Open pod air filter..., Need advice...

TSjeenhao
post Feb 16 2011, 09:46 AM, updated 15y ago

337 posts

Hi everyone,

I've several questions here regarding open pod air filter.

I'm planning to install one in my Kelisa, and because the place I stay (maybe), I can only find a shop that sells Arospeed open pod air filter. (The worst part is I cannot find any shop that sells drop-in, either they seller never heard about, or out of stock, need to wait more than a month.)

Anyone ever use this brand's open pod?

I'm confused now actually. I saw many people saying that open pod will increase FC. However, my neighbour who is using open pod says that it actually reduces FC, unless the driver wants to listen the sound and stomp the acceleration pedal until 5,000, 6,000 and so on. Or else, it actually reduces FC. I contacted some sellers out there, some of them also says open pod saves more petrol than drop-in. However, there are also a lot of people saying that open pod increase FC.

Can anyone explain clearer to me about this? cry.gif

And, what I should beware when I use open pod. I ask the seller who sells Arospeed open pod air filter, about heat shield, none of them know about this. What else I can do to prevent sucking too much hot air?

Please guide me, thank you notworthy.gif
angel-ice
post Feb 16 2011, 10:06 AM

in fc point of view, i tink will be a bit more than normal due to unrestricted air flow compared to conventional air filter

powah oso got a bit, b4 this i oso use k&n

but need to put heat shield cos the open pod will be placed near the engine, tis one u can customised urself

besides protecting from hot air, heat shield can oso proteect from water being suck from underneath car
TSjeenhao
post Feb 16 2011, 10:27 AM

337 posts

QUOTE(angel-ice @ Feb 16 2011, 10:06 AM)
in fc point of view, i tink will be a bit more than normal due to unrestricted air flow compared to conventional air filter

powah oso got a bit, b4 this i oso use k&n

but need to put heat shield cos the open pod will be placed near the engine, tis one u can customised urself

besides protecting from hot air, heat shield can oso proteect from water being suck from underneath car
How to customise heat shield?

Some people say the FC depends on the driving style. If my mum drives it, (always below 3,500rpm), will the open pod affect much? Because I heard only if you stomp more acceleration pedal then the "power" can be felt. Is this true?
archonixm
post Feb 16 2011, 10:36 AM

774 posts

When there is more air being suck in the detonation chamber, there will be more fuel added by the ECU. Why would it decrease FC? It just make the car faster cor more fuel+air can be sucked in.

U can reduce fuel consumption by removing the cat-con in your standard exhaust.
TSjeenhao
post Feb 16 2011, 10:43 AM

337 posts

QUOTE(archonixm @ Feb 16 2011, 10:36 AM)
When there is more air being suck in the detonation chamber, there will be more fuel added by the ECU. Why would it decrease FC? It just make the car faster cor more fuel+air can be sucked in.

U can reduce fuel consumption by removing the cat-con in your standard exhaust.
So, only drop-in can improve FC...what about performance? Does drop-in improve top speed? What about the time for me to reach 60 from 0?

I've found a shop here, selling K&N drop-in, costs me RM350, hell, that's much more expensive...if I decide to get drop-in, I guess I will buy Simota's drop-in from West Malaysia.

Btw, my exhaust ca-con patah already 3 years ago sweat.gif
angel-ice
post Feb 16 2011, 11:00 AM

k&n is expensive, this one i agree, but it can be cleaned and reuse

got solution to clean it too

to customise heat shield, u need to fabricate from aluminium + alu heat wrap

for topspeed improvemnt, need to do more than just the airfilter

air filter = response oni

beweif6
post Feb 16 2011, 11:32 AM

14 posts

Open-pod can save oil ke?
SUSLostDuck
post Feb 16 2011, 12:31 PM

nope

This post has been edited by LostDuck: Feb 16 2011, 12:49 PM
kampoon
post Feb 16 2011, 12:40 PM

drop in you can buy online lar....they will send it to you on the next day usually if stock availble, kelisa should be freely available.

Drop in is better if your car stocks, it will improve your response and one more thing...that it can be reuse / service by cleaning only
shinjite
post Feb 16 2011, 12:43 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

Don't aim for power because if there is an increase it will be negligible unless you have a big cc vehicle, aim for response smile.gif

This post has been edited by shinjite: Feb 16 2011, 12:43 PM
TSjeenhao
post Feb 16 2011, 01:08 PM

337 posts

Thanks all. I've ordered a Simota's drop-in air filter online.

Thanks for all the replies :-)
beweif6
post Feb 16 2011, 01:20 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(jeenhao @ Feb 16 2011, 01:08 PM)
Thanks all. I've ordered a Simota's drop-in air filter online.

