10 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Technical PS3 Yellow Light of Death Discussion Thread, PS3 YLOD Discussion Thread

TScloudstrifes
post Jun 11 2012, 11:04 AM

464 posts

QUOTE(Zaryl @ Jun 11 2012, 09:10 AM)
Well, my PS2 lasted from 2003 until 2007. Hmm... i guess the typical game console would last say 2-3 years, 4 years max if you really took care of it? Unlike the XKotaTigaEnamKosong which lasted me just 1 1/2 years bought since 2007 till 2008. Sheesh  shakehead.gif

Yeah perhaps I should go & buy the new slim set. But should I buy from the Sony Centre shops or just your typical game shop would be enough? In term of after sales service & warranty?
my ps2 lasted since 2003 until now, LOL~ but many ppl told me that different console have different hardware and different build so they said cant compare LOL~

QUOTE(deyamato @ Jun 11 2012, 11:00 AM)
Most of retail shop selling SG set much cheaper than MY range RM100 and the terms warranty are the same just that pay a nominal transport charge flat and will send the unit to sony singapore for warranty claims .
btw regarding the warranty thingy, ok if u get SG set, it will be cheaper 100 or maybe 200, so wat u nid to do IF there are problems with the ps3, so u hav to send back by paying postage fee maybe 20-50 and u hav to wait due to postage or send to the shop or bla bla thingy then they have to send to SG and wait the procedure bla bla bla again then send to the shop and to u.

For convenient, u pay extra then IF there are problems wit ur MY set then juz send to Malaysia Sony retail shop, then wait, then done adi, then pick up settle... XD
TScloudstrifes
post Jun 18 2012, 10:00 AM

464 posts

QUOTE(kapasele @ Jun 15 2012, 07:35 AM)
ori slim rm900 can get d
haha bro there is no pirate ps3 slim either... anyway RM900 slim ps3 is SG Set. With this price u cant get any MY set.
TScloudstrifes
post Jul 6 2012, 12:47 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(ps3 fanboy @ Jun 18 2012, 04:10 PM)
is slim memang hot one, my slim is quite hot at the back.
izit? my 1 not that hot at the back...

QUOTE(tanseehua @ Jun 20 2012, 03:24 AM)
The "Nominal" charge for transportation and service chagre by shop, normally above RM100 to RM200. Online seller, normal charge a RM50 to RM80 service charge and postage bear by buyer........issit worth it???

Let's pray for no problem if get SG set
usually i think its worth... example u bought a RM900 sg set... IF THERE IS PROBLEM WITH YOUR PS3... like wat u said normal charge 50-80, but u bought original set for 11XX around... it is cheaper 100 bucks around if ntg happened it will be cheaper 200 bucks... but usually wont hav any problem... like my 1st fat ps3 does not hav any problem on the 1st year, my 2nd slim ps3 that sold out has no problem at all juz 1 month over a year and my 3rd slim ps3 near to half year also does not any problem also...
TScloudstrifes
post Jul 21 2012, 10:29 AM

464 posts

QUOTE(FieryAeon @ Jul 19 2012, 09:33 AM)
But after the cleaning and maintenance, it should improve so 'eventually' could be a long time, right?

Anyway the question I have here is: since RM50-80 is the range (someone mentioned above), then is RM100 expensive?

Who can I contact to help me repair my PS3 in the KL area? Someone with a positive track record and is reliable would be great.
never experience b4, but theoritically yes it shuld last even longer. Maybe u can consider come to Subang USJ to make that, deyamato offer repairing service at there...

This post has been edited by cloudstrifes: Jul 21 2012, 10:30 AM
TScloudstrifes
post Jul 23 2012, 07:26 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(Shiniz @ Jul 22 2012, 03:37 AM)
lol reading all this make me scared now =="...well i juz bought 2nd hand unit from a forumer here...2 years alredi..i see that u guys talk about servicing the PS3 and stuff..how that works?..
ntg much to scare about u juz touch whether izit very hot at the back? if reli hot or if the fan running loud, then u shuld suggest take to maintenance... actually it is quite easy... wat u nid to do is juz take everything out clean it and reapply the thermal. thermal is to transfer heat from the processor or gpu to the heatsink also known as smtg to release the heat so that can maintain the processor in a lower temperature.
TScloudstrifes
post Jul 23 2012, 10:37 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(shamsul_LP @ Jul 23 2012, 09:25 PM)
you should scared..basically 2 of my previous ps3 already died sad.gif
btw ur 2 previous ps3 is fat or slim?

QUOTE(Shiniz @ Jul 23 2012, 09:35 PM)
hmmm hot..yea it there...i could feel the heat from behind...loud fan noise...dun have...the previous owner fix Lens for BD...so yea..but it kinda hot so u say..it normal?
=="...wow...mehh...i was playing FF13 and FF13-2 for 2 - 3 hours...well dun realli open it much..haha...
lol my fat ps3 play ffxiii from morning until night, then i platinum it with 1 month time, almost everyday 4-6 hours... somemore tat time i played blur multiplayer from day to night + downloading stuff overnight... 2 years died... Zzz
TScloudstrifes
post Jul 25 2012, 07:00 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(Shiniz @ Jul 24 2012, 12:47 AM)
wow that hardcore..lulz...ah well..i hope mine dun have prob...mehh i bought it juz to play Tekken tag tournament 2..lulz..
yeah b4 tat i was very hardcore, but after now i changed to slim ps3 not tat often play even though i'm free... anyway urs is fat or slim?
TScloudstrifes
post Jul 26 2012, 09:25 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(shamsul_LP @ Jul 25 2012, 08:33 PM)
one fat & another one is slim
nice... coming soon a slimmer ps3... XD
TScloudstrifes
post Aug 7 2012, 07:25 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(hairi66 @ Aug 4 2012, 05:47 AM)
how much if i want repair my  ps3 slim....who know where?
repair about wat? YLOD?
TScloudstrifes
post Aug 10 2012, 01:41 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(mAcInEt0sH @ Aug 9 2012, 12:19 PM)
my ps3 got YLOD. anyone can recommend someone that can repair?
u can look for someone that juz posted id name HeroesTavern or if u interested i would recommend deyamato to fix ylod, early sign still can recover but it will fail eventually...

QUOTE(ps3 fanboy @ Aug 9 2012, 12:21 PM)
better buy new
depends on the person...

QUOTE(mAcInEt0sH @ Aug 9 2012, 12:34 PM)
my one just early sign of YLOD. turn off automatically. anything i can do before buy a new one? change HDD or whatever
1. get a new 1 and transfer all the data to ur new ps3
2. fix it and let it last another few months/1 year/few weeks/few days? depends on luck?
TScloudstrifes
post Aug 13 2012, 06:51 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(SQL INJECTION @ Aug 11 2012, 07:24 PM)
my ps3 auto turn off when play the game..and then get a red light blinking...when I turn on my ps3 back to normal...any idea guys? Overheat issue?  rolleyes.gif
YLOD early sign

QUOTE(poyohebat @ Aug 11 2012, 09:06 PM)
My fatty 3 ya old died on me~

New console here I come!
not bad... mine 2 years+ only... fat or slim??

QUOTE(deyamato @ Aug 12 2012, 05:12 PM)
editted  rolleyes.gif
wat izit bro? LOL~
TScloudstrifes
post Aug 26 2012, 09:43 AM

464 posts

QUOTE(heero yu @ Aug 23 2012, 06:27 PM)
My white fat ps3 80GB just got early sign of YLODed (auto shut down) after 4 years><...

Is time to move on for my ps3 to retire from service, All HAIL, PS3...
I wonder is there any new ps3 slim limited edition version coming out or not? I hope Final Fantasy Versus 13 coming out..
Yes I still remember there are some shops still selling bunch of limited edition ps3, amyeay jus wait for the slimmer ps3, it think it will consume lesser power compare to the current slim anyway is quite good enough that ur fat ps3 last 4 years coz there are many user use less than that.

QUOTE(HeroesTavern @ Aug 23 2012, 09:06 PM)
Hmp...... So far no news yet about the LE version PS3 that going to coming out. But got rumours that PS4 going to coming out soon. Just wonder whether the rumours is truth or not?  hmm.gif
anyway is juz rumours not sure yet...

QUOTE(heero yu @ Aug 23 2012, 09:10 PM)
Seriously? i dont think is that fast.. but it really makes me curious to know how playstation 4 looks like and its function. kinda of sad for my ps3, my fat and slim psone and ps2 still goes well, till now.. Thanks for the info.
Actually is not that fast, look back at consoles history, usually takes 6 years to change a new generation console, while ps3 has lasted 6 years...maybe it might be different this time...

