Anti Money Laundering Analyst, with Citigroup Transaction Services

TSxDingx
post Feb 16 2011, 12:04 AM, updated 13y ago

613 posts

Dear all,

I was called to attend an interview with Citigroup Transaction Services for Anti Money Laundering Analyst position. Can anyone of u who had attended the interview for this position (or other positions) with Citigroup tell me how was the interview process? For those who r working or had been worked with Citigroup Transaction Services, can u guys tell me how is the working environment? and, how is the future career growth for this Anti Money Laundering Analyst position?

Ur input is highly appreciated..

Thanks...

This post has been edited by xDingx: Feb 16 2011, 12:05 AM
TSxDingx
post Feb 16 2011, 11:12 PM

613 posts

QUOTE(mahsiuling @ Feb 16 2011, 06:39 PM)
Are you a fresh grad? or what exp u did previously? i do have some friends in there.
I'm currently working with an audit firm for less than 1 year...and they hiring me as fresh grad...did ur friends tell u anything about this position?

This post has been edited by xDingx: Feb 16 2011, 11:15 PM
TSxDingx
post Feb 17 2011, 05:05 PM

613 posts

QUOTE(RedSky21 @ Feb 17 2011, 05:46 AM)
I also applied for this position but I don`t know much about it... Anyone can explain a bit ?... Thanks...
so were u also called for the interview next monday?
TSxDingx
post Feb 17 2011, 08:49 PM

613 posts

QUOTE(qqmeng @ Feb 17 2011, 05:13 PM)
refer to anti money laundering act 2001
Thanks,

but i would like to know more about the interview process, working environment and future career growth by working with citigroup transaction services as an anti money laundering analyst.... smile.gif
TSxDingx
post Feb 17 2011, 10:44 PM

613 posts

QUOTE(LostWanderer @ Feb 17 2011, 10:36 PM)
not to sound snobbish, but...there are a few posts on this job already been made in this forum...i copied and pasted what i posted a couple of months ago...you could try searching from the archives maybe next time...? =) anyway, to your question:

workwise, is pretty mundane...but which job isn't i guess? thing's aren't that hard to do, really, but it's just tedious (takes about 1 week to learn, 1 month to get used to, and you should be able to walk on your own from there on)

working hours...the earlier you come in, the earlier you can leave...new hires are new hires, so, you can come in at 9am and leave by 6...for around 2 months max, i guess...lol

otherwise, you'll consider yourself lucky if you come in at 8am and could leave by 7pm...lol, i pity some of my seniors which during the due date of our workload and they will need to stay till near midnight to finish the work

employee turnover rate quite high, prolly 2 person leaving every 3 months, on average...it's kinda like this, either u stay for 1 year, many years, or a few months, if u get what i mean, lol...

what else...oh, people are quite nice i guess, but you rarely get to interact around as work will bind you most of the time, except during lunch hour, haha...however, just make sure that you do your work and meet your targets and do it "perfectly" and you should have a pretty ok time there (except that you may feel that you are really tied to your work, lol)

job opportunities after getting in here? i think some had already stated, compliance being the most clearly defined job out there...i am also quite in a dilemma at this point that if i leave, which job should i find, lol...this field is pretty "self-defined"...so, it'll be hard for fresh grads to know where to go if they dun like this field of work...XD

hope that helps...=)
Thank u very much for the info, this really helps a lot..and sorry for not using the search function 1st sweat.gif

Based on what u mentioned, it sounds like an auditor's working life oso, have to stay when there is due date to meet... tongue.gif

R u working with citigroup with same position?

However, other than the working environment, could you or anyone please tell me how will i be tested during the interview which i will attend next monday?

1 more question, will this position enjoy the same benefit (eg bonus) with the staffs from other department like credit dept and loan approve dept?

This post has been edited by xDingx: Feb 17 2011, 10:59 PM
TSxDingx
post Feb 18 2011, 10:29 AM

613 posts

QUOTE(Enclave Recruit @ Feb 18 2011, 04:20 AM)
Long working hours and mundane job. Crappy pay and mediocre benefits. A senior once told me, if you can survive at Citigroup for more than a year, you can survive anywhere else since this place is hell.

Its like stepping through the gates of hell. Serious.

People are somewhat friendly. Career growth? Let's put it this way, unless you stay for more than 5 years, you will be doing the same old shit with peanut pay without bonus (bonus is myth so I've heard). Whadaya expect, CTSM is a cost center, you ain't making money for the company so you definitely don't deserve the money that those in sales are earning.

As was mentioned, turnover rate is high. Really high. People leaving every 2 months haha. I see Goodbye and Farewell letters regularly. Oh and uhh, resignation notice period is 1 month for temporary staff and 2 months for permanent. Its a deterrence for people to leave BUT PEOPLE STILL LEAVE hahaha.

Interview process? Haha, one of the easiest interviews ever. They just basically ask you about yourself and "enlighten" you on crappy the job (must be willing to work at staggered hours, facing the monitor for 9 hours, anti-social/pro-introvert roles bla bla bla etc etc etc).

