34 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Technical PS3 Yellow Light of Death Discussion Thread, PS3 YLOD Discussion Thread

TScloudstrifes
post Feb 21 2011, 11:37 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(lopak @ Feb 21 2011, 07:57 PM)
vertical or horizontal doesn't effect ylod cases.it is my 1st question when ylod cases pop up 2-3 years ago.

the right question should be how long you have a ps3 before it YLOD and how many hours you use it per day.

my answer

2year 6 month and 12hour+ per day

im very satisfied with it.the only thing i angry with it is the damn thing doesn't show any symptom it want to ylod so i can buy new ps3 to transfer my save files  laugh.gif
YLOD cause by overheating and melted the soldering inside, tats y vertical and horizontal is important to get rid the heat.

QUOTE(snipersnake @ Feb 21 2011, 08:35 PM)
bro, jgn on ps3 kau , dlm 2,3 minggu. lepas tu tro on balik, selalunya buleh, cepat 2 copy save game kau.
pasti ke?
davinlicious
post Feb 22 2011, 05:20 PM

375 posts

the faster repair YLOD

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1292378
Nawar
post Feb 22 2011, 09:34 PM

86 posts

thats for temporary fix.. if its already struck by YLOD that wont solve the problem
lilko
post Feb 23 2011, 03:18 AM

95 posts

QUOTE(Nawar @ Feb 21 2011, 07:58 PM)
vertically helps hot air to rise faster and easier.. but when thermal paste & solder melts overtime.. then gravity will add damage to the Ylod symtoms..

horizontally does not help in reducing heat.. but will lessen the solder cracking n thermal paste being pulled by gravity..

either way... if any ps3 models fat/slim faces crack solders/exhaustion of thermal paste.. YLOD enivitably happens..
Well, since its about gravity.. Maybe if you got second floor, move your console to up stair.. Or if you stay in apartment is better.. The higher you stay the better.. Because increase in altitude reduces the gravitational force right due to a point, which I dun remember the name? Lol.. If I remember correctly la.. Din touch physic book for a long~ time..

If the theory works, at least can last you couple of months more or maybe a year more.. Unless you constantly do maintenance right after the warranty ended before it melted... If not 2 years or 3 is the max your PS3 can last.. Guess it make sense though.. Any machine needs constant maintenance.. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by lilko: Feb 23 2011, 05:19 AM
TScloudstrifes
post Feb 23 2011, 08:08 AM

464 posts

QUOTE(davinlicious @ Feb 22 2011, 05:20 PM)
QUOTE(Nawar @ Feb 22 2011, 09:34 PM)
thats for temporary fix.. if its already struck by YLOD that wont solve the problem
exactly wat i want to say...

QUOTE(lilko @ Feb 23 2011, 03:18 AM)
Well, since its about gravity.. Maybe if you got second floor, move your console to up stair.. Or if you stay in apartment is better.. The higher you stay the better.. Because increase in altitude reduces the gravitational force right due to a point, which I dun remember the name?  Lol.. If I remember correctly la.. Din touch physic book for a long~ time..

If the theory works, at least can last you couple of months more or maybe a year more.. Unless you constantly do maintenance right after the warranty ended before it melted... If not 2 years or 3 is the max your PS3 can last.. Guess it make sense though.. Any machine needs constant maintenance..  hmm.gif
agree wat u said... now is time to send my ps3 to maintenance and of coz not reflowing is reballing...
izad82
post Mar 4 2011, 02:51 PM

can i know whats the prob with mine fat set 80gb....when i playing game mine set totally turn off also same thing when turn on back....
TScloudstrifes
post Mar 4 2011, 06:09 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(izad82 @ Mar 4 2011, 02:51 PM)
can i know whats the prob with mine fat set 80gb....when i playing game mine set totally turn off also same thing when turn on back....
means ur ps3 strucked by YLOD.
man_hakim87
post Mar 5 2011, 09:16 AM

