post Feb 27 2011, 11:10 PM

151 posts

is RM300 more wor, not RM200 @@
Trance4eva
post Feb 27 2011, 11:25 PM

1,801 posts

Asus brochure says Rm3599 but according to C-Zone pricelist its RM3499.
kelvin_ng
post Feb 27 2011, 11:26 PM

151 posts

Rm3499 - RM3199... do your math @@
Trance4eva
post Feb 27 2011, 11:29 PM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(kelvin_ng @ Feb 27 2011, 11:26 PM)
Rm3499 - RM3199... do your math @@
Hp dv6 not RM3299 meh??

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1715298

This post has been edited by Trance4eva: Feb 27 2011, 11:29 PM
kelvin_ng
post Feb 28 2011, 12:01 AM

151 posts

i thought RM3199? then its my fault tongue.gif
shahiryusoff
post Feb 28 2011, 12:29 AM

487 posts

QUOTE(Trance4eva @ Feb 27 2011, 09:13 PM)
Yea HP dv6 GPU is not bad. But HP is famous with heat problems. Might want to reconsider the N53SN instead??

Added on February 27, 2011, 9:15 pmbtw does anyone know the diff between GPU that are DDR3, GDDR3 and GDDR5???
For Graphics it's GDDR3 (Graphics Double Data Rate, version 3) or GDDR5 (Graphics Double Data Rate, version 5).

DDR3 ( Double Data Rate 3) term is used for RAM.
icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

Trance4eva
post Feb 28 2011, 02:23 AM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(shahiryusoff @ Feb 28 2011, 12:29 AM)
For Graphics it's GDDR3 (Graphics Double Data Rate, version 3) or GDDR5 (Graphics Double Data Rate, version 5).

icon_rolleyes.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
So are there huge performace dif between them??
I thought some GPU also uses DDR3 like the GT550M on the N53SN

GT550M http://www.notebookcheck.net/NVIDIA-GeForc...0M.42264.0.html

HD6870M has all 3 http://www.notebookcheck.net/AMD-Radeon-HD...0M.43733.0.html

Added on February 28, 2011, 2:34 amHey guys i think we can see Asus SB laptops real soon. Now confirm that Asus already fix the chipset problem d and now begin shipping

Announced last week

http://benchmarkreviews.com/index.php?opti...14346&Itemid=47

http://www.techpowerup.com/141196/ASUS-to-...-Notebooks.html

http://www.fareastgizmos.com/computing/asu...e_notebooks.php

This post has been edited by Trance4eva: Feb 28 2011, 02:34 AM
faezfahmi618
post Feb 28 2011, 02:58 AM

435 posts

QUOTE(GooD_DaY @ Feb 27 2011, 10:22 AM)
Yes, we can.
If u do refund pls pm me how long u get ur money back
so u say i just give my laptop to him and he give back my money? unsure.gif
no check2 my lappy if broken, no signing a stupid form etch..? hmm.gif
u also wanat buy n53sn? whistling.gif
astria
post Feb 28 2011, 07:09 AM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

QUOTE(shahiryusoff @ Feb 28 2011, 12:29 AM)

icon_rolleyes.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
DDR3 is used in GPU as well... my GPU is using it (though GPU-Z detect it as GDDR3)...

Added on February 28, 2011, 7:15 am
QUOTE(Trance4eva @ Feb 28 2011, 02:23 AM)
So are there huge performace dif between them??
I thought some GPU also uses DDR3 like the GT550M on the N53SN

GT550M  http://www.notebookcheck.net/NVIDIA-GeForc...0M.42264.0.html

HD6870M has all 3 http://www.notebookcheck.net/AMD-Radeon-HD...0M.43733.0.html

between GDDR3 and DDR3, not that much... DDR3 usually runs at up to 1333MHz, while GDDR3 used to be in the range of 1200-1500MHz (when DDR2 was mainstream), and GDDR4 running at 1700-2000MHz... but as GDDR4 has been retired, GDDR3's clock has been pushed to around 2000MHz as well...

GDDR5, technically speaking it should be called QDR instead - Quad Data Rate, as it provides twice the bandwidth compared to the DDR variants (DDR1-DDR3, GDDR2-GDDR4)... instead of transmitting 2 pieces of data, GDDR5 can transmit 4 pieces, thus doubling the effective bandwidth, giving u speed like 3600-4000MHz... so try to look for GDDR5 if possible... it improves the performance significantly... a pretty close comparison would be Acer Aspire Ethos 5943G (Radeon HD5850 GDDR3) and AW m15x (Radeon HD5850 GDDR5)

This post has been edited by astria: Feb 28 2011, 07:16 AM
ThisIsBoletaria
post Feb 28 2011, 08:52 AM

108 posts

QUOTE(eugenechiuu @ Feb 27 2011, 07:42 PM)
It's not really overkill when the prices are around the same nowadays and performance are much better...
In the past, the difference between a dual core and quad with the same GPU/Ram etc was like more than rm500+.. It's not the case now since Quad is pretty much in many mainstream budget laptops, like 5750G n Y560p are all within 3k price tag...
For the marginal differences, SB i7 quad is more of a value for money compared to i5/i7 Dual Cores.. Besides, more n more programs and games start utilising quad cores now, so it would be most beneficial for the next few years..

