Nokia E6-00, successor to E72

sklchan
post Jun 1 2011, 10:42 AM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(hengguowei @ May 31 2011, 06:06 PM)
Nokia X7 and E6 Symbian Anna phones start shipping into obsolescence
While we eagerly await Nokia's first Mango device, millions of others (we're told) have been patiently anticipating shipments of the first Symbian Anna smartphones. Well, today's the day, good sir. Nokia just loosed its 4-inch X7 media slab and E6 portrait QWERTY with 326ppi display into the shipping lanes. Look for the E6 worldwide while the X7 will skip the US carriers (as expected) targeting the friendlier Symbian climates of Europe, Eurasia, China, India and other countries around AsiaPac. Huzzah?
VIA  Engadget
SOURCE  Nokia Conversation
the E6 really a piece of jewel... i like thumbup.gif
sklchan
post Jun 13 2011, 10:54 AM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Jun 13 2011, 10:27 AM)

the hw spec actually are really attractive with it's "combination" although it don't have the fastest processor and tiny screen but if really look through it's hw combination it's far more "reasonable" compare with E7... dua sen thumbup.gif
sklchan
post Jun 19 2011, 10:42 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Jun 19 2011, 10:21 PM)
Nokia also instant.its depends on ur setting there.pull mail all the time.lol.btw,none of any phone right now got GENUINE push mail except BB.
because it's a paid services... sweat.gif
sklchan
post Jun 22 2011, 08:58 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(andrekua @ Jun 22 2011, 05:21 PM)
I played with one this afternoon and the resolution on such small screen makes it look really crispy. Slight lag is noticeable, and the lack of the onscreen keyboard makes it looks much bigger than it should be when texting. I think I will opt to try this instead of X7.

Added on June 22, 2011, 5:23 pmOh btw, I saw really a lot of E6 boxes.. I'm wondering if it was not selling well because there are cheaper alternative when it comes to physical qwerty phone. I think the small screen makes it less appealing to game and watch movies on it which render the better spec not that attractive.
that small screen just nice for emulator to run... but wonder the emulator out there can work with the high res screen or not... hmm.gif
sklchan
post Jun 22 2011, 11:45 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(andrekua @ Jun 22 2011, 11:16 PM)
Just sent an email for an E6 reservation. Still 3weeks to go before getting a QWERTY to test. Let's see if a QWERTY would really change anything.
cheers.gif

what color u asking? i'm asking if possible i want black... brows.gif
sklchan
post Jun 23 2011, 11:17 AM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(ViRaViRa @ Jun 23 2011, 09:10 AM)
I also asked for black but no promise there.

1 months is still long way to go. No patience here  sweat.gif
u too E6 huh... come come cheers.gif
sklchan
post Jun 23 2011, 02:52 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Jun 23 2011, 01:46 PM)
i would rate E6 as best qwerty device up to date.

Added on June 23, 2011, 1:47 pmeverybody choose E6...actually i prefer E6 as well.but but...X7 price...ahem.
i'm also struggle at first but after some thinking the E6 just have more things to be explore like the high res screen and big batt (25% more power with slower processor) also the physical keypad (as i've never have a full keypad device before)... so E6 FTW... icon_rolleyes.gif
yah the pricetag for the x7 would be ~EU100 different which mean a few hundreds in RM... sweat.gif
who know person choose E6 will have "extra" thing like the Nokia 360... drool.gif brows.gif

This post has been edited by sklchan: Jun 23 2011, 02:53 PM
sklchan
post Jun 23 2011, 08:01 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Jun 23 2011, 07:57 PM)
the battery life is awesome!
bb.lol.
bro... what the price different between the E6 and X7?? u know? hmm.gif
sklchan
post Jun 23 2011, 08:32 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

but here stated USD30 different... hmm.gif

http://mobiles-prices.com/Nokia-E6
sklchan
post Jun 23 2011, 10:09 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

it's confirmed not weekend... icon_rolleyes.gif
sklchan
post Jun 23 2011, 10:10 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(apecx92 @ Jun 23 2011, 10:09 PM)
thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  notworthy.gif