Thanks for all the replies :-)
Simota drop-in filter better than K&N?
acbc
post Feb 16 2011, 01:22 PM

9,048 posts

Open pod = loud and loud = JPJ
Drop in = quiet and quiet = no JPJ
mrl
post Feb 16 2011, 02:20 PM

977 posts

QUOTE(beweif6 @ Feb 16 2011, 01:20 PM)
I doubt it's any better in terms of air flow, but there's a complain the throttle body got dirty faster compare to K&N due to poor filtration thus the cheaper price...
shinjite
post Feb 16 2011, 02:25 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

More or less the same....
beweif6
post Feb 16 2011, 02:37 PM

14 posts

Oh.. that means overall the best is K&N?
Anyone here use open-pod filter in city09?
mADmAN
post Feb 16 2011, 02:45 PM

10,530 posts

since we on the subject....well sort of....

anyone used this type of air ram before?? dont care about the filter itself...just the air ram

is it any good? any feedbacks? thinking of getting the simota ones to replace my current HKS SPF Mushroom with 3" chrome steel air ram

planning on pairing it with either the blitz sus stainless steel mesh or apexi dual funner power intake. to be fitted on a b-series vtec
angel-ice
post Feb 16 2011, 04:08 PM

easiest for b is to get a simple pipe, put mushroom, ok d
ada pooowwah !

usually these type of a/f is for low range/mid range response

same as arc oso

Added on February 16, 2011, 4:10 pmyour ty looks nice lor

i'm oso using tyc but not the projector type, normal wan

This post has been edited by angel-ice: Feb 16 2011, 04:10 PM
the_catacombs
post Feb 16 2011, 04:14 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Feb 16 2011, 02:45 PM)
since we on the subject....well sort of....

anyone used this type of air ram before?? dont care about the filter itself...just the air ram

is it any good? any feedbacks? thinking of getting the simota ones to replace my current HKS SPF Mushroom with 3" chrome steel air ram

planning on pairing it with either the blitz sus stainless steel mesh or apexi dual funner power intake. to be fitted on a b-series vtec
more reserve air... good for throttle response... especially variable valve lift engines such as mivec and vtec... switchover point requires sudden surge of air intake... if there isnt much reserve air, u wont feel the "kick"... brows.gif

well, it has benefits does not mean it doesnt have disadvantages... non-variable valve lift engines might loose some low end torque from using this setup... layman term, air rushing in too fast, u feel a tad bit of emptiness in initial revs...
TSjeenhao
post Feb 16 2011, 04:52 PM

337 posts

More or less the same, but of course K&N is still better. I just wanna save few bucks smile.gif

Who knows after getting drop-in I feel like "wanting something stronger"? Haha... drool.gif
Intrigue
post Feb 16 2011, 04:58 PM

L O W Y A T E R
3,943 posts

most probably after install open pod, top speed will reduce unless do a full tune via piggyback.
mADmAN
post Feb 16 2011, 05:24 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(angel-ice @ Feb 16 2011, 04:08 PM)
easiest for b is to get a simple pipe, put mushroom, ok d
ada pooowwah !
usually these type of a/f is for low range/mid range response

same as arc oso
i already have that mushroom setup... ive never been a fan of HKS SPF filters...came with the car when i bought it though... hence the thought of changing. thought of putting in the apexi dual funnel power intake or blitz sus... so thought about changing air ram one shot.

believe it or not...in my old B16A had some RM50 chapalang open pod.... tried the ori HKS SPF... few days.. changed back to the chapalang with a big smile on my face.

if that setup gives better low-mid range response then thats good..... coz vtecs has pretty much sucky torque in that range...i myself have a torque dip between 3.5-5.5 according to my dyno chart. so i guess ANY form of improvement in that range should be a good one tongue.gif

QUOTE(angel-ice @ Feb 16 2011, 04:08 PM)
your ty looks nice lor

i'm oso using tyc but not the projector type, normal wan
then buy my TYC laaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa hahhahahaha tongue.gif

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Feb 16 2011, 04:14 PM)
more reserve air... good for throttle response... especially variable valve lift engines such as mivec and vtec... switchover point requires sudden surge of air intake... if there isnt much reserve air, u wont feel the "kick"... brows.gif

well, it has benefits does not mean it doesnt have disadvantages... non-variable valve lift engines might loose some low end torque from using this setup... layman term, air rushing in too fast, u feel a tad bit of emptiness in initial revs...
thanks...are there any disadvantages for vtec engines?
monster2020
post Feb 16 2011, 06:07 PM

386 posts

top speed will reduce for sure because Perodua Alza ussing K&N open port and last time with original can go 160kmh easy now liter bit hard need longer road.

but overall power upgrade u can fell the car lighter ..

tongue.gif

but how fast u want to driver every day ?

to me low RPM power is important becuase the car use 80% in town and 20% on highway.
BigSaver
post Feb 16 2011, 06:34 PM

v(^_^)V
1,029 posts

Thinking of using drop in K&N air filter on my myvi ride..but read on the K&N thread say after using this drop in /open pod need to reflash back the ECU.is it true?
mrl
post Feb 16 2011, 06:47 PM

977 posts

no need to reflash... been using it with so much fun...
looseand
post Feb 18 2011, 04:38 AM

28 posts

Beware of imitation air filter in the market . However , imitation onces can also be use . No significant differences anyway .

Added on February 18, 2011, 4:39 amBeware of imitation air filter in the market . However , imitation onces can also be use . No significant differences anyway .

This post has been edited by looseand: Feb 18 2011, 04:39 AM

0.0232sec    0.58    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 07:42 PM