Need for Speed: Shift 2 Unleashed™, This Is Real Racing

TSheavy rain
post Feb 10 2011, 10:42 PM, updated 6y ago

351 posts

Summary

Shift 2: Unleashed is the direct sequel to the critically acclaimed 2009 video game Need for Speed: Shift and expands on the gameplay and features introduced with the original.Shift 2: Unleashed will feature 145 cars from 36 manufacturers and 35 different tracks,which players can compete in several types of races. Players will also be able to compete online.The game will also feature new features such as an in-helmet cam, night-time racing and the Autolog feature introduced with Hot Pursuit.EA has promise that it'll "redefine the racing simulator genre" and has been called as "the most realistic racer ever"

Autolog

At the press time did EA say "Shift 2: Unleashed also incorporates the next generation of Need for Speed Autolog - the groundbreaking network that connects friends for epic head-to-head races and compares player stats for the ultimate social racing competition."Marcus Nilson said that Autolog has changes since Hot Pursuit, "Yeah. You racing in the game becomes the fuel for other people to race, it's brilliant. Slightly Mad Studios has been working with Criterion from really early on exchanging ideas and executing on the core tenants that Criterion came up with. We're implementing it slightly differently but integrating more into the core experience of what the game is. I don't want the game to feel like I have a career and then I can go online to compete with my friends, I want it to feel like one whole. Autolog really weaves everything together into one compelling package. If you race this game and you beat people on your friends list, that's going to give you more XP to propel you in your career."

Gameplay

user posted image user posted image

Shift 2: Unleashed expands on the gameplay and features introduced with the original. It has been announced that it will contain the 2010 GT1 World Championship and GT3 European Championship among lots of other racing content, as well as several new tracks, including legendary circuits such as Bathurst and Suzuka. Other new features include night racing and an in-helmet camera, as well as the Autolog feature that was originally seen in Criterion's Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit.The game will also feature a new physics engine, new elite handling model and more control over all the controller settings (sensitivity, deadzones, steering aids etc.).

It will be the first game in the Need for Speed series to feature more than 100 cars. It is confirmed the game will feature 145 cars from 36 manufacturers and 35 different tracks

Release Date: 24 March 2011 (EU)

This post has been edited by heavy rain: Mar 29 2011, 08:15 AM
xplodingplastix
post Feb 10 2011, 10:53 PM

224 posts

surely a big file to torrent. lol! jk

hope the game does not feel like arcade. if it does, it wont feel real.
TSheavy rain
post Feb 10 2011, 10:58 PM

351 posts

QUOTE(xplodingplastix @ Feb 10 2011, 10:53 PM)
surely a big file to torrent. lol! jk

hope the game does not feel like arcade. if it does, it wont feel real.
user posted image kenapa kau sedut !! belilah yg ori !

btw,see gameplay video,the most realistic racer ever

This post has been edited by heavy rain: Mar 27 2011, 02:14 AM
TSheavy rain
post Mar 27 2011, 02:14 AM

351 posts

what u know,the ahem already kluar
LOL
elasticote
post Mar 27 2011, 02:39 AM

20 posts

already pre-order tongue.gif
TSheavy rain
post Mar 27 2011, 11:29 AM

351 posts

deleted

This post has been edited by heavy rain: May 6 2020, 04:26 PM
IccyAsd
post Mar 27 2011, 01:22 PM

846 posts

from some of the gameplay video this game looks good, the sound is very good. i wonder if the actual game is using the sound from the gameplay video.
MK84
post Mar 28 2011, 08:53 PM

Walking Plague
1,477 posts

QUOTE(heavy rain @ Feb 10 2011, 10:58 PM)
btw,see gameplay video,the most realistic racer ever
*cough* We shall see...... smile.gif

heavendevil
post Mar 29 2011, 12:51 AM

17 posts

Finally a game where you look at the chicane when cornering. rclxm9.gif
ralph_d
post Mar 29 2011, 09:26 AM

847 posts

QUOTE(heavendevil @ Mar 29 2011, 12:51 AM)
Finally a game where you look at the chicane when cornering. rclxm9.gif
err... you mean the apex?

btw anyone here ady got their copy?
qudeenz360
post Mar 29 2011, 09:31 AM

5,761 posts

takder demo ke ? adoi...

game ni terbaek.. shift1 aku dah abis (versi ps3).. shift2 kena beli nih... >_>
TSheavy rain
post Mar 29 2011, 03:48 PM

351 posts

anyone oledy got their copy ? give review fast2
shamrawk
post Mar 29 2011, 04:25 PM

453 posts

QUOTE(qudeenz360 @ Mar 29 2011, 09:31 AM)
takder demo ke ? adoi...

