any downsides to enabling HWSync in hildon-desktop.ini?
Nokia N900 V10 (Close to 200 owners), New CSSU Update 07/09/2011
Apr 30 2011, 09:07 AM
956 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
any downsides to enabling HWSync in hildon-desktop.ini?
May 9 2011, 08:36 AM
Sociality is an excellent app and is the only one that allows the 'via n900' text appearing in facebook.
However, many things like the 'notes' and 'places' aren't fully working yet. MAG has said that he'll slowly implement those things. But it's not UNSTABLE or anything. just that some things aren't fully operating yet |
May 11 2011, 09:26 PM
QUOTE(vaizard @ May 11 2011, 01:38 AM) Download healthcheck. there's a touchscreen test to see if your screen is faulty. There is also a screen calibration test in settings... but that doesn't seem very very concise as healthcheck |
May 12 2011, 12:35 PM
tried the tacticle and zoom on press on CSSU... definitely consumes more battery
Jun 17 2011, 10:48 AM
Jun 17 2011, 12:38 PM
Jun 17 2011, 02:16 PM
well... meego is still in the developers stage... and i don't think you can make calls or sms's yet...
Jun 17 2011, 09:23 PM
oh really? wow... guess i must be a bit backdated then...
Jun 20 2011, 01:46 PM
tomorrow is the release of N9 right?
Jun 21 2011, 12:33 PM
apparently there'll be 2 devices... one N9 and the N950 for developers with slightly different specs...
can't wait for the video reviews to come out |
Jun 21 2011, 09:22 PM
hmmmm... thus far, that N9 has really shown some serious fluidity matching that of android and ios standards. quite impressed with the responsiveness in those videos... but functionality... need to watch more reviews when they do market it out
Jun 22 2011, 10:38 AM
i don't think the N9 looks or even seems to be a replacement of the n900... i think that'll be more like the N950.
n9 is completely different in terms of the UI and the UX... maybe the only thing it's similar is the open source concept. |
Jun 22 2011, 04:59 PM
QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jun 22 2011, 01:58 PM) Sadly, N9 is not a up to the standard to replace N900; It feels more simple and iOS-ish. IC... then that means the N950 ain't gonna be that different compared to the N9... just some software availability for devs and stuff right?It's a suitable replacement for the Nokia Symbian OS. N950 also same, the OS is not comparable to Maemo 5; This one feels like a good replacement for Nokia Symbian OS. Basically, OS Comparison wise, it's kind of a big difference/change; It doesn't look like a next version or replacement for Maemo OS; It feels like a totally different OS, which looks like iOS? Especially with it's colouring, and some similar features, no homescreen, etc. Perhaps this looks like a different iOS for intermediate-advance users? Hahaha... Higher spec than N900, but lower spec than N9. I don't think it's anything like iOS as well... i mean, i know it's always normal for us to compare fluidity of the OSs with iOS because it's top in the line right now... but I feel this one belongs in it's own category. Not even Symbian. Truly starting off something new with this whole swipe to home idea... i particularly like how when he was swiping the video, the video was still playing while half swiped.... ... but unfortunately... paused the second it was in the multitasking window.... not live playing |
Jun 23 2011, 08:05 AM
QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Jun 22 2011, 01:24 PM) where? link link...QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jun 22 2011, 05:56 PM) Yes it kind of belong to a category or new OS, but because there're many OS available, it's easily compared to another which is similar. The white/greyish background has been sort of trademark of iOS? The on/off button is also very iOS? The slider also very iOS? I don't know. i agree... one thing i really love about our N900 is the ability to choose. i mean... i can choose to turn off all desktops and/or just use shortcuts if i don't like widgets. i can even choose to use widgets only or NOT put anything in the homescreen at all!If Maemo, they're totally different, totally different from the rest of the OS out there, and I love the glowing blue (or orange depends on the default theme used). Secondly, the "no homescreen" is kind of trademark for iOS. Honestly, I have not seen other mobile OS without homescreen except iOS, now this. Altough it has 3 page, which they call homescreen; It's more like 3 menus, Task Manager, Events and Applications Menu. Where is the "desktop" or "homescreen" for Wallpapers and customization??? This is so iOS-ish... perhaps later they can implement this? I hope so... In terms of fluidity, iOS and WP7 still feels smoother from the video, they have better "animation" or "transition". All I can say, there's many influence from the iFruit; It's good to implement the simplicity, but ALWAYS, I mean, ALWAYS, provide OPTIONS or CHOICE for the users. Some people say there's no need homescreen, for what? But this OS is target for many types of users, having an options is always the BEST; satisfy more types of customers; Don't like homescreen? Fine, turn it off. Simple as that. Don't like Flash? Fine, turn it off. Simple as that. Don't be like Mr. Jobs, giving lame excuses when he doesn't "want" to provide the features. QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Jun 22 2011, 06:41 PM) sadly... microb only scored 178 the last time i checked... even with fasterfox |
Jun 27 2011, 03:03 PM
QUOTE(mashimarow @ Jun 25 2011, 09:56 PM) how weird, double check the entry again:- yes... when a phone call comes, the lockscreen stays there to be unlocked...catalog name : (anything you want) web address : http://repository.maemo.org/extras/ Distribution : freemantle-1.3 Components : free non-free I think your phone need a re-format on kernel Added on June 27, 2011, 12:19 pmto Dark angel, SEA, enhance lockscreen got the phone receiving issue now? |
Jun 29 2011, 07:53 AM
QUOTE(mashimarow @ Jun 27 2011, 05:56 PM) N900 not yet dead, and whether N950 will takeover N900 yet unknown True. It will take a LOT to replace my N900. If there was actually one phone that will, it'll be a TRUE multitasking monster and MORE customisable than this phone I have... less people here is due to everyone become sifu already, nothing to ask I believe many direct goes to talk maemo nowadays I have to say though that the SCREEN on the Iphone is the killer. If we had THAT screen on the N900, it'll be a true beast QUOTE(hengguowei @ Jun 27 2011, 07:46 PM) Seldom play with extra stuff ady. Use my phone for web, calls, msg, movies and music. Me too. Some WEBos Games, and surfin... surfin... surfin... the best is watching Wimbledon Scores on the phone. Do I need an App for that??? NO!Don't even have Nitdroid now. |
Jun 29 2011, 03:19 PM
i can imagine how a lot of people are jumping ship. It's normal. Why would a consumer want to buy a product that is not going to be supported anymore? imagine if apple announced that they will not be updating nor supporting their iOS anymore because they wanna focus on another product, you think people will still line up to buy their iphones? i doubt.
moreover, these are HIGH-END phones. High-end phones are all about the software/fluidity/experience. If the overall experience is not appealing, then it's just not that sellable. This is why the retina display was one of the BIGGEST selling point of the iphone (i think it's smart of them to do so). Just by looking at the screen you already feel attracted to it... not fiddling with it yet. Even android is appealing just by looking at it because of all it's widgets and colourful interface. That's it - it looks good. the interface and UI looks good. Only when you start to tap the phone a little further you realize how much more flexible our N900 really is. Then only you realise the meaning of customization. If you can continue to support the phone ON YOUR OWN, then it becomes your holy grail. Or not, it's just a rubbish phone without any platform/support you can go to - hence the switch. |
Jul 4 2011, 10:18 AM
only for those who are willing to run test scripts:
would i recommend it to new users? no. (even when the instructions are simple enough) but anything meddling with xterm should be avoided if you don't know what you are doing http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=733...=scripts+tweaks the scripts are modified from another source quoted by karam but the script optified for n900 is compiled by karam.. just thought i'd share this. |
Jul 7 2011, 09:43 AM
guys,
if you're following TMO... I'm wondering if it has already been shared here... if it has, then sorry for this irrelevant post btu battery life will greatly increase by reducing the VFS cache from 100 to a lower value. They are proposing it to be 10 at TMO and I'm currently testing it to see if it really gives 2-3x more battery life. Added on July 8, 2011, 8:45 amhi guys... sorry for asking this old question.. just wanna find out which one of these widgets are probably causing the hildon-home to crash... i know every device is different but I wanna know which one is highly probable for causing it: I have: Personal Dataplan Monitor Personal IP address Conversations Inbox Calender Bluzwitch qtbatterywidget mediaplayer(the default one) 4 QBW related to overclocking, 3 with clockspeeds and 1 for displaying the current clockspeed thanks EDIT: on top of that, is it realllly because of the widgets that cause hildon-home to crash? I mean... cause the widgets i've listed above, i've gotten quite dependent on it.. so it'll be nice if there were to be a workaround this issue This post has been edited by Dark_Angel85: Jul 8 2011, 01:35 PM |
Jul 10 2011, 02:34 PM
QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Jul 9 2011, 11:59 PM) Are you using MAG's patched hildon-desktop? i'm using the latest CSSU update... doesn't it include the patched hildon-desktop? i'm sorry... at a blur in this... is it better? will it cause no hildon-home crashes? or is it the one causing the problems?Open terminal & type "uname -r" without the " " Should show 2.6.28.10-power47 if you're using kernel power 47 Else just open conky or heath check app You'll feel some laggyness but not this severe. Tried FAPman? thanks EDIT: i think i am cause i can have 9 desktops and i have faster kinetic scrolling... isn't it MAtan's modified desktop? which one is matan's or mags? This post has been edited by Dark_Angel85: Jul 10 2011, 02:48 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0262sec
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:40 PM |