Unless you're just a basic user who just use ur computer to surf net, then even i5/i7 dual core is overkill lol
Fair enough.

The main reason I'm trying to decide between the two is not price vs performance. I'm more concerned about heat and am willing to go through a drop in graphics performance if it means my notebook won't have its optical drive crap out after one and a half years. If the drop in graphics performance is too big, though, then there's no point in getting the I5 since it will end up using the dedicated card most of the time. That's why I'm very keen in finding out just how hot the I5 runs and how well the built-in GPU renders graphics.
kelvin_ng
post Feb 28 2011, 09:00 AM

151 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Feb 28 2011, 07:09 AM)
DDR3 is used in GPU as well... my GPU is using it (though GPU-Z detect it as GDDR3)...

between GDDR3 and DDR3, not that much... DDR3 usually runs at up to 1333MHz, while GDDR3 used to be in the range of 1200-1500MHz (when DDR2 was mainstream), and GDDR4 running at 1700-2000MHz... but as GDDR4 has been retired, GDDR3's clock has been pushed to around 2000MHz as well...

GDDR5, technically speaking it should be called QDR instead - Quad Data Rate, as it provides twice the bandwidth compared to the DDR variants (DDR1-DDR3, GDDR2-GDDR4)... instead of transmitting 2 pieces of data, GDDR5 can transmit 4 pieces, thus doubling the effective bandwidth, giving u speed like 3600-4000MHz... so try to look for GDDR5 if possible... it improves the performance significantly... a pretty close comparison would be Acer Aspire Ethos 5943G (Radeon HD5850 GDDR3) and AW m15x (Radeon HD5850 GDDR5)
That's the reason why I'm really look into GDDR5 gc. heh..
Trance4eva
post Feb 28 2011, 02:12 PM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Feb 28 2011, 07:09 AM)

oh i see
then the GT550M 2gb DDR3 in N53SN better than the Hp dv6????
Now abit conflicted with HP dv6 and the N53SN. Does the GDDR5 and DD3 play an important role???
astria
post Feb 28 2011, 02:19 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(Trance4eva @ Feb 28 2011, 02:12 PM)
oh i see
then the GT550M 2gb DDR3 in N53SN better than the Hp dv6????
Now abit conflicted with HP dv6 and the N53SN. Does the GDDR5 and DD3 play an important role???
GDDR5 >> GDDR3 > DDR3

pick GDDR5 whenever possible...
Trance4eva
post Feb 28 2011, 02:34 PM

1,801 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Feb 28 2011, 02:19 PM)
GDDR5 >> GDDR3 > DDR3

pick GDDR5 whenever possible...
so GT550M DDR3 or HD6570 GDDR5 better??cause i check at notebookcheck.net the GT550 is class 1 and 6570 is class 2.
astria
post Feb 28 2011, 04:27 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(Trance4eva @ Feb 28 2011, 02:34 PM)
so GT550M DDR3 or HD6570 GDDR5 better??cause i check at notebookcheck.net the GT550 is class 1 and 6570 is class 2.
pretty hard call... i can't tell juz by the hardware... if both are using DDR3/GDDR3, i suppose GT 550M will ve an edge, but GDDR5 juz mix up everything... it's the first time i see GDDR5 being used in a mainstream GPU...
shahiryusoff
post Feb 28 2011, 05:54 PM

487 posts

No product guide for March-April from Asus?
kelvin_ng
post Feb 28 2011, 06:43 PM

151 posts

Nope. U can go their website to check but currently only January-February product guide available for notebook.
shahiryusoff
post Feb 28 2011, 06:46 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(kelvin_ng @ Feb 28 2011, 06:43 PM)
Nope. U can go their website to check but currently only January-February product guide available for notebook.
Well,it's already end of February so I guess they should give out new product guide for March-April. sweat.gif
kelvin_ng
post Feb 28 2011, 07:03 PM

151 posts

Jst wait and see. Tomorrow is March ady. hehe
shahiryusoff
post Feb 28 2011, 07:23 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(kelvin_ng @ Feb 28 2011, 07:03 PM)
Jst wait and see. Tomorrow is March ady. hehe
drool.gif

34 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Top

0.0275sec    1.09    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 01:29 PM