game ni terbaek.. shift1 aku dah abis (versi ps3).. shift2 kena beli nih... >_>
beli arr bro..pbbseller jual RM140 untuk xbox360.. thumbup.gif bole MP sesame..
qudeenz360
post Mar 29 2011, 04:47 PM

5,761 posts

QUOTE(shamrawk @ Mar 29 2011, 04:25 PM)
beli arr bro..pbbseller jual RM140 untuk xbox360.. thumbup.gif bole MP sesame..
untung arr ko... ko x beli pon.. icon_rolleyes.gif
shamrawk
post Mar 29 2011, 04:59 PM

453 posts

QUOTE(qudeenz360 @ Mar 29 2011, 04:47 PM)
untung arr ko... ko x beli pon..  icon_rolleyes.gif
huk oloh kudeen.. jgn emo.. tongue.gif
qudeenz360
post Mar 29 2011, 05:02 PM

5,761 posts

QUOTE(shamrawk @ Mar 29 2011, 04:59 PM)
huk oloh kudeen.. jgn emo..  tongue.gif
aku semua tunggu seken... malas nk beli baru...
yg penting aku bole layan gears2 mp sweat.gif jom insane thumbup.gif
IccyAsd
post Mar 29 2011, 05:27 PM

846 posts

bought~ =P
gnome
post Mar 29 2011, 06:32 PM

- We game, do you? -
4,925 posts

Wait i thought GT5 is the most realistic racer ever? rclxub.gif
trustmeiamlegit
post Mar 29 2011, 06:47 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(IccyAsd @ Mar 29 2011, 05:27 PM)
bought~ =P
How much? Where ? Nice ? I am interests !
elasticote
post Mar 29 2011, 07:17 PM

20 posts

Hoi, why at P-A list only have Shift 2 Limited Edition? This game dont have normal version? Only limited edition?
Mr. Alby
post Mar 29 2011, 07:42 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(elasticote @ Mar 29 2011, 07:17 PM)
Hoi, why at P-A list only have Shift 2 Limited Edition? This game dont have normal version? Only limited edition?
Limited Edition = Normal Version.
elasticote
post Mar 29 2011, 07:47 PM

20 posts

So whats up with the limited edition tag?
sadako-chan
post Mar 30 2011, 12:33 AM

226 posts

Also preordered, PC version.. haven't arrived yet.

I liked Shift 1.. hope this doesn't fail the hype too much.
TSheavy rain
post Mar 30 2011, 07:06 AM

351 posts

the review is up,the helmet cam is seriously nice....especially when u crash,awesome.....
MK84
post Mar 30 2011, 02:53 PM

Walking Plague
1,477 posts

Helmet cam nice but your milage may vary. smile.gif
sadako-chan
post Mar 31 2011, 11:32 AM

226 posts

got a t shirt along with the pc version. what did xbox owners get? haven't the time to install and play. going to do so after work. add me on autolog.
IccyAsd
post Mar 31 2011, 07:48 PM

846 posts

QUOTE(sadako-chan @ Mar 31 2011, 11:32 AM)
got a t shirt along with the pc version. what did xbox owners get? haven't the time to install and play. going to do so after work. add me on autolog.
we are on xbox hello? even if we actually add you on autolog u think u would be able to see us ? lol
heavendevil
post Apr 1 2011, 01:07 AM

17 posts

The visor cam is so hard. The handling is so different than the other views. After an hour or so I'm still trying to adapt to this view. I'm not giving up just yet. tongue.gif
sadako-chan
post Apr 1 2011, 04:16 AM

226 posts

QUOTE(IccyAsd @ Mar 31 2011, 07:48 PM)
we are on xbox hello? even if we actually add you on autolog u think u would be able to see us ? lol

damn, no across platform multiplayer? (x.x)

irienaoki
post Apr 1 2011, 04:18 AM

Janitor
3,428 posts

i heard that the handling is not really good
is it true?

This post has been edited by irienaoki: Apr 1 2011, 04:19 AM
qudeenz360
post Apr 1 2011, 07:53 AM

5,761 posts

aku main shift1.. okay je...

shift2 kena main la jawabnya.. lalalalalaaaa.....
xxboxx
post Apr 1 2011, 08:50 AM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

QUOTE(irienaoki @ Apr 1 2011, 04:18 AM)
i heard that the handling is not really good
is it true?

control feels not as precise as fm3. i was struggling on the control from the very beginning with the MS Wheel and go back to gamepad after upped 1 lvl because it's feel too frustrated with the wheel.

when play this game makes me remember Gran Turismo 1 & 2 for PS1. where you bump into other car during corner to avoid using brake as much as possible, but instead here it is the AI that doing the bumping to your car. sweat.gif and the car too easy to lose control, AI bump into you, your car spins, you bump into AI, your car spins. your car go sideways a bit, it will rollover.. doh.gif the AI car hardly will spins or rollover.

