13 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 >Bottom

Photography The Official Nikon Discussion thread V5, Anticipating D700 replacement !

celciuz
post Mar 3 2011, 03:43 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Mar 3 2011, 03:41 PM)
^
Use UWA for balloon brows.gif
Thinking to lie down on the floor, then shoot upwards! Wonder can cover a lot of the sky or not xD.
celciuz
post Mar 3 2011, 03:44 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(shinjun @ Mar 3 2011, 03:44 PM)
Get a 24mm and go up close. laugh.gif
Everything is going to look bloated lor like this haha!
celciuz
post Mar 3 2011, 03:50 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(opfish @ Mar 3 2011, 03:48 PM)
Quick one. For tele zoom, which one would you choose?:

Nikon 70-300 f/4.5-5.6 VR or Nikon 70-210mm f/4-5.6 AF-D?
I will go for the 70300 VR simply because it has VR. f/4.5 - f/5.6 is very slow :S No VR -> not easy to shoot without a good support or sufficient light.

QUOTE(KTCY @ Mar 3 2011, 03:48 PM)
24 distortion looks well control lo tongue.gif
Didn't take much close shots with it hmm, maybe can test out more first tongue.gif.
celciuz
post Mar 3 2011, 03:59 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(C_Sagi @ Mar 3 2011, 03:53 PM)
Heading to BTS again this weekend. My camera is rdy for pickup. Didnt expect so fast finish service. biggrin.gif
What did you service?
celciuz
post Mar 3 2011, 04:01 PM

14,037 posts

Oh... hopefully my 70200 also can return fast to me >_<
celciuz
post Mar 3 2011, 04:38 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Mar 3 2011, 04:12 PM)
You might want to check out this link laugh.gif
Click at your own risk tho.
http://www.flickr.com/groups/nikon24mmf14/
Its ok! Don't have the bullet for a 24G at the moment tongue.gif
celciuz
post Mar 3 2011, 04:46 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(C_Sagi @ Mar 3 2011, 04:41 PM)
Heh, already missing her liao ? tongue.gif
Still with me, just unable to perform sad.gif This weekend sending it over.
celciuz
post Mar 3 2011, 04:54 PM

14,037 posts

Impressive, beating 1424 and 1635 o_O
celciuz
post Mar 3 2011, 05:12 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(daze @ Mar 3 2011, 05:05 PM)
Thought is common for prime to hav a better distortion control over zoom lens. It'll be sad if a pro-prime are worst in distortion control to zoom lens.
Well that is true, lesser elements in it right?
celciuz
post Mar 3 2011, 09:29 PM

14,037 posts

Need to check, the Nikon at BTS takes in units for warranty or not?

celciuz
post Mar 3 2011, 09:37 PM

14,037 posts

Maybe I should go direct to Nikon perhaps hmm. or should go through J-One?
celciuz
post Mar 3 2011, 09:42 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(razuryza @ Mar 3 2011, 09:39 PM)
direct la.. what for through j one?  laugh.gif

Added on March 3, 2011, 9:39 pmj one and nikon pkns is near u know..
QUOTE(edwardgsk @ Mar 3 2011, 09:40 PM)
Go direct to Nikon is faster. FYI if you send to Nikon Centre at BTS also they will send it to the Nikon Service Centre @Menara PKNS at PJ, so fastest way is still to go to the PJ service centre. smile.gif
Problem is, I'm not from KL. They don't open on weekends. Their opening hours is office hour and also weekdays only.
celciuz
post Mar 4 2011, 07:34 AM

14,037 posts

This is why I like 85mm on FX biggrin.gif, not too wide not too tele hehehe.
celciuz
post Mar 4 2011, 08:27 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Mar 4 2011, 08:08 AM)
IMHO, the pokok behind kinda distracting sweat.gif
Oh I see, thank you for your input. thumbup.gif
celciuz
post Mar 4 2011, 08:54 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Mar 4 2011, 08:51 AM)
need more bokeh for the pokok icon_idea.gif  rclxm9.gif  laugh.gif
Need 85mm f/0.95G already tongue.gif
celciuz
post Mar 4 2011, 09:05 AM

14,037 posts

Wah seh, need until so extreme like that 50mm or not haha~

85/0.7 -> 121mm diameter for aperture zomg.
celciuz
post Mar 4 2011, 09:57 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Mar 4 2011, 09:52 AM)
How you know the diameter btw ? unsure.gif
Either you misunderstood me, or you don't know how aperture size is measured.

I mentioned how big the aperture opening, aperture is always stated as f/1.4 for example. The f stands for focal length. So a 200mm f/2 would be 100mm aperture opening (filter thread size is another story though).

