6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

English Clubs Liverpool Football Club - The Kop Talks 2011, Liverpool 3-1 MU- Suarez+Kuyt Combo!

Duke Red
post Feb 9 2011, 09:22 PM

6,112 posts

I'm beginning to realise that there is a need to remind people how to use "The Kop" correctly.

"The Kop" is a stand at Anfield that houses our most ardent fans. "Kopites" is a term generally used for Liverpool fans. If you were to therefore say something like, "I am Kops", it is akin to saying, "I am Penangs", instead of "I am a Penangnite".
Duke Red
post Feb 10 2011, 10:10 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(nando @ Feb 9 2011, 10:56 PM)
I know KD is flexible but this is an interesting article....

Jonathan Wilson is one of the best columnist on tactics...

http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/blog/2011/...ilson-liverpool
Good read which reinforces my point that we did not go to Stamford Bridge to park the bus. Those who didn't watch the game would automatically assume we did when they saw 5 defenders on the team sheet. Watch the game however and you'll note that we did attack in numbers. It's just the players had to start buidling from a deeper position than usual. When we did go forward, we often threw caution to the wind. Instead of having players line up behind the ball like Houllier and Rafa used to, Dalglish instructed the players to make forward runs, leaving us exposed to counterattacks.

Liverpool's outlook against Chelsea was cautious, but it was not that negative.

Duke Red
post Feb 10 2011, 10:36 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(leftist @ Feb 10 2011, 10:27 AM)

agger has more tattoo than skrtel biggrin.gif
I like the inscriptions. Death is permanent but its timing is not... something along those lines. Curious to see Skrtel's and Mereiles' artwork.
Duke Red
post Feb 10 2011, 03:09 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(aiyish @ Feb 10 2011, 12:04 PM)
We are scoring goals from everywhere since that certain someone left the club. But suddenly i do miss stevie G scoring goals like he used too, but the club is above any players, so i don't care who scores, as long its for the team.
Interesting you should post this. Reminds me of a conversation I had with a friend some time back. Whilst its nice to see your team score spectacular goals, it is at the some time discerning that we had to rely on the spectacular to win games. I'm sure goals like Riise's freekick against the mancs, Gerrard's against Olympiacos/West Ham or Xabi's against Luton provide good talking points but I'd much rather we work out how to score simple ones, because this means the team played well, not the individual. Its good to know we can score 30 yard screamers but its more important to know that we can create opportunities for simple tap-ins. Look at how the team attacks now. Often you see players attacking in triangles, or 3's, passing the ball about and running into space. When you have players playing ahead of the one in possession, you give him options to move the ball forward. Not long ago, we struggled to get past average sides because they had more men behind the ball, and we were afraid to over commit men forward, hence our forward players were always outnumbered. Quite often we played the ball up to their penalty box and either lost possession or had to pass it back to a deeper player coming from midfield to belt it towards goal. Nowadays, we play the ball into the opposition box, to feet more often.

I agree. I don't care so much for spectacular goals anymore. I prefer scoring goals as a result of good team work.

QUOTE(�resentScythe @ Feb 10 2011, 01:28 PM)
raul's
Good looking oriental dragon there. If it were on the back of some China man, I would've thought he'd be a Klang taiko.
Duke Red
post Feb 10 2011, 04:48 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(koolspyda @ Feb 10 2011, 03:41 PM)
when this anak (mark) add to his canvas?  tongue.gif
Slowly mate. Need to wait for my next moment of inspiration. In my opinion, you need to be inspired to get one, and not just have one for the sake of fashion. Also, it does hurt man and I can only imagine how excruciating it must have been for him to get it done on the insides of his arms the sides of his body where it tickles. Try pinching yourself there and see how long it hurts for. Then imagine using a blade to cut yourself in that region because thats what it feels like when the needle is punching holes in you at high velocity continously. Its why I chose my arm mate smile.gif It is the least painful place if you ask me.
Duke Red
post Feb 10 2011, 07:19 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(livingmonolith @ Feb 10 2011, 04:51 PM)
guys may want to follow the following people on twitter:-

