English Clubs Arsenal Street Talk, 27-02-11 | 11:55 | ARS v. BIR in 3D YO!

Thumpy Ick
post Feb 7 2011, 08:58 AM

281 posts

QUOTE(kimhoong @ Feb 6 2011, 07:56 PM)
I heard chinese radio sport news (988.com.my) about FA will investigate our 4-4 match against Newcastle for possibility of bribery shocking.gif
wow..... srsly? that's pretty messed up. that's how football should be man, all out attack!

but if they're investigating the referees then go ahead. whistling.gif
Thumpy Ick
post Feb 12 2011, 08:26 PM

281 posts

yup, a nil-nil draw would be awesome... tho i dont mind city winning, since they played a game more than both us and manu.

a bit wary of the giant killers today... am hoping arshavin and walcott turn on the style on the flanks... and no more drama in the midfield, please.

preparing my own mi goreng mamak, have instant milo by my side, am ready to rock!!!
Thumpy Ick
post Feb 12 2011, 10:09 PM

281 posts

dzekoooooooo
Thumpy Ick
post Feb 12 2011, 10:10 PM

281 posts

deflection on silva ahah... wonder who'll get the goal
Thumpy Ick
post Feb 12 2011, 11:16 PM

281 posts

robin van persieeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
Thumpy Ick
post Feb 13 2011, 12:04 AM

281 posts

oh god, walcott.
Thumpy Ick
post Feb 13 2011, 12:13 AM

281 posts

fkin van persie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Thumpy Ick
post Feb 13 2011, 01:04 AM

281 posts

lol wolcek... "did anyone even realized i was playing yesterday?" i remember him tweeting that a few games ago...
Thumpy Ick
post Feb 13 2011, 08:27 AM

281 posts

how can that be even thought of as offside? that part of the offside rule is very clear, those with enough experience in playing fifa and pes would know that offside rule. unbelievable how some commentators can think of that as off.

anyways, very crisp finishing from rvp, the keeper was excellent today but rvp was too good for him. felt sorry for walcott and arsha, they should've had at least a goal. and i thought wilshere was tremendous. i recalled someone saying in a few years, ramsey-wilshere would be the next xavi-iniesta. i definitely saw glimpses of iniesta in today's wilshere. hoping that ramza recovers quickly!

cesc had a good game, his passing and theo's pace undid the wolves' defence today. i cant say itll be that easy against barca, but if theo manages to get behind maxwell/abidal, he's as good as through. what i'm concerned about is that we dont lose possession in midfield. barca plays triangles in the midfield and waits for a mistake in the defence before playing a pass. with song and wilshere in the midfield, they should try and disturb the triangular passes, and we know wilshere's ability to spot a run is as good as cesc.

and this game we have an on-fire RvP! there's lots of positives compared to the match last year. altho i wouldve liked to have magic nasri in the team, arshavin seems to be more interested these days and walcott is learning more tricks to get past defenders. if we can hold the fort and maintain a good scoreline in the first leg, the second leg with nasri would surely be an awesome one to watch.

and i'm very pleased with djourou! he was commanding at the back today. thought i saw vermaelen playing.

Added on February 13, 2011, 8:27 amn thanks for the motd again, kanelee!

Added on February 13, 2011, 8:38 amapparently Nasri's not totally out of the 1st leg after all!
Wenger reveals Nasri hope for Barca clash

This post has been edited by Thumpy Ick: Feb 13 2011, 08:38 AM
Thumpy Ick
post Feb 13 2011, 11:37 AM

281 posts

bendt seems to be taking pride in his crossing for me. after than beautiful cross in for rvp a few games back, he seems to be drifting wider to the right to provide crosses. tho honestly no one was providing good crosses into the box in today's game. sagna was surprisingly bad at it today.
he's also seems to be taking a lot more 'cut in from the left and curl one henry style' shots... i kinda miss seeing him attacking aerial balls.
Thumpy Ick
post Feb 14 2011, 02:41 AM

281 posts

QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Feb 13 2011, 12:21 AM)
^

drool.gif  should be listed in one of the greatest goal too
if roo's bicycle kick is the best of the manchester derby, henry's flip and kick is the best of the epl's fiercest rivalry. that goal is up there with bergkamps's flick against newcastle utd.

