> LYN Christian Lounge V5

unknown warrior
post Oct 19 2012, 12:52 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Oct 19 2012, 01:23 AM)
I go sleep first. To be continued. Anyway please attend DUMC, SIB or My Church Glad tidings.
lol. If you think only those Churches are authentic and the rest are fake, I really dunno what to say.
unknown warrior
post Oct 19 2012, 01:02 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Oct 19 2012, 11:42 AM)
I think you didn't get the point.
No one is talking about observing the law, specifically Mosaic Law.
It has nothing to do with salvation too (by grace).

We are talking about 10 commandments, God's law.

Jesus said he's not abolishing the law but fulfilling it. Very clear and precise.
No further theological explanation needed to that. Very understandable statement.

In my opinion, God is shooting His own feet if 10 commandments are irrelevant.
10 commandments is God's law, the law of Alpha and Omega.
Now, the question is, is your God shooting His own feet?
You go think about it. I'll leave that for you.
Why is it you all are so focus on the book of Matthew but ignore the rest of the others in the scripture?

Hebrews 8:7–9, 13

For if there had been nothing wrong with that first covenant, no place would have been sought for another. 8But God found fault with the people and saidb:

“The time is coming, declares the Lord,
when I will make a new covenant
with the house of Israel
and with the house of Judah.
9It will not be like the covenant
I made with their forefathers
when I took them by the hand
to lead them out of Egypt,
because they did not remain faithful to my covenant,
and I turned away from them,
declares the Lord.
10This is the covenant I will make with the house of Israel
after that time, declares the Lord.
I will put my laws in their minds
and write them on their hearts.
I will be their God,
and they will be my people.
11No longer will a man teach his neighbor,
or a man his brother, saying, ‘Know the Lord,’
because they will all know me,
from the least of them to the greatest.
12For I will forgive their wickedness
and will remember their sins no more.”c
13By calling this covenant “new,” he has made the first one obsolete; and what is obsolete and aging will soon disappear.

See the word there, Find Fault and the word there obsolete?

The new Law that God talks about in writing in your Heart is the Law of Love.

Love God and Love Others. That is what Jesus was trying to tell.

Because in essence when you practise only these 2 laws, it fulfils all the 10 commandments Laws.

So in other words, you're not really breaking any of the 10 commandments but you fulfil them through only these 2.

When you obey these 2 Laws of Love, You won't go out there and pray to others gods or commit adultery or steal, <insert the rest>

The reason why God himself made the 10 commandments faulty and and obsolete is because He wants ALL his people to look away from Self Effort to God dependant which is Jesus.

Our focus now must be on Jesus.

The 10 commandments is basically SELF, nothing to do with what God does for you, His Grace.

I hope you have the capacity to understand this.

I'm not asking you to go against the 10 commandments.

See the point?

This post has been edited by unknown warrior: Oct 19 2012, 01:10 PM
unknown warrior
post Oct 19 2012, 01:44 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Oct 19 2012, 01:32 PM)
This Bro will never changed cause he is too old to change liau.
Because this Truth is not a new truth, it's old.
It's in the Bible.

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Oct 19 2012, 01:36 PM)
Boss i din't mentioned the Holy Spirit came and give us the 10 commandments. I said in the Holy Spirit there is 10 commandments to be follow.
So prove with Scripture, dun just simply talk.

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Oct 19 2012, 01:38 PM)
When did i say the rest are fake. lol you really know how to twist and turn the facts.
ok fair enough.

But Bro dun simply condemn other people churches la.
you never even step in and you can talk like you know for sure.
Even I wouldn't dare or even bother to call whatever Churches is cult or wat
It's not even in my heart to even think about it.
because I may never know if God is doing something in that Church.
If God is doing something in that Church and you go and simply condemn, not control your mouth, indirectly you're may also condemn God without knowing.

This post has been edited by unknown warrior: Oct 19 2012, 01:44 PM
unknown warrior
post Oct 19 2012, 02:01 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(D-Frog @ Oct 19 2012, 01:40 PM)
Kind people out there ,Teach me the correct method to pray unsure.gif
Well D-Frog.

Prayer is basically talking to God. That's all.

It's not like those other religion where they have to chant certain mantra or stuff like that.

But if you want to know guideline, Jesus gave one in the Book of Matthew, Chapter 6

Prayer

5“And when you pray, do not be like the hypocrites, for they love to pray standing in the synagogues and on the street corners to be seen by men. I tell you the truth, they have received their reward in full. 6But when you pray, go into your room, close the door and pray to your Father, who is unseen. Then your Father, who sees what is done in secret, will reward you. 7And when you pray, do not keep on babbling like pagans, for they think they will be heard because of their many words. 8Do not be like them, for your Father knows what you need before you ask him.

