*** HTC Desire HD Official Thread V8 ***, Towards 250 User!!!

Taetsu
post Feb 4 2011, 01:19 AM

442 posts

QUOTE(monza84 @ Feb 4 2011, 12:40 AM)
haha, this is known facts but then again, on stock only can last for about 10~16 hours with medium usage smile.gif...but if on LeeDroid or RevoHD, like mine...playing MP3s for about 2 hours, 30 minutes of HD video playback...WiFi on 24/7 with Y5 as saver...can last me 40 hours icon_rolleyes.gif..even got one time with only WiFi on (+ Y5 as saver) only, 35% drained in 35 hours brows.gif

Added on February 4, 2011, 12:43 am

Custom ones also got 7 screens laugh.gif..
nice battery performance.. you on revoHD??
can you post the Display time-on screen?
i bet you have less than 1.5 hours of display on for that 35 hours.. sweat.gif
Taetsu
post Feb 4 2011, 03:18 PM

442 posts

QUOTE(syuki @ Feb 4 2011, 03:16 PM)
raise sync frequency

i don't get this..  notworthy.gif
i think he meant lower sync frequency, which means sync at a longer interval..
eg: sync every 4 hours instead of 1 hour
Taetsu
post Feb 4 2011, 03:27 PM

442 posts

QUOTE(monza84 @ Feb 4 2011, 03:20 PM)
Lower mean down, lowering your sync frequency meaning that you lower the time its sync (like-wise 1 hour, 30 minutes)...raise it up higher (like-wise 2 hours, 4 hours etc etc)
if u understand the word "frequency" better then you should know that lower the frequency means reduce the rate of that one's event..
likewise, higher frequency means higher rate of occurrence.. sweat.gif
Taetsu
post Feb 4 2011, 07:20 PM

442 posts

QUOTE(faiz2036 @ Feb 4 2011, 06:47 PM)
If leedroid release gingerbread with SENSE.. i dont mine to leave cm7. I love htc friendstream.. biggrin.gif
i wonder why notification in friendstream brings you to browser (facebook touch).. instead of viewing the status within friendstream itself..
jumping from friendstream to browser and back is kinda pain in ass..

also, it doesn't support push notification like "facebook for android" does..
Taetsu
post Feb 4 2011, 07:34 PM

442 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Feb 4 2011, 07:27 PM)
that's becuz FriendStream is only a widget, not an app... laugh.gif
the thing you see on your homescreen is widget, when you open it in fullscreen its literally a working app already..
why we can comment using friendstream but cannot read the reply from the notification using friendstream? doh.gif

to me this is just a bad software design, not because it's a widget.. maybe they will improve it in near future.. hope so
Taetsu
post Feb 8 2011, 11:27 AM

442 posts

QUOTE(giomanach @ Feb 8 2011, 11:07 AM)
Can anyone help me enable push notification for facebook?
Everytime I have a notification I don't see it on my phone.
AFAIK, push notification only works on Facebook for Android..
you need to launch it to run in background to receive notification for incoming Messages. (U dun even get message notification if u dun run it in background)
so far i dun see any push notification for status/comments though...

kinda disappointed with FB experience on Android..
they have came this far to Froyo 2.2 now and FB for Android is still way behind FB for iPhone..
HTC Friendstream is lame too.. the notification brings you to browser instead of viewing in friendstream itself.. (imagine hopping from friendstream > FB Touch > Friendstream > FB Touch > Friendstream.... WTF? blink.gif )
Photo tagging is not supported too..
and many more to be listed..

Only recent change i see is support for Facebook Chat..
it makes me wanna shout at the developer for FB for Android >> WTH YOU PPL DOING?? mad.gif

Taetsu
post Feb 10 2011, 11:01 AM

442 posts

DHD shutter is slow... images are blur most of the time..
you can get a decent shot if you can hold your hand firm when you press the shutter..

but sadly this is not the case when you handed your phone to third person to shoot photos for you yawn.gif
Taetsu
post Feb 10 2011, 12:24 PM

442 posts

feel like want to flash revo hd now..

just to confirm with you experts, is that stock rom is 100% reversible for warranty claim purposes if i follow the steps below?

1. temp root
2. perm root
3. Radio S-OFF
4. ENG S-OFF
5. install CWM
6. Do a backup of my stock ROM
7. Proceed to flashing other custom ROM

To flash stock ROM, i will just need to boot into recovery and flash the backup ROM that i performed at step 6 just now?

Do i need to RADIO S-ON? ENG S-ON? Unroot?
Just use back the One click RADIO S-OFF tool to unroot and S-ON?