QUOTE(deyamato @ Aug 24 2012, 01:09 AM)
where got so soon la still a RUMOURS  , still developing and ps3 wont die that fast doh.gif
Actually to fast adi, like I said they change to new generation console every 6 years, btw I also hope that they wont change that soon, no money to get new console... Lol

QUOTE(PPZ @ Aug 24 2012, 04:37 PM)
i just wondering under what situation you guys playing your ps3 that will cost YLOD? you guys got open aircon when playing your console?
Previously my fat 1, put under chair without air cond, put on the bed, usually on the table of coz and usually without air cond.

QUOTE(qudeenz360 @ Aug 24 2012, 04:40 PM)
rumah saya tiada aircon  flex.gif  flex.gif
No choice then, but if possible use some sort of fan to blew it if possible.

QUOTE(PPZ @ Aug 24 2012, 04:44 PM)
i open my aircon everytime i play my ps3. After 1 and a half year since bought my ps3 slim, i tried to open it all and clean it. Found out that inside no dust or anything.. hmm.. strange..
Did the same after my fat spoiled,but slim ps3 can last even longer than the fat so no worries...

QUOTE(ajis @ Aug 24 2012, 04:59 PM)
twice YLOD, and buy a new one. nothing we can do about it sleep.gif
Wow twice someone... 2 times on fat?

QUOTE(ajis @ Aug 25 2012, 12:39 AM)
no not rich. I work just like the rest of you guys here
Sometimes we hav no choice also, coz usually fix is not permanent and has to change 1 new.

TScloudstrifes
post Aug 28 2012, 05:41 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(HeroesTavern @ Aug 26 2012, 02:10 PM)
Actually it doesn't matter whether your house got air-con or not, as long as u don put your ps3 in a muggy place, it should b fine.
I not reli sure, but i think open air-con will help, 1 of my fren put the ps3 in a cupboard and everytime he play open aircond, and his FAT PS3 lasted 5-6 years...

QUOTE(TrustULoveU @ Aug 26 2012, 09:56 PM)
MY ps3 slim died ... it keeps beeping 3 times and restart after playing the game for lyk 5 minutes sad.gif

bought it for almost 2 years ago already...

Can't seems to find a solution .. and even when i send my ps3 to service to reapply the thermal thingy... it came back again....

so sold my ps3 away and bought a new 1 tongue.gif
yeah tat 1 is the reheat method, it wont last long as i mention b4, but it might last long depends on luck...

QUOTE(Darkz01 @ Aug 27 2012, 07:49 AM)
^
^
pity to the buyer of ur problematic ps3... =|
every ps3 is consider problematic, it depends how u take care ur ps3, even my brother fren said me y so emo juz for a ps3, but when the person experience that problem, he/she will knows how we feel...

QUOTE(streme21 @ Aug 27 2012, 10:26 AM)
lol they buy broken ps3 for some repair parts that is left, if some naive buyer buys it sure our friend here kena bash kaw2 after that
those are used unit, so I would always recommend juz go get a brand new set...
TScloudstrifes
post Sep 7 2012, 05:12 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(kengkhim @ Sep 6 2012, 11:58 AM)
Finally 4yr 8 month it died on me, when i'm still playing my prince of persia :-(

I want to temporary fix to back up all my save file. Help~~
which prince of persia? the very 1st prince of persia on ps3?
TScloudstrifes
post Sep 13 2012, 05:04 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(tot31 @ Sep 11 2012, 02:48 PM)
My first gen of PS3 fat still breathing..... sweat.gif  sweat.gif
awesome... how often u play?
TScloudstrifes
post Sep 16 2012, 03:00 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(tot31 @ Sep 14 2012, 01:01 PM)
5 years ok what....get it repair or buy a new one lor.... biggrin.gif
yeah 5 years quite ok... but is better than can last until the nxt generation console...
TScloudstrifes
post Sep 18 2012, 07:43 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(Zaryl @ Sep 18 2012, 01:05 PM)
Just bought a new PS3 slim 160gb SG set. Hopefully this would last me for another 4-5 years.  hmm.gif
Took me around ~2 hours ++ to do data transfer from old phat to new slim set. Phew that is quite a very long time!  sweat.gif