9“This, then, is how you should pray:

“‘Our Father in heaven,
hallowed be your name,
10your kingdom come,
your will be done
on earth as it is in heaven.
11Give us today our daily bread.
12Forgive us our debts,
as we also have forgiven our debtors.
13And lead us not into temptation,
but deliver us from the evil one.a’
14For if you forgive men when they sin against you, your heavenly Father will also forgive you. 15But if you do not forgive men their sins, your Father will not forgive your sins.

I highlighted bold part for a very important revelation.

When you pray to God, do not pray prayers like God doesn't know what's happening in your life.

I mean something like this.

"please god, I got this problem, please have mercy, please help..bla bla bla"

This type of prayer is not really biblical.

And try not to pray to impress others. That is kind of hypocrite prayers which God mention in ver 5.

I hope this can help you.

Thank You Heavenly Father, you are great and mighty God. (Give Praise)
You know everything and nothing is hidden (Give Praise), if you can give more praise, do so.
I thank you for your answer and deliverance from my < insert problem> (This is prayer of Faith)
I thank you for ministering to <insert whoever> for their Salvation (This is prayer of Faith)
Let your Will be done on Earth as it is in Heaven, not mine (Acknowledge God's will)
I thank you for your grace and providence today (Daily Bread)
Thank You for forgiving me through the Blood of Jesus that's eternal cleansing even as I forgive others (ver 12)
I pray for your Wisdom and Protection from the Evil one.
In Jesus Name, Amen.

There's really no standard style, it's up to you really.

This post has been edited by unknown warrior: Oct 19 2012, 02:02 PM
unknown warrior
post Oct 19 2012, 02:06 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Oct 19 2012, 01:52 PM)
My bro i understand what are you trying to say. The way you say 10 commandments is no longer for us. You confuse me and most of the young believer out there.
after so many pages now only understand vmad.gif mad.gif vmad.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif tongue.gif

Praise God. notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by unknown warrior: Oct 19 2012, 02:06 PM
unknown warrior
post Oct 19 2012, 02:18 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Oct 19 2012, 02:08 PM)
So prove with Scripture, dun just simply talk.

lol you basic is so shallow. John16:3 When the Spirit of truth comes, he will guide you into all truth.The 10 commandments is in it.

But Bro dun simply condemn other people churches la.
you never even step in and you can talk like you know for sure.
Even I wouldn't dare or even bother to call whatever Churches is cult or wat
It's not even in my heart to even think about it.
because I may never know if God is doing something in that Church.
If God is doing something in that Church and you go and simply condemn, not control your mouth, indirectly you're may also condemn God without knowing.

Bro the River of Life Sanctary come out with all the wrong prophetic message. Cult or not cult you decide. To me personally is a cults church.
wanna test your bible knowledge mah. tongue.gif

good you know this.

but the word there all Truth, is not really referring to the 10 commandments.

Here's an awesome revelation.

The Holy Spirit is referring to Jesus Christ.

Jesus Christ He is your truth. Jesus Christ is also the Word of God.

What it means is that, when you come into a situation, and you need guidance, The Bible will be your guide. (God's word)

Not just the 10 commandments because there's so many verse,

For example like.

Romans 8:31
What, then, shall we say in response to this? If God is for us, who can be against us?

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Oct 19 2012, 02:09 PM)
You should not say 10 commandments is not for us. You give the wrong info my bro.
Not for us anymore to have right standing with God because Jesus is our right standing with God.

I wanna test you see if you understand this or not.

This post has been edited by unknown warrior: Oct 19 2012, 02:21 PM
unknown warrior
post Oct 19 2012, 02:20 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Oct 19 2012, 02:18 PM)
If this is your interpretation of scripture, I just pointed out it is wrong.

I concur it is wrong.
please don't start again. doh.gif cry.gif

unknown warrior
post Oct 19 2012, 02:27 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Oct 19 2012, 02:14 PM)
What makes you think I focus on Matthew?
I know what I speak. I read the whole bible for many times and I don't interpret what you interpreted.
I can only see a PERFECT jigsaw puzzle - a salvation of God.

Again, you need to understand how, why, who, where about the book of Hebrews.
Again, the target audience is Jews.

There is no room for debate here. It is no Mosaic laws for the Jews.
It is God's law. Love God & love others are exactly the 10 commandments.
I have no intention to debate or doubt your faith.
If this is your interpretation of scripture, I just pointed out it is wrong.
If you get this or learn this from a teacher or a source, beware of "false teacher" and "bad source".
no really, by the same token, if you insist the Book of Hebrew is only for the Jews then you must also deny whatever Jesus says because his first target audience is the same.

Matthew 15:24
He answered, "I was sent only to the lost sheep of Israel."

But it's not isn't it?

