Overclocking, Afraid To But Seriously Need

TSPrismax
post Feb 9 2011, 04:41 PM, updated 15y ago

136 posts

I Want To Overclock My CPU.. It's Seriously Slowing Me Down.. My BIOS Brand Is American Megatrends Inc. But The Problem Is My BIOS Somehow Lock The Overclocking System.. I Know I Have To Clear My CMOS.. But I Just Want To Know What Is Gonna Happen After Clearing CMOS? I Want My Games Run Smoothly A Bit..

Games That I'm Currently Playing :

Assassins Creed 2 (It's Ok But Sometimes The FPS Drop)
Call Of Duty : Black Ops (No Lag But Sometimes It's Spiking And I Think I Need To Upgrade My RAM Or Opinions?)
Crysis (My FPS Drops When I Play in Max Settings)

Help Me icon_question.gif Cheers tongue.gif
marlick25
post Feb 9 2011, 04:49 PM

440 posts

And what is your pc specs? icon_rolleyes.gif
chikenleg
post Feb 9 2011, 04:50 PM

74 posts

ur grphic card is good enought gua ....maybe ram and proc not taht good
Irishcoffee
post Feb 9 2011, 05:12 PM

ilX / Espressivo
2,994 posts

dont expect to ply max setting with that system
your system arent meant to ply at max setting

TSPrismax
post Feb 9 2011, 05:14 PM

136 posts

QUOTE(marlick25 @ Feb 9 2011, 04:49 PM)
And what is your pc specs? icon_rolleyes.gif
ECS G41T-M6 (V1.0)
Intel Pentium Dual Core E5400 @ 2.7 GHz
Kingston 2GB DDR3
Power Color 5670 1GB DDR5 OC To 800Mhz
Cooler Master Extreme Power Plus 500W

Added on February 9, 2011, 5:14 pm
QUOTE(Irishcoffee @ Feb 9 2011, 05:12 PM)
dont expect to ply max setting with that system
your system arent meant to ply at max setting
There's No Boundaries For Gaming tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif

Added on February 9, 2011, 5:15 pm
QUOTE(chikenleg @ Feb 9 2011, 04:50 PM)
ur grphic card is good  enought gua ....maybe ram and proc not taht good
Reconsider Buying, Better I Overclock My CPU.. Save Money brows.gif

This post has been edited by Prismax: Feb 9 2011, 05:15 PM
TechnoG
post Feb 9 2011, 05:18 PM

9,337 posts

just wondering, what is the reso you're playing your games on?
TSPrismax
post Feb 9 2011, 05:19 PM

136 posts

QUOTE(TechnoG @ Feb 9 2011, 05:18 PM)
just wondering, what is the reso you're playing your games on?
1366 x 768.. TechnoG, You Always Support Me notworthy.gif Thanks
Racerx
post Feb 9 2011, 05:51 PM

Tell Your World
8,461 posts

QUOTE(Prismax @ Feb 9 2011, 03:41 PM)
I Want To Overclock My CPU.. It's Seriously Slowing Me Down.. My BIOS Brand Is American Megatrends Inc. But The Problem Is My BIOS Somehow Lock The Overclocking System.. I Know I Have To Clear My CMOS.. But I Just Want To Know What Is Gonna Happen After Clearing CMOS? I Want My Games Run Smoothly A Bit..

Games That I'm Currently Playing :

Assassins Creed 2 (It's Ok But Sometimes The FPS Drop)
Call Of Duty : Black Ops (No Lag But Sometimes It's Spiking And I Think I Need To Upgrade My RAM Or Opinions?)
Crysis (My FPS Drops When I Play in Max Settings)

Help Me  icon_question.gif  Cheers tongue.gif
1-Are you playing games with fraps on?

2-Your mobo's BIOS seems to lack the necessary options for you to OC your CPU.

3-AC2 runs fine on my bro's PC [slower PC,higher res at 1440x900]Try updating the game.
COD:BO runs bad on certain configs based on my personal experience even after update.
Crysis max settings?Did you go crazy with the AA and AF too?If so then what do you expect?

