*** HTC Desire HD Official Thread V8 ***, Towards 250 User!!!

astria
post Feb 3 2011, 05:23 PM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

QUOTE(DjTranceHan @ Feb 3 2011, 05:21 PM)
newbie question where to get market enabler?? hahaaa
https://market.android.com/details?id=ch.ra...d.marketenabler
astria
post Feb 3 2011, 09:17 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(Z-hotlink @ Feb 3 2011, 07:12 PM)
thx sexxy = ) muacks

Added on February 3, 2011, 7:29 pmguys . wanna ask something.
just now i use tast killer to kill some apps that useless.
after i kill  > lock phone > unlock phone > have a look at task killer > the apps still at there-.-

how to STOP it forever.... example like twiter / stocks / people blabla bla -.- cant stop it -.-
actually starting with Eclair there's no need for task killers already... Android's own memory manager will handle it for u...

QUOTE(m a v 3 r i c k @ Feb 3 2011, 08:59 PM)
Hi guys,
Can someone assist me in getting Skype installed to my DHD?
Went to skype.com/m but it says something like not supported by my carrier. sad.gif
tried downloading from Market? or push to ur phone thru web Market?
astria
post Feb 3 2011, 09:43 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(m a v 3 r i c k @ Feb 3 2011, 09:40 PM)
astria,
They don't have it in the market. How do I use market enabler? I've tried switching to other provider but it keeps prompt out "We have u problem Houston".
Any ideas?
how abt this?

https://market.android.com/details?id=com.skype.raider
astria
post Feb 3 2011, 09:51 PM

22,158 posts

and there's also:

http://www.appbrain.com/app/skype/com.skype.raider

astria
post Feb 3 2011, 11:37 PM

22,158 posts

dun the monitor itself already makan a lot of battery?
astria
post Feb 4 2011, 10:10 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(kiddo89 @ Feb 4 2011, 03:10 AM)
Hi everyone, i am new here.

I bought Desire HD a few week back, and now i have encounter a problem.

Today , i received a text message, as usual , i slide it down to unlock it , then it hangs for a while , and out of a sudden, the inbox open up and all why previous text messages were gone, literally like vanished. What could possibly happen ? any1 here encountered it before ? Which there are some1 out there which are able to help me to recover those lost messages as i didnt backup it T.T to those who did not encounter it, please serve this as a lesson, always back up your file =((

Thank you very much if someone here are able to help me

Anway , Happy Chinese New Year everyone ! maybe it brings prosperity and joy to you this year =))
sounds like the notorious SMS bug in Android...

Google fixed it in ver 2.2.2 and ver 2.3.2...

and yup, officially only Nexus One and Nexus S have the update... laugh.gif
astria
post Feb 4 2011, 01:47 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(viruz019 @ Feb 4 2011, 01:44 PM)
Any idea when will gingerbread be available for dhd?
http://www.fonehome.co.uk/2010/12/08/htc-d...d-update-plans/

take it with a grain of salt though, HTC's track record on updates is not ranked highly either...

This post has been edited by astria: Feb 4 2011, 01:50 PM
astria
post Feb 4 2011, 01:53 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(Z-hotlink @ Feb 4 2011, 01:41 PM)
OMG !  shocking.gif  shocking.gif  shocking.gif
after the 1st day i get mine phone , than i terus run the battery calibrating step -.-
OMG lor ~~~ i surf some web nia than battery drop 1 % by 1% ... super fast drop -.-

erm Bout the Custom ROM .....
Any idea got apa danger?  ohmy.gif 
if mind , share the step at here pls ~~ notworthy.gif
run the phone for abt a week and check again...

new batteries need to be used a few times before they can hold full charges...
astria
post Feb 4 2011, 04:04 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(brucesss @ Feb 4 2011, 03:50 PM)
i see... haiz jus nw my bro gt an ip4 i took the hotlink plan he takes the phone... play wif it.. the screen is damm clear... nw i feel like switching to that... tangan gatal dy... bt obviously desire hd is better right??
u may be interested with HTC Pyramid then... laugh.gif

4.5" 960x540, Qualcomm Sanpdragon MSM8260 1.2GHz dual core brows.gif
astria
post Feb 4 2011, 05:01 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(monza84 @ Feb 4 2011, 04:35 PM)
Tried CM7 before..not into my liking though its on Ginger laugh.gif..i love sense lor laugh.gif...anyway, battery-wise i think RevoHD is still the best while LeeDroid come in 2nd...CM7 is also good in managing battery-life...
i think vanilla Android is fine... juz a few apps and u ve near Sense experience...
astria
post Feb 4 2011, 05:19 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(monza84 @ Feb 4 2011, 05:05 PM)
Fine it is nod.gif...well, love the UI in CM7 and its on Ginger...and like you said, just need few apps and can get Sense like interface smile.gif..your Desire is on CM7, right? brows.gif
yup... tried out Sense 2.0 ROMs as well... but not really that impressed with it... the instant boot is nice, but features like Locations is not really that special, considering that Google Maps 5.0+ supports caching... and Google Navigation is free... HTCSense.com would take up quite a lot of data traffic, not a good thing since i dun ve unlimited data...