276 posts

I heard that if your ps3 slim got struck by ylod, its a goner. U cant just reballed like the phat model.
darkskies
post Mar 5 2011, 10:40 AM

2,336 posts

one biggest flaw abt ps3 is that the processor was soldered to the board with flux points instead of like pc where the processor is removable and replacable with a locking arm mechanism socket. This is one way to prevent upgrading to ps3's processor since it's their way to encourage users to buy more new ps3 or even buy their new console without upgrading. But of course the downside is , every now and then when u exhaust ur ps3 inside a hot enclosed environment, the chances of ylod striking ur ps3 is unavoidable. They have technicians to test the heat proof to what extend and life cycle can it goes up to. Hence that's y 1 year warranty. They could gurantee 1 yr no ylod but after that it's up to u to solve it on ur won what happen.
terryfu
post Mar 5 2011, 11:12 AM

514 posts

I did not get YLOD and hope not since my PS3 warranty is going to expire soon. I support this thread and actions to promote awareness and getting Sony to have a 1 to 1 replacement (with all HDD intact) for this problem.

One thing I want to point out is that the standard console life span is between 5 - 10 years. Hence warranty should last at least 3 years or even up to 5 if possible. I think if any of the big 3 introduce this, their siales will definitely spike.
TScloudstrifes
post Mar 5 2011, 01:26 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(man_hakim87 @ Mar 5 2011, 09:16 AM)
I heard that if your ps3 slim got struck by ylod, its a goner. U cant just reballed like the phat model.
izit? tat is even worst. I'm gonna do research bout it.

QUOTE(darkskies @ Mar 5 2011, 10:40 AM)
one biggest flaw abt ps3 is that the processor was soldered to the board with flux points instead of like pc where the processor is removable and replacable with a locking arm mechanism socket. This is one way to prevent upgrading to ps3's processor since it's their way to encourage users to buy more new ps3 or even buy their new console without upgrading. But of course the downside is , every now and then when u exhaust ur ps3 inside a hot enclosed environment, the chances of ylod striking ur ps3 is unavoidable. They have technicians to test the heat proof to what extend and life cycle can it goes up to. Hence that's y 1 year warranty. They could gurantee 1 yr no ylod but after that it's up to u to solve it on ur won what happen.
I understand they don't allow to change the processor, but still they should do something to fix this stupid YLOD.

QUOTE(terryfu @ Mar 5 2011, 11:12 AM)
I did not get YLOD and hope not since my PS3 warranty is going to expire soon. I support this thread and actions to promote awareness and getting Sony to have a 1 to 1 replacement (with all HDD intact) for this problem.

One thing I want to point out is that the standard console life span is between 5 - 10 years. Hence warranty should last at least 3 years or even up to 5 if possible. I think if any of the big 3 introduce this, their siales will definitely spike.
yeah exactly. even nowadays the computer hardware is adi started giving 3 years warranty, even monitor and so on.

darkskies
post Mar 5 2011, 05:14 PM

2,336 posts

u know la.. Sony way of doing business has always been this way.
They can gurantee perfomance quality but cannot gurantee durability.

Last time no competitor so they can still sell their brand proudly while maintainin their "style".

Now u see so many competitors crawling up on the same level as them lol.

During my secondaries, i love their earphones since it produce the best bass and tremble. But one thing, it nv last long and after a year one of the earphone malfunction and stop producing sound lol.. They do not come cheap and each pair cost at least 90SGD and i've switch through many malfunctioned earphones from sony.
hairi.ariff_11
post Mar 5 2011, 06:11 PM

229 posts

hope my ps3 will don get ylod.. i just play 6 hours a week.. almost 1-2 hours everytime i play.. hope my ps3 will last for 7 years before i buy ps4
TScloudstrifes
post Mar 6 2011, 12:02 AM

464 posts

QUOTE(darkskies @ Mar 5 2011, 05:14 PM)
u know la.. Sony way of doing business has always been this way.
They can gurantee perfomance quality but cannot gurantee durability.

