34 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Bottom

Technical PS3 Yellow Light of Death Discussion Thread, PS3 YLOD Discussion Thread

snipersnake
post Apr 26 2011, 09:48 AM

typical abah
2,652 posts

seriously, heavy duty electronics ALL HAVE SYSTEM FANS.

dont be too much of a failure.

doh.gif
shah_ho_nam
post Apr 26 2011, 05:46 PM

らき☆すた
1,317 posts

never heard anyone who had an experience with YLOD on Slim version
TScloudstrifes
post Apr 26 2011, 06:17 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(shah_ho_nam @ Apr 25 2011, 06:17 PM)
manual when u use the ps button on the controller, it won't work. and PS3 light turn red again. so you have to go to your ps3 and turn it on manually on the buttun near the disc feed area.

any idea what kind of PSU i should use to replace it?

please help. PS3 is the only thing that keep us happy in this country.  sad.gif
urm... i not sure whether the psu is the same as cpu, but i juz did research to switch psu.

QUOTE(spel'it @ Apr 26 2011, 09:05 AM)
last night, i spent some time understanding the scenario by running some tests.

it turned out, the yellow LED didn't came out after the system shut off on its own. i did this (by turning on games) a few times while watching the LED's and wait for the system to shut off.

after a series of "self-shut-off", i quickly turn off the main switch and take out HDD. the HDD is really hot.

i place a fan facing directly to the PS3 and turned on games. i can play up to 3 full matches until the system shuts off. again, no yellow LED.

from my observation, my PS3 shuts off on its own due to overheating. i believe something went wrong with the PS3's cooling system because it gets overheated so quickly. it could be the symptom for YLOD but i think it is not yet YLOD.

i think laaaa... tongue.gif
E-mail reply from SONY ASIA.

Dear Mr. *********************,
Thank you for your e-mail and interest in PS products.
If your PS3 is the official Sony Malaysia product*, please bring the machine to our service center for inspection and repair.  We need to inspect the console before we are able to provide you more details on what is the problem and how much the repairs will cost.  After our technicians inspect your machine, they will be in a better position to assist and advise you on the cost and time needed for the repairs.  It may be best to backup your data as the hard disk might need reformatting if repairs are needed.
Please take note that Playstation products do not have overseas warranty and repair service.  So if you are currently not in Malaysia, you need to bring the machine to the service center here in Malaysia or ask a friend to do this for you.  Please be informed that we won't be accepting couriers or posts in our service centers.  Please refer to this link at http://asia.playstation.com/my/en/support/...antyInformation for more information of the PS3 warranty and repair service.
Repair Center Information:
Customer Interactive Centre hotline # 1300-88-1233 (Open 9:00 - 18:00 Mon to Fri, excluding Public Holidays)
Location : Sony Service Centre (HQ), B-G-2 Ground Floor, Northpoint, Mid Valley City, No. 1, Medan Syed Putra Utara, 59200 Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.
* To determine if your console is the official Malaysia product, please refer to this link at http://asia.playstation.com/my/en/support/...antyInformation and see if you have the same model number as listed on the warranty document.  However, please take note that some regions also share the same model numbers.  Therefore, the best way is to provide us the serial number (15 digit) for verification.
For updated information regarding our PS products, please feel free to browse our web site at http://asia.playstation.com/my/en.
If you have further enquiries, please do not hesitate to contact us at http://asia.playstation.com/my/en/support/contactus/.
Playstation product hotline tel: 1-800-81-4963 (Mondays to Sundays 09:00-20:00)
Thank you for your kind attention.
Best Regards,
Benny Garcia
Contact Centre
Customer Communications & Relations Department
Direct Touch Point Marketing Division

aiya lebih 1, seriously if ur ps3 spoil juz switch 1, or take outside repair, coz i heard even u take to sony, ur ps3 still will spoil in juz awhile.

