Technical PS3 Yellow Light of Death Discussion Thread, PS3 YLOD Discussion Thread

snipersnake
post Feb 13 2011, 12:23 AM

typical abah
2,652 posts

sony uses that thermal paste because the better ones contains lead. which is a no no for a toy. i was hit once. then i bought a new one. problem solved.
snipersnake
post Feb 13 2011, 10:52 AM

typical abah
2,652 posts

news flash!!!

every company actually aims for profit :blinks:
snipersnake
post Feb 15 2011, 03:26 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

just buy another one lah, problem solved.
snipersnake
post Feb 15 2011, 05:43 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

that and remember to buy official Sony Malaysia product. sure extra hundred , but really saves the hassle in the long run.
snipersnake
post Feb 15 2011, 07:37 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

good. later when you have ANY problem regarding your PS3 ask that extra game to repair it for you nod.gif

people are saying Sony to be cheap in their worksmanship, can't really blame them since we too have the same cheap mentality.

This post has been edited by snipersnake: Feb 15 2011, 07:37 PM
snipersnake
post Feb 15 2011, 08:37 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

thats true. but YLOD is a general hardware failure, not exclusively to cracking of the BGA only. Thats why Sony covers it in the first place. After their technicians open up the PS3 then only they will know what actually happened. Buy saying that, its like 80% of YLOD issues are likely to be caused by the BGA.
snipersnake
post Feb 15 2011, 09:06 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

good to know you did your research, but the refurbished issue occcours in US only. When I was working in Singapore, a friend of mine turned his broken PS3, only to be offered by Sony Singapore a new PS3 Slim, half the price. So does Hong Kong. But I am afraid what is the process here in Malaysia. Never encountered people with YLOD PS3 here personally. Any experience here?
snipersnake
post Feb 21 2011, 08:35 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

QUOTE(lopak @ Feb 21 2011, 07:57 PM)
vertical or horizontal doesn't effect ylod cases.it is my 1st question when ylod cases pop up 2-3 years ago.

the right question should be how long you have a ps3 before it YLOD and how many hours you use it per day.

my answer

2year 6 month and 12hour+ per day

im very satisfied with it.the only thing i angry with it is the damn thing doesn't show any symptom it want to ylod so i can buy new ps3 to transfer my save files  laugh.gif
bro, jgn on ps3 kau , dlm 2,3 minggu. lepas tu tro on balik, selalunya buleh, cepat 2 copy save game kau.
snipersnake
post Apr 26 2011, 09:48 AM

typical abah
2,652 posts

seriously, heavy duty electronics ALL HAVE SYSTEM FANS.

dont be too much of a failure.

doh.gif
snipersnake
post Aug 2 2011, 05:40 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

Full of conspiracy theories..
snipersnake
post Aug 3 2011, 08:59 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

hard to say as firmware is for everybody .. if Sony wants to do that, everybody's PS3 would have been drop dead. I remember my friend when I was working in Singapore, turns this PS3 to Sony centre. YLOD. Sony offered him a new PS3 for SGD 350.
snipersnake
post Nov 10 2011, 01:48 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

good find bro smile.gif
snipersnake
post Nov 17 2011, 08:32 AM

typical abah
2,652 posts

Sony's thermal paste contains no lead, to comply with law since ps3 is classified as a toy. Lead not good with kids.

snipersnake
post Nov 25 2011, 09:35 AM

typical abah
2,652 posts

QUOTE(cloudstrifes @ Nov 18 2011, 11:30 AM)

i thought is because bad for environment?
actually US law states that, if the device contains lead, it is not safe for children hence, a no no for production.

Being said, what if then one purchased a brand new PS3, he changes the thermal paste to a better one immediately . . . . hmm.gif
snipersnake
post Jan 15 2012, 09:45 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

that is a just a fantest, and it was not intended to 'blow' the dust off.

you either vacuum the dust or take it piece by piece and clean it. doing that will kill the ps3. dont you guys notice how hot the thing is in a few secodns just by doing that? oh ya, sucks with no local warranty or support.
snipersnake
post Jan 18 2012, 05:55 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

ah MGS4, a game that everybody with ps3 has..
snipersnake
post Sep 10 2012, 12:20 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2500839

repair your PS3s.. reballin style!
snipersnake
post Sep 11 2012, 03:59 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

QUOTE(tot31 @ Sep 11 2012, 02:48 PM)
My first gen of PS3 fat still breathing..... sweat.gif  sweat.gif
tuh dia grandmaster notworthy.gif
snipersnake
post Sep 22 2012, 10:47 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

QUOTE(cloudstrifes @ Sep 19 2012, 08:28 PM)

Actually I did research on this, correct me if I'm mistaken, leaded soldering is not good to the environment that is why they have to use lead free soldering, but I not sure whether there is good and bad quality lead free soldering... Lol
actually if sony uses lead based substance, they cant declare ps3 as a toy and they will have to adhere to more stringent safety laws.

0.0691sec    0.82    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:04 AM