kenny dalglish (kennethdalglish)
john henry (John_W_Henry) - new owner
darren burgess (darrenburgess25) - head of fitness & conditioning
glen johnson (glen_johnson)
nathan eccleston (NE39)
lucas leiva (LucasLeiva87)
dirk kuyt (Dirk_18_Kuyt)
jonjo shelvey (J_Shelvey)
brad jones (Brad_Jones1)
ryan babel (RyanBabel) - mostly english, some german
xabi alonso (XabiAlonso) - mix of spanish & english
emiliano insua (EmilianoInsua) - mostly english
alvaro arbeloa (aarbeloa17) - spanish

found some funny tweets on twitter on why players don't tweet:-
soto tried tweeting however he broke his computer when he touched the enter key
el hadji diouf is on spitter, not twitter
joey barton doesn't tweet because his computer has a restraining order against him
michael owen wants to tweet however he is looking for a bigger twitter
harry kewell would tweet, but he sprained his keyboard
houllier claims that they are all his tweets
saf will not tweet until twitter allows him more than 140 characters
konchesky was tweeting however his mum was upset he switched from facebook
drogba tried to tweet, but after barely touching the keyboard he collapsed in agony and rolled around for 5 minutes
hodgson won't tweet because the computer he inherited isn't his
pennant tried to tweet but he forgot his laptop in a carpark in spain
heskey tried his best to tweet but fell over on the way to the keyboard
torres tried to tweet, but then decided to go with the bigger technology - morse code
moyes doesn't tweet because everton can't afford to provide him a computer
hodgson won't tweet because he can't find a keyboard with a 442 layout
maxi tried to tweet but he missed the keyboard from 3 yards out
sir alex ferguson writes howard webb's tweets
arsene didn't see the offending tweet
craig bellamy can't tweet, his keyboard has a golf club lodged in it
carra doesn't tweet, he's a facebooker through and through
el hadji diouf doesn't tweet because his computer screen is full of spit

have fun tweeting people!
Thanks for the twitter links.

Also, the twitter jokes are hilarous.

Konchesky's mom rclxms.gif

Drogba's low threshold for pain rclxms.gif

Torres going back to morse code rclxms.gif What's the code for SOS? ___ . . . ___
Duke Red
post Feb 11 2011, 08:01 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(triple02 @ Feb 11 2011, 12:49 AM)
After Shelvey's injury we could have done with Adam in midfield. Spearing is out as well. Poulsen should get some playing time and maybe Conor Coady perhaps?
It's a long shot but our back four is fit and let's not forget than Dagger had expressed some interest in playing the holding role before. Boy am I delighted that finally, we have a boss who appreciates his ability.
Duke Red
post Feb 11 2011, 08:30 AM

6,112 posts

Which was one on the reasons I wanted to see King Kenny reinstalled as manager. Nobody is bigger than Kenny Dalglish, not Carragher, not Gerrard. If any player goes up against him, the fans will back Kenny. Said a lot that Dalglish was voted no.1 ahead of Gerrard in the list of "Players Which Shook the Kop". One man to rule them all. One man to find them. One man to bring them all and in the darkness bind them. The Return of the King...
Duke Red
post Feb 11 2011, 11:27 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(weichieh007 @ Feb 11 2011, 11:07 AM)
Exactly what I've been trying to lay out since the last few posts. This is not about accepting the reality or not. I know each and everyone has their own dream or target and moving on is inevitable in football. But joining a rival club is just plain unacceptable. You join Chelsea because Lampard is better than Gerrard? You join Man Utd because Fletcher is more hardworking than Kuyt? Where's the respect for King Kenny? CA or SAF will give me more confidence as compared to KD?
At this point in time, Man Utd look like being Prem League champs and are in the Champ League. They have had unrivalled success in the past 20 years so they are still miles ahead of us. Unfair to compare Dalglish and Fergie at this point.
Duke Red
post Feb 11 2011, 02:30 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Feb 11 2011, 01:07 PM)
if he turns out to be as good as shearer - knees, elbows, stamps, headbutts (wait did shearer ever headbutt anyone?) included, 35 million will seem like a bargain.

I won't judge Henry as yet, but I have seen enough to respect (and truth be told, fear) the man. He's ruthless and manipulative. Everything he does seems cold and calculated. Spent peanuts, yet made himself look like a hero in very difficult times. Shrugged off criticisms about sticking with Uncle Roy for waaay to long. Then our best player left, yet how many are actually missing him? This yank is not a cowboy... he is much more dangerous - he's an media savvy wall street b@st@rd!!! laugh.gif

Also, on another sad note about Torres' demise... was wearing Torres' myRAWK tee yesterday... an ang mo stopped me in the middle of the street and said he was surprised to see me wear it. So I asked him if he was a disgruntled Liverpool supporter (secretly hoping to lecture someone the merits of appreciating ones past contributions brows.gif). He said no. Apparently he doesn't even watch football but he has heard and read enough to know that Torres is a lying turncoat shocking.gif
Henry's not splurged, that is true. It is also true that he said he wouldn't, not at one go at least. Still, not having to pay huge interest payments due to a mounting debt is a breath of relief. Much healthier financially we are.

Added on February 11, 2011, 2:33 pm
QUOTE(TheArgumentMan @ Feb 11 2011, 01:55 PM)
HAHaHa. One word to say about liverpool supporters. Deluded and ignorant. Wearing a Torres tee on the street = 100 % Stupidity. Obviously no passion for the club and still have the cheek to write about it here. What does this say about u. The Ang Mo who is not a Liverpool supporter loves Liverpool more then you. What a joke. I really enjoy reading things in this forum. Makes me laugh and drives my stress away. Why dun u think that he should not know that Torres has left Liverpool. You mean everyone is as ignorant as you? Liverpool is a "big" club with history but no future so of course any tom, d*** and harry would have known that. The funny thing is that you actually wrote this on the forum embarassing yourself. Seriously, does anyone in this forum actually knows you personally?

If Mr Caroll does turn out to be as good as Shearer, even then, 35 million is not a bargain. Just to accentuate your ignorance, Mr Caroll was a panic buy and he was just worth 2 million pounds 2 years ago. You would have been lucky if he was good but you have just wasted money on someone who is not even worth half that at this point of time.

Ruthless? If he was ruthless, Woy would have been gone much earlier. Spent peanuts? You mean 300 million is only peanuts? Liverpool is not even worth half of Manchester United why would you think he actually spent peanuts.  You are talking about the transfer market I guess. Losing your tailsman for sureez who is considered a good player and Roy Caroll who is currently an unknown is good business. Seriously, even darren bent is worth much more then Roy Caroll as he is proven and has premier league experience and yet people are laughing that he actually gone to Aston Villa for 24 million. For someone who has only been on the big stage for 6 months you actually spent 35 million and you still think it is not a big mistake. Well goes to show how financial savvy you really are

Well , I guess loads are missing him even though who are not liverpool supporters who are secretly cursing him. I mean if you dun miss someone you would not even talk about him rite? Actually what is the problem with Torres leaving. He has already shown his disgrunt so it is obvious that he is going to leave sooner or later. I mean did he lie when he said that Liverpool are not winning trophies?
Oh here comes a keyboard warrior. All macho behind the screen and I bet my bottom dollar, a quivering coward in person. Good to know there are retarded people out there to look some of us look smarter than we are.

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Feb 11 2011, 02:33 PM
Duke Red
post Feb 11 2011, 05:13 PM

6,112 posts

I used to critise Lucas a lot but this season, I have to eat humble pie because I think he's our most improved player. He has established himself as the link between our defenders and the midfielders.
Duke Red
post Feb 11 2011, 06:01 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Feb 11 2011, 05:27 PM)
I am so tempted to rub it in... hmm... yeah why not? Not everyday do you get to say "Told you so!" to Duke and company.

I really like Lucas, he has always been the model 'pass and move' kinda player.

I am no scout, and my footie exposure is limited to the EPL and scraps of the La Liga at best, but I personally only know of one player that does what Lucas does better than Lucas and that is Fabregas laugh.gif Fabregas plays the same kind of short assured passes and has the same kind of movement off the ball... only he gets into more forward positions while Lucas prefers to patrol the middle of the park...

A midfield pairing of Lucas and Fabregas rclxub.gif
I'm more than happy to be proven wrong.

