Lord's speaking (rhema) within you as the anointing ... the context of the 1 John and also in John.
It will take time for Olga to really absorb all this and understand.

unknown warrior
post Oct 22 2012, 05:35 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Oct 22 2012, 01:13 PM)
If you fail then Grace is there. That is why you must ask God to fill you with the Holy Spirit all the day. The more Holy Spirit in you the lesser you will sin. At the end of the day the sin become so small that there is no impact on Judgement day. I believe Heaven is so perfect no human can enter into. When your sin becomes so small is easier for Jesus to replace your records  with his good record during the Judgement day. It is up to Jesus to replace or not to replace the record of yours. The Grace is Upon his hand.
Olga, I just want to say something.

Believe in your heart, God is more than willing to be gracious with you and when you have accepted Jesus as

your Lord and Saviour.

Have confidence in God's grace.

Romans 8:32 (NLT)
Since he did not spare even his own Son but gave him up for us all, won't he also give us everything else?

Hebrews 4:16 (NIV)
Let us then approach the throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need.
unknown warrior
post Oct 22 2012, 05:52 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(pehkay @ Oct 22 2012, 05:09 PM)
Divine romance at its finest  brows.gif

20 At that day ye shall know that I am in my Father, and ye in me, and I in you.
And I didn't fully comprehend this love until I let go and let God. tongue.gif

49 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » 
Bump Topic Topic ClosedOptions New Topic

0.0757sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:13 PM