Not intend to buy PS4 until they release a slim version that will totally eradicate the damn overheating problem. Maybe they would reconsider to use a LEADED solder balls instead of UNLEADED for PS4 & future consoles.  hmm.gif

PS - My old PS3 80gb MY set survived for almost ~4 years then kaput...
actually u shuld wait the slimmer ps3... that 1 reduce more power consumption and of coz the heat will generate lesser. Yeah bro u r rite, u shuld wait 1-2 years or 3 years to confirm that the machine is in good condition, once got any info that short term usage failure, then shuld wait for the new series of the console.
TScloudstrifes
post Sep 19 2012, 07:01 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(Zaryl @ Sep 18 2012, 07:49 PM)
I can't tahan not playing any games for the past few months after my old PS3 rosak. Right now enjoying COD MW3 to the max.

I have PSVita but the game libraries are quite the CRAP for the time being and the games currently don't appeal to me. I use the thing mainly for FB, Youtube, Foursquare, snap some pics here & there, surf the net & play Pure Chess HD. Lol!  shakehead.gif  laugh.gif

PS - Considering to send my YLOD PS3 to the reballing guy at Puncak Alam, but i think if after repair pun still, the YLOD will come back again right?
LOL~ actually the slim version is ok enough adi... the slimmer is juz slightly different in heat and power consumption...

Actually after phat ps3 problem i dont dare to get 1st batch of playstation product. Anyway like wat u said not many nice game released on psv, maybe wait few years later will hav more interesting games and might hav H@3k to play ahem games... XD

actually i wouldn't suggest send to reballing, it helps depends on luck, coz i sent mine to reballing as well, but it didn't last long, like weeks only, but might last long as well as i said it depends on luck, anyway save the money juz get a new 1... dont 1 2 waste uncessary money on reballing IF the problem occur again, if u want to take back the files, just use the reheat method cheap cheap like RM80 someone did on lowyat and recover all the files and take it as a collection or sell it off as parts... LOL~ anyway regarding my reballing issue, i not sure those technician really did their job on REBALLING, but still i think the best way is to change a new 1...
TScloudstrifes
post Sep 19 2012, 08:28 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(cinkiah @ Sep 19 2012, 07:23 PM)
im 90% sure they are using reflow.
i can give a 1 year warranty, on condition after 6month the owner send to me for service and thermal paste replacement.
thats how much i trust in reballing. notworthy.gif

i understand how much frustration malaysia consumers regarding to this issue since the beginning of RROD and YLOD almost 99% the shop in malaysia is using reflow. most of the users here have a bad experience in repairing YLOD because of reflowing. more over got some people who 'claim' to do reball.
real technician that do reball will post pic/video on their work. why? because we are proud of it, it is afterall, among the hardest repair to do  notworthy.gif

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vdrucZqCKWQ
Bro u sure that it can last long? If u reli can, I would gladly recommend ppl to let u fix it and will send mine for u to fix as well, if it reli last long, is not that im doubting ur words, but I would like to see what would said by the customer, coz I used to send mine to this fella they did show some of the picture of their recalling machine and the soldering that looks like tiny balls rite? Because I hav ask some other technician they said that even reballing or change the gpu might last long and it might not...

QUOTE(cinkiah @ Sep 19 2012, 07:37 PM)
in case you guys don't know. this big company time their product to fail.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=251qoGOqpdk

google for the documentary.
new PS3 slim is coming out, we are now seeing more and more old PS3 slim is having YLOD. ( i have done 2 actually, 1 YLOD, the other one is GPU problem got line on display )
SONY have the option of using better solder that have more durability, but why they are still using the solder that fail? think about it  smile.gif
Actually I did research on this, correct me if I'm mistaken, leaded soldering is not good to the environment that is why they have to use lead free soldering, but I not sure whether there is good and bad quality lead free soldering... Lol
TScloudstrifes
post Sep 20 2012, 09:15 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(cinkiah @ Sep 19 2012, 09:12 PM)
we have been reballing just around 9 month actually. no return so far (only 3 macbooks, but was the firsttime we learn reball and didn't have the correct thermal profile.). can you give the link to those guys who do reball?

solder properties.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Solder#Solder_alloys
QUOTE(tot31 @ Sep 19 2012, 10:51 PM)
aiyah..where is the LIKE button.... laugh.gif
haha anyway gd luck to ur repairing service ^^

10 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0604sec    0.07    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 08:24 AM