so in the end settled with vanilla instead... used to avoid it since it can't integrate the FB pics with contacts as nicely as Sense... but an app solved the problem (Syncmypix if u re interested), and it's even better since the pic will stay in Gmail Contacts... Sense weather + clock widget? no problem, Fancy Widget is the one... the scrolling contacts widget? Photo Contact Widget has it covered... HTC's calendar widget? Android Agenda Widget is more than capable to replace it...

and imho this is how Android suppose to be... open source, customization, flexibility... everyone's home screen looks different from another person's home screen... that's wat make Android unique compared to iOS and WP7...
astria
post Feb 4 2011, 05:25 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(brucesss @ Feb 4 2011, 05:21 PM)
ooowwwh.,...  drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif  when coming out
rumoured May 2011... exclusive to T-Mobile in US...

in another word, yup, it's a GSM phone, not CDMA like HTC Evo...

damn, HTC sure knows how to build a super phone... laugh.gif

btw, typo, should be 4.3"... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by astria: Feb 4 2011, 05:28 PM
astria
post Feb 4 2011, 05:34 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(monza84 @ Feb 4 2011, 05:26 PM)

Added on February 4, 2011, 5:28 pmWell, before this also got people debating about why DHD spec is lower than HTC HD7, though HD7 is way cheaper than DHD laugh.gif
in wat way is HD7 better than DHD? besides the kick-stand??

we re looking at:

DHD vs HD7
MSM8255 vs QSD8250
1.5GB ROM vs 512MB ROM
768MB RAM vs 576MB RAM
8MP cam vs 5MP cam
microSD vs 16GB Flash
HSDPA 14.4Mbps vs HSDPA 7.2Mbps
HSUPA 5.7Mbps vs HSUPA 2Mbps
(ok, the last 2 is CPU limitation)

honestly HD7 looks more like a Desire with DHD case running WP7...

http://www.gsmarena.com/compare.php3?idPho...8&idPhone2=3468

This post has been edited by astria: Feb 4 2011, 05:36 PM
astria
post Feb 4 2011, 05:42 PM

22,158 posts

that's becuz both are HTC and both are 4.3"... laugh.gif

technically speaking HD7 is not really a successor of HD2... i would only classify it as an update/refresh instead... both are running QSD8250...
astria
post Feb 4 2011, 05:44 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(brucesss @ Feb 4 2011, 05:42 PM)
hd7 nothing to play except stand coz i stuffed in pocoyo vid for my self n my niece so the stand is pretty usefull.. i prefer the hd7 design tho.. desire hd... fast but when install too much apps it lags... hd2 is still d best for me got alot of roms to play... maybe if the htc pyramid is officially avialable in malaysia then i buy that la.. nw maybe i wanna play iphone 4
may i tempt u with LG Optimus 2X (Tegra 2) and SE Xperia Play (aka Playstation phone) as well? brows.gif

This post has been edited by astria: Feb 4 2011, 05:45 PM
astria
post Feb 4 2011, 05:52 PM

22,158 posts

that's becuz they noob... sweat.gif

HTC is the largest smartphone maker in the world lor...

and honestly LG's Android phone lineup is pretty solid... Optimus One is basically a small Nexus One, which Google was involved in the design, and is one of the few phones that will get GBread... Optimus 2X is the first dual core smartphone, and Optimus Black is probably the thinnest smartphone in the making...
astria
post Feb 4 2011, 05:54 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(koinibler @ Feb 4 2011, 05:52 PM)
good statement here.
I'm also always looking for htc widget replacement.
Do you have any idea on a replacement of htc mail widget?
Like the way it show some part of mail and its title!

btw, what you current ROM?
Then , I recommend you to use download manager to download.
srry, dun ve that, since i dun use the Exchange server...

currently using CM7 Nightlies... nod.gif

actually regretting y didn't i go vanilla earlier... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by astria: Feb 4 2011, 05:55 PM
astria
post Feb 4 2011, 06:00 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(brucesss @ Feb 4 2011, 05:56 PM)
gues what they say.. aiyah sore looser la lu... bb n iphone is still better... haha but anyway i got trail of ppl follow me buy htc.. managed to poison someone for htc wildfire and htc aria
tell them, the Apple effect is over...

world market share in Q4 2010

http://www.androidpolice.com/2011/01/31/an...g-strong-sales/
astria
post Feb 4 2011, 07:27 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(Taetsu @ Feb 4 2011, 07:20 PM)
i wonder why notification in friendstream brings you to browser (facebook touch).. instead of viewing the status within friendstream itself..
jumping from friendstream to browser and back is kinda pain in ass..

also, it doesn't support push notification like "facebook for android" does..
that's becuz FriendStream is only a widget, not an app... laugh.gif
astria
post Feb 4 2011, 07:29 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(faiz2036 @ Feb 4 2011, 07:27 PM)
I love friend stream because it sync with my contact and easy to use.. biggrin.gif
i suppose that's Facebook for HTC Sense that u re talking abt...

FriendStream is different that it only displays the posts and allow u to update on Facebook and Twitter...

frankly i ve never used FriendStream... imho Facebook for Android does a better job...

This post has been edited by astria: Feb 4 2011, 07:30 PM

0.0391sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:30 AM