Taetsu
post Feb 10 2011, 12:43 PM

442 posts

QUOTE(monza84 @ Feb 10 2011, 12:27 PM)
Yup, as for warranty purpose you need to :

1. Unroot
2. Radio S-On
3. Flash the radio to stock if you flashed a custom one

Yes, just flash back the backup for custom one smile.gif

*one more thing, if you are not considering to flash radio, then no need to ENG S-Off, just Radio S-Off will do smile.gif

Added on February 10, 2011, 12:28 pmYou can use the Radio-Tool to S-On smile.gif
You mean RADIO S-OFF is not for flashing radio?? only do ENG S-OFF if we need to flash radio?
I thought RADIO S-OFF is meant for flashing radio.. lol..

so if i want to flash radio, do i have to backup my stock radio?

and also, revo hd rom comes with different kernel from stock one?
so by right restoring the backup rom will restore the stock kernel also right?

one more thing, i'm not going to need adb at all by using the simple S-OFF tool from XDA right?
coz my laptop have some problem using HTC Sync and adb with my phone, they cant detect my phone (tried with other pc without any problem)
if i NEED adb then i'll wait until i format my laptop before flashing custom rom..

This post has been edited by Taetsu: Feb 10 2011, 12:51 PM
Taetsu
post Feb 10 2011, 01:53 PM

442 posts

QUOTE(monza84 @ Feb 10 2011, 01:09 PM)
Radio S-Off is for unlocking your phone so that any telco can be use smile.gif...as for flashing radio, need to do ENG S-Off smile.gif...well, backup your stock radio first before flashing to a custom one smile.gif

Yes, using the radio-tool no need ADB smile.gif..and yes again, flashing the stock rom will revert back your kernel to the stock one smile.gif

Revo,LeeDroid,Core & CM all got custom kernel, different from stock one smile.gif...

Added on February 10, 2011, 1:09 pm@syuki
Yup, on 2.0.10 also laugh.gif
ok, then i guess i'm not going to touch the radio first, so i'll skip the ENG S-OFF as for now.

do i have to format my sd card for flashing custom rom?
Taetsu
post Feb 10 2011, 02:46 PM

442 posts

my heart is beating fast now~ first attempt on breaking my DHD virginity~~ brows.gif

permroot done... rebooting..

Radio S-OFF failed with message "Unknown error. probably connection"

i guess its due to my laptop failed to detect my phone as i mentioned earlier... maybe i should format my laptop first.. doh.gif

---------------

cannot tahan anymore.. use VMware windows xp to S-OFF.. now my phone is Radio S-OFF & ENG S-OFF! icon_rolleyes.gif
now rebooting again.. and ready to get CMW~

This post has been edited by Taetsu: Feb 10 2011, 03:14 PM
Taetsu
post Feb 10 2011, 03:27 PM

442 posts

backing up apps + data using MyBackup before proceed to flash revo hd..
96apps.. seems like it's gonna take awhile.. yawn.gif

This post has been edited by Taetsu: Feb 10 2011, 03:28 PM
Taetsu
post Feb 10 2011, 04:44 PM

442 posts

on revo hd thread the author says use
- ClockworkMod Recovery (only official 2.5.1.3 version!)

but i only can find ROM Manager which is version 3.0.0.7

where to get the ClockworkMod Recovery 2.5.1.3?

--------------------------------------------------------------

ah... ok... just tap on the "Flash Clockworkmod Recovery" will do... doh.gif

This post has been edited by Taetsu: Feb 10 2011, 05:06 PM
Taetsu
post Feb 10 2011, 05:25 PM

442 posts

something to share

[Complete Guide] How To Fully Back Up And Restore Your Android Phone Using Nandroid Backup

Taetsu
post Feb 10 2011, 05:59 PM

442 posts

First time flash custom rom..

My progress:

- tempRoot > permRoot > DONE
- RADIO S-OFF > ENG S-OFF > DONE
- install ROM Manager > Flash CWM Recovery > DONE
- backup apps/data/sms etc using MyBackup > DONE
- backup APN using APN Manager > DONE
- boot into recovery and perform FULL WIPE > DONE
- flash Revo HD 2.0.11 > DONE
- rebooting............
Taetsu
post Feb 10 2011, 06:05 PM

442 posts

QUOTE(monza84 @ Feb 10 2011, 06:00 PM)
>> Bricked laugh.gif
touchwood!!! vmad.gif

successfully boot into revoHD!!~ rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
Taetsu
post Feb 10 2011, 07:00 PM

442 posts

QUOTE(lunatique @ Feb 10 2011, 06:59 PM)
hi guys. i've just ordered a HDH. previously i'm using a SGS (as per my signature)
Can anyone enlighten me on what's the most used custom ROM for HDH for smoothness and extended battery life???
its DHD~~ biggrin.gif
Taetsu
post Feb 10 2011, 07:09 PM

442 posts

QUOTE(lunatique @ Feb 10 2011, 07:04 PM)
can anyone elaborate the differences of both ROMs to a DHD noob like me????
i'm looking for smoothness (no lag) and battery life
Maybe you shouldn't look at DHD at all if battery was your main concern... lol
sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Taetsu: Feb 10 2011, 07:10 PM
Taetsu
post Feb 10 2011, 07:12 PM

442 posts

QUOTE(lunatique @ Feb 10 2011, 07:10 PM)
actually the reason i go for it is because of the screen size that allows me to read easily on aldiko...  blush.gif  tongue.gif  biggrin.gif
Then this babe is for you~ thumbup.gif

I used to read alot on DHD using Aldiko.. Just loved it~!! biggrin.gif
Taetsu
post Feb 10 2011, 10:35 PM

442 posts

How to backup radio and flash radio?

0.0405sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled