Sony Xperia Neo and Pro, Another Xperia brothers
Jan 4 2012, 03:50 PM
192 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
I found this.
Root / Unroot Sony Ericsson Xperia 2011 v1.5 without unlock bootloader http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1346198 this look easy for NOOB =.= |
Jan 4 2012, 05:46 PM
4,560 posts Joined: May 2007 From: Kuching,Serdang UPM |
QUOTE(terryforever @ Jan 4 2012, 11:39 AM) I know this is stupid question, answering you this question now.but is a PRO question for me == "Does tis means i can't update next time with SONY PC Companion?" If answer is YES, then where n how i update next time? Bcoz now in my mind, i just want ROOT my phone, dun want ROM. SiuYi, dun mad on me~ i still a NOOB. (yesterday i read a book in Kinokuniya about Android phone, I understand a bit of ROOT n ROM, bcoz i try understand it with Xbox mod thing (JTAG n FBT). So i understand a bit) if u plan to root xperia PRO, currently there is no evidence saying u can root it without using installing a rooted ROM yet. for example: Super-One-Click roots ur unit without installing a ROM. it just root ur unit and that's all. but that doesn't give you a recovery application along in ur unit. regarding, if you root ur phone u canot update it nextime with pc companion. this statement is not valid at all. the reason is because if u root ur phone, the meaning behind this action is that u are no longer satisfied with the current firmware/stock rom and wish to get more than that from it by rooting it. so in my guide, i provide 2 options of root rom which is a) FreeXperia.zip and boot.zip [one got shortcut button, while the other no, but both using stock-based kernel], & b) cm7 kernel [custom kernel which u will definite WOW if u installed it and venture]. if u install cm7 kernel, it comes with 2.3.7 instead of the stock firmware which is 2.3.4. so it is 0.0.3 higher than ur stock. but SE released news that they will no longer go for an upgrade in gingerbread 2.3, instead to start off with icecream sandwich 4.0 in 2012. so if u happen to need 4.0 in future, u will just however revert the firmware to stock kernel with the method i provide u in the guide and upgrade it forward to 4.0 using pc companion. so, answering "u only wanna root ur phone". then just install "FreeXperia.zip" or "boot.zip". both using stock-based kernel. it will be 100% same like stock firmware. Added on January 4, 2012, 5:51 pm QUOTE(terryforever @ Jan 4 2012, 03:50 PM) I found this. well, that is also a made-easy 'one-click' root method derived from zergrush. no harm trying then report back here though, but i see there will be no RECOVERY application attached along, so u need to install it after that~ Root / Unroot Sony Ericsson Xperia 2011 v1.5 without unlock bootloader http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1346198 this look easy for NOOB =.= This post has been edited by SiuYi: Jan 4 2012, 05:52 PM |
Jan 4 2012, 06:34 PM
377 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: temerloh...bandar ikan patin |
just wanna survey
what the cheapest price for xperia pro u can get for AP set??i surveyed in viva mall cheras, the best price is 870 plus few accesories... any other price?? |
Jan 4 2012, 07:17 PM
knight_kriss
rm950 with 2 years AP warranty. this is what i was quoted lastime. |
Jan 4 2012, 07:26 PM
377 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: temerloh...bandar ikan patin |
Jan 4 2012, 07:33 PM
knight_kriss
at kepong/selayang. my fren from cari.com.my. That was the price when xmas promo was around, duno got hike or not since xmas promo finish liaw~ |
Jan 4 2012, 09:34 PM
jeopardise
got question ask u: currently my ROM is stock-based kernal with recovery, but no shortcut to recovery mode. and i wanna flash it to stock-based kernel with recovery and with shortcut to recovery mode. do i need to revert back to the stock kernel or just extract the .zip in recovery mode to unload the .img? <--will it brick my hp? ----- add-on bro, why u dun use cm7? Added on January 4, 2012, 10:21 pm QUOTE(terryforever @ Jan 4 2012, 03:50 PM) I found this. bro, can do me a favor?Root / Unroot Sony Ericsson Xperia 2011 v1.5 without unlock bootloader http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1346198 this look easy for NOOB =.= can u help me check ur PRO's build number? Settings > About Phone, then scroll down to the last. is it 4.0.2.A.0.58 or 4.0.2.A.0.42 ? also, i did some readings. to avoid bricking PRO during automatic update via FOTA (firmware on the air) using pc companion, u can refer to http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=47912565 under Add-on (2). I made some changes on that already and will try it out by tonight. This post has been edited by SiuYi: Jan 4 2012, 10:21 PM |
Jan 4 2012, 11:13 PM
816 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Anyone has problem syncing with Google Calendar?