At the time however he was a lemon and you have to call it like you see it.
Duke Red
post Feb 12 2011, 06:25 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(daidzz @ Feb 12 2011, 04:42 PM)
About to head up to liverpool in about 20 minutes smile.gif
Should be in the city around 1ish I reckon - and probably in the stadium by 2.30pm (UK time)

Here's a photo of my tickets as promised smile.gif

COME ON YOU REDSSSSS  rclxms.gif

Added on February 12, 2011, 4:43 pmHopefully both Gerrard and Suarez will start smile.gif
Nice. Post some pictures after the game. You're seated at the Kop? Sweet.

If you're taking a connecting flight via Dubai, you're looking at almost a full days worth of travel time. The journey is tiring and I reckon one should stay for at least 3 nights. Fly in a day before the game, visit the stores, watch the game the following day and tour Anfield the next. Reason being if you tour the stadium the day before a live game, they won't let you in the dressing room and tunni because the press will be setting their equipment up. Best to go the day after I reckon. I think you're looking at somewhere between RM 5 - 6 K in total.
Duke Red
post Feb 12 2011, 08:35 PM

6,112 posts

I don't see us playing 5 at the back again at home to Wigan. Reckon Suarez will be The extra body in attack.
Duke Red
post Feb 13 2011, 01:05 AM

6,112 posts

The draw was a fair result though we really should have been more clinical in front of goal. Suarez showed a high work ethic which endeared him to the crowd. Good close control and always a handful to contain. Unlucky not to have scored.

King Kenny kept to his word and has given everyone in the first team a run now, with the introduction of N'Gog and Jovanovich although neither made any significant contribution.

We lacked creativity in the middle tonight especially after Mereiles was pulled off and Aurelio was thrust into a central role. We kept having to play the ball out to wide areas.

We made ground on City at least. Let's see if Sunderland can hold Spurs.
Duke Red
post Feb 13 2011, 01:13 AM

6,112 posts

Miss Torres? Hard to do so when Suarez played so well. Like Shamsul said, Torres' work ethic was poor when he was sulking. Suarez was tracking back, showed good close control, was quick on the turn each time the ball was played into him, drew free kicks in dangerous positions, plus he hit the post twice. When was the last time Torres did all that?
Duke Red
post Feb 13 2011, 01:15 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Feb 13 2011, 01:12 AM)
if Sunderland can hold Spurs, then its status quo for us, it would be better if Sunderland can beat them, which is unlikely doh.gif
If Sunderland win, they go above us.
Duke Red
post Feb 13 2011, 01:22 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(�resentScythe @ Feb 13 2011, 01:15 AM)
i have no idea why KD will sub kuyt the ironman off for ngog / jova..
pacheco > jova & ngog

and maxi is shitt too rclxub.gif
A lot of the lads played in the midweek international fixtures.

I don't blame Dalglish for using his full squad, especially since so many were away on international duty. People forget that N'Gog began the season with a bang. If my count is accurate, he has 7 goals to his name so far this season.
Duke Red
post Feb 13 2011, 01:35 AM

6,112 posts

I agree that Kuyt and Maxi both had quiet games but what did Lucas do wrong? I thought he did a good job anchoring the midfield. Wigan always looked dangerous going forward and I think Lucas gave an energetic performance and made a nuisance of himself. His wasn't a fancy role but it was important nonetheless. Kinda reminds me like how some didn't see how good Didi was.
Duke Red
post Feb 14 2011, 09:31 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(daidzz @ Feb 14 2011, 01:06 AM)
Hey guys!
I got back really late from Liverpool last night - i was absolutely knackered.
I'm uploading some photos onto facebook - then ill upload some videos - i've got videos of suarez hitting the post and the bar.
Magic. If you have time please do write and account beginning with your trip there to after the game. No need to talk about the match since we watched it. Am interested in the atmosphere and all. If you have the time lah.

On Pacheco, I'll not second guess Dalglish. He's been working with the academy for some time now and I can only imagine the king doesn't feel he's quite ready. Dalglish has shown that he's not biased against youth players having already played Spearing, Kelly and Shelvey.

Not an area I can commen much on since I don't watch youth matches. All I can say is I was surprised that Kelly kept getting picked ahead of Darby who was captaining the youth team but now I understand why. Not sure about Pacheco.

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0545sec    0.80    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 01:14 PM