Added on June 23, 2011, 10:09 pm
cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
he'll sell it for u as well... whistling.gif
sklchan
post Jun 23 2011, 10:14 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(apecx92 @ Jun 23 2011, 10:13 PM)
blink.gif  blink.gif  better dont  tongue.gif

sure confirm ka?
i ask them and they told me "We’re not sure actually. Nokia hasn’t given us a confirmed date just as yet."
yeah... "but we don't want OT for sure"... whistling.gif
sklchan
post Jun 29 2011, 12:09 AM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

E6 FTW!!! yay icon_rolleyes.gif
sklchan
post Jul 3 2011, 11:39 AM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

yay yay yay... E6 fullscreen emulation already supported loh... rclxm9.gif

http://www.summeli.fi/?p=2581
sklchan
post Jul 8 2011, 05:44 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(andrekua @ Jul 8 2011, 04:34 PM)
Next week appointment for Rangers... Luckily my boss away to China.
woot woot... E6 !!!!!!!!!!!!! drool.gif
sklchan
post Jul 8 2011, 11:54 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Jul 8 2011, 11:44 PM)
yes of coz!!!i want it!btw who need E6 SP?
any nice casing i will buy from u and get sp foc?? brows.gif
sklchan
post Jul 16 2011, 10:51 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

the idling power consumption on the E6 are about same as the N8 which:

1. ~7mA if idling without any data connection
2. ~30mA if idling with data connection

so the only advantage here would be the 25% extra battery juice that make the different... so if your normal usage on N8 is 16 hours then the E6 will last u 20 hours with same usage.

The cool things I've found so far would be the keypad really make a different during typing as in full touch device u have tto force into the typing screen when typing but with E6 the screen still stay as it is when u doing typing... thumbup.gif

Garmin XT will distort if you choose 3D in Maps setting, but if u choose North Up it will can be use.

Most of (i can say all) apps will only in Landscape mode and the orientation rotation are NOT active at all in all the apps (even the music album listing)

The left side widget are something new as it will reserve at all HS and the bottom box reserved for phone/sms event notification.

Lots of S3 apps and widget not working on the E6 correctly, below some of it:

1. Nokia Reader, the widget will show as the apps itself, and when u open it the display only fit partial of the screen.
2. Accu. Weather, the widget will not fully fit into the widget frame, u will get a mini widget
3. Pocketlock, not working as it seem the E6 approx sensor I/O are different from N8
4. Garmin, the map view will distort if u view in 3D mode, the apps won't fully stretch into full screen
5. 3rd party apps icons are not all in round shape as of all the Anna default apps icons, not so nice with some apps icon in rectangle shape
6. Both AntSnes and gpsp emulator are working flawlessly, only the main gui distort a bit

so that's all the finding so far... icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on July 16, 2011, 10:57 pmlots of the performance gain i only can say would be due to the Anna update... 1 thing very obvious are the Anna seem keep on refresh and clean up the RAM in background and will unload those apps that been put in background this make the 256MB RAM seem run smoother compare with current S^3... this make me really looking forward Anna on N8... drool.gif

Added on July 16, 2011, 11:19 pmdamn... really loved the navigation button as directional keypad in the emulator... rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by sklchan: Jul 16 2011, 11:19 PM
sklchan
post Jul 19 2011, 12:03 AM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(ViRaViRa @ Jul 19 2011, 12:00 AM)
Just tested with a 4Gb Fat32 thumb drive and it works. So it should be something wrong with my 8Gb Kingston thumb drive (which is also unlikely because it works well in computers).
sometimes u need to format the card using the default file manager for it to be work... hmm.gif
sklchan
post Jul 19 2011, 10:58 AM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(zero_kbom @ Jul 19 2011, 10:20 AM)
Glad that your problem funally solved. How can we forgot about auto wifi scanning, thats one of the biggest battery drainer in the phone. Which turning it off is one of the first thing I done when I received my N8, C7 and E6. Cardinal sin by Nokia to leave it on by default doh.gif

Anyway, how about the battery level now? We can make a guide on battery preservation based on your experience icon_idea.gif
i set mine to auto scan in every 30mins...
sklchan
post Jul 25 2011, 03:11 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

the E6 make me worry it will felt from my hand at ANYTIME... i think i might switch back to my n8... sweat.gif

so far not yet found any nice casing for it leh... hmm.gif

0.0308sec    0.85    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 04:27 AM