The first time I created the account in the phone, existing entries of Google Calendar are shown in phone. After the first time, subsequent entries in Google Calendar from the PC are not updated in the phone anymore, I tried "sync" in the Settings also not working... |
Jan 4 2012, 11:24 PM
7,740 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Some Yih |
QUOTE(skyer @ Jan 4 2012, 11:13 PM) Anyone has problem syncing with Google Calendar? I dont. whatever changes in google calendar will be push into ur device automatically..from my experiece (and now also)The first time I created the account in the phone, existing entries of Google Calendar are shown in phone. After the first time, subsequent entries in Google Calendar from the PC are not updated in the phone anymore, I tried "sync" in the Settings also not working... |
Jan 5 2012, 09:33 AM
192 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
QUOTE(SiuYi @ Jan 4 2012, 09:34 PM) jeopardise is 4.0.2.A.0.58got question ask u: currently my ROM is stock-based kernal with recovery, but no shortcut to recovery mode. and i wanna flash it to stock-based kernel with recovery and with shortcut to recovery mode. do i need to revert back to the stock kernel or just extract the .zip in recovery mode to unload the .img? <--will it brick my hp? ----- add-on bro, why u dun use cm7? Added on January 4, 2012, 10:21 pm bro, can do me a favor? can u help me check ur PRO's build number? Settings > About Phone, then scroll down to the last. is it 4.0.2.A.0.58 or 4.0.2.A.0.42 ? also, i did some readings. to avoid bricking PRO during automatic update via FOTA (firmware on the air) using pc companion, u can refer to http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=47912565 under Add-on (2). I made some changes on that already and will try it out by tonight. |
Jan 5 2012, 10:06 AM
1,767 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Bandar Seri Putra |
QUOTE(SiuYi @ Jan 4 2012, 09:34 PM) jeopardise i am unclear about "with shortcut to recovery mode". got question ask u: currently my ROM is stock-based kernal with recovery, but no shortcut to recovery mode. and i wanna flash it to stock-based kernel with recovery and with shortcut to recovery mode. do i need to revert back to the stock kernel or just extract the .zip in recovery mode to unload the .img? <--will it brick my hp? ----- bla bla bla Do you mean you want to have shortcut like Reboot menu to recovery mode OR when you start your phone, to enter recovery mode you have to press 'shortcut' key like Volume down like Xperia neo. I am not sure about reverting back to stock kernel using .zip file because I do not know the .zip file purpose. If you do this, the worst thing could happen could be boot loop. I don't think will brick it. IF you got bootloop, reflash but do not clear data. Perhaps the method to revert back safely is available here (I haven't tested it) by DoomLord : http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1116970 I've managed to install CWM recovery for Neo which available from this link http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1364509 I used the Run install-cwm?.cmd method to successfully boot into recovery but using pressing Vol - after turning on the phone. I had bootloop after installing Recovery using RootExplorer. I can only enter Recovery but couldn't pass SE bootanimation. You said you can enter Recovery and you managed to navigate using Pro keys? A few said the key mapping is different or can't navigate at all. Hope this helps This post has been edited by jeopardise: Jan 5 2012, 10:09 AM |
Jan 5 2012, 07:50 PM
terryforever
thanks, man. jeopardise shortcut during startup to recovery mode. u tried with cm? before? now no more? i plan to use cm7 ler. from my POV and readings, i found out "PRO is near similar to NEO and ARC, in the same category with other Xperia 2011". if kernel or widget is suitable for NEO and ARC, it might work 90% on PRO, if it suits PLAY/ACTIVE/RAY or MINI PRO, then it might work 45%. just my estimations. |
Jan 5 2012, 09:20 PM
816 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Jan 5 2012, 10:41 PM
QUOTE(SiuYi @ Jan 5 2012, 07:50 PM) jeopardise I haven't tried CM yet. I am quite happy with stock SE rom. If not mistaken there still under development, such as HDMI doesn't work.shortcut during startup to recovery mode. u tried with cm? before? now no more? i plan to use cm7 ler. Now with stock Gingerbread 2.3, I can enter recovery with shortcut key when booting. QUOTE(SiuYi @ Jan 5 2012, 07:50 PM) from my POV and readings, i found out "PRO is near similar to NEO and ARC, in the same category with other Xperia 2011". if kernel or widget is suitable for NEO and ARC, it might work 90% on PRO, if it suits PLAY/ACTIVE/RAY or MINI PRO, then it might work 45%. just my estimations. So far I haven't bricked it yet so ... nice and fun testing with it |