This post has been edited by Racerx: Feb 9 2011, 06:03 PM
DG41
post Feb 9 2011, 08:25 PM

Power Saving Mode
642 posts

isnt mobo not good oc? 5670 canno max lah, play medium still ok fps. sure cannot hold high AA if don wan fps drop smile.gif
jeopardise
post Feb 9 2011, 09:12 PM

tidak memberi seketul tahi!
1,767 posts

2GB RAM = quite low for gaming.

also 5670 can't really got highest quality. Medium setting is preferred.

ECS G41 can't really overclock well i think.

This post has been edited by jeopardise: Feb 9 2011, 09:13 PM
lex
post Feb 9 2011, 11:45 PM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(Prismax @ Feb 9 2011, 05:14 PM)
ECS G41T-M6 (V1.0)
Intel Pentium Dual Core E5400 @ 2.7 GHz
Kingston 2GB DDR3
Power Color 5670 1GB DDR5 OC To 800Mhz
Cooler Master Extreme Power Plus 500W
This specification is fine for most of the games you have mentioned. The only exception is Crysis.. of course using Max/Ultra settings will bring down more powerful machines (often frame rates below 50) unless using Core i7 with SLI or CrossFire dual GPU setups. sweat.gif

QUOTE(Prismax @ Feb 9 2011, 05:14 PM)
Reconsider Buying, Better I Overclock My CPU.. Save Money  brows.gif
You may want to check the Frequency/Voltage control options in the BIOS setup. If more adventurous then try the BSEL mod (makes 800MHz FSB processors run at 1066MHz FSB or 1333MHz FSB). hmm.gif
TSPrismax
post Feb 10 2011, 12:27 AM

136 posts

QUOTE(Racerx @ Feb 9 2011, 05:51 PM)
1-Are you playing games with fraps on?

2-Your mobo's BIOS seems to lack the necessary options for you to OC your CPU.

3-AC2 runs fine on my bro's PC [slower PC,higher res at 1440x900]Try updating the game.
COD:BO runs bad on certain configs based on my personal experience even after update.
Crysis max settings?Did you go crazy with the AA and AF too?If so then what do you expect?
1-No

2-Then What Should I Do?

3-AC2 Settings All Max And Resolution 1366x768 And It's Ok But When I'm In Venice, The FPS Drops A Bit (Base On Lagging)
COD:BO Has No Lag, But Only Spiking.. I Think I Need To Upgrade My RAM..
Crysis I Can Max Out With Resolution 1366x768 With No AF But AA x8 And The FPS I Think Around 25-35.. But When I Set It High Only I Got 45-60 FPS
AMenzZ
post Feb 10 2011, 12:27 AM

Master
306 posts

ECS is budget board, those puny heatsink and "quality parts"? cant stand heavy OC if thr an option for OC..
E5400 is sufficient to feed ur HD5670 very well IMO..
mayb u run out of RAM? 2GB only,..
TSPrismax
post Feb 10 2011, 12:38 AM

136 posts

QUOTE(lex @ Feb 9 2011, 11:45 PM)
This specification is fine for most of the games you have mentioned. The only exception is Crysis.. of course using Max/Ultra settings will bring down more powerful machines (often frame rates below 50) unless using Core i7 with SLI or CrossFire dual GPU setups. sweat.gif

You may want to check the Frequency/Voltage control options in the BIOS setup. If more adventurous then try the BSEL mod (makes 800MHz FSB processors run at 1066MHz FSB or 1333MHz FSB). hmm.gif
When I Check The Frequency/Voltage Control, The Frequency Part Cannot Be Change.. I Just Want To OC until 3Ghz-3.2Ghz cry.gif
saturn85
post Feb 10 2011, 04:09 AM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

upgrade your graphic card maybe can help instead of overclock. tongue.gif
ne0cz
post Feb 11 2011, 10:06 PM

Zoom Zoom
5,372 posts

Black Ops in the rig in my siggy also has lag spikes. I think the game load the maps slowly? I don't know. But black ops not fun... Medal of Honor more fun IMHO

0.0170sec    0.13    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 05:39 AM