QUOTE(shah_ho_nam @ Apr 26 2011, 05:46 PM)
never heard anyone who had an experience with YLOD on Slim version
i heard b4, and i saw 1 at my service centre. I heard slim with YLOD is confirm spoil and unable to recover.
shah_ho_nam
post Apr 26 2011, 06:25 PM

らき☆すた
1,317 posts

QUOTE(cloudstrifes @ Apr 26 2011, 06:17 PM)
urm... i not sure whether the psu is the same as cpu, but i juz did research to switch psu.
aiya lebih 1, seriously if ur ps3 spoil juz switch 1, or take outside repair, coz i heard even u take to sony, ur ps3 still will spoil in juz awhile.
i heard b4, and i saw 1 at my service centre. I heard slim with YLOD is confirm spoil and unable to recover.
i played gt5 5 hours non stop without any glitch last nite. so confirm it's not overheat or CPU. it's PSU upon starting up the console

Eitherway i plan to buy slim when i balik kampung this august. don't want to buy it here if possible

spel'it
post Apr 26 2011, 06:35 PM

319 posts

lol~ guess what? i just did a "surgery" on my PS3. tongue.gif

gonna reapply the compound and clean the system. no reflow coz i dun have temperature-controlled heat gun.

i think something wrong with the fan. if confirm fan spoiled, it is time for mod. tongue.gif
kyaz87
post Apr 26 2011, 06:35 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(cloudstrifes @ Apr 26 2011, 06:17 PM)
is it the first launch slim console?
stanleyow
post Apr 26 2011, 06:47 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(spel'it @ Apr 26 2011, 06:35 PM)

gonna reapply the compound and clean the system. no reflow coz i dun have temperature-controlled heat gun.

i think something wrong with the fan. if confirm fan spoiled, it is time for mod. tongue.gif
If you reapply compound without a heat-gun, sure cannot work 1, because I tested before. First time failed without a heatgun, 2nd time successful with heatgun.

shah_ho_nam
post Apr 26 2011, 06:49 PM

らき☆すた
1,317 posts

please let us know the status after you put it back to life

QUOTE(stanleyow @ Apr 26 2011, 06:47 PM)
If you reapply compound without a heat-gun, sure cannot work 1, because I tested before. First time failed without a heatgun, 2nd time successful with heatgun.
how much u buy that heatgun? what brand? care to share?
spel'it
post Apr 26 2011, 08:04 PM

319 posts

Really? Let me give it a try first.

I suspect the fan is not working. Not so sure coz i forgot to check it before i open up my ps3. When the fan not working, the system shuts off when temperature reaches certain level. That's my guess for now. Coz now I don't see any yellow LED.

Update (26/04, 11.00PM): It is aliveeeeeeeee!!! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by spel'it: Apr 26 2011, 11:23 PM
TScloudstrifes
post Apr 26 2011, 11:58 PM

464 posts

if u 1 2 fix it, u hav to send to reballing, it is the best method to fix ur ps3.

QUOTE(kyaz87 @ Apr 26 2011, 06:35 PM)
is it the first launch slim console?
wat u mean the 1st slim console?

heatgun is juz a temporary method and it will damage ur component, i wouldn't suggest it, if reli wan 2 fix it juz take to reballing...

QUOTE(shah_ho_nam @ Apr 26 2011, 06:49 PM)
please let us know the status after you put it back to life
how much u buy that heatgun? what brand? care to share?
as I said reflowing is juz a temporary method...

QUOTE(spel'it @ Apr 26 2011, 08:04 PM)
Really? Let me give it a try first.