This post has been edited by Thumpy Ick: Feb 14 2011, 02:42 AM
Thumpy Ick
post Feb 16 2011, 03:40 AM

281 posts

then macha would be better as a substitute. play him when the opponent's defence is tired of chasing around cesc's thru balls and rvp's clever movement and walcott's lightning bolts and nasri's mad agility. then sagna would deliver his usual crosses and macha'll rise above the tired defence and score a wonderful header!

sounds easier than the real thing, eh? but i'm sure he has more to contribute for us.

regarding nasri, i won't mess around with his injury. we're still in for lots of competitions and we need quality players like him around. i wont risk playing him against barca, we still need him for the league. a front three of arsha - fully fit rvp - walcott is still a fearsome one.

and i thought the game is today... geez. well at least better la tomorrow, by then i wouldve had a presentation and an exam gone past me.
Thumpy Ick
post Feb 17 2011, 08:26 AM

281 posts

got class today, only managed to stream after arsha's goal. when i sneak a look on my laptop in class i saw villa scoring, but hopes were never lost. i knew something extra is with arsenal this year with rvp and nasri. i dont need to see the goals to celebrate like a madman; i saw goal.com reporting 1-1, and then a minute later opened livescore and it was 2-1. yesss!!!! stream was in a bad mood, only managed to stream after 83 mins.

from what i heard, Wilshere and Koscielny were monsters. i am particularly pleased with Wilshere, eventhough i havent watched the game yet but i feel really really proud of him. maybe cuz my virtual pro is playing in his role in FIFA 11 haha, but the kid sure is amazing. COME ON WILSHAAAAARRRR!!!!

it's a good thing nasri played and survived, i was a bit worried about playing a player who've just recovered from an injury. or maybe that was a ploy to get nasri rested from internationals? hahaha i dunno, but it's good to see him assisting for sir arsha today.

now's a good time for a full match highlight. does anyone know of a site with full matches? i just have to see this man!
Thumpy Ick
post Feb 17 2011, 08:56 AM

281 posts

am currently downloading the full match... if you guys want the links tell me, they are quite a lot of broken parts so i'll have to list them. damn can't wait to see this!
Thumpy Ick
post Feb 17 2011, 09:42 AM

281 posts

^

actually bro Dashken posted a link that's better than what i had, you can choose to dload either broken parts or a single file!

http://www.matchhighlight.com/forums/

currently a few minutes away from completing the second half!
Thumpy Ick
post Feb 17 2011, 10:11 AM

281 posts

^ totally agree. ross can still provide the killer pass, but he's not as agile and sharp as he used to be. i'm guessing that a goal would do his confidence a world better, but like u said it's nice to have someone like him as a backup player.

denilson......... i dunno. jakk and ramz is a better talent for the future. denilson is better off loaned to somewhere else. just like carlos vela is atm.
Thumpy Ick
post Feb 17 2011, 10:35 AM

281 posts

random question... can you twit to the players? i mean like twit and tag for example jack wilshere. as a follower am i allowed to do that? twitter n00b here btw, signed up solely for the players
Thumpy Ick
post Feb 17 2011, 11:56 AM

281 posts

ARSENAL D.N.A.!!! hahahahahah
Thumpy Ick
post Feb 17 2011, 05:06 PM

281 posts

had a proper look at the full match game, Jack Wilshere was amazing. it's true - he was a freakin master in the midfield. not much of his through passses were on display, but how he kept possession of the ball and his intelligent runs shows how much the kid has learned. totally unfazed by xavi and iniesta, in fact was stomping on them from the first minute. worldclass performance from the youngster.

and koscielny is my MOTM. Jack was elevated to 'master' status, but Koscielny was a 'Hero' in this game. unfazed by messi and other barca stars. it's true - we showed them too much respect last time.

Szczesny would be the third in the list. not a hero nor a master, but an absolutely fantastic CL debut. just fantastic!

"A Barcelona goal, scored by Arsenal!" come on commentator... Arsenal score those goals all the time. last match against wolves RVP scored a similar goal. but i do enjoy him going crazy when arshavin went to curl the ball, it was like arrrshavinnnnn!!!!!!!

i kept repeating the final whistle and checking out player's reactions. jack was jumping in delight hahaha, just like a teenager. rvp was raising both his hands, cesc was pumping his hands in the air, nasri was celebrating quietly, and arshavin was cool enough to just walk off the pitch. fantastic scenes.
Thumpy Ick
post Feb 18 2011, 11:28 PM

281 posts

one of the most riddikulus piece of news after Cesc going to Real Madrid. tho the latter is bordering on stupidity - a catalan to madrid?

apparently wilshere is going for iniesta's shirt next wahahha... maybe next game busquets will come and ask for wilshere's shirt lol

0.0403sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 10:18 PM