Have a nice day hehehehe. My advice, go join Dell or Agilent. Goyang kaki to the max smile.gif
ur comment somehow stop me to join CTSM sweat.gif
TSxDingx
post Feb 20 2011, 03:55 PM

613 posts

A lot of bad comments here for this position with CTSM shakehead.gif

I think i will reject the recruiter who called me for the interview only offer me rm2400+ which is lower than my current salary... sweat.gif
TSxDingx
post Feb 22 2011, 07:50 PM

613 posts

QUOTE(qemon @ Feb 21 2011, 07:16 PM)
HY! i went for the interview today and it went suck. because of my own mistake hehe. the interview is very casual. but u have to do research about this job. i did a research, but i only research about ANTI MONEY LAUNDERING ANALYST. yes u have to know what is the job scope but u have to know what is MONEY LAUNDERING also. and the three steps ( placement, layering n integration) u can find it in google. luckily the interviewer give me second chance tomorrow. hope i can do it better.

hope my advice can help u or other people smile.gif

remind u, MONEY LAUNDERING n ANTI MONEY LAUNDERING ANALYST are not the same. one is the ''what does it mean by this act'' and the other one is ''what is the job scope'' don't be careless like me hehe

So how was ur second chance interview with CTSM? Did u get the job? I didnt attend the interview at all as I had rejected the interview after reading all the comments here... tongue.gif
TSxDingx
post Feb 22 2011, 10:12 PM

613 posts

QUOTE(qemon @ Feb 22 2011, 09:51 PM)
my 2nd interview went smooth thank GOD!!! it was very casual. the basic is only rm2,400. but i think the experiences are more valuable than that. besides, i'm broke. so need money n just grab whatever chances in front of me, surely the good ones tongue.gif

they said that sometimes i should come on saturday, for the time being i have no problem with that, since i have no commitment but i told them i hope i dont have to come on EVERY saturday (that would be suck) haha they will call within 2 weeks but i dont put too much hope. hehe
Good luck for u smile.gif
TSxDingx
post Apr 25 2011, 09:43 PM

613 posts

QUOTE(king_kot @ Apr 25 2011, 07:40 PM)
got job interview for AMLA oso dis coming May..my 1st job interview since graduated early dis month lol~  icon_rolleyes.gif 

guess i just go for it (im majoring in telecommunication engineering btw hmmm... hmm.gif )

if succeed, then i'll think bout it later wther to accpt or not..hoho  hmm.gif
Haha....good luck to u smile.gif

I opened this thread n i gv up to attend the interview after reading so many bad comments. Thanks for those who shared their experience here smile.gif and now i'm happy with my current firm biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by xDingx: Apr 25 2011, 09:44 PM
TSxDingx
post Jun 4 2011, 11:14 PM

613 posts

QUOTE(levanter @ Jun 4 2011, 09:54 PM)
hmm i feel the judgement is quite biased and one sided here...
let me give a more neutral perspective considering that some of the people who has been giving negative comments looks set on their views.

I've also been working in CTSM AML for half a year, and like what a few said the working hours can be a pain... but then again, what real job doesn't have long working hours? If you are an auditor, you'll even have to work pass the 1am mark.
Furthermore, let me clarify that working overtime is solely up to you. You get to choose whether you want to stay back or not, no one is forcing you. That applies on saturdays too. The team leaders might ask everyone to come in on saturday, but i can guarantee you most of the analyst doesn't.

And what job doesn't expect you to work hard? You don't gain/learn anything from jobs with no expectations of you. I find it amusing seeing people who are working in the AML department whinning and crapping about all these stuff when that's what you generally get in working life. If you want to go back early and not work hard every single day, then go do sales.

Another point, some said there is no growth in CTSM AML. While i agree to a certain point that it is abit harder when you want to further your career in a different path since AML is a specialized field, however if you are interested in compliance then this will be a good starting point.
Furthermore i disagree that there is no future here. Depending on your attitude at work, the team leaders really do take notice. 
I have been given opportunities and exposure in just 6 months that others wouldn't even get in years in terms of management and organizational. For that i'm grateful and lucky for having a really good TL (though she can be scary and strict)

This department is generally still new and a growing one, so it IS easier for further growth. But don't expect to earn alot since this is afterall a cost center, not a profit making one.
And as to those who are wondering why they are still recruiting lots of people, it is because this hub caters to Asia pacific. All the Citi regions will be based in KL. It is only natural to employ more people to cover the workload for that.
R u still working with CTMS? btw, rm2400 salary per month is at low side...
TSxDingx
post Jun 5 2011, 05:18 PM

613 posts

QUOTE(EquinoX @ Jun 5 2011, 02:44 AM)
@levanter: Good ones, there are only dreams job are perfect ones. No pain no gain. I have to agree with u.
@xDingx: RM2.4k is low for fresh grads? May i know how much would it be?
I'm a fresh grad with rm2.7k per month.....
TSxDingx
post Feb 8 2012, 01:50 PM

613 posts

QUOTE(hokkienlang @ Feb 7 2012, 11:16 PM)
I have posted a very extensive blog on my experiences in CTSM as an AML Analyst. I think it should help smile.gif
http://malaysianhokkien.blogspot.com/2012/...-citigroup.html
lol....again...i'm so happy that i didnt accept the interview offer from CTSM, not even attend the interview...lol...

Btw, i'm wondering how ur fren record the video in the toilet? sweat.gif
TSxDingx
post Feb 18 2013, 12:29 PM

613 posts

QUOTE(bippu @ Feb 18 2013, 08:24 AM)
any 1 knows how can i apply for this AML position?
last time i found this job through job street.

0.0242sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 11:14 PM