So, 50mm f/1.4 -> 50/1.4

85 f/1.4 -> 85/1.4

So... 85 f/0.7 -> 85/0.7

Added on March 4, 2011, 9:58 am
QUOTE(C_Sagi @ Mar 4 2011, 09:56 AM)
i bet he research everyday. tongue.gif
No need research la, if you understand how aperture is measured or rather why smaller numbers -> bigger aperture then it is all clear. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by celciuz: Mar 4 2011, 09:58 AM
celciuz
post Mar 4 2011, 12:12 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Mar 4 2011, 10:03 AM)
Celciuz, i see many photos of yours ah,
how do you made both the subject and background exposure that balance ar ?
Shooting at 1.4 isnt easy especially comes to the exposure right ?
Really nice thats why me ask tongue.gif
Nope, shooting at f/1.4 or f/2 or f/8 doesn't exactly affect your exposure. Just need to set up well it will be ok. f/1.4 tend to have more vignetting compared to f/2 or f/4.

QUOTE(KTCY @ Mar 4 2011, 10:06 AM)
Then how you answer 50/1.2 = 52mm filter ?
35/2 = 52mm filter
24/2.8 = 52mm filter
20/2.8 = 52mm filter
35/1.4 ais = 52mm filter

yes, all the lens above might have same filter thread but the lens is small and compact. Take an example, 50/1.2 vs 24/1.4G, it doesn't match what you say.

Leica nottilux another example.

Maybe you can explain more ? I really no idea about this  rclxub.gif
KTCY, like I said it is the aperture diameter. I'm not talking about filter thread.

50 f/1.2 is just 41.67 aperture opening. You can have bigger barrel than the aperture opening, but not smaller ;-)

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Mar 4 2011, 10:08 AM)
he mention aperture hole diameter isit ?

50/1.2 has 41.67mm of aperture diameter
50/1.4 has 35.71mm of aperture diameter
Correct, aperture diameter smile.gif. I didn't mention about the filter thread or barrel size.

Take the Sigma for example, 50mm f/1.4 using 72mm and the 50mm f/1.4D using 52mm (I think). But the aperture opening is still the same, only differences is the barrel size.

Take 85 f/1.2L (72mm) versus 85mm f/1.4G (77mm), why smaller aperture can have bigger filter size? It doesn't matter, cause 85/1.2 = 70.83mm. You still have space.

QUOTE(KTCY @ Mar 4 2011, 10:10 AM)
Idk. I really have no idea about this laugh.gif
About time you learn?

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Mar 4 2011, 10:11 AM)
Aperture hole diameter mah easy to count

just use the focal lengt / f number = diameter in mm  laugh.gif
Correct, that is why I said it is something simple smile.gif

QUOTE(ReeNz @ Mar 4 2011, 10:13 AM)
new knowledge to me too! thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
Welcome.

QUOTE(C_Sagi @ Mar 4 2011, 10:19 AM)
Yeah, same here. I just learned something new today. biggrin.gif
Welcome.

QUOTE(stsh90 @ Mar 4 2011, 10:55 AM)
Thanks for the input CY smile.gif
Welcome.
celciuz
post Mar 4 2011, 02:07 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(kakisemut @ Mar 4 2011, 12:12 PM)
85mm...
its so poisoning...
Hehe thumbup.gif

QUOTE(C_Sagi @ Mar 4 2011, 12:30 PM)
U've been sharing her photos quite a bit more than other gals... hmm.gif
Not that its a bad thing thou. tongue.gif
Haha, its my most recent photoshoot. Haven't been shooting since CNY.

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Mar 4 2011, 12:38 PM)
Celciuz, says like, the background is very bright, and your subject place there isnt that bright, and you metered your subject with correct exposure,
how about the bright background ? wouldn't it be brighter ?
then how you overcome to that situation ?
I no skill man sad.gif
For these I just picked the location, cause I don't have a reflector with me nor good enough to use the flash outdoor.

QUOTE(Kent3888 @ Mar 4 2011, 12:41 PM)
I think he's good at choosing spot, or mayb using reflector biggrin.gif  That's y his subject is alwiz balanced lit comparing with the background
Select position, cause reflector and flash not that simple for me~

QUOTE(lwliam @ Mar 4 2011, 12:43 PM)
cant help but to comment

apart from location, there's always a choice to use a flash as fill to brighten up the subject and bring it to be the same as the background.
I'm not up to this level yet sad.gif

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Mar 4 2011, 12:48 PM)
Heheh reflector.
you see his picture the model skin looks smooth smooth and white white wan.
you just reminded me of reflector.
never use it thou... me not that Pro  cry.gif
But has to know how to set properly if not the flash effect
too strong make the background imbalance  sad.gif
Using flash will give different feel, it all depends what you are looking for biggrin.gif. She has good complexion mah
celciuz
post Mar 4 2011, 02:17 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Mar 4 2011, 02:14 PM)
@bold : Sorry too technical. Not interested. I'm just gear head laugh.gif
So ? tongue.gif
Be special, not the same as others brows.gif
No harm knowing something this simple wink.gif

13 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 >Top