Jan 5 2012, 10:55 PM
QUOTE(jeopardise @ Jan 5 2012, 10:41 PM) I haven't tried CM yet. I am quite happy with stock SE rom. If not mistaken there still under development, such as HDMI doesn't work. like tat i dun wanna go for cm7 1st. PRO got stock rom with recovery + shortcut. but unfortunately the 1 i flash in is without shortcut. so now im thinking of flashing it to the 1 with shortcut. Now with stock Gingerbread 2.3, I can enter recovery with shortcut key when booting. |
Jan 5 2012, 11:16 PM
229 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
gsmarena.com says this phone supports HSDPA 850MHZ, can someone pls confirm it, or this is only applicable for handset sold in certain region? i want to get one of this and going to thailand because thailand mostly support 3g 850MHZ only
Apart from this, any pro and cons for this handset? How's battery life? Thanks ya. |
Jan 6 2012, 12:01 AM
QUOTE(SiuYi @ Jan 5 2012, 10:55 PM) like tat i dun wanna go for cm7 1st. PRO got stock rom with recovery + shortcut. but unfortunately the 1 i flash in is without shortcut. so now im thinking of flashing it to the 1 with shortcut. Post #711 - http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1364509Why recovery so important to you Once I rooted, -I optimize the apps - remove dublicates in /data/apps to /system/apps -remove junks/wallpapers/widgets/services that i didn't use -mod the status bar/battery/power menu -v6 supercharger HARD TO KILL! (I bet you'll love how responsive ur Pro upon installing this) After all that, I still have almost 250MB free space with apps from market that i need. After games, still have 200MB free. (I play SFIV, Real Racing 2, Angry Birds, AirAttack and Genesis emulator only) 320MB of RAM quite limited. I hate when my game FC |
Jan 6 2012, 12:19 AM
QUOTE(jeopardise @ Jan 6 2012, 12:01 AM) Post #711 - http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1364509 i'm addicted with stuff introduced by dev team. so i need recovery to revert back to the original state without reflashing it and reinstalling apps again and again. the power of nandroid is very essential for android modders. one day if u install something fucuk, the unit hangs..by that time u will fucuk the whole world and reflash it again..with recovery, nothing is within the problem~Why recovery so important to you Once I rooted, -I optimize the apps - remove dublicates in /data/apps to /system/apps -remove junks/wallpapers/widgets/services that i didn't use -mod the status bar/battery/power menu -v6 supercharger HARD TO KILL! (I bet you'll love how responsive ur Pro upon installing this) After all that, I still have almost 250MB free space with apps from market that i need. After games, still have 200MB free. (I play SFIV, Real Racing 2, Angry Birds, AirAttack and Genesis emulator only) 320MB of RAM quite limited. I hate when my game FC recovery for me is very very essential. nandroid recovery is mostly recommended. i think CWM comes with nandroid recovery. and, wth is v6 supercharger HARD TO KILL? Neo got their own subforum in xda, unlike pro. i feel so strange to venture in neo subforum and read like im using a neo...LOL Added on January 6, 2012, 12:19 amwama1go bro, which hp ur tokking about? neo or pro? This post has been edited by SiuYi: Jan 6 2012, 12:19 AM |
Jan 6 2012, 09:18 AM
v6 supercharger is memory management using script.
By far its the best. It just works and no apps involved, just run sh script. I've tried RAM Manager pro, Memory Manager etc but couldn't match supercharger script. Now when i exited Opera, home icon doesn't reload, scrolling home screen so snappy smooth and I can open many tabs in Opera without significant lag. Its free anyway |
Jan 6 2012, 10:23 AM
312 posts Joined: Jan 2010 |
QUOTE(jeopardise @ Jan 6 2012, 09:18 AM) v6 supercharger is memory management using script. ur language is soooo deepBy far its the best. It just works and no apps involved, just run sh script. I've tried RAM Manager pro, Memory Manager etc but couldn't match supercharger script. Now when i exited Opera, home icon doesn't reload, scrolling home screen so snappy smooth and I can open many tabs in Opera without significant lag. Its free anyway |
| Change to: | 0.0317sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:47 AM |