Unless you're suggesting to say Jesus is different, His words is for everyone whereas Paul's is only for the Jews. rolleyes.gif

Well in that case you contradict what you're standing on.
unknown warrior
post Oct 19 2012, 02:42 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Oct 19 2012, 02:25 PM)
It is God's law. Love God & love others are exactly the 10 commandments.

I concur but our Bro Unknow warrior interpret the scripture wrongly.
hmm I still think you don't get it.

Romans 4:14

For if it is the adherents of the law who are to be the heirs, faith is null and the promise is void (ESV)

For if those who are of the Law are heirs, faith is made void and the promise is nullified; (NAS)

If God's promise is only for those who obey the law, then faith is not necessary and the promise is pointless. (NLT)

What does this tell you?

If you say that you obey the 10 commandment because you love God and want to obey him?

But God never really say that you know?

If you really want to be scriptural, Love others. that's all. NOT love the 10 commandments.

1 John 4:20
If anyone says, "I love God," yet hates his brother, he is a liar. For anyone who does not love his brother, whom he has seen, cannot love God, whom he has not seen

That's mean in essence, once you love others, by the same token, you also Love God.

NOW THAT is the new emphasize in NT.

unknown warrior
post Oct 19 2012, 02:48 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(stefanong @ Oct 19 2012, 02:35 PM)
Actually both are correct. While the main target audience are the Jews, the application and learnings also apply to the Gentiles; we who are grafted into the main olive tree...

There is no contradiction just go back to the context.
That's not what we're talking about it.

unknown warrior
post Oct 19 2012, 02:53 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(stefanong @ Oct 19 2012, 02:32 PM)
No actually that is partially true. The 10 commandments can be summarised in this two essential fundamentals: Love God and Love others.

They are not meant to replace or subtract the 10 commandments. Remember the context of the Book of Hebrews also .. that while the book addresses Jewish believers the point was not to alienate them...they were jewish in culture background but were having difficulties trying to balance observing the Jewish laws rituals and festivals and being a Christian and this whole element of Grace.

In short, Hebrews did not say the old practises were rubbish but rather with Jesus, there is a higher way.. that is all.

I do not understand why you guys are taking this and turning a simple discussion into a baseball bat to bludgeon and hurt others.

Come on..people. No need to start with insults and character assisinations. No point being able to expound the scripture if you cannot even have love and the grace to overlook. Correction is to be done with love. So everyone please...relax
The contention is not what's in the 10 commandments.

I believe the biggest problem is for mostly in here is trying to understand what is the purpose of the 10 commandments.
unknown warrior
post Oct 19 2012, 02:56 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Oct 19 2012, 02:52 PM)
But God never really say that you know?

John 14:15

New International Version (©1984)
"If you love me, you will obey what I command.
New Living Translation (©2007)
"If you love me, obey my commandments.

English Standard Version (©2001)
“If you love me, you will keep my commandments.

New American Standard Bible (©1995)
"If you love Me, you will keep My commandments.

King James Bible (Cambridge Ed.)
If ye love me, keep my commandments.

International Standard Version (©2008)
"If you love me, keep my commandments.

Aramaic Bible in Plain English (©2010)
“If you love me, keep my commandments.”

GOD'S WORD® Translation (©1995)
"If you love me, you will obey my commandments.

King James 2000 Bible (©2003)
If you love me, keep my commandments.
One word. Love.

unknown warrior
post Oct 19 2012, 03:02 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(stefanong @ Oct 19 2012, 02:54 PM)
brother, Romans 4 talks that just following the law is not enough. Faith is important. Which is true because without Faith it is impossible to please God. Nevertheless, this is not the proper context to use it and has no relevance.

You can love others and not love God. Some non-christians I know are much more socially active in welfare and charitable works than most christians I know. But that isnt enough.

To be precise, the statement should be (paraphrased)... You say you love God? Well prove it! Do you even love your brother? You dont? Well how can you claim to love God if you can't even love your own brother?

Essentially saying this to us: You cannot claim to follow a God of Love and not help but love others. This scripture is not to be used in incorrect context to cover the commandments.

just saying.
Sigh, I'm not relating those 2. doh.gif

Was answering to 2 parts.

Sigh.

unknown warrior
post Oct 19 2012, 03:14 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Oct 19 2012, 02:58 PM)
Jesus's missionary job was in Nazareth and Jerusalem. Many of the target audiences were Jews.

Do not pick words.
You need to understand why, how, who etc etc it was said.

There is no need to rolleyes.
Of course, the salvation is for everyone.