Last time no competitor so they can still sell their brand proudly while maintainin their "style".

Now u see so many competitors crawling up on the same level as them lol.

During my secondaries, i love their earphones since it produce the best bass and tremble. But one thing, it nv last long and after a year one of the earphone malfunction and stop producing sound lol.. They do not come cheap and each pair cost at least 90SGD and i've switch through many malfunctioned earphones from sony.
i dont think they hav performance quality. 1. graphic confirm lose to PC adi, 2. some of the game still lag in some place

actually they produce normal earphones only. there is some professional earphones like sennheiser, shure and more and of coz the price will be more big differences.

QUOTE(hairi.ariff_11 @ Mar 5 2011, 06:11 PM)
hope my ps3 will don get ylod.. i just play 6 hours a week.. almost 1-2 hours everytime i play.. hope my ps3 will last for 7 years before i buy ps4
hmm i not sure bout it, but hope so lar...
darkskies
post Mar 7 2011, 12:07 PM

2,336 posts

QUOTE(cloudstrifes @ Mar 6 2011, 12:02 AM)
i dont think they hav performance quality. 1. graphic confirm lose to PC adi, 2. some of the game still lag in some place

actually they produce normal earphones only. there is some professional earphones like sennheiser, shure and more and of coz the price will be more big differences.
hmm i not sure bout it, but hope so lar...
Back in before 1994,i've only know sony earphones because they're the best earphones that's available in the market.Sennheiser,shure and other branded ones were juz introduce into our market not long.Some of them do started long before but they were not known to the singapore and malaysia market back then.Back then most earphone either have lousy bass and/or their tremble are juz simply too pitchy.

Graphic cannot compare to pc la. Every parts of PC is upgradeable and the advanced in specs updates almost annually or sometimes within less then 6mths. The only sufficient part is PS3's is the ram and the processor*take note though the ram and processor is structured different from PC's processor and ram so it's hard to compare*. The gpu of ps3 is already outdated long long time ago of course u see it lagging.Especially playin those fast moving games like racing.

TScloudstrifes
post Mar 7 2011, 06:53 PM

464 posts

yeah i understand tat since PS3 is a few years ago machines, but compare to that time PS3 graphic card is very powerful.
spurswong
post Mar 8 2011, 02:25 PM

96 posts

Bot my phat 80Gb about 2 wks after official Msia launch, used it as a blu-ray player then till Move. Now using it for gaming more in the last 2 months. Noticed yellow light flashing underneath the 2 USB ports but no problems with gaming or watching blu-rays. Is this YLOD or pre-YLOD?

Thks guys.
Joey Christensen
post Mar 8 2011, 03:50 PM

Purgamentum init, exit purgamentum
3,651 posts

Is that the HDD access indicator?
TScloudstrifes
post Mar 8 2011, 06:12 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(spurswong @ Mar 8 2011, 02:25 PM)
Bot my phat 80Gb about 2 wks after official Msia launch, used it as a blu-ray player then till Move. Now using it for gaming more in the last 2 months. Noticed yellow light flashing underneath the 2 USB ports but no problems with gaming or watching blu-rays. Is this YLOD or pre-YLOD?

Thks guys.
hmmm is there light at the bottom 2 USB port? i dont it is YLOD. IF Ylod happened, ur ps3 cant start at all, ylod appear at ur power button.

QUOTE(Joey Christensen @ Mar 8 2011, 03:50 PM)
Is that the HDD access indicator?
i thought HDD shuld be blue?
spurswong
post Mar 8 2011, 07:28 PM

96 posts

The flashing yellow light is definitely not at the power button, not sure what the light below the usb ports is though.

Thks very much for yr inputs, much appreciated.

34 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0540sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 09:20 AM