MSI Malaysia Sandy Bridge Replacement Program, New Lucky Draw!! Win a RAZER Mamba!!

Zakov
post Feb 14 2011, 11:53 PM

215 posts

Great news, really glad I purchased an MSI mobo for my SB build. tongue.gif

P67A-GD55 user here, I already registered my product a week ago at the official MSI website. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Zakov: Feb 14 2011, 11:55 PM
Zakov
post Feb 23 2011, 06:40 PM

215 posts

So should one assume that the process will be quicker if we go to the rep's office at Plaza Pantai? or is it just the same as dealing with the local retailers.

Is there anyway to open a support ticket(I already registered the product at MSI's website) just so we can book our replacement units beforehand. smile.gif
Zakov
post Feb 25 2011, 05:47 PM

215 posts

Thanks man. Since its the quickest solution, I'll drop by the company's office.

Definitely will call first. tongue.gif

Zakov
post Mar 7 2011, 04:30 PM

215 posts

MSI_MY, I asked lingloong(a retailer for MSI boards here) about the replacement procedure and he told me that the distributors require the defective board to reach them first to swap, then turn-over 1 week because need to check everything is ok then could swap.

If this is the case, does it mean we'll have to wait a week to get the replacement board? sad.gif
Zakov
post Mar 8 2011, 04:48 PM

215 posts

The way I see it, we're not returning the boards like a typical RMA process so it should be a straight swap.

We're sending it in because of the design flaw not because of an after sales problem(lightning, user fault) so this case should be treated similar to a DOA case in my opinion.

Of course its not anyone's fault but Intel's.

This post has been edited by Zakov: Mar 8 2011, 04:52 PM
Zakov
post Mar 10 2011, 11:10 AM

215 posts

QUOTE(lingloong @ Mar 10 2011, 04:42 AM)
You want direct swap just drop by MSI office, we also go though them/distributor  smile.gif 
Will do.
Zakov
post Mar 15 2011, 10:09 PM

215 posts

MSI-MY, if I were to call the MSI hotline and book my unit earlier can I pick it up once the SATA Cards are available in April?

Its more convenient for me to get both at the same time.

And about the Bravo competition thing, will the winners be notified through email or do we have to check regularly at the event's site?

thanks. smile.gif
Zakov
post Apr 8 2011, 10:05 PM

215 posts

Just came in today, swapped in my P67A-GD55. The process was smooth and seamless. biggrin.gif

Definitely would make me consider more MSI products in the future if they can keep up this kind of service. tongue.gif
Zakov
post Apr 9 2011, 04:18 PM

215 posts

Thanks for the advertising. biggrin.gif

Well, with the SATA2 ports already fixed, I don't need the extra SATA3 ports. biggrin.gif
I'm only running a single Crucial SSD as my boot drive so better sell it off to someone who can make use of the extra bandwidth.
Zakov
post Apr 13 2011, 01:52 AM

215 posts

QUOTE(lingloong @ Apr 12 2011, 11:36 PM)
Extra RM50 "masuk" pocket  brows.gif
Anyway, MSI so far the best in Sandy Bridge Replacement Program. Keep up the great work  thumbup.gif

Yup, very happy about that.

And I also got to keep the accessories I already owned and get new ones on top of it.
The M-connector, SATA cables,etc. I've know I've already got twice the amount I had before but I honestly don't know what to do with the extras. :-)
Its a nice problem to have/ tongue.gif

Once again, a job well done MSI. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Zakov: Apr 13 2011, 01:52 AM
Zakov
post Apr 21 2011, 09:44 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(Royal Malaysia Pirate @ Apr 21 2011, 09:28 PM)
Dear MSI-MY and LYNs, Ive plan to purchase new mobo this saturday..aim for P67GD65. may I ask what is Gigabyte brand that is par on this mobo?
Blury on camparison. And this P67 need graphic card to be run? Plan on last item to purchase(GC).

Plan for i5 2500 setup. A member mention that certain mobo, even support various proc series, but each mobo have a 1 proc that really kamcheng smoothly, other so-so only.

e.g MXX series mobo is excell on i3 but so-so on i5 even can comply.
Sorry dude, but what your friend told you is just BS. A processor should work well with any motherboard that supports it. There's no such thing as a proc and mobo that is kamcheng.
Intel would never make their CPUs distinctly with preference according to brand.

However, it depends on what you're going for.
A mobo is only as good as the budget you have and what you're looking for.
Overclockability? SLI/Crossfire in the future? Warranty handling? Features and perks(SATA ports, eSATA, etc)

If you're on budget I recommend Asrock highly. I myself am using a MSI P67A-GD55 and it is solid for me, but you can save money by going with Asrock since they're a bit cheaper and won't perform any worse.

But if you insist on MSI(this is an MSI thread after all), you can go with the GD55 or GD65, there are only subtle differences(to me personally) like SATA ports, Voltage checkpoints and eSATA. It's basically the same board otherwise.

QUOTE(Royal Malaysia Pirate @ Apr 21 2011, 09:28 PM)
Any details explaination...as he is quite a pro and me...huhuhu. Then he suggest to look into Gigabyte as their extra is dual bios. now I'm having setup(my 2nd future pc)

Intel Dual Core E5200
Gigabyte G41-M combo S-series mobo (previous is MSI p31 neo2)
Leadtek GT 220 1G DDR3
Corsair 1333 4G
CM V6GT proc cooler(will transfer to i5 setup)

notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  welcoming all sifus to guide me
Dual-bios could be useful if you're always flashing yer BIOS and afraid of something going wrong. But boards of other brands have similar features.
Heck, even MSI has a DUAL-BIOS feature.
http://forum-en.msi.com/index.php?topic=145084.0

I would also suggest you to go for a i5 2500K series for overclockability. The SBs are probably the easiest to overclock of all Intel processors.
Since you're going for a P67 instead of H67 I don't see any reason why you need to go with an i5 2500 CPU.

If its about budget, then you should cut back cost on the motherboard and go for the K version.

Oh, and a P67 does require a dedicated GPU but a H67 can make use of the Intel's graphics processing unit on the Sandy Bridge. The thing with H67 is that you won't be able to change the multiplier(for overclocking).

If you want the best of both worlds, you should wait for the Z68 which is coming out soon. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Zakov: Apr 21 2011, 09:47 PM
Zakov
post Apr 22 2011, 12:44 AM

215 posts

Z68 will cost approximately $10 more than P67. smile.gif

Its not rocket science really, you just have to think of what you want to do with the setup.
Gaming? Video Editing? 3D Animation? etc, etc.

Games nowadays aren't that demanding with the exception of a few titles, you can run pretty much run almost every game on high settings with a mid-range graphics card. (Nvidia GTX 450++ / ATI HD 5770++)

If you don't plan to go with a multi-graphics(SLI or CFX) card setup you don't need to fork out all the money on the MSI P67A-GD65.
Just go with motherboard that only has a single slot PCIEx16(Graphics slot). Like the MSI P67A-C45 for example. You can cut back cost a lot there.

If you don't plan to OC then you could go with the normal i5 2500, but I personally recommend the K series because you'll be getting a lot
more out of your money, and the resale value will be higher compared to the non K versions.

This post has been edited by Zakov: Apr 22 2011, 12:54 AM

0.0235sec    0.14    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 07:39 AM