My God doesn't shoot His own feet.
Not talking about Salvation.
Yes if you and I can agree that God doesn't shoot is own foot, then all Scripture is relevant.
It's for everyone. And remember Jesus did not only talk about Salvation When he first preached in the sermon on the mount, there's a mouthful of things there. If you insist certain passages or whatever in the book of Hebrew is only meant for the Jew then you must be consistent that Jesus's preaching is only meant for the Jews as well, otherwise you contradict yourself.

QUOTE(stefanong @ Oct 19 2012, 03:00 PM)
Eh the purpose now?

Well as far as I know 2 Tim 3:16 essentially spells it out for us.
No.

Galatians 3:19
unknown warrior
post Oct 19 2012, 03:14 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Oct 19 2012, 02:59 PM)
Pick Durian
Go eat your durian lah. doh.gif
unknown warrior
post Oct 19 2012, 03:21 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Oct 19 2012, 03:18 PM)
The problem with old people. They don't admits their mistake.
Of course because I don't admit I'm old,
I consider myself Young and....... forever young in Jesus Name.

unknown warrior
post Oct 19 2012, 03:22 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(stefanong @ Oct 19 2012, 03:21 PM)
Actually the Scriptures include the Law of Moses which was divided both into the Law of Rituals and the Law of Rightneousness which the New Testament validates (the latter).

So again, remember the context. Just understanding bits and pieces of scripture in isolation is extremely dangerous.
I know that but I don't get what's your point?
unknown warrior
post Oct 19 2012, 03:25 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(stefanong @ Oct 19 2012, 03:23 PM)
Actually the Scriptures include the Law of Moses which was divided both into the Law of Rituals and the Law of Rightneousness which the New Testament validates (the latter).

So again, remember the context. Just understanding bits and pieces of scripture in isolation is extremely dangerous. Expound the scripture but from the context of the chapter and from the purpose of the book in its entirety. That normally helps.
Well since you post this again.

Yes. and.......?

Added on October 19, 2012, 3:27 pmOk, I'll come back later.

Keep this fellowship up.

And Olga, pls belanja us some durians.

This post has been edited by unknown warrior: Oct 19 2012, 03:27 PM
unknown warrior
post Oct 19 2012, 07:13 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(stefanong @ Oct 19 2012, 03:28 PM)
No point just answering your post.

You wanted to know the purpose apparently you disagreed with my reply stating 2 Tim .. that it was incorrect.

I just wanted to expand your horizon by clueing you in that scriptures arent just the Gospels or Epistles...that the scriptures in its entirety includes the Torah including the law of Moses, 10 commandments, the Pentateuch and etc.. as well...

the context bit was added in hopes that you may find that tip useful in enhancing your personal exploration of the scriptures.
Actually I asked you that question because, there is a reason for it.

Yes all Scripture is God's breath and is useful for teaching, etc, that I have no doubt, but the purpose of the 10 commandments is revealed in Galatians 3:19. NLT ver explains it Best IMO.

And I appreciate your intention but what makes you think I don't read the Tanakh and the Torah or the entire Bible as a whole? laugh.gif

This post has been edited by unknown warrior: Oct 19 2012, 07:32 PM
unknown warrior
post Oct 19 2012, 07:19 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(stefanong @ Oct 19 2012, 04:21 PM)
The scripture has to be read in its entirety and within the proper context and background. Some people take not the bible in its entirety but, like "picking durian" (great term), choose to pick and choose verses that they like out of its proper context and then use it to further a point. Most cults and deviant teaching is birthed from this. Nothing is more dangerous than half truth or incomplete truths. Out right lies are easy to spot but partial truth is very very deceptive.

For example:

Luke 6:38

Give and it will be given to you pressed down....

Its normally used as a classic verse for offering and tithes..but if you read it carefully in its context that means the entire Luke 6 especially in 34 to 37 you find out, Hang on, this verse is not about offering!!?? Its actually about  mercy and grace and nothing about giving money to get blessing. But why so many people have been spouting out this verse when collecting offering?

Simple. Because its out of context.

So who to follow? Simple no one. Huh you say?

Yes! Test the scriptures yourself. Armed with a good concordance (Strong's is a good one), probably a study bible/Vine's commentary, lion's handbook is great too (my favourite)...read up about the setting, the place, purpose...etc (someone already covered that) and guided by the Holy Spirit, you will have no problems uncovering what the scripture speaks to you personally.

pehkay shares the whole importance of understanding a scripture in its depth and entirety rather nicely.
Actually there's a double edge sword in that verse. I agree it applies for grace but it can also apply to money.

It ties to the verse on whatsoever you reap, you shall sow in Galatians 6:7 as well as the covenant God gives you in Malachi.

All these are connected.

Many take Galatians 6:7 as something negative but some forget, the flip side is also true. You sow something good, you'll get the same in return.

49 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » 
Bump Topic Topic ClosedOptions New Topic

0.0988sec    0.15    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:53 PM