heavendevil
post Apr 1 2011, 11:06 AM

17 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Apr 1 2011, 08:50 AM)
control feels not as precise as fm3. i was struggling on the control from the very beginning with the MS Wheel and go back to gamepad after upped 1 lvl because it's feel too frustrated with the wheel.

when play this game makes me remember Gran Turismo 1 & 2 for PS1. where you bump into other car during corner to avoid using brake as much as possible, but instead here it is the AI that doing the bumping to your car. sweat.gif and the car too easy to lose control, AI bump into you, your car spins, you bump into AI, your car spins. your car go sideways a bit, it will rollover.. doh.gif the AI car hardly will spins or rollover.
I agree, the handling is out of control. Every race feels as though I'm doing doing a drift event. The AI... vmad.gif
MK84
post Apr 1 2011, 06:33 PM

Walking Plague
1,477 posts

There's still that feel that the car is sliding into the corners. Tire feedback not as good nor precise like Forza 3. It's a bit vague.

Those of you having problems with AI bumping into you, a question. Do you bump into AIs in any of the race prior? If I understand the AI correctly, they responds to the way you drive. If you're an overly aggressive driver (ie bumps into other cars, pushy, aggressively slamming the door shut when they try overtake, etc), then they will be aggressive as well.

Mine they actually give you room to race and actually try to avoid contact. And they do make mistakes, I've seen AI take the 130R on Suzuka too fast and struggled to maintain control, fishtailing like mad. Another case AI so eager to overtake till the fella overcooked the the braking point. laugh.gif

These are all on Elite handling.

Also those who are struggling with the controls try tweaking the controller's advanced setting. This might help. http://forum.needforspeed.com/eaforum/post...st/5531450.page

Those on wheels, this can be a guide. It's for G27 and PS3 but it explains what each of those Advanced settings are for.
http://www.gtplanet.net/forum/showthread.php?t=196575

This post has been edited by MK84: Apr 1 2011, 07:00 PM
xxboxx
post Apr 1 2011, 10:49 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(heavendevil @ Apr 1 2011, 11:06 AM)
I agree, the handling is out of control. Every race feels as though I'm doing doing a drift event. The AI...  vmad.gif

the qualifying race, i was wondering is it the GTR have been modded to be RWD. laugh.gif
AI car also cheating. give me Elise and ask to go against GTR, Vantage, and R8

QUOTE(MK84 @ Apr 1 2011, 06:33 PM)
There's still that feel that the car is sliding into the corners. Tire feedback not as good nor precise like Forza 3. It's a bit vague.

Those of you having problems with AI bumping into you, a question. Do you bump into AIs in any of the race prior? If I understand the AI correctly, they responds to the way you drive. If you're an overly aggressive driver (ie bumps into other cars, pushy, aggressively slamming the door shut when they try overtake, etc), then they will be aggressive as well.

Mine they actually give you room to race and actually try to avoid contact. And they do make mistakes, I've seen AI take the 130R on Suzuka too fast and struggled to maintain control, fishtailing like mad. Another case AI so eager to overtake till the fella overcooked the the braking point. laugh.gif

Also those who are struggling with the controls try tweaking the controller's advanced setting. This might help. http://forum.needforspeed.com/eaforum/post...st/5531450.page

Those on wheels, this can be a guide. It's for G27 and PS3 but it explains what each of those Advanced settings are for.
no bumping from my part, coz if bump then my car will spins or fishtailing. from forza 1 i already stop using bump cornering. i don't really mind to receive some bumping from the AI, just cannot tahan even the slightest bump will result in my car spinning. shakehead.gif

thanks for the link, hopefully can make the control more precise.
heavendevil
post Apr 2 2011, 03:08 PM

17 posts

No bumping here either since a slight bump will send my car to oblivion. dry.gif
MK84
post Apr 3 2011, 03:10 AM

Walking Plague
1,477 posts

That annoying sliding problem gets worse the higher u go up the car class. doh.gif Something is really not right with the physics engine.

It does make for a great replay though. laugh.gif
TSheavy rain
post Apr 3 2011, 07:26 AM

351 posts

the handling of car in shift 2 is different compare shift,the steering feel berat when cornering
hikaru_x
post Apr 3 2011, 09:55 AM

161 posts

i hate the soundtrack. help is on the waaaayyyyy.....
xxboxx
post Apr 3 2011, 10:20 AM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(MK84 @ Apr 3 2011, 03:10 AM)
That annoying sliding problem gets worse the higher u go up the car class.  doh.gif  Something is really not right with the physics engine.

