Technical PS3 Yellow Light of Death Discussion Thread, PS3 YLOD Discussion Thread

urra901109
post Mar 21 2011, 01:00 PM

45 posts

for those who got/know-a-person who got ylod problem, how many hours do you normally play during a session before giving it a break to cool down? just want to do a survey, maybe can help new owner like me smile.gif
urra901109
post Mar 21 2011, 02:05 PM

45 posts

6 hours? whoa i dont have that much time tongue.gif i took 2 hours is the sweet spot to be safe.

just a theory here after some good time with logical thinking..

when you play games, it heats up the mobo but uneven distribution of heat made the some part of the mobo to flex/expand and causing the solder joint to crack. what if we pre heat the other part instead of cooling it so the heat is evenly distributed and the expansion of the cpu/gpu can be keep up with additional heat to other part on the mobo/pcb, i dont think the chip itself is so easy to be damage from extra heat, it just the matter of solder connection. but if you do it just pray that the heat won't melt the solder joint. smile.gif

urra901109
post Mar 21 2011, 02:33 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(pippolan @ Mar 21 2011, 09:11 AM)
i've been using my ps3 phat 40gb(afraid to upgrade HDD coz most of my fren upgrade then kena YLOD) for 4 years n still running in good condition.. i've been using this ps3 day and night sometime never switch off also..but lucly it didn't YLOD.

now i'm using slim n put aside my phat just want to be my collection item. tongue.gif

so wut can i say is : YLOD will happen but it matter of ur luck.. if it want to happen the next day u buy also can be YLOD right.. so just pray hard don't let it happen..

just my 2 cents
nice ps3 you have there rclxms.gif congrats

i just bought a refurb one and i felt like being cheated now. i'm sure mine used to be ylod-repaired unit. no way people are going to sell the console if its in good condition like you right?. if that thing ylod within a month i'm going to "sunat" him for selling me this. mad.gif
urra901109
post Mar 26 2011, 12:07 AM

45 posts

currently in egypt, if anything goes wrong to the ps3, i got nowhere to go cry.gif amazingly the ps3 did work silently even when playing uncharted 2, it may be due to cold weather(its spring and the temp still below17) biggrin.gif.. Malaysia is too hot for this thing + hardcore gamer, no way this thing can survive..sony should really put an effort developing hardware catered for people who lives in equatorial region.
urra901109
post Mar 30 2011, 02:13 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(cloudstrifes @ Mar 29 2011, 12:55 PM)
yeah i agree wit tat... anyway i thought egypt shuld be more hot compare to Malaysia? XD based on my knowledge due to watch too much movies... XD
biggrin.gif me too i'd never thought it could be this cold.. 9-20 degree c max during winter peak.. i have once visited the pyramid with temperature below 25 in the middle of a dessert, movies has been lying to us all this time mad.gif . i'm going to play with it while the weather is still cold. then going to wrap it nicely during summer (avg 40c).. sweat.gif

0.0570sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 03:13 PM