I suspect the fan is not working. Not so sure coz i forgot to check it before i open up my ps3. When the fan not working, the system shuts off when temperature reaches certain level. That's my guess for now. Coz now I don't see any yellow LED.
Update (26/04, 11.00PM): It is aliveeeeeeeee!!!  thumbup.gif
ur fan not working?? no loud sound at all? i mean the sound of the fan moving?

shinchan^^
post Apr 27 2011, 12:07 AM

K66
21,256 posts

just revived my unit
plan to get a ps3 slim
but wtf psn still down
need it to deactivate my accounts
lilko
post Apr 27 2011, 07:45 AM

95 posts

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Apr 27 2011, 12:07 AM)
just revived my unit
plan to get a ps3 slim
but wtf psn still down
deactivate?? then all ur trophy will lost, no?? blink.gif
shinchan^^
post Apr 27 2011, 08:35 AM

K66
21,256 posts

I will try to use the Data transfer utility transfer via lan cable
still need to deactivate account
but psn down. shit
TScloudstrifes
post Apr 27 2011, 09:02 AM

464 posts

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Apr 27 2011, 12:07 AM)
just revived my unit
plan to get a ps3 slim
but wtf psn still down
oO... wat 4 deactivate? relogin wit ur new ps3 lar, juz delete the account in the old ps3 can adi...

QUOTE(lilko @ Apr 27 2011, 07:45 AM)
deactivate?? then all ur trophy will lost, no??  blink.gif
yeah...

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Apr 27 2011, 08:35 AM)
I will try to use the Data transfer utility transfer via lan cable
still need to deactivate account
but psn down. shit
not necessary to use data transfer utility wat, use backup also can, i adi backup all my ps3 stuff in my pc. anyway any1 hav any idea wats the different between data transfer utility and backup?
roronoa_zorro
post Apr 27 2011, 09:06 AM

41 posts

i reapply thermal paste wihtout a heat-gun just wipe it clean using tissue for pc processor and ps3 processor both still running.
shinchan^^
post Apr 27 2011, 09:18 AM

K66
21,256 posts

QUOTE(cloudstrifes @ Apr 27 2011, 09:02 AM)
oO... wat 4 deactivate? relogin wit ur new ps3 lar, juz delete the account in the old ps3 can adi...
yeah...
not necessary to use data transfer utility wat, use backup also can, i adi backup all my ps3 stuff in my pc. anyway any1 hav any idea wats the different between data transfer utility and backup?
how to use backup?

my current is 320gb. how to backup all the game data? Because the ps3 does not detect NTFS external drive
spel'it
post Apr 27 2011, 11:15 AM

319 posts

QUOTE(cloudstrifes @ Apr 26 2011, 11:58 PM)
ur fan not working?? no loud sound at all? i mean the sound of the fan moving?
After I assembled everything back, I turned on my PS3. I checked the exhaust, got air flow. So, fan is working but somehow it does not produce any loud song. I never remember it to be loud tho. But you might be right, I felt the air flow is kinda low. I was thinking of installing few more exhausts.

TScloudstrifes
post Apr 27 2011, 11:21 AM

464 posts

QUOTE(roronoa_zorro @ Apr 27 2011, 09:06 AM)
i reapply thermal paste wihtout a heat-gun just wipe it clean using tissue for pc processor and ps3 processor both still running.
previously ur ps3 havent affected ylod izit?

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Apr 27 2011, 09:18 AM)
how to use backup?

my current is 320gb. how to backup all the game data? Because the ps3 does not detect NTFS external drive
format it to FAT32, i formatted mine to fat32 then i transfer back to pc, then i format my external drive to NTFS to use...
spel'it
post Apr 27 2011, 11:32 AM

319 posts

QUOTE(cloudstrifes @ Apr 27 2011, 11:21 AM)
format it to FAT32, i formatted mine to fat32 then i transfer back to pc, then i format my external drive to NTFS to use...
Yes, you are right. At home, I have three system; MAC, WIN and PS3. So FAT32 is the format of all my 5 ext HDD. Not the best format tho to transfer large file.

shinchan^^
post Apr 27 2011, 11:38 AM

K66
21,256 posts

3.5 HDD FAT32 can connect to PS3?

34 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0578sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 07:20 AM