It does make for a great replay though. laugh.gif
love the drift event where the car tires that will systematically lose all traction on the last lap. shakehead.gif

QUOTE(heavy rain @ Apr 3 2011, 07:26 AM)
the handling of car in shift 2 is different compare shift,the steering feel berat when cornering
you need to adjust the "steering deadzone" on the option, the default way too high. thats why feel slow response. then adjust "steering sensitivity" depends on how responsive you want it to be.

QUOTE(hikaru_x @ Apr 3 2011, 09:55 AM)
i hate the soundtrack. help is on the waaaayyyyy.....
i think i heard Lady Gaga's Bad Romance in the game. gaa gaa ga ga gaaa.....
heavendevil
post Apr 3 2011, 12:31 PM

17 posts

And what's with the AI cars having higher Tier than mine every time no matter how I upgrade my car grumble.gif
MK84
post Apr 3 2011, 02:32 PM

Walking Plague
1,477 posts

AI cars will have the similar PI as your car. so if you upgrade your car, the AI will upgrade to match.

This post has been edited by MK84: Apr 3 2011, 02:32 PM
Mr. Alby
post Apr 3 2011, 02:36 PM

128 posts

And to those who want to join the MP, please provide at least 1 car for each class... biggrin.gif
heavendevil
post Apr 3 2011, 03:16 PM

17 posts

I'm giving up, my finger hurts from all the struggling with the handling. sweat.gif cry.gif
MK84
post Apr 3 2011, 03:31 PM

Walking Plague
1,477 posts

Wheel lagi worse, I got blisters at the hook of my thumb... laugh.gif
TSheavy rain
post Apr 3 2011, 03:43 PM

351 posts

deleted

This post has been edited by heavy rain: May 6 2020, 04:27 PM
heavendevil
post Apr 3 2011, 04:04 PM

17 posts

I enjoyed Shift 1 a lot and had high hopes for Shift 2 but the handling totally ruined it. My thumb is aching now. doh.gif
TSheavy rain
post Apr 3 2011, 04:24 PM

351 posts

yup,the handling ruined the game

This post has been edited by heavy rain: Apr 3 2011, 10:58 PM
qudeenz360
post Apr 5 2011, 05:19 PM

5,761 posts

QUOTE(heavy rain @ Apr 3 2011, 04:24 PM)
yup,the handling ruined the game
asraf.. add ler xbl aku dowh.. main sorang2 sleep.gif
TSheavy rain
post Apr 5 2011, 07:52 PM

351 posts

deleted

qudeenz360
post Apr 5 2011, 08:48 PM

5,761 posts

QUOTE(heavy rain @ Apr 5 2011, 07:52 PM)
aku dah add lame dah,kan aku ade ckp aku add ko sebelum ni ?
ke ko blum accept lagi ?
id gamertag ko mohdashraf kan?

ko add id psn aku dowh... sweat.gif sweat.gif
shamrawk
post Apr 5 2011, 08:50 PM

453 posts

QUOTE(MK84 @ Apr 1 2011, 06:33 PM)

thanx for the link,bro MK84..already tweaking the controller setting and its good thumbup.gif
TSheavy rain
post Apr 5 2011, 09:08 PM

351 posts

deleted

qudeenz360
post Apr 6 2011, 09:58 AM

5,761 posts

QUOTE(heavy rain @ Apr 5 2011, 09:08 PM)
yup
aku add id psn ko ? aku xpaham la,ko ckp apekah ini ??
aku add xbl la,psn aku blum add lagi,aku dh pening dah
oit.. dah lama add ko... tp xnampak ko onLive pon.. hmm.gif hmm.gif

x sabar pulak nak layan shift2 nih.. pengubat duka GT5... whistling.gif
TSheavy rain
post Apr 6 2011, 10:07 AM

351 posts

deleted

xxboxx
post Apr 18 2011, 09:52 AM

5,261 posts

the race to win GT500 an AE86 is really hard! manage only to get lesser 30 points to beat the 1st position, but still get the GT500. tongue.gif and that AE86 is damn fast, max upgrade (except Works) on R32 with NOS running only can get it to be side by side with the AE86... luckily AWD strong points is at cornering. maybe should use Supra for easier race.

surprisingly, after moved up to B Events race, it become easier. even loaner car is not underpower compare to the AI. and R35 V-Spec with engine swap deserve the name Godzilla, practically owns every race. brows.gif
gerrardling
post Apr 20 2011, 12:18 PM

6 STARS
1,684 posts

which car is the best in terms of handling ? i try chevrolet, but still hard to control the car
MK84
post Apr 20 2011, 01:04 PM

Walking Plague
1,477 posts

Which class?
qudeenz360
post Jul 2 2013, 04:58 PM

5,761 posts

hello, ada siapa main game ni lagi? sleep.gif